Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an object control unit for controlling”, “a top-priority object setting unit for setting”, “a specific-point determining unit for determining”, and “a virtual-camera control unit for controlling” in claims 1 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “one or a plurality of second objects that cannot be operated by the player”, and the claim also recites “a specific point on the basis of the position of the top-priority second object and the position of the other second object” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a specific point on the basis of the position of the top-priority second object and the position of the other second object " in the 4th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “One or a plurality of second objects” is claimed. With only one second object, there cannot be a specific point determination based on a plurality of second objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2022/0297005 A1 to Kamiya et al. (hereinafter Kamiya).
Concerning claim 1,
Kamiya discloses a non-transitory computer-readable information storage medium storing a program for generating an image of a virtual space viewed from a virtual camera (Figure 6), the program causing a computer to function as:
an object control unit for controlling movement of a first object that can be operated by a player and one or a plurality of second objects that cannot be operated by the player, in the virtual space (0121, 0148-0149, Figure 16, player character (element 202) and enemy character(s) (element 204) are controlled by the processor, while the offensive character (element 210) is controlled by player in the embodiment referenced. In this embodiment, when the offensive character is sent out, the computer takes control of the player character.);
a top-priority object setting unit for setting a top-priority second object from among the second object(s) that is present around the first object (0148-0149, wherein locking on is considered equivalent to a top-priority setting);
a specific-point determining unit for determining, in the case where the other second object is present around the set top-priority second object, a specific point on the basis of the position of the top-priority second object and the position of the other second object (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16, see intermediate point in Figure 16 based off of elements 202, 204, and 210); and
a virtual-camera control unit for controlling at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera on the basis of the determined specific point (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16).
Concerning claim 2,
Kamiya discloses the virtual-camera control unit controls the orientation of the virtual camera such that the specific point is contained in a predetermined range in the image viewed from the virtual camera (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16, as broadly claimed, the virtual space is considered a predetermined range).
Concerning claim 3,
Kamiya discloses the virtual-camera control unit controls the orientation of the virtual camera on the basis of the type of an action of the first object (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16).
Concerning claim 4,
Kamiya discloses the virtual-camera control unit controls the position of the virtual camera on the basis of at least one of the position of the second object(s), the number of the second objects, and the size of the second object(s) (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16, The claim does not establish whether or not the top priority second object in included. As broadly claimed, it is assumed the second object(s) include the top priority second object).
Concerning claim 5,
Kamiya discloses an information processing device for generating an image of a virtual space viewed from a virtual camera (Figure 6), the information processing device comprising:
an object control unit for controlling movement of a first object that can be operated by a player and one or a plurality of second objects that cannot be operated by the player, in the virtual space (0121, 0148-0149, Figure 16, player character (element 202) and enemy character(s) (element 204) controlled by processor, while offensive character (element 210) controlled by player);
a top-priority object setting unit for setting a top-priority second object from among the second object(s) that is present in a first range set in accordance with the position of the first object (0148-0149, wherein locking on is considered equivalent to a top-priority setting. As broadly claimed, the virtual space is considered a predetermined range);
a specific-point determining unit for determining, in the case where the other second object is present around the set top-priority second object, a specific point on the basis of the position of the top-priority second object and the position of the other second object (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16, see intermediate point in Figure 16 based off of elements 202, 204, and 210); and
a virtual-camera control unit for controlling at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera on the basis of the determined specific point (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16).
Concerning claim 6,
Kamiya discloses an information processing method for generating an image of a virtual space viewed from a virtual camera, the method being executed by a computer (Figure 6), the method comprising:
controlling movement of a first object that can be operated by a player and one or a plurality of second objects that cannot be operated by the player, in the virtual space (0121, 0148-0149, Figure 16, player character (element 202) and enemy character(s) (element 204) controlled by processor, while offensive character (element 210) controlled by player);
setting a top-priority second object from among the second object(s) that is present in a first range set in accordance with the position of the first object (0148-0149, wherein locking on is considered equivalent to a top-priority setting. As broadly claimed, the virtual space is considered a predetermined range);
determining, in the case where the other second object is present around the set top-priority second object, a specific point on the basis of the position of the top-priority second object and the position of the other second object (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16, see intermediate point in Figure 16 based off of elements 202, 204, and 210); and
controlling at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera on the basis of the determined specific point (0135-0136, 0148-0149, Figure 16).
Conclusion
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715