DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejection uses the newly cited Great Britain Patent GB2239272A (Souter, George) to disclose the gates rotation about a horizontal axis as claimed. Therefore, a new interpretation has been used and the arguments are moot.
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
An examiner’s amendment to the record appears below. Should the changes and/or additions be unacceptable to applicant, an amendment may be filed as provided by 37 CFR 1.312. To ensure consideration of such an amendment, it MUST be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee.
Authorization for this examiner’s amendment was given in an interview with office of William Powell on 09/29/2025
The application has been amended as follows:
In Claims 15, 16 and 17; after the phrase “The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim”, delete “12” and enter –14--. Claims 15-17 should now depend from Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (United States Patent Application US20210229613 A1) in view of Souter (Great Britain Patent GB2239272A).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (United States Patent Application US20210229613A1) in view of Souter (Great Britain Patent GB2239272A) in further view of Vance (European Patent Application EP 3154651 A1).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (United States Patent Application US20210229613 A1) in view of Souter (Great Britain Patent GB2239272A) in further view Bluhm (United States Patent Application US 20190134516 A1).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Majdali (United States Patent Application US 20210062567A1) in view of Souter (Great Britain Patent GB2239272A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilcox discloses A show-ride attraction, comprising:(Figure 2: Attraction system 50)a moving pathway configured to transport a guest toward a barrier;(Figure 2: Vehicle 52 on track 58)a gate positioned across the moving pathway upstream of the barrier relative to a direction of travel of the moving pathway, (Figure 7: Gate 200)wherein the gate is configured to transition between a first position and a second position in response to the guest engaging with the gate;(Paragraph 0046: "FIG. 7 is a perspective view of an embodiment of the restraint control assembly 106 implemented to control movement of a feature 200 (e.g., a moveable element). In FIG. 7, the feature 200 is representative of a gate. In one embodiment, the feature 200 may be implemented at the guest path of the attraction system to enable and block navigation through a portion of the guest path. For instance, the feature 200 may include a leg 202 that is rotatable about a rotational axis 204 extending along the leg 202 . The feature 200 may rotate between a first position, which may enable guests to navigate the portion of the guest path, and a second position, which may block guests from navigating the portion of the guest path. The restraint control assembly 106 may be used for enabling and blocking rotation of the feature 200 about the rotational axis 204 , such as to set the feature 200 in the first position or in the second position.")one or more sensors configured to detect transitioning of the gate from the first position to the second position; and(Paragraph 0033: "In an additional or an alternative embodiment, the control system 108 may set the configuration of the restraint control assembly 106 based on a detected operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 . To this end, the control system 108 may be communicatively coupled to one or more sensors 114 , which may be part of the ride vehicle 52 , the ride path, or another part of the attraction system. The sensor(s) 114 may be configured to monitor the operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 and to transmit feedback indicative of the operating parameter. In an example, the operating parameter includes a position of the ride vehicle 52 along the ride path. For instance, the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the first configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is at the station (e.g., a loading and/or unloading platform). The control system 108 may then set the restraint control assembly 106 in the second configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is moving and/or is not at the station. In other examples, the operating parameter may include a position of each passenger in the ride vehicle 52 (e.g., whether the passengers are situated in the ride seats 54 and/or on the seating portions 98 ), an operating mode of the ride vehicle 52 , another suitable operating parameter, or any combination thereof.")a controller configured to control the moving pathway in response to an indication from the one or more sensors that the gate is transitioning and/or has transitioned to the second position.(Paragraph 0032: " The control system 108 may operate the restraint control assembly 106 to enable or block movement of the pivot adapter 104 about the pivot 102 . Thus, the control system 108 may also enable or block rotation of the restraint piece 100 about the pivot 102 . For instance, the control system 108 may adjust the restraint control assembly 106 between the first configuration and the second configuration. In one embodiment, the control system 108 may be configured to set the configuration of the restraint control assembly 106 based on a time of operation of the ride vehicle 52 or of the attraction system that includes the ride vehicle 52 . As an example, at certain times of operation (e.g., when the ride vehicle 52 is at a station), the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the first configuration to enable the restraint piece 100 to move and enable passengers to enter and/or exit the ride vehicle 52 . At other times of operation (e.g., when the ride vehicle 52 is in motion), the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the second configuration to block movement of the restraint piece 100 (e.g., in the closed position) to secure the passenger within the ride vehicle 52 .").
