DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
6. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an operation display unit” in claim 1.
(a) Claim 1: “an operation display unit” corresponds to “operation display unit 36”. ‘The operation display unit 36 is a so-called operation panel, and includes a display 36a as a display unit and a touch panel 36b as an operation receiver. The display 36a has a substantially rectangular display surface, and the touch panel 36b is provided SO as to overlap the display surface of the display 36a. The display 36a is, for example, a liquid-crystal display (LCD), but is not limited thereto, and may be a display of another type such as an organic electroluminescent (EL) display. The touch panel 36b is, for example, a capacitive panel, but is not limited thereto, and may be a panel of another type such as an electromagnetic inductive type, a resistive film type, or an infrared type. In addition to the display 36a, the operation display unit 36 includes appropriate light emitting elements such as light emitting diodes (LEDs) (not illustrated). In addition to the touch panel 36b, the operation display unit 36 includes appropriate hardware switch elements such as push-button switches. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Operation display unit 36 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saeda et al. (US PG. Pub. 2021/0218853 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Saeda teaches an information processing device (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Information Processing Apparatus 10) capable of providing a plurality of services (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Sect. [0033], the information processing apparatus 10 provides a plurality of predetermined services such as copying, printing, scanning, and faxing to the user in cooperation with the image forming apparatus 70.), comprising:
an operation display unit (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Display 14) that displays various screens (See Saeda, Figs. 4-7, Sect. [0066] lines 4-7, a plurality of operation screens (copy setting screens) for setting the operating conditions (copy conditions) of the copy service are sequentially displayed on the display 14.) and receives an operation by a user (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Sect. [0037], The display 14 has a rectangular display area, and software keys (operation keys) for accepting user operations are displayed in this display area. A software key is, for example, a key (icon) reproduced by software on the display surface of the display 14 with the touch panel 12.);
a display controller (See Saeda, Fig. 12, Touch Panel 12) that causes the operation display unit to display (See Saeda, Sect. [0060] lines 3-5, in response to touch input into the touch panel 12, an operation screen, including a plurality of operation keys, is displayed on the display 14 of the information processing apparatus 10, and user operations are accepted.), for each of the plurality of services and in a predetermined order, a plurality of operation screens used to receive an operation by the user, after one service of the plurality of services is selected and until provision of the one service ends (See Saeda, Sect. [0063], Each of the plurality of keys 112 is an image surrounded by a substantially rectangular frame, and functions as a software key. For each of the plurality of keys 112, a service such as “Copy”, “Print from smartphone”, “Print from recording media”, “Fax”, “Scan”, “Photograph/document print”, “Network print” and “Administrative service” is selected and assigned.), wherein
the display controller causes the operation display unit to display a service continuation confirmation screen (See Saeda, Fig. 8, Final Setting Screen 140 as a service continuation confirmation screen, Sect. [0095] lines 1-3, when the operating conditions necessary for executing the service are set, the final setting screen 140 is displayed on the display 14 as shown in FIG. 8) to prompt the user to confirm whether to continue the one service (See Saeda, Fig. 8, Sect. [0095] lines 3-10, The final setting screen 140 is a screen for confirming the operating conditions set on each of the previous operation screens such as the color setting screen 120 and for finally determining the operating conditions, and includes an end key 140a, a transition key 140b, a back key 140c, an operation guidance portion 142, a setting unit 144 and a progress display bar 146.), and
the service continuation confirmation screen includes a plurality of operation keys (See Saeda, Fig. 8, Sect. [0096] lines 1-4, On the final setting screen 140, a ‘Start’.” key is displayed on the operation guidance portion 142 to prompt confirmation of the operating conditions to start, an end key 140a, a transition key 140b, a back key 140c) including:
a first operation key (See Saeda Fig. 4, key 112) used to instruct the
operation display unit to display a first screen (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Home Setting Screen 110) that is one of the plurality of operation screens (See Saeda, Sect. [0065] lines 1-5, When the key 112 is touched by the user on the home screen 110, that is, when a service is selected, a plurality of operation screens for setting operating conditions of the selected service are sequentially displayed on the display 14.), the first screen being used to receive an operation by the user to set a condition related to the one service again (See Saeda, Sect. [0065] lines 5-7, In the information processing apparatus 10 or the image forming apparatus 70, the service is executed according to the operating conditions set on the setting screen.); and
a second operation key (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Copy Service Key) used to
instruct the operation display unit to display a second screen (See Saeda, Fig. 5, Color Setting Screen 120) that is another one of the plurality of operation screens different from the first screen, the second screen being used to receive an operation by the user to execute provision of the one service under the same condition (See Saeda, Sect. [0066], when the copy service key is selected, on the home screen 110, a plurality of operation screens (copy setting screens) for setting the operating conditions (copy conditions) of the copy service are sequentially displayed on the display 14. For example, the display 14 displays a color setting screen 120 as shown in FIG. 5.).
