DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following: on line 6, before “driving”, “first” should be deleted for the consistency.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following: on line 7, before “driving”, “first” should be deleted for the consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,601, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,550 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming a bone conduction speaker, comprising a driving device or driving devices configured to generate a driving force, and a panel transmissibly connected to the driving device, all or part or a region of the panel being configured to interact, to contact or abut a user's body to conduct sound, wherein a region where the panel contacting or abutting the user's body has a normal line, an axis of the driving force or a straight line where the driving force is located is not parallel to the normal line.
Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,601, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,550 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,513 do not specifically claim that an area of the region occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel. However, providing an area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel is known in the art. Further claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,601, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,550 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,513 do estimate an area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body (note claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,601; claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,550; and claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,513).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any contact area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body as claimed in claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,601, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,550 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991,513 such as providing an area of the region occupying more than 50% of an area of the panel for providing a better area for contacting the user’s body and conducting sound in the system.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 2024/0244375 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming a bone conduction speaker comprising a driving device configured to generate a driving force, and a panel transmissibly connected to the driving device, all or part of the panel being configured to contact or abut a user's body to conduct sound, wherein a region where the panel contacting or abutting the user's body has a normal line, a straight line where the driving force is located is not parallel to the normal line, or an angle between a straight line where the driving force is located and the normal line of the region is an acute angle.
Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 2024/0244375 (reference application) do not specifically claim that an area of the region occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel. However, providing an area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel is known in the art. Further claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 2024/0244375 (reference application) do estimate an area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body (note claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any contact area of the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user’s body as claimed in claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 2024/0244375 such as providing an area of the region occupying more than 50% of an area of the panel for providing a better area for contacting the user’s body and conducting sound in the system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westerkull (US 2016/0234613).
Regarding claim 1, Westerkull teaches a bone conduction speaker (figures 1, 4, 6, 8) comprising a driving device (102, 602, 802) configured to generate a driving force, and a panel (104, 105, 108, 404, 604, 804, figures 1, 4, 6, 8) transmissibly connected to the driving device (102, 602, 802, figures 1, 6, 8), all or part of the panel being configured to contact or abut a user's body to conduct sound (figures 1, 2, 6); wherein a region where the panel contacting or abutting the user's body has a normal line, and a straight line where the driving force of the driving device (102, 602, 802) is located is not parallel to the normal line of the contacting region (figure 6), and an area of the region occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel (figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Westerkull shows that the straight line has a positive direction pointing out of the bone conduction speaker via the panel, the normal line has a positive direction pointing out of the bone conduction speaker, and an angle between the straight line and the normal line in the positive direction is an acute angle as claimed (figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, as broadly claimed, Westerkull shows that the region where the panel contacting or abutting the user's body is a plane (figures 1, 4, 6, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 13, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull (US 2016/0234613).
Regarding claim 3, Westerkull teaches the driving device (102, 602, 802), wherein the straight line where the driving force of the driving device (102, 602, 802) is located is not parallel to the normal line of the contacting region (figure 6). Westerkull does not specifically disclose the driving device comprising a coil and a magnetic system, and an axis of the coil and the magnetic system as claimed.
However, the Examiner takes the Office Notice that providing a driving device in a speaker or a bone conduction speaker comprising a coil and a magnetic system is well known in the art.
Since Westerkull does not restrict to any type for the driving device (paragraph [0066]); it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any type for the driving device in the system of Westerkull such as providing the driving device comprising a coil and a magnetic system, wherein an axis of the coil and the magnetic system is not parallel to the normal line, and the axis is perpendicular to at least one of a radial plane of the coil or a radial plane of the magnetic system for greater application.
Regarding claim 4, Westerkull teaches the bone conduction speaker comprising a housing (note the housing of the hearing aid device 101, 601, 801 and the vibrator 102, 602, 802), wherein the housing is connected to the panel via a connection medium (103, 105, 603, 605, 803, 805, figures 1, 6, 8) or the housing and the panel are integrally formed (figures 1, 6, 8).
Regarding claim 5, it is obvious that the coil in the system Westerkull can be connected to at least one of the panel or the housing (figures 1, 6) through a first transmission path and the magnetic system can be connected to at least one of the panel or the housing through a second transmission path (figures 1, 6).
Regarding claim 13, Westerkull teaches a driving device (102, 602, 802, figures 1, 6, 8), wherein the straight line where the driving force of the driving device (102, 602, 802) is located is not parallel to the normal line of the contacting region (figure 6). Westerkull does not specifically disclose that a count of driving devices is at least two as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a plurality of driving devices or any count for the driving devices such as providing a count of driving devices being at least two, wherein the straight line where a resultant force composed of driving forces generated by the driving devices is located is not parallel to the normal line depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 15-16, Westerkull does not specifically disclose the dimensions for the panel (104, 604, 804, figures 1, 6, 8) with an area and a length of a side length of the panel as claimed. However, Westerkull does not restrict to any dimensions for the panel; it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any dimensions for the panel in the system of Westerkull such as providing an area of the panel that is in a range from 20 mm2 to 1000 mm2, and a length of a side length of the panel that is in a range from 5 mm to 40 mm, 18 mm to 25 mm, or 11 to 18 mm for an alternate choice depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claim 17, Westerkull does not specifically disclose the angle between the straight line where the driving force is located and the normal line being a value as claimed. However, Westerkull does not restrict to any position and/or location of the driving device in relation to the panel and the contacting region to the skin of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any angle between the straight line where the driving force is located and the normal line in the system of Westerkull such as providing the angle that is a value satisfying one of between 5° and 80°, between 15° and 70°, between 25° and 50°, between 25° and 40°, between 28° and 35°, between 27° and 32°, between 30° and 35°, between 25° and 60°, between 28° and 50°, between 30° and 39°, between 31° and 38°, between 32° and 37°, between 33° and 36°, 33° and 35.8°, or 33.5° and 35° for better fitting to the individuals, depending on the applications and the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claim 20, Westerkull teaches a bone conduction speaker (figures 1, 4, 6, 8), wherein the bone conduction speaker includes a driving device (102, 602, 802) configured to generate a driving force, and a panel (104, 105, 108, 404, 604, 804, figures 1, 4, 6, 8) transmissibly connected to the driving device (102, 602, 802, figures 1, 6, 8), all or part of the panel being configured to contact or abut a user's body to conduct sound (figures 1, 2, 6); wherein a region where the panel contacting or abutting the user's body has a normal line, and a straight line where the driving force of the driving device (102, 602, 802) is located is not parallel to the normal line of the contacting region (figure 6), and an area of the region occupies more than 50% of an area of the panel (figure 6).
Westerkull does not specifically disclose a bone conduction earphone comprising the bone conduction speaker as claimed. However, providing a bone conduction earphone comprising a bone conduction speaker is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any type of a hearing device or an audio device for the bone conduction speaker of Westerkull such as providing a bone conduction earphone for greater application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12, 14 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zheng et al. (US 11,115,751) teaches a bone conduction speaker including a magnetic circuit component for providing a magnetic field, a vibration component located in the magnetic field and a case, wherein the case includes a case panel facing a human body side and a case back opposite to the case panel and accommodate the vibration component that causes the case panel and the case back to vibrate.
Qi et al. (US 12,302,080) teaches a bone conduction speaker comprising a vibration conductive plate (1) and a vibration board (2), wherein the vibration conductive plate is set to be a first torus, and the vibration board is set as the second torus, wherein the vibration conductive plate is fixed with the vibration board, the first torus is fixed on a magnetic system, and the second torus comprises a fixed voice coil, which is driven by the magnetic system.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
June 11, 2026