Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-6 and 8-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (JP2007312932 citing to machine translation) in view of Liu (PGPUB US 2010/0018982) and Ho (PGPub# US2009/0166350).
Regarding claim 2, Kanai teaches an actively heated mug (par. 8 - 10), comprising: a cylindrical mug body (figure 7 and 6-1) comprising: an outer circumferential wall 17, an inner circumferential wall 16 that extends from a proximal portion to a base (area above heat exchange element 14), the inner circumferential wall defining a chamber configured to receive and hold a liquid (figure 7), an annular gap between the inner circumferential wall and the outer circumferential wall (figure 11, par 81: Inner and outer walls enclose insulation structure 50), and a bottom portion attached to a distal end of the outer circumferential wall (figure 7 bottom of cup), the bottom portion spaced from the base to define a cavity therebetween (Figure 7 and par. 86: Cavity encloses control unit 11, battery 12, wireless charging circuit 24, heater 14, and charging circuit 23) ; and a heating system 14/15 at least partially disposed in the annular gap or cavity, comprising: one or more heating elements 14 configured to heat the chamber (par. 20), a wireless power receiver 24 disposed in the cavity between the bottom portion and the base and configured to wirelessly receive power from a power source (par. 62-65), the wireless power receiver being in communication with one or more energy storage devices 23/12 in the cavity and configured to charge the one or more energy storage devices (par. 62),circuitry configured to control an operation of the one or more heating elements to heat the liquid in the chamber to a predetermined temperature setting or user selected temperature setting (control 11, par 47-55).
Kanai does not explicitly teach that the inner circumferential wall having a proximal portion with a first diameter and a distal portion with a second diameter smaller than the first diameter, and one or more sensors configured to detect a presence of a liquid in the chamber, the circuitry configured to automatically turn off power to the one or more heating elements upon receiving a signal indicating that the liquid in the chamber has dropped below a predetermined liquid level or been depleted completely.
However, Liu teaches a similar heating/cooling mug. (abstract and figure 2) Liu additionally teaches an inner and outer wall surrounding insulation 13. (par. 16 and figure 3) Liu teaches that the distal portion of the inner wall has a diameter smaller than the proximal portion. (figure 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the shape of Liu’s mug, for the shape of Kanai’s Mug, as it would be simple substitution of known mug shapes. Changes in size or shape are not patentably distinct from prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
The combination of Kanai and Liu does not explicitly teach one or more sensors configured to detect a presence of a liquid in the chamber, the circuitry configured to automatically turn off power to the one or more heating elements upon receiving a signal indicating that the liquid in the chamber has dropped below a predetermined liquid level or been depleted completely.
However, Ho teaches a container for heating water. (abstract and figure 1) Ho teaches one or more sensors (e.g., level sensor 313) configured to detect a presence of a liquid in the chamber, the circuitry configured to automatically turn off power to the one or more heating elements upon receiving a signal indicating that the liquid in the chamber has dropped below a predetermined liquid level or been depleted completely (e.g., Fig. 3 and para 35) Ho teaches that this is done in order to avoid damage to the container. (par. 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the sensor and control circuitry of Ho, to the apparatus of Kanai in view of Liu, in order to avoid damage to the container as taught by Ho.
Regarding claim 3, Kanai teaches one or more temperature sensors. (par. 53, 18)
Regarding claim 4, Kanai teaches wherein the one or more heating elements 14/15 are wrapped around the distal portion of the inner circumferential wall so as to conduct heat through the distal portion of the inner circumferential wall and into the liquid in the chamber. (figures 5, 11, and par. 46)
Regarding claim 5, Kanai teaches wherein the one or more heating elements includes a resistive heater. (par. 55)
Regarding claim 6, Kanai teaches wherein the annular gap is configured to be filled with an insulative material. (figure 11, par 81: Inner and outer walls enclose insulation structure 50)
Regarding claim 8, Kanai teaches a user interface electrically connected to the control circuitry, the user interface actuatable by a user to control the operation of the one or more heating elements, wherein the user interface is operated by the user to select a temperature level of the liquid in the chamber first cavity, the control circuitry configured to control the operation of the one or more heating elements to maintain the liquid at the selected temperature level. (control 11, par 47-55).
Regarding claim 9, Kanai teaches a charging base 27 having a wireless power transmitter 25, where the wireless power transmitter is configured to transmit power to the wireless power receiver of the heating system when the mug is placed on the charging base. (par. 62-65)
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (JP2007312932 citing to machine translation) in view of Liu (PGPUB US 2010/0018982), Ho (PGPub# US2009/0166350), and Tu (CN2700169Y using machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kanai/Liu/Ho does not explicitly teach an orientation sensor configured to sense an orientation of the body and communicates with the circuitry, the circuitry configured to inhibit delivery of power to the one or more heating elements when the orientation sensor indicates that the body has been turned upside down.
