DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 10/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 12 and 18 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, it is recited “target resource” in line 2 and “target resource” in lines 4 of claim 1. If they are the same, please change “target resource” in line 2 to…“said target resource”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the chip” in lines ***. It appears that there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 20 depends from claim 1 that does not recite “a chip”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OPPO (Title: FL summary for AI 8.1.1.1 resource allocation for power saving (EOM), 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106e e-Meeting, May16-27, 2021, R1-2108265).
Regarding claim 1, OPPO discloses a resource determining method, comprising: determining, by a terminal, a target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…) for a first procedure(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, which discuses contiguous partial sensing for re-evaluation and pre-emption, see 3.3.1, thus e-evaluation and pre-emption as first procedure) ; and determining, by the terminal, a target resource based on the target sensing occasion(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, which discuses resource identification based on contiguous partial sending, see 3.3-3.3 ); wherein the target sensing occasion comprises a first sensing occasion(see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…), wherein the first sensing occasion is a sensing occasion corresponding to the first procedure(see 3.3-3.3.1, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots subject to processing time restriction is performed as part of re-evaluation and pre-emption, see also 3.4, see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS).
Regarding claim 2, OPPO discloses wherein the target sensing occasion comprises one or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a sensing occasion within a preset time range, wherein a start point of the preset time range is a moment obtained by the moment n minus an offset, wherein the moment n is a triggering moment of the first procedure; a sensing occasion corresponding to a second procedure; a triggered sensing occasion corresponding to the first procedure; or a sensing occasion determined by the terminal(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, L1 is triggered…contiguous partial sensing…for re-evaluation and pre-emption, see 3.3).
Regarding claim 3, OPPO discloses wherein the first procedure comprises a resource selection procedure, a re-evaluation, and/or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) a pre-emption evaluation(see at least 3.3-.3.4, which discusses re-evaluation and pre-emption).
Regarding claim 4, OPPO discloses wherein the sensing occasion comprises one or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a periodic based partial sensing (PBPS) occasion; or a continuous partial sensing (CPS) occasion(see 3.5- 3.5.1, Xiaomi, which discusses PBSP and/or CPS, Ericsson, periodic based partial sensing or contiguous sensing).
Regarding claim 5, OPPO discloses wherein in a case that a first preset condition is met(see 3.4, which discusses Conditions in which contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE, when at least all of the followings are met, thus condition(s) is/are preset) , the target sensing occasion further comprises a second sensing occasion(see 3.3, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots, thus include second occasion since occasions include one and more occasions), wherein the second sensing occasion does not overlap with at least part of the first sensing occasion(see 3.3, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots, thus include first and second occasion since occasions include one and more occasions), at least part of the second sensing occasion corresponds to a second procedure, and the second procedure is a procedure different from the first procedure(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS, thus PBPS as second procedure is different from CPS as first procedure or vice versa); and the first preset condition comprises one or (due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: the second sensing occasion is within a preset time range; a gap between the second sensing occasion and a moment n is greater than or equal to processing time, wherein the moment n is a triggering moment of the first procedure, and the processing time is greater than or equal to time required for decoding sidelink control information (SCI) and/or time required for reporting a target resource; the gap between the second sensing occasion and the moment n is greater than or equal to the processing time; the second sensing occasion is located in a K.sup.th PBPS occasion, wherein K is a preset value; an overlapping part between the second sensing occasion and the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a first threshold, or the overlapping part is greater than or equal to a second threshold, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a first proportion, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a second proportion; a part that is in the first sensing occasion and that does not overlap with the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a third threshold, or the non-overlapping part is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a third proportion, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a fourth proportion; an available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion and an available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion are at least partially overlapped; a quantity of resources in an overlapping part of the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion and the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a fifth threshold, or the quantity of resources in the overlapping part is greater than or equal to a sixth threshold, or a proportion of the quantity of resources in the overlapping part to the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion or the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a fifth proportion, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion or the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a sixth proportion; the second sensing occasion and/or the triggered sensing occasion meet a preset condition for triggering sensing; a condition for determining a PBPS occasion and/or triggering PBPS; a condition for determining a CPS occasion and/or triggering CPS; a quantity of triggered sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a first value; a sum of a quantity of second sensing occasions and the quantity of triggered sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a second value; the quantity of second sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a third value; a quantity of preset occasions is greater than or equal to a fourth value; a quantity of sensing occasions determined by the terminal is greater than or equal to a fifth value; a quantity of preset occasions in available resource set determined by