Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to
fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8 and 10, 13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Typrin (US 10,002,611) and in view of Pascal et al. (US 2010/0159883).
As to claim 1, Typrin teaches method comprising: receiving, by electronic device ((41) the device 106 may be implemented in a vehicle, in wearable items such as glasses or a watch, or in other shapes and forms) a first speech 502 input from a user, wherein the first speech input comprises: a first command to generate a message, first content for inclusion in the message, and an indication of one or more recipients of the message, Pars.11-12 (The audio may include an indication of the recipient of the message, an action (e.g., to send a message, etc.) and/or other types of information); determining, by the electronic device, second content (additional information that can supplement information in the message).. (69) At 514, the messaging module 142 may determine whether special message information is available in the audio and/or can be added to the message. The special message information may include an expiration time, an urgency, a code, and/or other types of indicia included in the audio and/or discoverable using contextual information.) for inclusion in the message 514-522, wherein determining the second content comprises inferring/deriving at least a portion of the second content based on the first content (Pars.14, 31, 63, 66, 69, 71-72); generating the message 526, wherein the message comprises the first content and the second content; and transmitting 528 the message to the one or more recipients (Figs.1-5).
Typrin doesn’t explicitly teach where the second content is generated based on the one or more recipients. However, Pascal teaches a message content management system comprising message analyzing module and an inference engine for determining the message content and the target recipients and inferring a second content for inclusion with the message, wherein the inferring is based on the content of the message and the targeted recipients/party (Figs.1-5; Pars.8, 43, 55-57).
The combination would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s invention for the purpose of selectively including contents that are relevant to the recipient.
As to claim 2, Typrin teaches receiving a second speech input from the user, wherein the second speech input comprises a second command to modify the message prior to transmission; responsive to receiving the second speech input: determining, based on at least one of the first content or the second content, third content for inclusion in the message, and prior to transmitting the message, modifying the message to include the third content (Pars.70-71).
As to claims 10 and 13, Typrin teaches obtaining first location data associated with the user, obtaining second location associated with the one or more recipients, and inferring the second content based on the first location data and the second location data and wherein the second content comprises an invitation to an event and a time associated with the event, and wherein the time is inferred based on the first location data and the second location data. (Pars.31, 59, 69, 72, claim 16).
As to claims 15-16, Typrin teaches where the inferred information is a location associated with the message, or a time associated with the message, and wherein the second category of data is another one of: the location associated with the message, or the time associated with the message (Pars.69-71).
As to claim 17, Typrin teaches wherein content of the message is different from the first speech input (Pars.30, 32).
As to claim 18, Typrin teaches determining a transmission time for transmitting the message, wherein the transmission time is determined based on an availability of the one or more recipients, and transmitting the message to the one or more recipients at the transmission time (Pars.59, 69).
Regarding claims 19-20, the corresponding instructions and device comprising the steps similar to claim 1, are analogous therefore rejected as being unpatentable over Typrin and in view of Pascal for the foregoing reasons. Regarding the steps, in claims 19 and 20, where the second content is included based on the claimed elements, Pascal teaches where the selecting of the second contents are based on many factors including relationship data, historical data, age, occupation, race, religion, gender or the like of the recipient as well as contextual factors such as, but not limited to, location, date, time of day, activity, etc. of both (or either) the sender and the user (recipient) (Par.55)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9, 11, 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 3-4 are allowable because Typrin doesn’t teach wherein inferring at least the portion of the second content comprises: obtaining calendar data associated with the one or more recipients, and inferring at least the portion of the second content based on the calendar data.
Claims 5, 7, 9, 11-12 and 14 are allowable because Typrin doesn’t teach wherein the second content comprises an invitation to an event and a venue or time associated with the event, and wherein the venue or time is inferred based on weather data or historical data or location data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,948,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons set forth in the non-final office action.
/DANIEL ABEBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657