DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (20150373639) in view of LINKOLA et al (20230283387).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou et al discloses, a STA finder device (abstract, fig. 1-10), comprising:
a processing device configured to (processor 204, fig. 2):
monitor signal strengths associated with a STA for each of a plurality of access points supporting a wireless mesh network (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a.);
detect that a first signal strength for the STA at a first access point of the plurality of access points is decreasing through a threshold signal strength at a first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, When one of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h moves toward the access point 105a (away from the edge of the coverage area of the associated wireless network 110a), the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may increase. Accordingly, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a.); and
determine a location of the STA relative to the first access point at a second time following the first time based on changes in the first signal strength for the STA and/or a second signal strength for the STA at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b. Note: wireless access terminals 115a-115h may scan for beacons from the associated wireless network 110a-110b and the wireless access terminal 115 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time).
Zhou et al does not specifically disclose in detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time.
In the same field of endeavor, LINKOLA et al discloses, in more detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0041, 0045). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method involves retrieving data representing a recording of a wireless field client device in the wireless field test environment, and thus ensures simple and reliable field-to-lab testing of the wireless device. as taught by LINKOLA et al.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the second signal strength is associated with a second access point of the plurality of access points (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is farther away from the first access point at the second time than at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the processing device configured to increase a sampling rate of the monitoring of the signal strengths following detection of the first signal strength decreasing through the threshold signal strength (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is the STA finder device (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the location is a STA zone defining a spatial area that is determined to include a position of the STA finder at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone has a hemispherical shape or a quarter spherical shape (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone is defined using a coordinate system based on a position of the first access point relative to the second access point of the plurality of access points and wherein a second signal strength for the STA at the second access point at the first time is less than the first signal strength and greater than any of the signal strengths received for the other access points of the plurality of access points at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the first signal strength is a received signal strength indicator measured at the first access point (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, a method (abstract, fig. 1-10), comprising:
monitoring signal strengths associated with a STA for each of a plurality of access points supporting a wireless mesh network (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a);
detecting that a first signal strength for the STA at a first access point of the plurality of access points is decreasing through a threshold signal strength at a first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, When one of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h moves toward the access point 105a (away from the edge of the coverage area of the associated wireless network 110a), the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may increase. Accordingly, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a.); and
determining a location of the STA relative to the first access point at a second time following the first time based on changes in the first signal strength for the STA and/or a second signal strength for the STA at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Zhou et al does not specifically disclose in detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time.
In the same field of endeavor, LINKOLA et al discloses, in more detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0041, 0045). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method involves retrieving data representing a recording of a wireless field client device in the wireless field test environment, and thus ensures simple and reliable field-to-lab testing of the wireless device. as taught by LINKOLA et al.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is farther away from the first access point at the second time than at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the location is a STA zone defining a spatial area that is determined to include a position of the STA finder at the second time (¶ 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone has a hemi-spherical shape or a quarter spherical shape (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone is defined using a coordinate system based on a position of the first access point relative to the second access point of the plurality of access points and wherein a second signal strength for the STA at the second access point at the first time is less than the first signal strength and greater than any of the signal strengths received for the other access points of the plurality of access points at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSIs increase and decrease according to the UEs moving towards/away the AP, and also based on the allowance of a specific AP to a secondary AP to receive the location/RSSI of the UE).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, a received signal strength indicator measured at the first access point (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, further LINKOLA et al discloses, wherein the plurality of samples further comprises samples of the second signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0041, 0045).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in view of LINKOLA et al and Roberts et al (20160174040).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al does not specifically disclose, prior to determining the location of the STA at the second time, determine the second time by calculating an amount of time subsequent to the first time where the STA moved in a linear direction based on the changes in the first signal and/or second signal strengths.
In the same field of endeavor, Roberts et al discloses, prior to determining the location of the STA at the second time, determine the second time by calculating an amount of time subsequent to the first time where the STA moved in a linear direction based on the changes in the first signal and/or second signal strengths (¶ 0020, 0022, 0025 and 0030-0031, distances between STAs and APs are constantly calculated based on linear direction between the STA and the APs, as the RSSIs increase when they are closer). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility management and obtaining position information of the STA in an accurate manner. The method enables utilizing a distance calculation circuit of the AP to recalculate distances to the STA so as to increase resolution of the calculation as taught by Roberts et al.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (20150373639) in view of LINKOLA et al and Chari et al (20160302096).
Regarding claims 7, 15, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al does not specifically disclose, wherein the processing device is further configured to: correlate performance of the wireless mesh network for the STA device at the second time with the location; and in response to the performance of the wireless mesh network in the location falling below a performance threshold, generate a recommendation to move one or more of the plurality of access points to improve performance of the wireless mesh network in the location.
