DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2024/0147328).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kim et al. disclose a method and an apparatus (Figures 15A and 37, wireless device 1502/3710) comprising:
processing circuitry (Figure 15A, processing system 1518) configured to:
process first configuration information and second configuration information (Figure 37, device 3710 receives and processes LTM configuration 3701, which comprises cell configurations [first configuration information] and cell group information [second configuration information]), wherein the first configuration information indicates, for each cell of a plurality of cells, a configuration of the cell (Figure 37, cell configurations of LTM configuration 3701; Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 may optionally indicate one or more cell configurations. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a first cell configuration for the first cell, one or more other cell configurations for the one or more other cells, etc.), and wherein the second configuration information is separate from the first configuration information and indicates a layer 1/ layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) association between two or more cells of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group);
cause a first connection to be established with a first cell of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, connection established between device 3710 and cell 3741; Paragraph 541, The first cell (cell 3741) may be associated with the wireless device 3710. the first cell may be a current cell of the wireless device 3710. The first cell may be a serving cell of the wireless device 3710), wherein the first connection is associated with medium access control (MAC) and radio link control (RLC) information (Paragraph 99, RRC connection of wireless device to serving base station using parameters including MAC and RLC configurations);
process a command to establish a second connection with a second cell of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, cell switch command 3721 received by device 3710; Paragraph 545, The wireless device 3710 may perform LTM based on receiving a cell switch command 3721 via cell 3741 (e.g., from DU 3740). The cell switch command 3721 may command the wireless device 3710 to switch to cell 3751);
determine, based on the second configuration information, whether at least one of a MAC reset or an RLC reset is to be performed (Paragraph 545, The switching from cell 3741 to cell 3751 may be based on the LTM configuration 3701. The LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that if wireless device 3710 performs an inter-group cell switch (e.g., with source cell and target cell in different cell groups), wireless device 3710 should perform one or more actions (e.g., reset MAC, re-establish RLC, and/or perform PDCP data recovery). In the example, the source cell is cell 3741 of group1, and the target cell is cell 3751 of group2. Accordingly, wireless device 3710 may determine that the cell switch is an inter-group cell switch (e.g., inter-DU cell switch)); and
cause the second connection to be established based on the determining (Paragraph 545, The LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that if wireless device 3710 performs an inter-group cell switch (e.g., with source cell and target cell in different cell groups), wireless device 3710 should perform one or more actions (e.g., reset MAC, re-establish RLC, and/or perform PDCP data recovery)…Accordingly, wireless device 3710 may perform the one or more actions).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. disclose wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information are received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Paragraph 558, The wireless device may receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising a configuration for layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM)), wherein the first configuration information includes, for each cell of the plurality of cells, an LTM cell configuration (Figure 37, cell configurations of LTM configuration 3701; Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 may optionally indicate one or more cell configurations. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a first cell configuration for the first cell, one or more other cell configurations for the one or more other cells, etc.), wherein the second configuration information includes a reset group configuration indicating the LTM association (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group), and wherein the LTM association indicates that the two or more cells are provided by a same base station distributed unit (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, the cell group information including group2: {cells 3751, 3752, etc.} provided by DU 3750 of BS 3790).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the first cell and the second cell are part of the two or more cells having the LTM association (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, the cell group information including group2: {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}), and wherein the determining indicates that the MAC reset and the RLC reset are to be foregone (Paragraph 542, For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more of MAC reset (full and/or partial), RLC re-establishment, PDCP data recovery, etc. For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that the one or more wireless device actions are performed by wireless device 3710 upon inter-group LTM and/or inter-group cell switching (e.g., switching from a cell in the first cell group to a cell in the second cell group). For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that the one or more wireless device actions are not performed [foregone] by wireless device 3710 upon intra-group LTM and/or intra-group cell switching (e.g., switching from a cell in the second cell group to another cell in the second cell group)).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the first cell and the second cell are excluded from the two or more cells having the LTM association (Figure 37, LTM configuration 3701 including group1: {cell 3741, etc.