Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakano US20180192489.
With respect to claims 1, 12, and 20, Nakano discloses a lighting apparatus [Fig. 1] comprising: a light emitting diode (LED) module 10 comprising: one or more LEDs 11 to emit light; and an identification element 13; and a control apparatus 20 electrically coupled to the LED module [paragraph 34], the control apparatus operable to determine an identification indication 23, 24 related to the identification element and to control the LED module at least in part in response to the identification indication [paragraphs 53-54].
With respect to claim 2, The lighting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the identification element is a passive electrical component 13 [Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 3, The lighting apparatus of claim 2, wherein the passive electronic component is a resistor with a particular resistance value [paragraph 35].
With respect to claim 4, The lighting apparatus of claim 3, wherein to determine the identification indication, the control apparatus is operable to determine a voltage drop across the resistor [paragraphs 41-48].
With respect to claims 5 and 13, The lighting apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is operable to determine an operating configuration for the LED module at least in part in response to the identification indication and to control the LED module at least in part in response to the operating configuration for the LED module [paragraphs 35-36 and 54].
With respect to claims 6 and 14, The lighting apparatus of claim 5, wherein the operating configuration comprises at least a maximum current to apply to the LED module; and wherein, to control the LED module [paragraph 54], the control module is further operable to control the LED module to ensure the current applied to the LED module is less than or equal to the maximum current [paragraph 55].
With respect to claims 7 and 15, The lighting apparatus of claim 5, wherein the LED module comprises a plurality of LED channels [paragraph 75]; wherein the operating configuration comprises at least a respective maximum current to apply to each of the LED channels [paragraph 54]; and wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to control each of the LED channels to ensure the current applied to each of the LED channels is less than or equal to the respective maximum current [paragraph 55].
With respect to claims 8 and 16, The lighting apparatus of claim 5, wherein the LED module comprises a plurality of LED channels [paragraph 75]; and the operating configuration comprises at least calibration information related to a mix of the plurality of LED channels required to achieve a particular lighting effect [paragraphs 9 and 14-15]; wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to control the LED channels to achieve the particular lighting effect [paragraphs 4 and 54].
With respect to claims 9 and 17, The lighting apparatus of claim 5, wherein the operating configuration comprises at least a predetermined voltage to apply to the LED module [paragraphs 35 and 39]; wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to control the LED channels to set a voltage to apply to the LED module to the predetermined voltage [paragraph 54].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano US20180192489 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Mcananama et al. US20240284578.
With respect to claims 10 and 18, Nakano disclose the apparatus as recited above in claim 5. Nakano fails to disclose wherein the operating configuration comprises at least a network identifier for the lighting apparatus; wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to control the LED module in response to communications on a network using the network identifier.
Mcananama et al. discloses a network identifier for the lighting apparatus; wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to control the LED module in response to communications on a network using the network identifier [paragraphs 35 and 43]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Mcananama et al. into the apparatus of Nakano to improve operation of lighting devices to achieve a particular lighting effect and/or control lighting devices independently as implied by Mcananama et al. [paragraphs 43 and 45].
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano US20180192489 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Speer et al. US20190082610.
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Nakano disclose the apparatus as recited above in claim 5. Nakano fails to disclose wherein, to control the LED module, the control module is further operable to determine if a programmed configuration of the control module is acceptable considering the operating configuration of the LED module; and, if the programmed configuration of the control module is not acceptable considering the operating configuration of the LED module, to control the LED module to at least one of provide a warning indication; and disable the LED module.
Speer et al. discloses a control module is further operable to determine if a programmed configuration of the control module is acceptable considering the operating configuration of the LED module; and, if the programmed configuration of the control module is not acceptable considering the operating configuration of the LED module, to control the LED module to at least one of provide a warning indication; and disable the LED module [paragraph 48]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the features of Speer et al. into the apparatus of Nakano to improve operation as taught by Speer et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang US20200359474 shows identifiable LED lamp and self-adaptive dimming driving system.
Weber et al. US20180105099 shows led light module.
Mishima US20160270177 shows lighting circuit.
Mishima US20160270175 shows a lighting assembly.
Toyota et al. US20050062445 shows a lighting apparatus.
Kayser US20020047546 shows warning to the user about the excessive operating temperature – the user would then be able to make the decision whether or not to terminate the light generation.
Sood et al. US20220008575 shows outputting a warning sound signal configured to provide an audio cue to the user that the UV light source has been deactivated
ALEXANDER H. TANINGCO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844