However, Wilcox does not disclose wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis.
Sotuer teaches a similar gate system wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis (Figure 2: Swing down gate 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilcox to include the horizontal axis rotation of the gate as taught by Souter. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a crowd control barrier to limit or prevent access to a non-access area (Page 1, lines 4-9).
Regarding Claim 2, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 1, as seen above. Souter further discloses comprising a frame, wherein the first position corresponds to a normal operating position of the gate loosely coupled to the frame, and the second position corresponds to a disengaged position of at least a portion of the gate disengaged from the frame.(Figure 3: Shows how the gate 13 can be opened and closed between 2 positions)
Regarding Claim 3, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show-ride attraction of Claim 2, as seen above.
However, Wilcox in view of Souter does not disclose wherein the gate is loosely coupled to the frame in the normal operating position via one or more magnets.
Vance teaches a similar moving door wherein the gate is loosely coupled to the frame in the normal operating position via one or more magnets.(Paragraph 0043: "The various movable parts of the robotic mechanism 74 may be actuated using any appropriate type of energy transfer mechanism, such as electromechanical, pneumatic, hydraulic, electromagnetic, or the like. Thus, in certain embodiments, the base portion 72 may include appropriate equipment for enabling such actuation, such as power converters, compressors, magnets, etc. In the illustrated embodiment, actuation of the different rigid bodies of the robotic mechanism 74 is driven only electromechanically.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilcox in view of Souter to include the use of magnets as taught by Vance. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for the moving of ride vehicles along paths with the ability to transition between different sections by use of a moveable door (Paragraphs 0002-0005).
Regarding Claim 4, Wilcox in view of Souter in further view of Vance discloses the show-ride attraction of claim 3, as seen above. Vance further discloses (Paragraph 0043: "The various movable parts of the robotic mechanism 74 may be actuated using any appropriate type of energy transfer mechanism, such as electromechanical, pneumatic, hydraulic, electromagnetic, or the like. Thus, in certain embodiments, the base portion 72 may include appropriate equipment for enabling such actuation, such as power converters, compressors, magnets, etc. In the illustrated embodiment, actuation of the different rigid bodies of the robotic mechanism 74 is driven only electromechanically.").
Regarding Claim 5, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 2, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the gate comprises: a first side rotatably coupled to the frame; and a second side configured to move in the direction of travel of the moving pathway relative to the frame, wherein the gate is configured to extend across a width of the moving pathway in the first position and in the second position to limit movement of the guest toward the barrier.(Figure 3: Shows how the gate 13 can be opened and closed between 2 positions)
Regarding Claim 6, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 5, as seen above. Souter further discloses comprising a latch system configured to engage with the second side during transitioning to the second position or in the second position to maintain a position of the gate in the disengaged position.(Figure 6: Catch means 15)
Regarding Claim 7, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 6, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the latch system extends from the frame in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the gate, and wherein the latch system comprises a body defining one or more notches.(Figure 6: Shows pin 26 engaging with latching means and flexible ties 19)
Regarding Claim 8, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 7, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the second side of the gate comprises an extension configured to engage with the one or more notches of the latch system to maintain the position of the gate in the disengaged position.(Figure 6: Shows pin 26 engaging with latching means and flexible ties 19)
Regarding Claim 9, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 1, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the gate comprises: a plurality of sides; an opening defined by the plurality of sides; and an additional barrier extending across the opening and configured to limit movement of the guest beyond the gate.(Figure 2: Shows wire gating grid throughout all gates 13)
Regarding Claim 10, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 9, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more sensors is an impact sensor configured to detect a force of impact against the gate, wherein the impact sensor is disposed on the additional barrier extending across the opening.(Pages 1-2, lines 10-9: "According to the present invention, there is provided a crowd control barrier and an operating system therefor, wherein the barrier comprises a plurality of gates arranged in openings defined by a set of mutually spaced upright posts on the boundary of a no-go area, each gate being associated with respective releasable catch means comprising a double-acting actuator incorporating a position-sensor and mounted on a respective one of the posts, and the operating system comprises a respective electrically-operable reversing valve connected to each actuator, a common source of fluid under pressure, fluid conduits connected to supply the reversing valves from said common source, a common electrical supply, electrical conductors connected for operating the reversing valves from said common supply, control means for setting the fluid pressure in the system, and electric circuit means connecting each said position-sensor to a respective reversing valve, the arrangement being such that with the gates closing said openings, the actuators are operable to hold the gates closed against forces up to a limit determined by the system fluid pressure, and the actuators are operable to release the gates in response to activation of the position-sensors")
Regarding Claim 11, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show ride attraction of claim 10, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the additional barrier comprises a net extending across the opening.(Figure 2: Shows wire gating grid throughout all gates 13)
Regarding Claim 12, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show-ride attraction of claim 1, as seen above.