the terminal is greater than or equal to a sixth value; at least part of a first reservation period value is less than a seventh value; at least part of a second reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion is less than an eighth value; a non-overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a ninth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a ninth proportion; a non-overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a tenth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a tenth proportion; a quantity of overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the CPS occasion is less than or equal to an eleventh value, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to an eleventh proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the PBPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a twelfth value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to a twelfth value; at least part of occasions in PBPS occasions are not overlapped, or an overlapping part of the at least part of occasions is less than a thirteenth value, or a proportion of the overlapping part between the at least part of occasions to the PBPS occasions is less than a thirteenth proportion; at least part of a third reservation period value is greater than or equal to an eighteenth value; at least part of a fourth reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a nineteenth value; a non-overlapping part between the CPS occasion and the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twentieth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twentieth proportion; a non-overlapping part between the CPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a twenty-first value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twenty-first proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the CPS occasion and the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-second value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the CPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-second proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the CPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-third value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the CPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-third proportion; at least part of occasions in CPS occasions are not overlapped, or an overlapping part between the at least part of occasions is greater than or equal to a twenty-fourth value, or a proportion of an overlapping part between the at least part of occasions to the CPS occasions is greater than or equal to a twenty-fourth proportion; a quantity of preset occasions in the available resource set is less than or equal to i×P—the processing time, wherein i is a positive integer, and P is a fifth reservation period value, or P is a sixth reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion; there is no sensing occasion in a preset time period, or the sensing occasion is less than a preset value, or the sensing occasion does not correspond to the first procedure; the second sensing occasion and/or the triggered sensing occasion meet a preset condition for not triggering sensing; at least part of sensing occasions are continuous, and a quantity of sensing occasions or a quantity of continuous sensing occasions exceeds a seventh threshold; or a condition determined by the terminal(see 3.4, which discusses Conditions in which contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE, when at least all of the followings are met, thus condition(s) is/are preset, thus condition determined by the terminal/UE).
Regarding claim 7, OPPO discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal, the first sensing occasion and/(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) or an available resource set(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS, thus PBPS as second procedure is different from CPS as first procedure or vice versa, see 3.3-3.3.1, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots subject to processing time restriction is performed as part of re-evaluation and pre-emption, see also 3.4 ).
Regarding claim 8, OPPO discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal, a target resource based on the target sensing occasion comprises: performing, by the terminal, exclusion for periodic reservation and exclusion for aperiodic reservation(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses performing PBPS and CPS is to detect periodic reservation and aperiodic reservation, thus exclusion) based on the target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS).
Regarding claim 9, OPPO discloses wherein the target sensing occasion(see 3.4) comprises a first set and/or a second set; the first set is at least part of a CPS occasion corresponding to the first procedure and/or at least part of a CPS occasion corresponding to the second procedure; and the second set is at least part of a PBPS occasion corresponding to the first procedure and/or at least part of a PBPS occasion corresponding to the second procedure (see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS).
Regarding claim 10, OPPO discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal, a target resource based on the target sensing occasion comprises one or (due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: performing, by the terminal, exclusion for aperiodic reservation based on a sensing occasion in the first set; or performing, by the terminal, exclusion for periodic reservation based on a sensing occasion in the second set, or performing, by the terminal, exclusion for periodic reservation and exclusion for aperiodic reservation based on a sensing occasion in the second set(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses performing PBPS and CPS is to detect periodic reservation and aperiodic reservation, thus exclusion, thus performing, by the terminal, exclusion for aperiodic reservation based on a sensing occasion in the first set).
Regarding claim 11, OPPO discloses wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal, periodic exclusion and/or(due to or language, only one of them is being considred) aperiodic t(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses performing PBPS and CPS is to detect periodic reservation and aperiodic reservation, thus exclusion)based on a non-monitor occasion(3.5-2, which discuses exclude resources due to non-monitored slots, see 3.5-1, Ericson, which discusses exclude resources due to non-monitored slots during periodic-based and/or contiguous partial sensing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OPPO (Title: FL summary for AI 8.1.1.1 resource allocation for power saving (EOM), 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106e e-Meeting, May16-27, 2021, R1-2108265) and further in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0156789, claims benefit to us-provisional-application US 63136613 20210112, us-provisional-application US 63138713 20210118, us-provisional-application US 63138781 20210118, us-provisional-application US 63141957 20210126, us-provisional-application US 63143926 20210131 and us-provisional-application US 63143947 20210131).
