DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an amendment filed with an RCE on 01/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, 13, 14, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 2012/0051438) in view of Liu (US 2021/0385446).
As to claim 18, Chong teaches an apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, a first filter shape from a plurality of filter shapes, the first filter shape being indicated in the bitstream (paras. 32-37, 39, 74-78, 86-91, 94-97, 101-105, 108-114, and 122-123);
determining, based on the first filter shape, a first filter for coding a first sample of the current video block; and performing the conversion based on the first filter (paras. 32-37, 39, 74-78, 86-91, 94-97, 101-105, 108-114, and 122-123).
Chong does not teach a value of a clip parameter of the first filter being dependent on the first filter shape.
However, Liu teaches a value of a clip parameter of a first filter being dependent on a first filter shape (paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chong’s system with Liu’s system to show a value of a clip parameter of the first filter being dependent on the first filter shape in order to provide more computationally efficient and flexible adaptive loop filter coding techniques.
As to claims 1, 19, and 21, the aforementioned claims are rejected similarly as claim 18.
As to claim 7, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the first sample is a luma sample, and the clip parameter is indicated in a syntax element structure (Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 8, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the first sample is a chroma sample, and the clip parameter is indicated in a syntax element structure (Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 9, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the first filter is associated with a set of filters with the first filter shape, and a clip parameter of the set of filters is indicated in a syntax element structure (Chong; paras. 32-37, 39, 74-78, 86-91, 94-97, 101-105, 108-114, and 122-123; Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 10, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the number of coefficients of the first filter is dependent on the first filter shape, the coefficients being indicated in a syntax element structure (Chong; paras. 32-37, 39, 74-78, 86-91, 94-97, 101-105, 108-114, and 122-123; Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 11, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the number of clip parameters of the first filter is dependent on the first filter shape, the clip parameters being indicated in a syntax element structure (Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 13, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the set of parameters comprise: a set of coefficients of the first filter, or a set of clip parameters of the first filter (Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 14, the combination of Chong and Liu teaches wherein the first filter shape is one of: a symmetrical filter shape, a diamond filer shape, a cross filter shape, an asymmetrical filter shape, or a square filter shape (Liu; paras. 44, 61, and 176-190).
As to claim 16, Chong further teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream (see FIGs. 3 and 4 and their corresponding paragraphs).
As to claim 17, Chong further teaches wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (see FIGs. 3 and 4 and their corresponding paragraphs).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Liu and further in view of Taquet (US 2022/0078415).
As to claim 6, the combination of Chong and Liu does not teach wherein the first sample is a sample of a color component different from luma and chroma.
However, Taquet teaches an example of a sample of a color component involved in adaptive loop filtering being different from luma and chroma (Taquet; para. 478).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chong’s system and Liu’s system with Taquet’s system to show wherein the first sample is a sample of a color component different from luma and chroma in order to provide more computationally efficient and flexible adaptive loop filter coding techniques.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection incorporated above. In addition, Examiner maintains that the Chong reference discloses the claim limitation of “the first filter shape being indicated in the bitstream” as seen in the above rejection of claim 18.
In view of the above reasons, Examiner maintains all rejections.
Conclusion
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482