However, Tu teaches a similar heated mug. (figure 1 par. 2) Tu teaches using a tilt/orientation sensor to sense an orientation of the mug body. Tu teaches detecting an orientation of the cup and once the orientation is past a threshold for a predetermined period of time, the power is cut off to the device. (par. 49) Tu teaches the advantage of the setup is to provide for a safer and more reliable mug. (par. 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the orientation sensor of Tu, to the apparatus of Kanai in view of Liu and Ho, in order to provide for a safer and more reliable mug as taught by Tu.
Claims 10-14 and 16-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (JP2007312932 citing to machine translation) in view of Ho (PGPub# US2009/0166350).
Regarding claim 10, Kanai teaches an actively heated mug (par. 8 - 10), comprising: a cylindrical mug body (figure 7 and 6-1) comprising: an outer circumferential wall 17, an inner circumferential wall 16 that extends from a proximal portion to a base (area above heat exchange element 14), the inner circumferential wall defining a chamber configured to receive and hold a liquid (figure 7), an annular gap between the inner circumferential wall and the outer circumferential wall (figure 11, par 81: Inner and outer walls enclose insulation structure 50), and a bottom portion attached to a distal end of the outer circumferential wall (figure 7 bottom of cup), the bottom portion spaced from the base to define a cavity therebetween (Figure 7 and par. 86: Cavity encloses control unit 11, battery 12, wireless charging circuit 24, heater 14, and charging circuit 23) ; and a heating system 14/15 at least partially disposed in the cavity, comprising: one or more heating elements 14 configured to heat the chamber (par. 20), a wireless power receiver 24 disposed in the cavity between the bottom portion and the base and configured to wirelessly receive power from a power source (par. 62-65), the wireless power receiver being in communication with one or more energy storage devices 23/12 in the cavity and configured to charge the one or more energy storage devices (par. 62),circuitry configured to control an operation of the one or more heating elements to heat the liquid in the chamber to a predetermined temperature setting or user selected temperature setting (control 11, par 47-55).
Kanai does not explicitly teach one or more sensors configured to detect a presence of a liquid in the chamber, the circuitry configured to automatically turn off power to the one or more heating elements upon receiving a signal indicating that the liquid in the chamber has dropped below a predetermined liquid level or been depleted completely.
However, Ho teaches a container for heating water. (abstract and figure 1) Ho teaches one or more sensors (e.g., level sensor 313) configured to detect a presence of a liquid in the chamber, the circuitry configured to automatically turn off power to the one or more heating elements upon receiving a signal indicating that the liquid in the chamber has dropped below a predetermined liquid level or been depleted completely (e.g., Fig. 3 and para 35) Ho teaches that this is done in order to avoid damage to the container. (par. 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the sensor and control circuitry of Ho, to the apparatus of Kanai, in order to avoid damage to the container as taught by Ho.
Regarding claim 11, Kanai teaches one or more temperature sensors. (par. 53, 18)
Regarding claim 12, Kanai teaches wherein the one or more heating elements 14/15 are wrapped around the distal portion of the inner circumferential wall so as to conduct heat through the distal portion of the inner circumferential wall and into the liquid in the chamber. (figures 5, 11, and par. 46)
Regarding claim 13, Kanai teaches wherein the one or more heating elements includes a resistive heater. (par. 55)
Regarding claim 14, Kanai teaches wherein the annular gap is configured to be filled with an insulative material. (figure 11, par 81: Inner and outer walls enclose insulation structure 50)
Regarding claim 16, Kanai teaches a user interface electrically connected to the control circuitry, the user interface actuatable by a user to control the operation of the one or more heating elements, wherein the user interface is operated by the user to select a temperature level of the liquid in the chamber first cavity, the control circuitry configured to control the operation of the one or more heating elements to maintain the liquid at the selected temperature level. (control 11, par 47-55).
Regarding claim 17, Kanai teaches a charging base 27 having a wireless power transmitter 25, where the wireless power transmitter is configured to transmit power to the wireless power receiver of the heating system when the mug is placed on the charging base. (par. 62-65)
Claim 15 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (JP2007312932 citing to machine translation), Ho (PGPub# US2009/0166350), and Tu (CN2700169Y using machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kanai/Ho does not explicitly teach an orientation sensor configured to sense an orientation of the body and communicates with the circuitry, the circuitry configured to inhibit delivery of power to the one or more heating elements when the orientation sensor indicates that the body has been turned upside down.
However, Tu teaches a similar heated mug. (figure 1 par. 2) Tu teaches using a tilt/orientation sensor to sense an orientation of the mug body. Tu teaches detecting an orientation of the cup and once the orientation is past a threshold for a predetermined period of time, the power is cut off to the device. (par. 49) Tu teaches the advantage of the setup is to provide for a safer and more reliable mug. (par. 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the orientation sensor of Tu, to the apparatus of Kanai in view of Ho, in order to provide for a safer and more reliable mug as taught by Tu.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,260. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as indicated in previous office action.
Claims 2-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 9,974,401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as indicated in previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761