Regarding claim 12 and 18 , OPPO discloses a terminal comprising: determining, by a terminal, a target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…) for a first procedure(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, which discuses contiguous partial sensing for re-evaluation and pre-emption, see 3.3.1, thus e-evaluation and pre-emption as first procedure) ; and determining, by the terminal, a target resource based on the target sensing occasion(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, which discuses resource identification based on contiguous partial sending, see 3.3-3.3 ); wherein the target sensing occasion comprises a first sensing occasion(see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…), wherein the first sensing occasion is a sensing occasion corresponding to the first procedure(see 3.3-3.3.1, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots subject to processing time restriction is performed as part of re-evaluation and pre-emption, see also 3.4, see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS).
As discussed above, although OPPO discloses determining, by a terminal, a target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…), OPPO does not explicitly show the use of “a processor, a memory, and a program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “a processor, a memory, and a program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lee’789.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Lee’789 teaches the use of a processor(see para.0265, which discusses wireless device 100 include processor(s) 102), a memory(see para.0265, which discusses wireless device 100 include memories 104), and a program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform(see claims 14, which discuses at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations, see para.0246-0247).
In view of the above, having the system of OPPO and then given the well-established teaching of Lee’789, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of OPPO to include “a processor, a memory, and a program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform” as taught by Lee’789, since Lee’789 stated in para.0011+ that such a modification would provide a UE performing a power saving operation may perform an efficient resource selection.
Regarding claim 13, OPPO discloses wherein the target sensing occasion comprises one or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a sensing occasion within a preset time range, wherein a start point of the preset time range is a moment obtained by the moment n minus an offset, wherein the moment n is a triggering moment of the first procedure; a sensing occasion corresponding to a second procedure; a triggered sensing occasion corresponding to the first procedure; or a sensing occasion determined by the terminal(see 3.4, NTT DOCOMO, L1 is triggered…contiguous partial sensing…for re-evaluation and pre-emption, see 3.3).
Regarding claim 14, OPPO discloses wherein the first procedure comprises a resource selection procedure, a re-evaluation, and/or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) a pre-emption evaluation(see at least 3.3-.3.4, which discusses re-evaluation and pre-emption).
Regarding claim 15, OPPO discloses wherein the sensing occasion comprises one or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a periodic based partial sensing (PBPS) occasion; or a continuous partial sensing (CPS) occasion(see 3.5- 3.5.1, Xiaomi, which discusses PBSP and/or CPS, Ericsson, periodic based partial sensing or contiguous sensing).
Regarding claim 16, OPPO discloses wherein in a case that a first preset condition is met(see 3.4, which discusses Conditions in which contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE, when at least all of the followings are met, thus condition(s) is/are preset) , the target sensing occasion further comprises a second sensing occasion(see 3.3, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots, thus include second occasion since occasions include one and more occasions), wherein the second sensing occasion does not overlap with at least part of the first sensing occasion(see 3.3, which discusses periodic-based partial sensing, UE monitoring of periodic sensing occasions between triggering slot n and the first slot of the selected Y candidate slots, thus include first and second occasion since occasions include one and more occasions), at least part of the second sensing occasion corresponds to a second procedure, and the second procedure is a procedure different from the first procedure(see 3.5-2, Huawei, HiSilicon, which discusses partial sensing RA including both PBPS and CPS, thus PBPS as second procedure is different from CPS as first procedure or vice versa); and the first preset condition comprises one or (due to or language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: the second sensing occasion is within a preset time range; a gap between the second sensing occasion and a moment n is greater than or equal to processing time, wherein the moment n is a triggering moment of the first procedure, and the processing time is greater than or equal to time required for decoding sidelink control information (SCI) and/or time required for reporting a target resource; the gap between the second sensing occasion and the moment n is greater than or equal to the processing time; the second sensing occasion is located in a K.sup.th PBPS occasion, wherein K is a preset value; an overlapping part between the second sensing occasion and the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a first threshold, or the overlapping part is greater than or equal to a second threshold, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a first proportion, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a second proportion; a part that is in the first sensing occasion and that does not overlap with the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a third threshold, or the non-overlapping part is greater than or equal to a fourth threshold, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a third proportion, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a fourth proportion; an available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion and an available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion are at least partially overlapped; a quantity of resources in an overlapping part of the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion and the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a fifth threshold, or the quantity of resources in the overlapping part is greater than or equal to a sixth threshold, or a proportion of the quantity of resources in the overlapping part to the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion or the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is less than or equal to a fifth proportion, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the available resource set corresponding to the second sensing occasion or the available resource set corresponding to the first sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a sixth proportion; the second