However, Wilcox in view of Souter does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to reduce the speed of the moving pathway in response to the indication indicative of the gate transitioning to the second position.
Bluhm teaches a similar ride system wherein the controller is configured to reduce the speed of the moving pathway in response to the indication indicative of the gate transitioning to the second position.(Paragraph 0029: "In an embodiment, the ride vehicle 20 includes sensors 30 to detect information (e.g., sensor data) associated with the ride system 12 . For example, the ride vehicle 20 may include a speed sensor (e.g., tachometer) that determines the speed of the ride vehicle 20 relative the display system 24 . The ride vehicle 20 may include a spatial positioning device (e.g., global positioning system (GPS)) to determine the location of the ride vehicle 20 . In addition or alternatively, the ride system 12 may include any other suitable sensor(s) 30 (e.g., infrared sensor(s), capacitance sensor(s), ultrasonic sensor(s), magnetic sensor(s), optical sensor(s) etc.) to detect information associated with the characteristics of the light displayed on the display system 24 , the speed and position of the ride vehicle 20 , and the like. The sensor data may be provided to a control system 40 (e.g., as feedback data) to facilitate and enhance the display of the imagery on the display system 24 . In addition, the sensors data may be provided to the control system 40 to enable the control of the ride vehicle 20 . The vehicle speed and/or position may also be estimated from time stamp data. That is, the speed illusion effect may be synchronized to ride system 12 control signals for the vehicle 20 at certain time stamps.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilcox in view of Souter to include the controlling of speed as taught by Bluhm. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a ride system that provides the ability to block paths while a vehicle is riding along a track, as well as the ability to open the gate to continue in order maintain illusions for passengers to enjoy the ride experience (Paragraph 0018).
Regarding Claim 13, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the show-ride attraction of claim 1, as seen above.
However, Wilcox in view of Souter does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to stop the moving pathway in response to the indication indicative of the gate transitioning to the second position.
Bluhm teaches a similar ride system wherein the controller is configured to stop the moving pathway in response to the indication indicative of the gate transitioning to the second position.(Paragraph 0044: " In an embodiment, the ride vehicle 20 may decelerate to a stop as it approaches a stopping position along the ride path 14 . The control system 40 may receive an indication (e.g., via a sensor 30 ) that the ride vehicle 20 has approached the stopping position (or a speed of zero miles per hour) on the ride path. In an embodiment, when the ride vehicle 20 is at a stop (e.g., has a speed of zero miles per hour), the ride vehicle 20 may be enclosed by enclosure 90 . The enclosure 90 may include the first side wall 80 , the second side wall 82 , a forward wall 92 , and any other suitable walls (e.g., the ceiling surface and the floor). The enclosure 90 may limit an amount of external light entering the ride system 12 , thereby making the environment dark. Indeed, in an embodiment, the light emitted by the projector 26 may provide the majority of the illumination in the ride system 12 .")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilcox in view of Souter to include the controlling of speed as taught by Bluhm. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a ride system that provides the ability to block paths while a vehicle is riding along a track, as well as the ability to open the gate to continue in order maintain illusions for passengers to enjoy the ride experience (Paragraph 0018).
