Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the base station of claims 1-10 and other charging piles of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the elements of Fig. 1 lack symbols/text/legend to clearly understand their meaning only from the drawing itself. Emend it to add them. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulupinar et al (USPGPN 20090238106; hereinafter Ulup) in view of Valentinetti et al (USPGPN 20230322118; hereinafter Vale) and Wu et al (USPGPN 20040242242).
Independent Claim 1, Ulup teaches a charging pile (limitations in preamble not given patentable weight; Fig. 15) comprising:
a central control module (1506);
communication module, connected to the central control module (1502, 1508; ¶’s [53, 109] imply that the device can be a wireless communication device, i.e. cellphone);
a memory, connected to the central control module (1510);
wherein the central control module is configured to:
receive, by the communication module, a unicast request signal transmitted by a source base station; receive, by the communication module, to-be-transmitted user information transmitted by the source base station, the to-be-transmitted user information being stored in the memory space in the memory; and forward the to-be-transmitted user information by the 5G communication module or the wireless local area network module (¶’s [111, 112, esp. 112: “memory 1510 can be configured to retain and processor 1506 can be configured to execute instructions relating to receiving a message over a unicast waveform and processing the message through a unicast stack. The instructions can also relate to routing the message to a broadcast/multicast (BCMC) stack and outputting the message to a user”], where as the information is destined for a user, it is interpreted as user information, ¶’s [109-112], Fig. 16).
Ulup is silent to a 5G communication module, connected to the central control module;
a wireless local area network module, connected to the central control module; and transmit a ready-to-receive signal to the source base station by the communication module.
Wu teaches transmit a ready-to-receive signal to the source base station by the communication module (analogous system of Figs. [1-4], where remote station 25 of Fig. 1 is analogous to user device of Figs. [15, 16] in Ulup and the present application;
Fig. 7 has 300 to 302 [request signal transmitted by a source base station 10/ received by communication module 26/27] to 308 & 310 [ready-to-receive message sent to base station]
Similarly, Fig. 5 [204] represents a ready to receive message transmitted from the base station 10, again involved with whether the power is turned on;
This thus represents a control where power can be saved until external control sends a wake-up signal, as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand improves efficiency, where this communication analogously involves wireless communication ¶’s [34, 35]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ulup with Wu to provide improved efficiency.
Ulup is silent to 5G communication module, connected to the central control module;
a wireless local area network module, connected to the central control module;
Vale teaches a charging pile (11, esp. dispenser DU, of Figs. [1-9, esp. 3, 9]) with 5G communication module, connected to the central control module (control board and CPU; ¶’s [67-71, esp. 69] describes 5G communication, described in Claim 12 as communication equipment [i.e. module]);
a wireless local area network module, connected to the central control module (user interface, allowing wifi, i.e. wireless area network module, ¶’s [67-71, esp. 68]). Ulup, Vale, and Wu are analogous to the present application in that they all deal with wireless communication.
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that provision of electric vehicles, and thus chargers for the batteries of the electric vehicles, serves to reduce the pollution, esp. air quality, of the environment as engines which emit noxious fumes while they travel are instead replaced [and/or reduced the need for use] with cleaner electric propulsion systems. Energy can be generated centrally in power plants [e.g. solar, wind, coal, natural gas, nuclear, etc.], and so areas with higher vehicular traffic can reduce emissions. Furthermore, due to the available use of solar, wind, nuclear, etc. energy sources for electrical charging, the use of these chargers can provide improved efficiency over many gasoline/petrol engines in vehicles.
In addition, 5G communication systems are known to those of ordinary skill in the art to have faster communication speeds than many long-range wireless communication systems. Furthermore, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, having both 5G and wifi modules allows for a larger assortment of devices which can be used. 5G allows for much larger ranges [distance] of devices to be connected, while wifi has more compatible devices than 5G. By employing both, it allows for improved flexibility/convenience for a user since they can easily deploy both without having to add adaptors [which could add costs and/or extra time to add].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ulup in view of Vale with Wu to provide improved air-quality, convenience, efficiency, and flexibility.
Dependent Claim 2, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches transmit, by the 5G communication module, an acknowledging signal to the source base station (Wu teaches in ¶’s [15-18, esp. 17] that an acknowledgment signal is sent in order to allow the transmitter to know it can proceed rather than the need to re-transmit the signal again [i.e. providing control efficiency]; and forward the to-be-transmitted user information in the memory space in the memory in response to acknowledging that the to-be-transmitted user information has been received (as noted, the loop proceeds as described for Claim 1 with Wu which is modifying Ulup, where both demonstrate the to-be-transmitted user information being stored in memory).
