DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 30 July, 2026 has been fully considered and entered. In response to the claim amendments, the previously raised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 July, 2026 regarding Raven and Geens have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Raven: Applicant asserts that “Raven routes conventional patch cords through cable-management structures. Raven does not place respective groups of optical fibers within corresponding protective fiber sleeves and route those sleeves themselves through matched runways to matched panels”.
Examiner disagrees. Raven teaches that the patch cords may contain a plurality of optical fibers and that they are surrounded by a jacket, equivalent to the claimed groups of optical fibers within corresponding protective fiber sleeves. Raven further discloses that the patch cords of one group are distinct from another group, suggesting they are matched to the runways and panels that they are routed through. Therefore, Raven is relied upon in the rejection below for teaching the claimed feature.
Regarding Geens: Applicant argues that the combination of Raven, Bible, and Geens does not render claims 7 or 18 obvious, since Geens does not teach color coding a splice tray, merely provide a textual or other identifying label.
Geens is relied on for teaching the labeling of splice trays. Raven discloses that color-coding is a suitable way to label a variety of elements. The indicia disclosed by Raven are considered to be obvious suitable alternatives to any textual label. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that color-coding is a suitable method for labeling a splice tray, since color-coding is a very well-known method of labeling components for grouping and organization. While the rejections below no longer rely on Bible, claims 7 and 18 are considered to be obvious over Raven in view of Geens, as evidenced by Wikipedia, since the combination of Raven and Geens renders providing a splice tray with color-coding obvious.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 with respect to Bible have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Bible for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raven et al. (US 2019/0196127; hereinafter Raven), as evidenced by Wikipedia (“Patch cable” article, accessed version from 04 April, 2019 via Wayback Machine at url: https://web.archive.org/web/20190404032515/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patch_cable; see copy attached to this Office Action).
Regarding claims 1-2: Raven disclosesAn apparatus (Figs. 1-5, distribution frame 10), comprising: a plurality of color-coded panels (Figs. 1-5, patch panels 40 and 50); a plurality of color-coded runways (Figs. 1-5, runways along cable retainers 62) corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels.
Regarding the limitation “a plurality of color-coded sleeves corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels, each of the plurality of color-coded sleeves containing a respective group of optical fibers and extending through a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded runways to a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded panels, wherein a color of each color-coded sleeve matches a color of the corresponding color-coded runway and the corresponding color-coded panel”: Raven further teaches a plurality of sleeves (Figs. 1-5, patch cords 94 have sleeves, as described in paragraph 0073) corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels, each of the plurality of sleeves containing a respective group of optical fibers (as described in paragraph 0073, the patch cords 94 are disclosed to include more than one optical fiber) and extending through a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded runways to a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded panels (see paragraphs 0046-0055). Raven further teaches that “the patch cords 94 routed through each group of cable retainers 62 may be distinct from those routed through other groups of cable retainers 62” (see paragraph 0053). As evidenced by Wikipedia, patch cords are usually produced in many different colors so as to be easily distinguishable from each other (see 2nd paragraph); furthermore, as exemplified by the first figure of the article, the color refers mainly to the color of the jacket, the main visible component of a patch cord.
In order to facilitate improved and efficient organization, tracking, and routing of patch cords, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch-cord jackets, the main visible component of patch cords, with color-coding matching the corresponding runways and panels, since Raven suggested that each group of patch cords corresponding to the groups of runways and panels be distinct from one another, since Raven discloses using matching colors to distinguish between groups, and since patch cords are usually color-coded.
As applied to claim 2, Raven further comprises a cabinet (Raven Figs. 1-5, distribution frame 10 is a cabinet) into which a rack (see annotated Raven Fig. 1), the plurality of color-coded panels (Raven Fig. 1, patch panels 40, 50), the plurality of color-coded runways (Raven Fig. 1, runways along cable retainers 62), and the plurality of color-coded sleeves (according to the modification described above, patch cords 94) are installed.
Annotated Fig. 1:
Regarding claim 3: Modified Raven teachesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein each of the plurality of color-coded panels includes a labeling area configured to display connectivity information corresponding to the plurality of optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves (Raven Figs. 1-5, panel covers 48, 58; see paragraph 0051; routing indicia are considered to constitute a display of connectivity information corresponding to the plurality of optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves).