Regarding Claim 14, Majdali discloses A non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to:(Paragraph 0019: " Each of the gates is configured to open and close based on a position of a corresponding ride vehicle relative to the loading platform and therefore relative to the gate. More specifically, when a ride vehicle (e.g., a passenger seat location of the ride vehicle) is not proximate to or not radially aligned with one of the gates or gate passages (relative to a rotational axis of the loading platform), the gate will remain in a closed position to prevent guests from exiting the loading platform at an improper time. When a ride vehicle is proximate to and radially aligned with the gate or gate passage, the gate system will open the gate to enable a guest to enter or exit the ride vehicle. As discussed in detail below, the gate system includes a gate actuation system configured to control actuation of the gates between open and closed positions. The gate actuation system may include detectors, sensors, actuators, mechanical linkages, cams, or any other suitable components to enable actuation of the gates based on feedback indicative of a position of the ride vehicle. The ride vehicle may include a gate activation system of the gate system. The gate activation system is configured to provide the feedback to the gate actuation system. For example, the gate activation system of the ride vehicle may include identifiers, markers, emitters, engagement features, or any other suitable components configured to provide feedback indicative of a position of the ride vehicle to the gate actuation system. These and other features of the disclosed embodiments will be discussed in detail below.")operate a moving pathway at a first speed to transport one or more guests from an entry point of a ride-show attraction to an exit point of the ride-show attraction;(Paragraph 0030: "When the ride vehicle leaves the loading path 24 and re-enters the attraction path 18 , the ride vehicle 16 will no longer be radially aligned with the gate 42 or associated gate passage, and the ride vehicle 16 may travel at a different (e.g., faster) speed than the rotational speed of the loading platform 20 . Once the gate system 34 detects that the ride vehicle 16 is no longer aligned with and traveling with the gate 42 , the gate system 34 closes the gate 42 to block passengers from exiting the loading platform 20 via the gate 42 . In the illustrated embodiment, a third ride vehicle 66 is leaving the loading path 24 and is entering the attraction path 18 . As shown, the third ride vehicle 66 is not radially aligned with a third gate 68 or associated gate passage with which the third ride vehicle 66 was previously aligned. Accordingly, the third gate 68 is illustrated as transitioning between an open configuration to a closed configuration (e.g., similar to the closed configuration of a fourth gate 70 of the gate system 34 ) via operation of the gate system 34 .")receive sensor data from one or more sensors positioned about the ride-show attraction, wherein the sensor data is indicative of a gate of the ride-show attraction transitioning from a first position to a second position; and(Paragraph 0019:" Each of the gates is configured to open and close based on a position of a corresponding ride vehicle relative to the loading platform and therefore relative to the gate. More specifically, when a ride vehicle (e.g., a passenger seat location of the ride vehicle) is not proximate to or not radially aligned with one of the gates or gate passages (relative to a rotational axis of the loading platform), the gate will remain in a closed position to prevent guests from exiting the loading platform at an improper time. When a ride vehicle is proximate to and radially aligned with the gate or gate passage, the gate system will open the gate to enable a guest to enter or exit the ride vehicle. As discussed in detail below, the gate system includes a gate actuation system configured to control actuation of the gates between open and closed positions. The gate actuation system may include detectors, sensors, actuators, mechanical linkages, cams, or any other suitable components to enable actuation of the gates based on feedback indicative of a position of the ride vehicle. The ride vehicle may include a gate activation system of the gate system. The gate activation system is configured to provide the feedback to the gate actuation system. For example, the gate activation system of the ride vehicle may include identifiers, markers, emitters, engagement features, or any other suitable components configured to provide feedback indicative of a position of the ride vehicle to the gate actuation system. These and other features of the disclosed embodiments will be discussed in detail below.")operate the moving pathway at a second speed to facilitate departure of a guest from the moving pathway based on the sensor data indicating that the gate is in the second position.(Paragraph 0030: "When the ride vehicle leaves the loading path 24 and re-enters the attraction path 18 , the ride vehicle 16 will no longer be radially aligned with the gate 42 or associated gate passage, and the ride vehicle 16 may travel at a different (e.g., faster) speed than the rotational speed of the loading platform 20 . Once the gate system 34 detects that the ride vehicle 16 is no longer aligned with and traveling with the gate 42 , the gate system 34 closes the gate 42 to block passengers from exiting the loading platform 20 via the gate 42 . In the illustrated embodiment, a third ride vehicle 66 is leaving the loading path 24 and is entering the attraction path 18 . As shown, the third ride vehicle 66 is not radially aligned with a third gate 68 or associated gate passage with which the third ride vehicle 66 was previously aligned. Accordingly, the third gate 68 is illustrated as transitioning between an open configuration to a closed configuration (e.g., similar to the closed configuration of a fourth gate 70 of the gate system 34 ) via operation of the gate system 34 .").