Referring to Claim 2, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein the display controller causes the operation display unit to display the service continuation confirmation screen when the provision of the one service ends (See Saeda, Fig. 8, Operation Guidance Portion 142 on Final Setting Screen 140, Sect. [0096] lines 1-4, On the final setting screen 140, a message 142a such as “Confirm the content, and if you agree, press ‘Start’.” is displayed on the operation guidance portion 142 to prompt confirmation of the operating conditions.).
Referring to Claim 3, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein the plurality of operation keys include a third operation key (See Saeda, Fig. 5, End Key 120a) used to instruct an end of the provision of the service (See Saeda, Fig. 5, Sect. [0068], The end key 120a is an operation key for ending the service that is being received. When the end key 120a is operated, the contents set up to that point are reset, and the home screen 110 is displayed on the display 14.).
Referring to Claim 4, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10),
the display controller further causes the operation display unit to display a service selection screen on which the user selects any of the plurality of services, and when one service of the plurality of services is selected on the service selection screen, causes the operation display unit to display a first operation screen of the plurality of operation screens in the predetermined order corresponding to the one service selected (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Sect. [0062] lines 6-11, the home screen 110 as shown in FIG. 4 is displayed on the display 14 of the information processing apparatus 10. The home screen 110 is an operation screen for selecting a service. On the home screen 110, a plurality of keys 112 for selecting a service provided by the information processing system 100 are displayed.), and
the first screen is the first operation screen (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Home Screen 110, Sect. [0065] lines 1-5, When the key 112 is touched (operated) on the home screen 110, that is, when a service is selected, a plurality of operation screens for setting operating conditions of the selected service are sequentially displayed on the display 14.).
Referring to Claim 5, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 4 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein a fourth screen (See Saeda, Fig. 7, the guidance screen 130) includes a fourth operation key used to instruct the operation display unit to display a predetermined one of the plurality of operation screens of another one of the plurality of services (See Saeda, Sect. [0091], The guidance screen 130 includes the end key 130a, the transition key 130b, the back key 130c displayed on the display 14 as shown in FIG. 7 for guidance instruction of document placement setting method using the operation guidance portion 132, the placement method guidance portion 134, and the progress display bar 136.),
the fourth screen being a specific operation screen of the plurality of operation screens after the first screen in the predetermined order (See Saeda, Sect. [0092], On the guidance screen 130, a message 132a such as “Place the document sideways and press ‘Read document’.” is displayed on the operation guidance portion 132 to prompt the appropriate setting of the document and of the start operation for the document reading. Further, on the placement method guidance portion 134, a guidance image (still image or moving image) is displayed to provide guidance for the placement of the document on the document placement table at an appropriate position and in an appropriate orientation (to provide operation guidance to the user).).
Referring to Claim 6, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein the plurality of operation keys are arranged adjacent to each other (See Sect. [0089] lines 1-7, the transition key 120b is arranged adjacent to the end in one direction of the progress display bars 126 (direction indicating that the progress of the setting operation has progressed), and the back key 120c is arranged adjacent to the end in the other direction (toward the direction indicating that the progress of the operations has receded) of the progress display bar 126).
