DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1a-3e, claims 1-8 and 12-18, in the reply filed on March 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 12, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 (line 3) “front slider end is engaged” should recite –undercut is engaged--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferramenta Livenza (EP 2 609 833).
As to claim 1, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting configured for connecting two parts, comprising:
a first fitting part with a first installation body 11 configured for mounting on a first part to be connected, and with a slider 19, which is movably guided in the first installation body and configured to be moved against the action of a restoring force 17 from a starting position, in which at least one front slider end protrudes out of the first installation body, into a position in which the front slider end protrudes less far or does not protrude out of the first installation body, wherein the front slider end has a locking projection 25, which extends transversely to a sliding direction in a transverse direction; and
a second fitting part in the form of a second installation body 10 configured for mounting on a second part to be connected, wherein the second installation body has an opening 200, which is configured for inserting the front slider end and has an undercut A (Figure 9 reprinted below with annotations), which is engaged from behind by the locking projection when the front slider end is inserted into the opening (Figures 8-9).
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)]
As to claim 2, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the restoring force is provided by a spring 17, which is supported both on the first installation body 11 and on the slider 19 (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 3, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the front slider end has, on its side facing away from the locking projection 25, an oblique surface 27 which is directed away from the locking projection and slopes both relative to the sliding direction and relative to the transverse direction (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 4, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the slider 19 is guided movably in the first installation body 11 by means of a dovetail guide (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 5, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the locking projection 25 and the second installation body 10 have respective latching elements, which are latched together when the undercut A is engaged from behind by the locking projection (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 6, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the distance between the locking projection 25 and the front side of the first installation body 11 in the starting position of the slider 19 corresponds at least to a wall thickness of a wall, forming the undercut A, of the second installation body 10, or corresponds precisely to the wall thickness (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 7, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the second installation body 10 has an opening base, which is situated opposite the opening 200 and, on its side facing the undercut A, has a parallel base portion B, which runs parallel to the opening and the distance of which from the undercut corresponds to the thickness of the locking projection (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 8, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the opening base has, on its side facing away from the undercut A, an oblique base portion C, which slopes relative to the parallel base portion B in a direction toward the undercut (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 12, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting wherein the slider 19 can be moved into the first installation body 11 as far as a position in which it is flush with a front side of the first installation body (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 13, Ferramenta Livenza discloses an assembly comprising two parts and the fitting, wherein the first fitting part R is mounted on the one, first part 11, and the second fitting part 10 is mounted on the other, second part P, and wherein the front slider end is inserted into the opening 200 and engages behind the undercut A by means of the locking projection 25 (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 14, Ferramenta Livenza discloses an assembly wherein the first fitting part 11 engages by means of its first installation body in a recess in the first part R, and the second fitting part 10 is mounted by means of its second installation body in a recess in the second part P (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 15, Ferramenta Livenza discloses an assembly wherein a latching element arranged on the rear side of the locking projection 25 and a latching element arranged on the inside of the undercut A are latched together (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 16, Ferramenta Livenza discloses an assembly wherein the front side of the first installation body 11 ends flush with the first part R, and the front side of the second installation body 10 ends flush with the second part P (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 17, Ferramenta Livenza discloses an assembly wherein the front side of the first installation body 11 and the front side of the second installation body 10 rest against one another (Figures 8-9).
As to claim 18, Ferramenta Livenza discloses a fitting for connecting two parts, comprising:
a first fitting part with a first installation body 11 configured for mounting on a first part to be connected, and with a slider 19, which is movably guided in the first installation body and configured to be moved against the action of a restoring force 17 from a starting position, in which at least one front slider end protrudes out of the first installation body, into a position in which the front slider end protrudes less far or does not protrude out of the first installation body, wherein the front slider end has a locking projection 25, which extends transversely to the sliding direction in a transverse direction; and
a second fitting part in the form of a second installation body 10 configured for mounting on a second part to be connected, wherein the second installation body has an opening 200, which is configured for inserting the front slider end and has an undercut A, which is engaged from behind by the locking projection when the front slider end is inserted into the opening;
wherein the second installation body has an opening base, which is situated opposite the opening and, on its side facing the undercut, has a parallel base portion B, which runs parallel to the opening and the distance of which from the undercut corresponds to the thickness of the locking projection (Figures 8-9).
Conclusion
03/24/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619