However, Majdali does not disclose wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis to transition from the first position to the second position in response to a guest of the one or more guests engaging with the gate
Sotuer teaches a similar gate system wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis to transition from the first position to the second position in response to a guest of the one or more guests engaging with the gate (Figure 2: Swing down gate 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Majdali to include the horizontal axis rotation of the gate as taught by Souter. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a crowd control barrier to limit or prevent access to a non-access area (Page 1, lines 4-9).
Regarding Claim 15, Majdali in view of Souter discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 14, as seen above. Majdali further discloses wherein the second speed is less than the first speed.(Paragraph 0030: "When the ride vehicle leaves the loading path 24 and re-enters the attraction path 18 , the ride vehicle 16 will no longer be radially aligned with the gate 42 or associated gate passage, and the ride vehicle 16 may travel at a different (e.g., faster) speed than the rotational speed of the loading platform 20 . Once the gate system 34 detects that the ride vehicle 16 is no longer aligned with and traveling with the gate 42 , the gate system 34 closes the gate 42 to block passengers from exiting the loading platform 20 via the gate 42 . In the illustrated embodiment, a third ride vehicle 66 is leaving the loading path 24 and is entering the attraction path 18 . As shown, the third ride vehicle 66 is not radially aligned with a third gate 68 or associated gate passage with which the third ride vehicle 66 was previously aligned. Accordingly, the third gate 68 is illustrated as transitioning between an open configuration to a closed configuration (e.g., similar to the closed configuration of a fourth gate 70 of the gate system 34 ) via operation of the gate system 34 .").
Regarding Claim 16, Majdali in view of Souter discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 14, as seen above. Souter further discloses wherein the first position corresponds to a normal operating position, the second position corresponds to a disengaged position, and the gate is configured to extend across the moving pathway and limit movement of the one or more guests beyond the gate in the normal operating position and in the disengaged position.(Figure 3: Shows how the gate 13 can be opened and closed between 2 positions).
Regarding Claim 17, Majdali in view of Souter discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 14, as seen above. Majdali further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to operate show-ride entertainment positioned along the moving pathway to provide an immersive experience for the guest on the pathway.(Paragraph 0021: "Turning now to the figures, FIG. 1 is a schematic top view of an embodiment of a loading zone 10 of a loading system 12 . As shown, the loading zone 10 may be a portion of an overall ride system 14 (e.g., an amusement ride or attraction). For example, passengers may load into ride vehicles 16 in the loading zone 10 , may travel along an attraction path 18 of the ride system 14 , and may arrive back at the loading zone 10 to unload from the ride vehicles 16 . While traveling along the attraction path 18 , passengers may be exposed to a variety of experiences, such as virtual reality, alternate reality, environment interactions, multiple ride paths, water features, special effects, and so forth. It should be noted that portions of the ride system 14 , such as the attraction path 18 , have been intentionally simplified in order to focus on aspects of the loading system 12 .").
Regarding Claim 18, Wilcox discloses a method for controlling operation of a moving pathway of a show-ride attraction, the method comprising: initiating operation of the moving pathway to transport one or more guests from an entry point of the show-ride attraction to an exit point of the show-ride attraction;(Figure 2: Vehicle 52 on track 58)receiving sensor data from one or more sensors, wherein the sensor data is indicative of at least one of the one or more guests interacting with a gate extending across the moving pathway such that the gate transitions from a first position to a second position; and(Paragraph 0046: "FIG. 7 is a perspective view of an embodiment of the restraint control assembly 106 implemented to control movement of a feature 200 (e.g., a moveable element). In FIG. 7, the feature 200 is representative of a gate. In one embodiment, the feature 200 may be implemented at the guest path of the attraction system to enable and block navigation through a portion of the guest path. For instance, the feature 200 may include a leg 202 that is rotatable about a rotational axis 204 extending along the leg 202 . The feature 200 may rotate between a first position, which may enable guests to navigate the portion of the guest path, and a second position, which may block guests from navigating the portion of the guest path. The restraint control assembly 106 may be used for enabling and blocking rotation of the feature 200 about the rotational axis 204 , such as to set the feature 200 in the first position or in the second position.")controlling a speed of the moving pathway based on the sensor data indicating that the gate is in the second position.(Paragraph 0033: "In an additional or an alternative embodiment, the control system 108 may set the configuration of the restraint control assembly 106 based on a detected operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 . To this end, the control system 108 may be communicatively coupled to one or more sensors 114 , which may be part of the ride vehicle 52 , the ride path, or another part of the attraction system. The sensor(s) 114 may be configured to monitor the operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 and to transmit feedback indicative of the operating parameter. In an example, the operating parameter includes a position of the ride vehicle 52 along the ride path. For instance, the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the first configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is at the station (e.g., a loading and/or unloading platform). The control system 108 may then set the restraint control assembly 106 in the second configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is moving and/or is not at the station. In other examples, the operating parameter may include a position of each passenger in the ride vehicle 52 (e.g., whether the passengers are situated in the ride seats 54 and/or on the seating portions 98 ), an operating mode of the ride vehicle 52 , another suitable operating parameter, or any combination thereof.", wherein control assembly 106 operates the gate 200 based on operating parameters as well, i.e. if the ride is in an unloading/loading state (stopped) or an operating state (moving) which can also be controlled by the control system 108)
However, Wilcox does not disclose wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis.
