DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al (20230413213).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN et al discloses, a method for tracking area (TA) processing, performed by a core network device (abstract, AMF, fig. 4-14), comprising:
receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) request message and TA information of a first TA determined by an access network device (base station, fig. 4-14) for a user equipment (UE, fig. 4-14) (¶ 0078, 0080, 0100, the base station determines the first TA for example, TA2 where the UE is currently located according to location information of the UE and the base station determines that the TA2 is the restricted area through a mobility restriction list transmitted by a core network previously. The restricted area includes a non-allowed area or a forbidden area. If the base station is unable to determine whether the TA2 is the restricted area, the base station transmits an N2 message to the AMF. The N2 message carries ULI which carries a TAI of the first TA i.e., TA2 where the UE is currently located and The N2 message carries the NAS request and ULI which carries two TAIs for the terminal device or UE); and
sending a NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA to the UE after the NAS request message (¶ 0081-0082, the AMF determines that the TA2 is a restricted area which includes a non-allowed area or a forbidden area, and then rejects the NAS process. The AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN et al discloses, wherein sending the NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA to the UE after the NAS request message, comprises: determining whether the first TA is comprised in at least one of a registration area (RA) or a forbidden area (FA) of the UE according to the TA information (¶ 0081, the AMF determines that the TA2 is a restricted area which includes a non-allowed area or a forbidden area, and then rejects the NAS process); and sending the NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA to the UE according to a determined result (¶ 0082, the AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2.).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN et al discloses, wherein sending the NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA to the UE, comprises: sending a message carrying the TA information of the first TA to the UE, wherein the message is configured to trigger the UE to initiate a registration update; or, sending a NAS response message carrying the TA information of the first TA for the NAS request message to the UE (¶ 0079, 0082, the AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2.).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN et al discloses, wherein the NAS response message comprises at least one of: a NAS success message sent to the UE after a response success for the NAS request message; or a NAS rejection message sent to the UE after a response failure for the NAS request message (¶ 0079, 0082, the AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2.).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN et al discloses, wherein the NAS rejection message further comprises: a rejection cause; wherein, in response to determining that the first TA is not comprised in the RA and the first TA is not comprised in the FA of the UE, the rejection cause has a first value to indicate that the first TA is not comprised in the RA and is not comprised in the FA of the UE; and in response to determining that the first TA is not comprised in the RA and is comprised in the FA, the rejection cause has a second value to indicate that the first TA is comprised in the FA and the UE is forbidden from accessing the network at the first TA (¶ 0081-0082, the AMF determines that the TA2 is a restricted area which includes a non-allowed area or a forbidden area, not in RA, and then rejects the NAS process. The AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2 forbidden area. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2 forbidden area).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN et al discloses, a method for tracking area (TA) processing, performed by an access network device (abstract, base station, fig. 4-14), comprising:
receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) request message sent by a user equipment (UE, fig. 4-14) (¶ 0076, the UE transmits an NAS message, such as a service request or a PDU session establishment request, to the base station.);
determining a first TA of the UE (¶ 0077-0078, the base station determines the first TA for example, TA2 where the UE is currently located according to location information of the UE); and
sending TA information of the first TA and the NAS request message to a core network device (¶ 0080, the base station transmits an N2 message to the AMF. The N2 message carries ULI which carries a TAI of the first TA i.e., TA2 where the UE is currently located), or sending the TA information of the first TA to the UE (¶ 0079, the base station transmits a rejection message to the UE, the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN et al discloses, wherein determining the first TA of the UE, comprises: determining the first TA according to at least one of TA information of a second TA broadcasted by a cell, location information of the UE, or registration area (RA) information of the UE (0077, The base station determines the first TA (for example, TA2) where the UE is currently located according to location information of the UE, ¶ 0070, determines whether TA2 is an area allowing the terminal device to initiate a service (RA), and determines whether TA2 is in the RA configured by a core network for the terminal device), .
