DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0098087 A1 to Johnston et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0210222 A1 to Henkens et al.
As to claim 1, Johnston teaches a method comprising:
receiving (client device) a first request to create a shared channel within a group-based communication platform (a shared communication channel generation query), wherein the first request specifies that a first group and a second group, different from the first group, are to be members of the shared channel, wherein the first group and the second group include different sets of users or are associated with different organizations (the initiator group identification and a target group identification) (“…In another example embodiment, a computer-implemented method is provided for creating a shared communication channel in a group-based communication platform. The group-based communication platform may comprise a plurality of database shards. The computer-implemented method may comprise receiving, by communications circuitry from a first client device associated with an initiator group identification, a shared communication channel generation query associated with the initiator group identification and a target group identification. The computer-implemented method may further comprise generating, by database circuitry in communication with the communications circuitry, a shared communication channel shard. The plurality of database shards may comprise the shared communication channel shard. The shared communication channel shard may be assigned a shared communication channel identification, a first set of shared communication channel attributes associated with the initiator group identification, and a second set of shared communication channel attributes associated with the target group identification…The term “query” refers to a request associated with a database. A “query” may be generated on one or more client devices, and may be transmitted to a group-based communication platform. A query may be a “select query,” which is used to extract data from the database in a readable format according to the query. A query may be an “action query,” which asks for operations (such as insertion, deletion, and/or updating) on the data stored in a network database. For example, a “communication channel generation query” is an action query that requests the generation of a communication channel…” paragraphs 0005/0055/0086/0087);
creating the shared channel within the group-based communication platform, wherein the shared channel is accessible to one or more first users of the first group and one or more users of the second group (“…The database circuitry may be further configured to generate a shared communication channel shard. The plurality of database shards may comprise the shared communication channel shard. The shared communication channel shard may be assigned a shared communication channel identification, a first set of shared communication channel attributes associated with the initiator group identification, and a second set of shared communication channel attributes associated with the target group identification…The term “query” refers to a request associated with a database. A “query” may be generated on one or more client devices, and may be transmitted to a group-based communication platform. A query may be a “select query,” which is used to extract data from the database in a readable format according to the query. A query may be an “action query,” which asks for operations (such as insertion, deletion, and/or updating) on the data stored in a network database. For example, a “communication channel generation query” is an action query that requests the generation of a communication channel…” paragraphs 0004/0005/0055).
Johnston is silent with reference to receiving a second request to add a user associated with the first group or the second group to the shared channel,
adding the user to the shared channel such that the shared channel is accessible to the user,
receiving, via a user interface of the group-based communication platform presented via a client of the user, a third request to view the shared channel; and
causing information associated with the shared channel to be displayed to the user, wherein the information includes first messages posted to the shared channel prior to the user being added to the shared channel or second messages posted to the shared channel after the user was added to the shared channel.
Henkens teaches receiving a second request to add a user associated with the first group or the second group to the shared channel (a request to add a plurality of new users),
adding the user to the shared channel such that the shared channel is accessible to the user (adding the new user to the channel as a member) (“…In a third embodiment, the invention includes a system comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory storing computer executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the system to carry out actions comprising: receiving, from a requesting user of a group-based communication system, a request to add a plurality of new users to a channel of the group-based communication system, the request comprising a plurality of identifying indicia corresponding to the plurality of new users, and adding a new user associated with an identifying indicium of the plurality of identifying indicia by: in response to determining a domain associated with an email address corresponding to the first identifying indicium, classifying the domain as internal to a first organization associated with the channel, if the domain is internal to the first organization or external to the first organization, adding the new user to the channel as a member, and if the domain is external to the first organization: prompting the requesting user for a type of access required by the new user, if the type of access is guest, inviting the new user to the channel as a guest, and if the type of access is shared, sharing the channel with a second organization associated with the domain and adding the new user as a member of the channel that has been shared…” paragraphs 0007/0020-0022/0050/0057),
receiving, via a user interface of the group-based communication platform presented via a client of the user, a third request to view the shared channel (Steps 534/528); and
causing information associated with the shared channel to be displayed to the user, wherein the information includes first messages posted to the shared channel prior to the user being added to the shared channel or second messages posted to the shared channel after the user was added to the shared channel (view) (“…Members of a particular channel can post messages within that channel that are visible to other members of that channel together with other messages in that channel. Users may select a channel for viewing in order to see only those messages relevant to the topic of that channel without seeing messages posted in other channels on different topics. For example, a software development company may have different channels for each software product being developed, where developers working on each particular project can converse without bothering (or being bothered by) developers working on other projects. Because the channels are persistent and limited to a particular topic or group, users can quickly and easily refer back to previous communications for reference…Returning to step 516, in addition to sending a notification to the client system of the new user, the group-based communication system additionally sends a notification to the client system of the requesting user. The requesting user receives this notification at step 517. In various embodiments, the notification is presented to the requesting user by an automated channel monitoring and message posting tool associated with the group-based communication system that that the requesting user gains information regarding the status of the users that the requesting user added to the group-based communication channel…Once the newly added user is added, the newly added user can view existing content associated with the channels to which the newly added user has been added, Moreover, the newly added user can receive notifications of newly posted messages in the channels as illustrated at step 534 when the requesting user posts a message to the channel. Upon the posting of a message to the channel, the group-based communication system server updates the channel at step 536. Once the channel is updated, the group-based communication system server notifies members of the channel of events occurring in-channel at step 538. Finally, at step 528, the newly added user receives the above notification, which at step 530 is displayed at the new user's client user interface…” paragraphs 0026/0081/0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston with the teaching of Henkens because the teaching of Henkens would improve the system of Johnston by providing a technique for allowing users to select a channel for viewing in order to see only those messages relevant to the topic of that channel without seeing messages posted in other channels on different topics (Henkens paragraph 0026).