sensing occasion and/or the triggered sensing occasion meet a preset condition for triggering sensing; a condition for determining a PBPS occasion and/or triggering PBPS; a condition for determining a CPS occasion and/or triggering CPS; a quantity of triggered sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a first value; a sum of a quantity of second sensing occasions and the quantity of triggered sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a second value; the quantity of second sensing occasions is greater than or equal to a third value; a quantity of preset occasions is greater than or equal to a fourth value; a quantity of sensing occasions determined by the terminal is greater than or equal to a fifth value; a quantity of preset occasions in available resource set determined by the terminal is greater than or equal to a sixth value; at least part of a first reservation period value is less than a seventh value; at least part of a second reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion is less than an eighth value; a non-overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a ninth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a ninth proportion; a non-overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a tenth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a tenth proportion; a quantity of overlapping part between the PBPS occasion and the CPS occasion is less than or equal to an eleventh value, or a proportion of the overlapping part to the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to an eleventh proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the PBPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a twelfth value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to a twelfth value; at least part of occasions in PBPS occasions are not overlapped, or an overlapping part of the at least part of occasions is less than a thirteenth value, or a proportion of the overlapping part between the at least part of occasions to the PBPS occasions is less than a thirteenth proportion; at least part of a third reservation period value is greater than or equal to an eighteenth value; at least part of a fourth reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a nineteenth value; a non-overlapping part between the CPS occasion and the PBPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twentieth value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twentieth proportion; a non-overlapping part between the CPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is greater than or equal to a twenty-first value, or a proportion of the non-overlapping part to the CPS occasion is greater than or equal to a twenty-first proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the CPS occasion and the PBPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-second value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the CPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-second proportion; a quantity of overlapping parts between the CPS occasion and the second sensing occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-third value, or a proportion of the overlapping parts to the CPS occasion is less than or equal to a twenty-third proportion; at least part of occasions in CPS occasions are not overlapped, or an overlapping part between the at least part of occasions is greater than or equal to a twenty-fourth value, or a proportion of an overlapping part between the at least part of occasions to the CPS occasions is greater than or equal to a twenty-fourth proportion; a quantity of preset occasions in the available resource set is less than or equal to i×P—the processing time, wherein i is a positive integer, and P is a fifth reservation period value, or P is a sixth reservation period value used to determine the PBPS occasion; there is no sensing occasion in a preset time period, or the sensing occasion is less than a preset value, or the sensing occasion does not correspond to the first procedure; the second sensing occasion and/or the triggered sensing occasion meet a preset condition for not triggering sensing; at least part of sensing occasions are continuous, and a quantity of sensing occasions or a quantity of continuous sensing occasions exceeds a seventh threshold; or a condition determined by the terminal(see 3.4, which discusses Conditions in which contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE, when at least all of the followings are met, thus condition(s) is/are preset, thus condition determined by the terminal/UE ).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above, although OPPO discloses determining, by a terminal, a target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…), OPPO does not explicitly show the use of “the computer program product is stored in a non-transient storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the computer program product is stored in a non-transient storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lee’789.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Lee’789 teaches the use of the computer program product is stored in a non-transient storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1(see claims 14, which discuses at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations, see para.0246-0247).
In view of the above, having the system of OPPO and then given the well-established teaching of Lee’789, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of OPPO to include “computer program product is stored in a non-transient storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” as taught by Lee’789, since Lee’789 stated in para.0011+ that such a modification would provide a UE performing a power saving operation may perform an efficient resource selection.
Regarding claim 20, as discussed above, although OPPO discloses determining, by a terminal, a target sensing occasion(see 3.4, which discusses contiguous partial sensing is performed by UE as terminal, see 3.3-3.3.1, periodic based partial sensing is related to UE monitoring periodic sensing occasions between slot n or first slot of Y candidate slots…), OPPO does not explicitly show the use of “the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lee’789.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Lee’789 teaches the use of the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1 (see claims 14, which discuses at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations, see para.0246-0247, see para.0265, which discuses the processor(s) 102 and the memory(s) 104 may be a part of a communication modem/circuit/chip ).
In view of the above, having the system of OPPO and then given the well-established teaching of Lee’789, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of OPPO to include “the chip comprises a processor and a communication interface, the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1” as taught by Lee’789, since Lee’789 stated in para.0011+ that such a modification would provide a UE performing a power saving operation may perform an efficient resource selection
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474