Regarding claim 8, CHEN et al discloses, wherein, the second TA information broadcasted by the cell in a first mode comprises TA information of a single TA; or, the second TA information broadcasted by the cell in a second mode comprises TA information of more than one TA (¶ 0121, 0173-0174, the UE receives a broadcast message containing two TACs which includes the TA1 and the TA2).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN et al discloses, wherein the location information of the UE comprises: location information reported by the UE; or, location information determined based on a measurement of the access network device (¶ 0065, 0068, the base station determines the first TA where the UE is currently located according to location information of the UE.).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN et al discloses, wherein the RA information of the UE comprises: the RA information received from the UE; or, the RA information received from the core network device (¶ 0062, 0106, the AMF adds the first TA to the RA and feeds back the configuration update instruction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al in view of Edge (20210144669).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN et al discloses, a method for tracking area (TA) processing, performed by a user equipment (UE, fig. 4-14, abstract), comprising:
sending a non-access stratum (NAS) request message (¶ 0076, 0124, the UE transmits an NAS message, such as a service request or a PDU session establishment request, to the base station);
receiving TA information of a first TA, wherein the first TA is determined by an access network device for the UE (0078-0079, 0126, the base station determines that the TA2 is the restricted area through a mobility restriction list transmitted by a core network previously. The restricted area includes a non-allowed area or a forbidden area. The base station transmits a rejection message to the UE).
CHEN et al does not specifically disclose saving the TA information of the first TA.
In the same field of endeavor, Edge discloses, saving the TA information of the first TA (¶ 0330, 0349, the UE 105 stores the allowed TAs, the geographic definitions of the allowed TAs and constituent fixed cells and the Registration flag to allow later determination of a current TA and current fixed cell). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of CHEN et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to avoids or reduces loss or delay of signaling content as taught by Edge.
Regarding claim 12, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein receiving the TA information of the first TA comprises: receiving a NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA; or, receiving a message sent by the access network device that comprises the TA information of the first TA (¶ 0079, 0080, 0082, The base station transmits a rejection message to the UE, the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2.).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, further comprising: sending, by a NAS layer in the UE, the TA information of the first TA to an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE (see fig. 4-14, access stratum (AS) layer between UE and base station and NAS layer between UE and AMF).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein receiving the NAS message comprising the TA information of the first TA, comprises: receiving a message carrying the TA information of the first TA returned after sending the NAS request message, wherein the message is configured to trigger the UE to perform a registration update; or, receiving a NAS response message carrying the TA information of the first TA for the NAS request message (¶ 0082, The AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein the NAS response message comprises: a NAS success message of a response success for the NAS request message; or, a NAS rejection message (¶ 0082, The AMF transmits a rejection message to the UE, and the rejection message carries an indication that the UE is in the TA2. For example, a dedicated field is provided in the rejection message, and the value of the field is set to TA2, which indicates that the UE is currently in the TA2).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein the NAS rejection message comprises: a NAS rejection message carrying a rejection cause being a first value or a second value; wherein, the rejection cause has the first value to indicate that the first TA is not comprised in an RA and the first TA is not comprised in an FA of the UE; or, the rejection cause has the second value to indicate that the first TA is comprised in the FA (¶ 0089, 0103-0104, First case: the TAs corresponding to all TAIs received by the AMF are the areas allowing the UE to initiate the service. In this case, any TA the UE currently located is an area allowing the UE to initiate the service, so that the AMF accepts the NAS request and continues to perform the NAS process. Second case: a part of the TAs corresponding to the TAIs received by the AMF is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, and another part is the restricted area. In this case, the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area. the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area, in both cases, the AMF first considers that the TA where the UE is currently located is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, accepts the NAS request, and continues to perform the NAS process. After determining that the first TA where the UE is currently located is the restricted area, the AMF releases the corresponding connection.).