Dependent Claim 3, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches the central control module is further configured to: judge a connection status of the 5G communication module with other nearby charging piles (as Ulup has the terminal as comparable to a mobile phone, and mobile phones make phone-calls/video-calls over 5G to other 5G phones all the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the act of determining that the other line is unable to receive the phone call is analogous to this feature, as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [noted that the applicant did not claim the charging pile was stationary];
In addition, when performing a reset/shutdown or going out of range, the determination of no signal would be understood by 5G compatible phones before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as would have been understood to one of ordinary skill in the art); and
make, in response to connection interruption of the 5G communication module, the 5G communication module in wireless communication connection to other charging piles by means of the wireless local area network module (as noted above, missed phone call, going out of range, shutdown/reset, network outages [added], etc. would all be reasons whereby connections would be lost, the simple act of later making a connection at a later time [noted that applicant omitted how much later] is well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, and was practiced at least by the examiner [and also other of those of ordinary skill in the art] a plurality of times before the effective filing date of the claimed invention], official notice taken).
Dependent Claim 5, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a display module, connected to the central control module to display information (Ulup describes displaying information on a user display ¶[104], Vale teaches the dispenser DU having a user interface, shown by Fig. 9 to be connected to the CPU board, being a touchscreen display in ¶’s [67-71], where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having a display for information, it can serve to provide improved convenience for users as they can be aware of important information which the system is programmed to understand is important).
Dependent Claim 7, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a power supply module, connected to the central control module to provide a charging service and supply power to the central control module, the 5G communication module, and the wireless local area network module (due to Ulup and Wu describing electrical power components and communication, they would inherently have power supplies;
Vale in Figs. [1-2b] demonstrates power supplies for charging service from the grid ¶[21] along with battery BESS shown in more detail in Figs. [3-8], where it would have been understood that these power supplies power not only the charging but also the communication and control systems which are also electrical in nature).
Dependent Claim 8, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches the power supply module comprises: a direct-current charging module, configured to output an adjustable direct current; and an alternating-current charging module, configured to output an alternating current (Vale: transformer of Figs. 1-2b provides alternating-current electrical charge output [noted applicant did not claim this alternating current is provided to an external device], while DC/DC converter of BESS and CE-DC provide DC output power which can be adjusted by the number of switches connected in each of PU and DU as well as whether DC-DC converter of BESS is providing current as well, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands).
Dependent Claim 9, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a payment module, connected to the central control module to provide a charging payment function (Vale teaches payment in ¶’s [67-71], where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that by allowing the one selling the electric power and renting out the dispensing equipment, it allows for improved financials/costs and a satisfying return on investment on the one who purchased/manufactured the dispensing equipment, in addition, it can provide improved convenience for those who need electrical power but are not at their home/owned dispensing equipment, so gives them more flexibility in which to continue using their vehicle).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulupinar et al (USPGPN 20090238106; hereinafter Ulup) in view of Valentinetti et al (USPGPN 20230322118; hereinafter Vale) and Wu et al (USPGPN 20040242242), further in view of Wei et al (USPGPN 20200378770)
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a communication module connected to the central control module (as described above for each).
Ulup is silent to an environmental parameter sensing module, connected to the central control module to sense an environmental parameter.
Wei teaches an environmental parameter sensing module, connected to the central control module (control module) to sense an environmental parameter (Fig. 3 shows charging pile with meteorological monitoring/self-state unit, ¶’s [36, 37, 41]). Wei teaches this information serves to help improve the optimal selection of sources by which to charge the vehicle ¶[36].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ulup in view of [Vale and Wu] with Wei to provide optimization of sources selection.
Dependent Claim 6, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a communication module connected to the central control module (as described above for each).
Ulup is silent to an image monitoring module, connected to the central control module to monitor an image .
Wei teaches an image monitoring module, connected to the central control module (control module) to monitor an image (camera, ¶[41] describes improved functionality by determining user, proximity, and working state information via the camera).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ulup in view of [Vale and Wu] with Wei to provide improved functionality of the system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulupinar et al (USPGPN 20090238106; hereinafter Ulup) in view of Valentinetti et al (USPGPN 20230322118; hereinafter Vale) and Wu et al (USPGPN 20040242242), further in view of Starr et al (USPGPN 20110140656)
Dependent Claim 10, the combination of Ulup, Vale, and Wu teaches a communication module connected to the central control module (as described above for each).
Ulup is silent to an emergency contact module to provide an emergency contact service.
Starr teaches an emergency contact module to provide an emergency contact service (¶[55] describes the charging station is an emergency phone and charging station, which one of ordinary skill in the art would provide improved convenience and safety to users, since there could be easier access to methods of calling for emergency assistance, esp. if one’s phone becomes lost and/or low-battery, in addition, by combining the two, it can provide improved use of space and financials, ¶[55])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ulup in view of [Vale and Wu] with Starr to provide improved space management, safety, costs, and convenience.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859