As to claims 8 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1 above, expect for memory, one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media.
Johnston teaches memory (Memory 303), one or more processors (Processor 301) and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (Database Circuitry 309).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0098087 A1 to Johnston et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/021222 A1 to Henkens et al. as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0360073 A1 to Rodgers et al.
As to claim 2, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein both the first group and the second group are part of a same organization.
Rodgers teaches wherein both the first group (first group) and the second group (second group) are part of a same organization (same organization) (“…In some examples, the first group and the second group can be associated with a same organization. That is, the first group and the second group (e.g., members thereof) can be associated with a same organization identifier, and permissions, preferences, channels, emojis, etc. associated with such an organization can be applicable to the first group and the second group. In some examples, the first group and the second group can be associated with different organizations. That is, the first group (e.g., members thereof) and the second group (e.g., members thereof) can be associated with different organization identifiers. In some examples, members of the first group can be associated with a single organization and/or members of the second group can be associated with a single organization. In such examples, members of the first group can be associated with a same organization identifier and/or members of the second group can be associated with a same organization identifier. In some examples, members of the first group can be associated with two or more different organizations and/or members of the second group can be associated with two or more different organizations. In such examples, members of the first group can be associated with two or more different organization identifiers and/or members of the second group can be associated with two or more different organization identifiers…” paragraph 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Rodgers because the teaching of Rodgers would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing a technique for allowing multiple users from the same organization to share messages.
As to claims 9 and 16, see the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0098087 A1 to Johnston et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/021222 A1 to Henkens et al. as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,862,931 B1 issued to Jamison et al.
As to claim 3, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the first group is part of a first organization and the second group is part of a second organization that is different than the first organization.
Jamison teaches wherein the first group is part of a first organization and the second group is part of a second organization that is different than the first organization (“…The term “group-based communication workspace add request” refers to an electronic request transmitted by a client device associated with a first user identifier to a group-based communication server, where the request is for access rights to a first workspace to be granted to a second user identifier. In embodiments, the request is for access rights to a first group-based communication channel within a first group-based communication workspace to be granted to a client device associated with second user identifier who is not a member of the first group-based communication workspace. In embodiments, the request is for access rights to a group-based communication channel within a first group-based communication workspace within a first organization, where the group-based communication channel is shared with a second group-based communication workspace within a second organization (i.e., a shared channel). In such embodiments, a client device associated with the first user identifier who submits the request is associated with the first group-based communication workspace and a client device associated with the second user identifier is associated with the second organization …” Col. 13 Ln. 4-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Jamison because the teaching of Jamison would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing a technique for allowing multiple users from the desperate organizations to share messages.
As to claims 10 and 17, see the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0098087 A1 to Johnston et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0210222 A1 to Henkens et al. as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S Pub. No. 2009/011157 A1 to Saracino et al.
As to claim 4, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 1, however it is silent with reference to responsive to adding the user to the shared channel, assigning one or more permissions to the user, wherein the one or more permissions cause the shared channel to be accessible to the user.
Saracino teaches responsive to adding the user to the shared channel, assigning one or more permissions to the user, wherein the one or more permissions cause the shared channel to be accessible to the user (“…Adding Users & Admins to Channels…FIG. 11AE shows a user interface for granting users or administrators access to channels. Under the "Users" and "Adams" tabs is where the administrator can add Users and Admins to a channel. The administrator can also edit what privileges of the system a User can have. The administrator may want a User only to be able to control "Emergency Messages" or only be able to upload content. Under the "Users" tab check off what privileges the administrator want or don't want a User to have. The administrator can click the "Remove Access" to remove the user for the channel. In one embodiment, "Remove Access" will eliminate the user from using or viewing the specific channel…Adding a User to a Channel…To add a User click "Add User." The "Select User to Add to Channel" dialog box as shown in FIG. 11AF will appear. On the left, the administrator can select what User the administrator would like to add. Accounts that were setup as a "User" will only show in the box. Admins or Super Admins will not show in this box. On the right side of the box, the administrator can also select what privileges a User will have…” paragraphs 0222-0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Saracino because the teaching of Saracino would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing a technique of optimally controlling users access to shared channels.
