Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species IV, FIGs. 13-16, and claims 1-4 and 6-8 in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 5 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coils” as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,255 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,984,255 B2 contains all the limitations of claims 1-4 and 6-8 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it’s not clear what’s intended by “coils” in line 2. While “coils” in itself is clear, the drawings show sensor “coils 122” being a single wire with multiple turns. So, when claims are interpreted in light of the specification, it’s not clear if “coils” mean multiple different coils made of different wires or a coil with a single wire having multiple turns. To be consistent with the specification, the limitation in question is interpreted as a coil having a plurality of turns.
Claim 8 is rejected as being dependent on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fornage et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2011/0260824 A1, hereinafter “Fornage”).
With respect to claim 1, Fornage teaches an integrated magnetic element (FIGs. 3 and 4), comprising:
a base (board on which the transformer is mounted, not expressly shown) ;
a current sensor 370 disposed on the base; and
a transformer 300 provided on the base through which the current sensor and the transformer are integrated into one part, the transformer comprising a magnetic core 302 and or 306, a first winding 318 comprising at least one wire (wire of first winding), and a second winding 322, wherein a part of section of the one wire of the first winding passes through the current sensor, and current value of the part of section of the one wire is detected by the current sensor so as to obtain a total current value of the first winding of the transformer (paras. [0033], [0036], [0038], [0040] and [0046]).
With respect to claim 4, Fornage teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 1 wherein the first winding is a primary winding or a secondary winding (para. [0036]).
Claim 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lazzerini et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,000,878, hereinafter “Lazzerini”).
With respect to claim 1, Lazzerini teaches an integrated magnetic element (FIGs. 1-11), comprising:
a base 14 ;
a current sensor 16 disposed on the base; and
a transformer 10 provided on the base through which the current sensor and the transformer are integrated into one part, the transformer comprising a magnetic core 12, a first winding 20 comprising at least one wire (wire of first winding), and a second winding 50, wherein a part of section of the one wire of the first winding passes through the current sensor, and current value of the part of section of the one wire is detected by the current sensor so as to obtain a total current value of the first winding of the transformer (col. 4, lines 29-36 and 47-61, and col. 7, lines 11-14).
With respect to claim 6, Lazzerini teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the first winding comprises at least one sub-winding 122 and or 124, each sub-winding comprising a plurality of wires (col. 5, lines 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornage.
With respect to claim 2, Fornage teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 1. the wire comprises a first branch wire 317 and a second branch wire 318, the first branch wire passes through the first magnetic core of the current sensor, the cross-sectional area of the first branch wire is B, B = l2 × t2, wherein l2 is the width of the first branch wire, t2 is the thickness of the first branch wire; the cross-sectional area of the second branch wire is C, C = l3 × t3, where l3 is the width of the second branch wire and t3 is the thickness of the second branch wire (para. [0040]). Fornage does not expressly teach the cross section of the wire is D, D = B + C; the first branch wire and the second branch wire are connected in parallel and directly fixed on the base, and the spatial position relationship between the first branch wire, the second branch wire and the current sensor is fixed even thought drawings reasonably show such features. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed cross section D relationship with the cross sections B and C an the first and second branch wires structure to meet the required electrical and or mechanical properties. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed cross section D and the wire branches to provide the required current density on the branches and to improve ease of connection of the branches to the base.
With respect to claim 3, Fornage teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 2. Fornage does not expressly teach the ratio of the total current value of the first winding to the detected current of the first branch wire is proportional to D/B even though Fornage could have the claimed limitations based on the similarities of the physical structure between Fornage and the present invention. Nonetheless, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed proportion to provide the required electrical characteristics. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed proportion to provide the required current density to meet design requirements.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fornage, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lazzerini.
With respect to claim 7, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Fornage teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the current sensor comprises a first magnetic core 350 and or 380, a bobbin 340, and coils, the first magnetic core is connected to the bobbin, the bobbin is disposed on the base, the coils are winded onto the bobbin, and the bobbin and the first magnetic core have a central hole therebetween through which the part of sections of any of the wires passes (para. [0039]). Fornage does not expressly teach the coils are electrically connected to a first terminal of the bobbin.
Lazzerini teaches an integrated magnetic element (Fig. 1), wherein the coils (not expressly shown) are connected to the terminals 30 and or 32 (col. 4, lines 39-47). The combination would result in “the coils are winded onto the bobbin and electrically connected to a first terminal of the bobbin” as claimed. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the coils connection to the terminal as taught by Lazzerini to the integrated magnetic element of Fornage to improve ease of connection between the coil and the terminal.
With respect to claim 8, Fornage in view of Lazzerini teaches the integrated magnetic element according to claim 7, wherein a bottom of the bobbin is provided with a third fixing terminal, and wherein the third fixing terminal is connected to the base (col. 4, lines 39-47). The combination would result in the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837