Regarding claim 4: Modified Raven teachesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the color-coded panels include ports (Raven Fig. 2, adapters 42, 52) that align with the color-coded runways to facilitate a structured routing of the optical fibers from the panels through the runways and into the sleeves (the adapters of Raven Fig. 2 do this).
Regarding claim 5: Modified Raven teachesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the color-coded runways are configured to maintain a predetermined bend radius for the optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves (see Raven Fig. 2, by routing the fibers, they necessarily maintain a predetermined bend radius for the optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves).
Regarding claim 6: Modified Raven teachesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the color-coded sleeves comprise a flexible, protective material (the jacket described in paragraph 0073 inherently protects the fibers it contains and has some degree of flexibility).
Regarding claim 8: Modified Raven teachesThe apparatus of claim 1 (as applied above), further comprising a management system for organizing slack from the optical fibers (Raven Fig. 5, routing rings 46), the management system being color-coded to correspond to the color-coded panels, runways, and sleeves (Raven Fig. 5 shows this, see indicia markings on routing rings).
Regarding claim 9: Modified Raven teachesA method of installing optical fibers within a splice cabinet (see paragraphs 0072-0073), the method comprising: receiving a set of outside premises (OSP) fibers (pigtails 92 spliced into input cables 90), and a set of inside premises (ISP) fibers at a splice cabinet (optical fibers of the patch cords 94); selecting a color-coded panel from a plurality of color-coded panels within the splice cabinet based on the desired connectivity (see paragraphs 0055-0056); Raven further discloseschoosing a corresponding color-coded runway that aligns with the selected color-coded panel (see paragraph 0055); and routing the respective groups of optical fibers contained therein through the corresponding color-coded runway to the color-coded panel (see paragraph 0055).
Regarding the limitations “inserting optical fibers from the OSP fibers and the ISP fibers into the color-coded sleeves that correspond to the chosen color-coded panel, each of the color-coded sleeves containing a respective group of the optical fibers” and “wherein a color of each of the color-coded sleeves matches a color of the corresponding color-coded runway and the color-coded panel”: Raven further teaches a plurality of sleeves (Figs. 1-5, patch cords 94 have sleeves, as described in paragraph 0073) corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels, each of the plurality of sleeves containing a respective group of optical fibers (as described in paragraph 0073, the patch cords 94 are disclosed to include more than one optical fiber) and extending through a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded runways to a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded panels (see paragraphs 0046-0055). Raven further teaches that “the patch cords 94 routed through each group of cable retainers 62 may be distinct from those routed through other groups of cable retainers 62” (see paragraph 0053). As evidenced by Wikipedia, patch cords are usually produced in many different colors so as to be easily distinguishable from each other (see 2nd paragraph); furthermore, as exemplified by the first figure of the article, the color refers mainly to the color of the jacket, the main visible component of a patch cord.
In order to facilitate improved and efficient organization, tracking, and routing of patch cords, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch-cord jackets, the main visible component of patch cords, with color-coding matching the corresponding runways and panels, since Raven suggested that each group of patch cords corresponding to the groups of runways and panels be distinct from one another, since Raven discloses using matching colors to distinguish between groups, and since patch cords are usually color-coded. In making this modification, one would perform the method as claimed, including inserting optical fibers from the OSP fibers and the ISP fibers into the color-coded sleeves that correspond to the chosen color-coded panel, each of the color-coded sleeves containing a respective group of the optical fibers and wherein a color of each of the color-coded sleeves matches a color of the corresponding color-coded runway and the color-coded panel, and routing the color-coded sleeves with the respective groups of optical fibers contained therein through the corresponding color-coded runway to the color-coded panel.
Regarding claim 10: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein each of the plurality of color-coded panels includes a labeling area configured to display connectivity information corresponding to the plurality of optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves (Raven Figs. 1-5, panel covers 48, 58; see paragraph 0051; routing indicia are considered to constitute a display of connectivity information corresponding to the plurality of optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves).