} and group2: {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}, the two groups having cells that excluded from the other group, and a group corresponding to a LTM association), and wherein the determining indicates that the MAC reset and the RLC reset are to be performed (Paragraph 542, For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more of MAC reset (full and/or partial), RLC re-establishment, PDCP data recovery, etc. For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that the one or more wireless device actions are performed by wireless device 3710 upon inter-group LTM and/or inter-group cell switching (e.g., switching from a cell in the first cell group to a cell in the second cell group)).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the first cell and the second cell are part of the two or more cells having the LTM association (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, the cell group information including group2: {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}), and wherein LTM association indicates that the MAC reset is to be foregone and the RLC reset is to be performed (Paragraph 531, the LTM configuration may indicate for the wireless device not to perform MAC reset (etc.) upon switching to the target (e.g., to avoid the costs of MAC reset, if the costs are likely to outweigh the benefits); Paragraph 542, For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more of MAC reset (full and/or partial), RLC re-establishment, PDCP data recovery, etc. For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that the one or more wireless device actions are performed by wireless device 3710 upon inter-group LTM and/or inter-group cell switching (e.g., switching from a cell in the first cell group to a cell in the second cell group). For example, the LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that the one or more wireless device actions are not performed [foregone] by wireless device 3710 upon intra-group LTM and/or intra-group cell switching (e.g., switching from a cell in the second cell group to another cell in the second cell group)).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the two or more cells form a group of cells that has the LTM association and associates the first cell and the second cell with the group (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the two or more cells form a group of cells that has the LTM association and includes group information for the group (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group), wherein the first configuration information includes, for the second cell, an LTM cell configuration that indicates the group (Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 may optionally indicate one or more cell configurations. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise…one or more other cell configurations for the one or more other cells, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information includes a bitstring indicating LTM associations between the plurality of cells (Paragraph 451, A wireless device may receive, from a network (e.g., a serving cell, a service base station, a serving DU, and/or a serving CU), one or more messages (e.g., RRC message and/or SIB) [inherent bitstring]. The one or more messages [inherent bitstring] may comprise one or more LTM configurations for the L1/L2 triggered mobility (e.g., L1/L2 triggered mobility). The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters used for L1 measurement of the L1/L2 triggered mobility; Figure 37, LTM configuration 3701 comprising cell group information as LTM associations between cells), and wherein determining whether the at least one of the MAC reset or the RLC reset is to be performed comprises: determining, based on the bitstring, a bit value that corresponds to the first cell and the second cell (Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 indicating wireless device actions including MAC reset and RLC re-establishment with values for either action indicating to perform or not to perform the action based on the type of cell switching being inter-group cell switching or intra-group cell switching; The LTM configuration 3701 is included in a message according to paragraph 451, making the LTM configuration and elements contained therein an inherent bitstring); and determining, based on the bit value, that at least one of the at least one of the MAC reset or the RLC reset is to be performed (Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 indicating wireless device actions including MAC reset and RLC re-establishment with values for either action indicating to perform or not to perform the action. Bitstring and bit value are inherent based on the LTM configuration being included in a message according to paragraph 451).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information indicates that the two or more cells form a group of cells that has the LTM association, wherein the group corresponds to a base station distributed unit (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, the cell group information including group2: {cells 3751, 3752, etc.} provided by DU 3750 of BS 3790).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. disclose wherein establishing the second connection comprises sending a random access channel message on the second cell (Paragraph 480, the wireless device, upon receiving a first L1/L2 signal (e.g., at step 3220), may transmit, PRACH occasion, the preamble (or SRS which is not shown in FIG. 32) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU (e.g., at step 3225)), and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the first cell in response to the random access channel message, a random access response indicating timing advance information for the second cell (Paragraph 481, a response (e.g., RA response, RAR) indicating an estimated TA value), wherein the random access response is received from the first cell instead of the second cell based on the first cell and the second cell being part of the two or more cells having the LTM association (Paragraph 481, the candidate DU may not transmit to the wireless device a response (e.g., RA response, RAR) indicating an estimated TA value (e.g., associated with the candidate target cell of the candidate DU), in response to or after receiving the preamble from the wireless device. For example, the candidate DU may send and/or forward the estimated TA value for the candidate target cell to the serving DU (e.g., at step 3240) via the CU of the base station (e.g., at step 3235)… The serving DU may indicate the estimated TA together with a second L1/L2 signal (e.g., 2nd L1/L2 signal in FIG. 32) indicating/triggering LTM to the candidate target cell of the candidate DU).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. disclose a method comprising:
sending to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information and second configuration information (Figure 37, device 3710 [UE] receives and processes LTM configuration 3701 transmitted from CU 3770 of BS 3790, the LTM configuration 3701 comprising cell configurations [first configuration information] and cell group information [second configuration information]), wherein the first configuration information indicates, for each cell of a plurality of cells, a configuration of the cell (Figure 37, cell configurations of LTM configuration 3701; Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 may optionally indicate one or more cell configurations. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a first cell configuration for the first cell, one or more other cell configurations for the one or more other cells, etc.), and wherein the second configuration information is separate from the first configuration information and indicates a layer 1/ layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) association between two or more cells of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group);
establishing a first connection with the UE via a first cell of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, connection established between device 3710 and cell 3741; Paragraph 541, The first cell (cell 3741) may be associated with the wireless device 3710. the first cell may be a current cell of the wireless device 3710. The first cell may be a serving cell of the wireless device 3710), wherein the first connection is associated with medium access control (MAC) and radio link control (RLC) information (Paragraph 99, RRC connection of wireless device to serving base station using parameters including MAC and RLC configurations);
sending, to the UE, a command to establish a second connection with a second cell of the plurality of cells (Figure 37, cell switch command 3721 received by device 3710 from BS 3790 via cel 3741; Paragraph 545, The wireless device 3710 may perform LTM based on receiving a cell switch command 3721 via cell 3741 (e.g., from DU 3740). The cell switch command 3721 may command the wireless device 3710 to switch to cell 3751); and
establishing the second connection based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (Paragraph 545, The LTM configuration 3701 may indicate that if wireless device 3710 performs an inter-group cell switch (e.g., with source cell and target cell in different cell groups), wireless device 3710 should perform one or more actions (e.g., reset MAC, re-establish RLC, and/or perform PDCP data recovery)…Accordingly, wireless device 3710 may perform the one or more actions).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. disclose wherein the first cell is provided by a first transmission and reception point of a base station distributed unit, and wherein the second cell is provided by a second transmission and reception point of the base station distributed unit (Figure 37, DU 3759 providing both cells 3751 and 3752).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. disclose wherein the first configuration information includes, for each cell of the plurality of cells, an LTM cell configuration (Figure 37, cell configurations of LTM configuration 3701; Paragraph 542, The LTM configuration 3701 may optionally indicate one or more cell configurations. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a first cell configuration for the first cell, one or more other cell configurations for the one or more other cells, etc.), and wherein the second configuration information includes a reset group configuration indicating the LTM association (Figure 37, cell group information of LTM configuration 3701, group1: {cell 3741, etc.}, group2 {cells 3751, 3752, etc.}; Paragraph 540, The LTM configuration 3701 may comprise cell group information. In an example, LTM configuration 3701 may indicate one or more cell groups. For example, LTM configuration 3701 may comprise a cell group indicator, identifier, and/or index for each cell group).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. disclose wherein the second configuration information includes a bitstring indicating LTM associations between the plurality of cells (Paragraph 451, A wireless device may receive, from a network (e.g., a serving cell, a service base station, a serving DU, and/or a serving CU), one or more messages (e.g., RRC message and/or SIB) [inherent bitstring]. The one or more messages [inherent bitstring] may comprise one or more LTM configurations for the L1/L2 triggered mobility (e.g., L1/L2 triggered mobility). The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters used for L1 measurement of the L1/L2 triggered mobility; Figure 37, LTM configuration 3701 comprising cell group information as LTM associations between cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Periyasamy et al. (US 2018/0184307).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Periyasamy et al.: wherein the second configuration information indicates a source configuration identifier and a threshold distance (Periyasamy et al., Paragraph 93, the determination whether a source to target cell site pair exhibits a HO problem is based on… determining whether the value of the counters exceed predetermined thresholds. More particularly, the criteria may be based on whether: (i) the distance from the source cell to target cell is above a predetermined threshold L…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. with the cited disclosure from Periyasamy et al. in order to allow Kim et al. to determine whether handover/switching from source to target cell is a problem (Periyasamy et al., Paragraph 93).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 8 and 17, the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest a default LTM group of cells having a LTM association and determination that first and second cells belong to the default LTM group based on the cells not being explicitly indicated as belonging to another LTM group; regarding claims 9 and 18; the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest a default LTM group of cells having a LTM association and determination that the second cell belongs to the default LTM group based on the second cell not being explicitly indicated as belonging to another LTM group.
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
March 4, 2026