In the same field of endeavor, Chari et al discloses, wherein the processing device is further configured to: correlate performance of the wireless mesh network for the STA device at the second time with the location; and in response to the performance of the wireless mesh network in the location falling below a performance threshold, generate a recommendation to move one or more of the plurality of access points to improve performance of the wireless mesh network in the location (¶ 0020, 0026, 0069, 0129-0131, measuring the round trip response time between the time of transmission of the ping packets (ICMP Request messages) and the time of reception of the corresponding ping response packets (ICMP Response messages). For an embodiment, the extender measures a downlink or uplink expected transmission time for packets on the routing path to the gateway. For an embodiment, the extender measures an end-to-end expected transmission time for packets on the routing path to the gateway. For an embodiment, an uplink expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the extender node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the gateway node. For an embodiment, a downlink expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the gateway node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the extender node. For an embodiment, a roundtrip expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the extender node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the extender node after having been received and sent back by the gateway node.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to network performance is optimized and improved, by estimating a minimum throughput required by the application corresponding to that data stream as taught by Chari et al.
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (20150373639) in view of HU et al (20260019173).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou et al discloses, a STA finder device (abstract, fig. 1-10), comprising:
a processing device configured to (processor 204, fig. 2):
monitor signal strengths associated with a STA for each of a plurality of access points supporting a wireless mesh network (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a.);
detect that a first signal strength for the STA at a first access point of the plurality of access points is decreasing through a threshold signal strength at a first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, When one of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h moves toward the access point 105a (away from the edge of the coverage area of the associated wireless network 110a), the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may increase. Accordingly, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a.); and
determine a location of the STA relative to the first access point at a second time following the first time based on changes in the first signal strength for the STA and/or a second signal strength for the STA at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b. Note: wireless access terminals 115a-115h may scan for beacons from the associated wireless network 110a-110b and the wireless access terminal 115 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time).
Zhou et al does not specifically disclose in detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time.
In the same field of endeavor, HU et al discloses, in more detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0060). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method is used to provide increased efficiency and effectiveness to the process of parking a vehicle in a parking structure by identifying open parking spaces near the vehicle and providing navigation directions to the open parking spaces. The method saves battery power of the special purpose STA, once the vehicle arrives at the empty parking space and does not move for a threshold period of time, the special purpose STA reduces its power consumption, for example by disconnecting from a wireless network associated with the APs, or by entering a low power state as taught by HU et al.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou et al and HU et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the second signal strength is associated with a second access point of the plurality of access points (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou et al and HU et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is farther away from the first access point at the second time than at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al and Hu et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the processing device configured to increase a sampling rate of the monitoring of the signal strengths following detection of the first signal strength decreasing through the threshold signal strength (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al and Hu et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is the STA finder device (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou et al and LINKOLA et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the location is a STA zone defining a spatial area that is determined to include a position of the STA finder at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou et al and Hu et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone has a hemispherical shape or a quarter spherical shape (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou et al and Hu et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone is defined using a coordinate system based on a position of the first access point relative to the second access point of the plurality of access points and wherein a second signal strength for the STA at the second access point at the first time is less than the first signal strength and greater than any of the signal strengths received for the other access points of the plurality of access points at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al and HU et al disclose in claim 1, Further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the first signal strength is a received signal strength indicator measured at the first access point (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou et al and Hu et al disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, a method (abstract, fig. 1-10), comprising:
monitoring signal strengths associated with a STA for each of a plurality of access points supporting a wireless mesh network (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a);
detecting that a first signal strength for the STA at a first access point of the plurality of access points is decreasing through a threshold signal strength at a first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, When one of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h moves toward the access point 105a (away from the edge of the coverage area of the associated wireless network 110a), the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may increase. Accordingly, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a.); and
determining a location of the STA relative to the first access point at a second time following the first time based on changes in the first signal strength for the STA and/or a second signal strength for the STA at the second time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Zhou et al does not specifically disclose in detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time.