Sotuer teaches a similar gate system wherein the gate is configured to rotate about a horizontal axis (Figure 2: Swing down gate 13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilcox to include the horizontal axis rotation of the gate as taught by Souter. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a crowd control barrier to limit or prevent access to a non-access area (Page 1, lines 4-9).
Regarding Claim 19, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the method of claim 18, as seen above. Wilcox further discloses receiving additional sensor data from one or more additional sensors, wherein the additional sensor data is indicative of one or more characteristics of the one or more guests positioned along the moving pathway analyzing the additional sensor data to quantify a probability of a guest of the one or more guests interacting with the gate; and controlling the speed of the moving pathway based on the additional sensor data indicating that the probability of the guest interacting with the gate exceeds a predetermined threshold probability.(Paragraph 0033: "In an additional or an alternative embodiment, the control system 108 may set the configuration of the restraint control assembly 106 based on a detected operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 . To this end, the control system 108 may be communicatively coupled to one or more sensors 114 , which may be part of the ride vehicle 52 , the ride path, or another part of the attraction system. The sensor(s) 114 may be configured to monitor the operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 and to transmit feedback indicative of the operating parameter. In an example, the operating parameter includes a position of the ride vehicle 52 along the ride path. For instance, the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the first configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is at the station (e.g., a loading and/or unloading platform). The control system 108 may then set the restraint control assembly 106 in the second configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is moving and/or is not at the station. In other examples, the operating parameter may include a position of each passenger in the ride vehicle 52 (e.g., whether the passengers are situated in the ride seats 54 and/or on the seating portions 98 ), an operating mode of the ride vehicle 52 , another suitable operating parameter, or any combination thereof.", wherein an obvious combination of parameters could be varying the operation of the ride vehicle based upon the enabling or blocking of guests by the gate in order to enable basic safety features)
Regarding Claim 20, Wilcox in view of Souter discloses the method of claim 19, as seen above. Wilcox further discloses wherein the one or more characteristics correspond to a behavior of the one or more guests, an age of the one or more guests, a health level of the one or more guests, one or more components associated with the one or more guests, a hazard level of the one or more guests, or any combination thereof.(Paragraph 0033: "In an additional or an alternative embodiment, the control system 108 may set the configuration of the restraint control assembly 106 based on a detected operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 . To this end, the control system 108 may be communicatively coupled to one or more sensors 114 , which may be part of the ride vehicle 52 , the ride path, or another part of the attraction system. The sensor(s) 114 may be configured to monitor the operating parameter of the ride vehicle 52 and to transmit feedback indicative of the operating parameter. In an example, the operating parameter includes a position of the ride vehicle 52 along the ride path. For instance, the control system 108 may set the restraint control assembly 106 in the first configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is at the station (e.g., a loading and/or unloading platform). The control system 108 may then set the restraint control assembly 106 in the second configuration when the operating parameter indicates the ride vehicle 52 is moving and/or is not at the station. In other examples, the operating parameter may include a position of each passenger in the ride vehicle 52 (e.g., whether the passengers are situated in the ride seats 54 and/or on the seating portions 98 ), an operating mode of the ride vehicle 52 , another suitable operating parameter, or any combination thereof.").
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651