Regarding claim 17, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, further comprising: in response to the rejection cause having the first value, initiating a registration update procedure, and receiving and saving updated RA information from a core network device after the registration update is successfully completed; or, in response to the rejection cause having the second value, updating stored FA information to comprise the TA information of the first TA, and forbidding the UE from initiating a request message (¶ 0089, 0103-0104, First case: the TAs corresponding to all TAIs received by the AMF are the areas allowing the UE to initiate the service. In this case, any TA the UE currently located is an area allowing the UE to initiate the service, so that the AMF accepts the NAS request and continues to perform the NAS process. Second case: a part of the TAs corresponding to the TAIs received by the AMF is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, and another part is the restricted area. In this case, the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area. the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area, in both cases, the AMF first considers that the TA where the UE is currently located is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, accepts the NAS request, and continues to perform the NAS process. After determining that the first TA where the UE is currently located is the restricted area, the AMF releases the corresponding connection.).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein after the UE completes processing of the first TA that comprises: saving the first TA and adding the TA information of the first TA into RA information or FA information of the UE, the method further comprises: initiating the registration update, in a case that a second TA before the processing of the first TA comprises the first TA and the second TA is changed after the processing of the first TA, and any TA in the changed second TA is not comprised in the RA, wherein the second TA is a TA indicated by TA information broadcasted by the access network device; or, initiating a network access request, in a case that the second TA before the processing of the first TA comprises the first TA and the first TA is in the FA, and the second TA is changed after the processing of the first TA (¶ 0062, 0070, 0103-0104, the first TA is the area allowing the terminal device to initiate a service and the first TA is not in the RA configured by the core network for the terminal device, the AMF adds the first TA to the RA and feeds back the configuration update instruction to the terminal device. The configuration update instruction carries the indication that the terminal device is in the first TA).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein, after the UE completes processing of the first TA, the method further comprises: forbidding the UE from initiating the registration update, in a case that a second TA before the processing of the first TA does not comprise the first TA, and second TA information is not changed after the processing of the first TA; or, forbidding the UE from initiating a network access request, in a case that the second TA before the processing of the first TA does not comprise the first TA and the first TA is comprised in the FA, and the second TA is not changed after the processing of the first TA (¶ 0062, 0089, 0103-0104, First case: the TAs corresponding to all TAIs received by the AMF are the areas allowing the UE to initiate the service. In this case, any TA the UE currently located is an area allowing the UE to initiate the service, so that the AMF accepts the NAS request and continues to perform the NAS process. Second case: a part of the TAs corresponding to the TAIs received by the AMF is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, and another part is the restricted area. In this case, the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area. the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area, in both cases, the AMF first considers that the TA where the UE is currently located is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, accepts the NAS request, and continues to perform the NAS process. After determining that the first TA where the UE is currently located is the restricted area, the AMF releases the corresponding connection.).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN et al and Edge disclose in claim 11, further, CHEN et al disclose, wherein, after the UE completes processing of the first TA, the method further comprises: initiating the registration update, in a case that a second TA before the processing of the first TA does not comprise the first TA and the second TA is changed after the processing of the first TA, and the changed second TA does not comprise the first TA; or, initiating a network access request, in a case that the second TA before the processing of the first TA does not comprise the first TA and the first TA is comprised in the FA, and the second TA is changed after the processing of the first TA and the changed second TA does not comprise the first TA (¶ 0062, 0089, 0103-0104, First case: the TAs corresponding to all TAIs received by the AMF are the areas allowing the UE to initiate the service. In this case, any TA the UE currently located is an area allowing the UE to initiate the service, so that the AMF accepts the NAS request and continues to perform the NAS process. Second case: a part of the TAs corresponding to the TAIs received by the AMF is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, and another part is the restricted area. In this case, the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area. the TA where the UE is currently located may be the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, or may be the restricted area, in both cases, the AMF first considers that the TA where the UE is currently located is the area allowing the UE to initiate the service, accepts the NAS request, and continues to perform the NAS process. After determining that the first TA where the UE is currently located is the restricted area, the AMF releases the corresponding connection.).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643