Regarding claim 11: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the color-coded panels include ports (Raven Fig. 2, adapters 42, 52) that align with color-coded runways to facilitate a structured routing of the optical fibers from the panels through the runways and into the sleeves (the adapters of Raven Fig. 2 do this).
Regarding claim 12: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the step of selecting a color-coded panel includes referencing a labeling system that indicates the connectivity associated with each color-coded panel (see paragraph 0056; the colors distinguish, i.e. reference a labeling system that indicates the connectivity associated with; selecting a color-coded panel thus inherently includes referencing a labeling system that indicates the connectivity associated with each color-coded panel).
Regarding claim 13: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the color-coded runways are configured to maintain a predetermined bend radius for the optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves (see Raven Fig. 2, by routing the fibers, they necessarily maintain a predetermined bend radius for the optical fibers contained within the color-coded sleeves).
Regarding claim 14: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein the step of routing the optical fibers includes aligning the ports of the color-coded panels with the color-coded runways (see paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 16: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 9 (as applied above), wherein installing the set of optical fibers further comprises: organizing slack from the set of optical fibers in a built-in cable management system (see paragraph 0055; routing patch cords 94 through cable retainers 62 includes organizing slack from the set of optical fibers in a built-in cable management system).
Regarding claim 17: Modified Raven teachesThe method of claim 16 (as applied above), wherein the cable management system is color-coded to correspond with the color-coded panels, runways, and sleeves (see paragraph 0055; as applied above, in the modified Raven method, the panels and runways are color-coded with the sleeves).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raven et al. (US 2019/0196127; hereinafter Raven) in view of Laporte et al. (US 2003/0223725; hereinafter Laporte), as evidenced by Wikipedia (“Patch cable” article, accessed version from 04 April, 2019 via Wayback Machine at url: https://web.archive.org/web/20190404032515/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patch_cable; see copy attached to this Office Action).
Regarding claim 15: Modified Raven teaches the method of claim 9, as applied above. Raven fails to teach that installing the set of optical fibers further comprises: securing the color-coded sleeves in the corresponding color-coded runway with a plurality of color-coded latches. However, it is well known in the art to use latches to secure cables to a surface. Laporte, also related to cable management for fiber optic cable housings (see abstract and Fig. 3c), teaches securing cables to a tray comprising additional retaining features and runways using latches (see Fig. 3c, latches 59, retaining rings and guides on tray 18). For the purpose of better securing the fibers in the runways, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Raven method by securing the color-coded sleeves in the corresponding color-coded runway with a plurality of latches, since it was known in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to color-code the latches since Raven discloses providing retaining rings and other similar fiber routing features with color-coding and since it would serve a similar purpose, i.e. for improved tracking and routing.
Regarding claim 19: Raven disclosesA splice cabinet (Figs. 1-5, distribution frame 10), comprising: a plurality of color-coded panels (Figs. 1-5, patch panels 40 and 50); a plurality of color-coded runways (Figs. 1-5, runways along cable retainers 62) corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels.
Regarding the limitation “a plurality of color-coded sleeves corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels, each of the plurality of color-coded sleeves containing a respective group of optical fibers and extending through a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded runways to a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded panels, wherein a color of each color-coded sleeve matches a color of the corresponding color-coded runway and the corresponding color-coded panel”: Raven further teaches a plurality of sleeves (Figs. 1-5, patch cords 94 have sleeves, as described in paragraph 0073) corresponding to the plurality of color-coded panels, each of the plurality of sleeves containing a respective group of optical fibers (as described in paragraph 0073, the patch cords 94 are disclosed to include more than one optical fiber) and extending through a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded runways to a corresponding one of the plurality of color-coded panels (see paragraphs 0046-0055). Raven further teaches that “the patch cords 94 routed through each group of cable retainers 62 may be distinct from those routed through other groups of cable retainers 62” (see paragraph 0053). As evidenced by Wikipedia, patch cords are usually produced in many different colors so as to be easily distinguishable from each other (see 2nd paragraph); furthermore, as exemplified by the first figure of the article, the color refers mainly to the color of the jacket, the main visible component of a patch cord.