Referring to Claim 7, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 3 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), further comprising:
a receipt issuer (See Saeda, Fig. 2, The paper-piece printer 18) that issues a receipt related to the provision of the one service when the provision of the one service ends in response to the operation by the user received through the third operation key (See Saeda, Sect. [0039] lines 1-5, The paper-piece printer 18 (third image forming unit) is, for example, a thermal printer (heat-sensitive printer) or a dot impact printer, that issues a piece of paper on which an image such as a receipt, a proof of purchase, a journal, or a coupon is printed.), wherein
the receipt issuer is capable of collectively issuing, when the one service related to the receipt is provided a plurality of times, some or all of the receipts related to the service one provided the plurality of times (See Saeda, Sect. [0039] lines 5-8, the paper-piece printer 18 prints various character strings, images, code patterns (bar codes, etc.) on roll paper, for issuing receipts and discharges printed paper-pieces as receipts from the paper ejection unit 18a).
Referring to Claim 8, Saeda teaches The information processing device according to claim 7 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein
the display controller further causes, when the one service related to the receipt is provided the plurality of times, the operation display unit to display a receipt setting screen on which the user sets in which form the receipt is to be issued for the one service provided the plurality of times (See Saeda, Sect. [0096] lines 5-9, in the setting unit 144, a setting key is displayed for setting the number of copies to be printed and setting the payment method (for example, a cash key for setting the payment method to cash and an electronic money key for setting the payment method to electronic money).), and
the receipt issuer issues the receipt in the form corresponding to setting content of the receipt setting screen (See Saeda, Sect. [0039] lines 1-5, The paper-piece printer 18 issues a piece of paper on which an image such as a receipt, a proof of purchase, a journal, or a coupon is printed.).
Referring to Claim 9, Saeda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1 (See Saeda, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0033], Information Processing Apparatus 10), wherein the plurality of services include a copy service in which an image of a document is copied onto a sheet-like image recording medium (See Saeda, Fig. 4, Copy Service, Sect. [0064] lines 1-5, The copy service includes a service for copying (photocopying) an image of a document such as paperwork on normal paper (normal copy service) and a service for copying a photograph image on photograph paper (photograph copy service).).
Referring to Claim 10, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. The structural elements of “An information processing device” in claim 1 perform all of the operations of “A display control method for an information processing device” in claim 10. Thus, “A display control method for an information processing device” in claim 15 is rejected for reasons explicitly taught in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to Claim 11, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. Thus, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a display control program is recorded of claim 11 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Saeda, Fig. 2, Storage Medium Connection Unit 16, Sect. [0038], The storage medium connection unit 16 includes a mounting unit (for example, a drive and a memory slot) for mounting various storage media. Various storage media include optical disks (such as CD-R, DVD-R and BD-R) and flash memory (such as USB memory, SD memory cards and memory sticks). Notably, optical discs are mounted in the drive. Also, flash memory is mounted in the memory slot.) and various memories stored therein.
Cited Art
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Kenley et al. (US PAT. No. 5,788,851) discloses A user interface for a medical instrument such as a dialysis machine is described which uses both a touch screen and at least one hard key off of the touch screen to effectuate a change in a parameter associated with the operation of the machine or the treatment session. The user interface is connected to a central computer control system having a host microprocessor and a backup safety microprocessor. The hard key is directly wired to the safety microprocessor. After the user selects a new parametric value on the touch screen, the user presses a hard key. The host and safety microprocessors implement a verification routine to insure that the entered parameter is appropriate for the patient's treatment and the display on the touch screen. If the verification procedure ends in a positive result, the user is prompted to presses a second hard key to confirm the change, causing an additional verification check to be performed. If the additional verification check is successful, the parametric value is entered into a memory (such as a hard disk) storing instructions for operation of the medical instrument.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683