As to claim 7, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 1, however it is silent with reference to ceasing to display the information or second information associated with the shared channel to first user or a second user, wherein ceasing to display the information or the second information comprises one of: preventing the user or second user from accessing the shared channel; or providing, to the user or second user, access to the shared channel, but ceasing to display third messages that were posted to the shared channel after the user or the second user left the shared channel.
Saracino teaches ceasing to display the information or second information associated with the shared channel to first user or a second user, wherein ceasing to display the information or the second information comprises one of: preventing the user or second user from accessing the shared channel (In one embodiment, "Remove Access" will eliminate the user from using or viewing the specific channel); or providing, to the user or second user, access to the shared channel, but ceasing to display third messages that were posted to the shared channel after the user or the second user left the shared channel (“…Adding Users & Admins to Channels…FIG. 11AE shows a user interface for granting users or administrators access to channels. Under the "Users" and "Adams" tabs is where the administrator can add Users and Admins to a channel. The administrator can also edit what privileges of the system a User can have. The administrator may want a User only to be able to control "Emergency Messages" or only be able to upload content. Under the "Users" tab check off what privileges the administrator want or don't want a User to have. The administrator can click the "Remove Access" to remove the user for the channel. In one embodiment, "Remove Access" will eliminate the user from using or viewing the specific channel…Adding a User to a Channel…To add a User click "Add User." The "Select User to Add to Channel" dialog box as shown in FIG. 11AF will appear. On the left, the administrator can select what User the administrator would like to add. Accounts that were setup as a "User" will only show in the box. Admins or Super Admins will not show in this box. On the right side of the box, the administrator can also select what privileges a User will have…” paragraphs 0222-0235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Saracino because the teaching of Saracino would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing a technique of optimally controlling users access to shared channels.
As to claims 11 and 18, see the rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claims 14 and 20, see the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0098087 A1 to Johnston et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/021222 A1 to Henkens et al. as applied to claim 1, 8 and 15, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0248709 A1 to Leydon et al.
As to claim 5, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the at least one user is an owner of the shared channel that is authorized to generate the shared channel, add first members to the shared channel, and remove second members from the shared channel.
Leydon teaches wherein the at least one user is an owner of the shared channel that is authorized to generate the shared channel (create a channel), add first members to the shared channel (authorize subscribers to a channel), and remove second members from the shared channel (remove a channel) (“…In one embodiment, the publisher component 840 may allow a publisher to configure one or more of the private channels 821A through 821Z and the public channels 822A through 822Z that are associated with the publisher. For example, the publisher component 840 may allow a publisher to create a channel, change the settings or configuration of a channel, remove a channel, authorize subscribers to a channel, request that a channel be converted or reconfigured from a private channel to a public channel, etc., as discussed in more detail below...In one embodiment, an administrator component 850 may be a computing or electronic device that allows an administrator (e.g., a type of user) to configure one or more of the private channels 821A through 821Z and the public channels 822A through 822Z. For example, the publisher component 840 may allow an administrator to change the settings or configuration of a channel, view channel information for a channel create a channel remove a channel, convert or reconfigure a channel from a private channel to a public channel or vice versa, etc., as discussed in more detail below. The administrator may be able to configure channels that are not associated with the administrator. For example, the administrator may be able to configure channels that are created by other publishers…” paragraphs 0147/0148/0158).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Leydon because the teaching of Leydon would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing administrator component for configuring and controlling user/member access to shared channels.
As to claim 6, Johnston as modified by Henkens teaches the method as recited in claim 5, however it is silent with reference to wherein non-owner members of the shared channel lack authorization to add the first members to the shared channel and to remove the second members from the shared channel.
Leydon wherein non-owner members of the shared channel lack authorization to add the first members to the shared channel and to remove the second members from the shared channel (“…In one embodiment, a publisher component 840 may be a computing or electronic device that may receive, generate, or otherwise obtain the live data that may be published to one or more channels of the messaging system 820. Examples of computing or electronic devices may include smartphones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, gaming consoles, cellular phones, media players, etc. In some embodiments, a publisher component 840 may be associated with a publisher (e.g., a type of user) of the open data ecosystem 805. In some embodiments, the publisher component 840 may include software components executing on a respective publisher component 840. For example, the publisher components 840 may be applications, software, apps, software services, etc., that are executing on the publisher components 840. The publisher component 840 may publish messages that include live data to one or more of the private channels 821A through 821Z and the public channels 822A through 822Z. This may allow the publisher component 840 to publish messages to various other components or portions of the system architecture 800. For example, this may allow the channel management component 810 to publish messages to one or more applications 830. The publisher component 840 may also subscribe to one or more of the private channels 821A through 821Z and the public channels 822A through 822Z. This may allow the publisher component 840 to receive messages from various other components or portions of the system architecture 800. For example, this may allow the publisher component 840 to receive messages from the channel management component 810….” paragraph 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Johnston and Henkens with the teaching of Leydon because the teaching of Leydon would improve the system of Johnston and Henkens by providing administrator component for configuring and controlling user/member access to shared channels.
As to claims 12 and 13, see the rejection of claims 5 and 6 respectively.
As to claim 19, see the rejection of claims 5 and 6 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is based on a modified claim limitation.
Conclusion
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194