DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I (claims 1 – 16) in the reply filed on 4/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that examination of the integrated circuit claims necessarily requires consideration of the same structure and functionality that underlies the method claims, requiring restriction would not result in a meaningful reduction in examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the method steps of forming the device are not required to forming the device of the apparatus claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the dielectric electric layers must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 and 12 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (U.S. PG Pub. # 2024/0176069 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘069 teaches integrated photonics circuitry comprising:
a substrate (131);
an interposer structure mounted on the substrate,
the interposer structure including a glass chiplet (103);
an electrical and photonic integrated circuit (EPIC) (104 or 104 and 114) having a first portion disposed on the glass chiplet and a second portion disposed over the substrate (all portions are disposed over both);
and a waveguide (160) of the glass chiplet, the waveguide coupled to the EPIC (fig. 5B).
In Re claim 2, '069 teaches edge coupled as claimed (par. 0079, fig. 5B).
In Re claim 3, Applicant is claiming the product including the process of making the circuitry, and therefore is of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that the determination of the patentability of product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. Thus a prior art product which possesses the claimed product characteristics can anticipate or render obvious the claim subject matter regardless of the manner in which it is fabricated. A rejection based on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the status is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 and 688; In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 147.
In Re claims 4 and 5, '069 teaches adhesive (127, par. 0089 or 150) and solder (150) as claimed.
In Re claim 6, '069 teaches a mold material (148-1 or 148-2 9 or epoxy 127, pars. 0089, 0091) as claimed.
In Re claim 7, '069 teaches a plurality of dielectric electric layers (148-1 and 148-2 are between mold, lower 127, and 114) and routing circuitry (196) as claimed.
In Re claim 8, '069 teaches epoxy (127, pars. 0089, 0091) as claimed.
In Re claim 9, '069 teaches a processor (128) as claimed.
In Re claim 10, '069 teaches a silicon bridge (202) as claimed.
In Re claim 12, ‘069 teaches an integrated circuit (IC) package (fig. 5B) comprising:
a substrate (131);
an interposer structure mounted on a substrate, the interposer structure comprising:
a glass chiplet (103, par. 0075);
a silicon bridge (202 is a die, par. 0037);
a plurality of dielectric electric layers (interpreted as electric layers that contact a dielectric as this phrase is not depicted in the drawings, 196 and 130 are embedded in dielectric material of 148 and 127, respectively, par. 0089, or interpreted as 148 is a plurality of dielectric layers per par. 0103 as redistribution layer technique applies layers corresponding to each layer of conductive traces of which 5 are depicted in 148 of fig. 5B) disposed on the silicon bridge (fig. 5B) and having routing circuitry formed therethrough (interpreted as the silicon bridge has circuitry formed therethrough, par. 0085 or the electric layers form routing circuitry);
and a wave guide (160);
a processor (128) disposed over the interposer structure;
and an electrical and photonic integrated circuit (EPIC) (104 and 114), the EPIC disposed over the interposer structure adjacent the processor and on the glass chiplet,
the EPIC and the processor electrically coupled by the routing circuitry and the silicon bridge (to each other via 202 and to layer 148 as the claim does not recite coupled to each other),
the waveguide edge coupled (par. 0079) to the EPIC.
In Re claim 13, '069 teaches mold (148) as claimed (fig. 5B).
In Re claim 14, '069 teaches pillars (vertical sections of 196).
In Re claim 15, '069 teaches the mold (148) contacting the glass chiplet (103, fig. 5B).
In Re claim 16, '069 teaches edge coupling as claimed (par. 0079, fig. 5B).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Psaila et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2021/0003775 A1).
In Re claims 1 and 11, ‘775 teaches integrated photonics circuitry comprising:
a substrate (102);
an interposer structure mounted on the substrate,
the interposer structure including a glass chiplet (122);
an electrical and photonic integrated circuit (EPIC) (124, par. 0167) having a first portion disposed on the glass chiplet and a second portion disposed over the substrate (all portions are disposed over both);
and a waveguide (126) of the glass chiplet, the waveguide evanescently coupled to the EPIC (par. 0168, fig. 9).
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874