In order to facilitate improved and efficient organization, tracking, and routing of patch cords, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch-cord jackets, the main visible component of patch cords, with color-coding matching the corresponding runways and panels, since Raven suggested that each group of patch cords corresponding to the groups of runways and panels be distinct from one another, since Raven discloses using matching colors to distinguish between groups, and since patch cords are usually color-coded.
Raven further comprises a cabinet (Raven Figs. 1-5, distribution frame 10 is a cabinet) into which a rack (see annotated Raven Fig. 1), the plurality of color-coded panels (Raven Fig. 1, patch panels 40, 50), the plurality of color-coded runways (Raven Fig. 1, runways along cable retainers 62), and the plurality of color-coded sleeves (according to the modification described above, patch cords 94) are installed.
Raven fails to teach “a plurality of color-coded latches securing the plurality of color-coded sleeves within the corresponding color-coded runways, wherein a color of each of the color-coded latches matches the color of a corresponding color-coded sleeve and the corresponding color-coded runway. However, it is well known in the art to use latches to secure cables to a surface. Laporte, also related to cable management for fiber optic cable housings (see abstract and Fig. 3c), teaches securing cables to a tray comprising additional retaining features and runways using latches (see Fig. 3c, latches 59, retaining rings and guides on tray 18). For the purpose of better securing the fibers in the runways, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Raven method by securing the color-coded sleeves in the corresponding color-coded runway with a plurality of latches, since it was known in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to color-code the latches since Raven discloses providing retaining rings and other similar fiber routing features with color-coding, for improved tracking and routing.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raven et al. (US 2019/0196127; hereinafter Raven) in view of Geens et al. (US 2024/0004157; hereinafter Geens; examiner notes that the features relied upon are supported in the provisional application 63/085,558 filed on 30 September, 2020; on the other hand, examiner notes that the features claimed are not present in the provisional application 63/455,549 to which the present application claims domestic benefit; therefore, Geens is considered to be valid prior art as it relates to the claimed features), as evidenced by Wikipedia (“Patch cable” article, accessed version from 04 April, 2019 via Wayback Machine at url: https://web.archive.org/web/20190404032515/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patch_cable; see copy attached to this Office Action).
Regarding claim 7: Modified Raven teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as applied above. Raven further discloses that the apparatus may further include a plurality of modular splice trays (Figs. 7-9, splice trays 80). Raven fails to disclose that each tray is color-coded to match with corresponding panels and runways for housing splices of the optical fibers. However, Geens, also related to fiber optic splice organizers (see title and abstract) including a plurality of splice trays which are labeled for improved organization and traceability (see paragraph 0007). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the Raven apparatus by labeling each splice tray based on its grouping with corresponding panels and runways for improved organization and traceability based on the Geens teachings. Based on the Raven disclosure relating to suitable methods for labeling, or providing indicia to, various components of a fiber optic distribution cabinet, and since color-coding is a very well-known way to label components, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize color-coding to be a suitable method for labeling the splice trays, so that they are directly matched with their corresponding patch cords, runways, and panels, for optimal organization and traceability. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raven device by color-coding the plurality of modular splice trays to match with corresponding panels and runways for housing splices of the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 18: Modified Raven teaches the method of claim 9, as applied above. Raven further teaches housing splices of the optical fibers in a plurality of modular splice trays (see paragraph 0072). Raven fails to teach that each tray is color-coded to match with corresponding panels and runways. However, Geens, also related to fiber optic splice organizers (see title and abstract) including a plurality of splice trays which are labeled for improved organization and traceability (see paragraph 0007). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the Raven apparatus by labeling each splice tray based on its grouping with corresponding panels and runways for improved organization and traceability based on the Geens teachings. Based on the Raven disclosure relating to suitable methods for labeling, or providing indicia to, various components of a fiber optic distribution cabinet, and since color-coding is a very well-known way to label components, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize color-coding to be a suitable method for labeling the splice trays, so that they are directly matched with their corresponding patch cords, runways, and panels, for optimal organization and traceability. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the Raven method by color-coding each tray to match with corresponding panels and runways for housing splices of the optical fibers, thereby labeling the splice trays for improved organization and traceability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874