In the same field of endeavor, HU et al discloses, in more detail, wherein the location of the STA at the second time is determined based on a plurality of samples of the first signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0060). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method is used to provide increased efficiency and effectiveness to the process of parking a vehicle in a parking structure by identifying open parking spaces near the vehicle and providing navigation directions to the open parking spaces. The method saves battery power of the special purpose STA, once the vehicle arrives at the empty parking space and does not move for a threshold period of time, the special purpose STA reduces its power consumption, for example by disconnecting from a wireless network associated with the APs, or by entering a low power state as taught by HU et al.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou et al and HU disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA is farther away from the first access point at the second time than at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou et al and Hu disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the location is a STA zone defining a spatial area that is determined to include a position of the STA finder at the second time (¶ 0041-0045, the RSSI of communications between the wireless access terminals 115a-115h and the access point 105a may provide a general location of the wireless access terminals 115a-115h in relation to the access point 105a. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of the communication received from the first access point 105a is above the threshold signal strength for the second access point 105b as received from the first access point 105a, then the wireless access terminal 115b may determine that it is within the range of the second access point 105b. If the wireless access terminal 115b determines that it is within the range of the second access point 105b, the wireless access terminal 115b may begin or increase scanning for the second wireless network 110b. In some embodiments, scanning for the second wireless network 110b may comprise scanning for beacons on the second wireless network 110b. In order to facilitate scanning for the second wireless network 110b, the wireless access terminal 115b may receive and/or identify additional information regarding the second wireless network 110b, for example, the corresponding channel number, the basic service set identification, and the service set identification for the second wireless network 110b.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou et al and HU disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone has a hemi-spherical shape or a quarter spherical shape (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou et al and HU disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, wherein the STA zone is defined using a coordinate system based on a position of the first access point relative to the second access point of the plurality of access points and wherein a second signal strength for the STA at the second access point at the first time is less than the first signal strength and greater than any of the signal strengths received for the other access points of the plurality of access points at the first time (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, the RSSIs increase and decrease according to the UEs moving towards/away the AP, and also based on the allowance of a specific AP to a secondary AP to receive the location/RSSI of the UE).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou et al and HU disclose in claim 1, further Zhou et al discloses, a received signal strength indicator measured at the first access point (¶ 0038, 0041-0045, determination that the wireless access terminals 115a-115h are within the coverage area of the wireless network 110b may be based on a communication received from a first wireless network 110a. For example, wireless access terminal 115b, within the wireless network 110a, may receive a communication from access point 105a regarding each of the other access points 105b that are co-located with the access point 105a or whose wireless networks 110b overlap with the wireless network 110a of access point 105a. From this communication, wireless access terminal 115b may measure its received signal strength (RSSI). This measured RSSI may be indicative of the position of the wireless access terminal 115b within the wireless network 110a).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou et al and HU et al disclose in claim 1, further HU et al discloses, wherein the plurality of samples further comprises samples of the second signal strength collected following the first time (¶ 0060).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al in view of Hu et al and Roberts et al (20160174040).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al does not specifically disclose, prior to determining the location of the STA at the second time, determine the second time by calculating an amount of time subsequent to the first time where the STA moved in a linear direction based on the changes in the first signal and/or second signal strengths.
In the same field of endeavor, Roberts et al discloses, prior to determining the location of the STA at the second time, determine the second time by calculating an amount of time subsequent to the first time where the STA moved in a linear direction based on the changes in the first signal and/or second signal strengths (¶ 0020, 0022, 0025 and 0030-0031, distances between STAs and APs are constantly calculated based on linear direction between the STA and the APs, as the RSSIs increase when they are closer). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al and HU et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility management and obtaining position information of the STA in an accurate manner. The method enables utilizing a distance calculation circuit of the AP to recalculate distances to the STA so as to increase resolution of the calculation as taught by Roberts et al.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (20150373639) in view of HU et al and Chari et al (20160302096).
Regarding claims 7, 15, Zhou et al discloses in claim 1, further Zhou et al does not specifically disclose, wherein the processing device is further configured to: correlate performance of the wireless mesh network for the STA device at the second time with the location; and in response to the performance of the wireless mesh network in the location falling below a performance threshold, generate a recommendation to move one or more of the plurality of access points to improve performance of the wireless mesh network in the location.
In the same field of endeavor, Chari et al discloses, wherein the processing device is further configured to: correlate performance of the wireless mesh network for the STA device at the second time with the location; and in response to the performance of the wireless mesh network in the location falling below a performance threshold, generate a recommendation to move one or more of the plurality of access points to improve performance of the wireless mesh network in the location (¶ 0020, 0026, 0069, 0129-0131, measuring the round trip response time between the time of transmission of the ping packets (ICMP Request messages) and the time of reception of the corresponding ping response packets (ICMP Response messages). For an embodiment, the extender measures a downlink or uplink expected transmission time for packets on the routing path to the gateway. For an embodiment, the extender measures an end-to-end expected transmission time for packets on the routing path to the gateway. For an embodiment, an uplink expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the extender node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the gateway node. For an embodiment, a downlink expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the gateway node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the extender node. For an embodiment, a roundtrip expected transmission time is measured by comparing the time of transmission of packets by the extender node to the time of reception of the corresponding packets by the extender node after having been received and sent back by the gateway node.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Zhou et al and HU et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to network performance is optimized and improved, by estimating a minimum throughput required by the application corresponding to that data stream as taught by Chari et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643