DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A (Figures 1A-1F), subspecies a (Figure 4A), subspecies aa (Figure 5A) in the reply filed on November 21, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim, and were cancelled in the response of November 21, 2025. Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 21, 2025.
Additionally, the examiner withdraws Claims 3, 7, 8, 10, 17, and 20 as being directed to a nonelected invention. Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “the top region comprises a cover” is directed to the nonelected embodiment of Figures 20A-20D. Regarding Claim 7, the limitation “one or more elastically deformable biases comprises one or more posts formed of an elastic material” is directed to the nonelected embodiment of Figures 3A-3B. Regarding Claim 8, the limitation “the one or more elastically deformable biases comprises one or more of a spring, a magnet, or a wire” is directed to the nonelected embodiments of Figures 16A-16B (spring), 17A-17B (magnet), and 19A-19B (wire). Regarding Claim 10, the limitation “the one or more elastically deformable biases are formed of the same material” is directed to the nonelected embodiment of Figure 14. Regarding Claim 17, the limitation “the top region has a round external profile” is directed to the nonelected embodiment of Figure 5B. Regarding Claim 20, the limitation “further comprising a filler material” is directed to the nonelected embodiment of Figures 3A-3B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 11-14, 18, and 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bach (US 2017/0319295 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bach discloses an attachment for an orthodontic appliance (abstract), the attachment comprising a base region (Figure 1, 140) configured to be rigidly mounted to a tooth surface (as described in [0050]), a top region (120) including an interface surface (uppermost surface of 120) configured to removably engage with an orthodontic appliance configured to be worn on a patient's teeth (Figure 1, 160 and as described in [0043]), and one or more elastically deformable biases (130) coupling the base region to the top region so that the top region may move relative to the base region, from a neutral configuration when force is applied to the top region, wherein the elastically deformable bias is configured to apply a restoring force to return the top region to the neutral configuration (as described in [0042-0045]).
Regarding Claim 2. Bach discloses the attachment of claim 1, and further discloses that the base region is solid and the top region is solid (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Back discloses the attachment of claim 1, and further discloses that the one or more elastically deformable biases comprises an intermediate layer sandwiched between the base region and the top region (as seen in Figure 1, the bias 130 is an intermediate layer sandwiched between the base region and the top region).
Regarding Claim 11, Bach discloses the attachment of Claim 1 and the embodiment as seen in Figures 9A-9D is disclosed to provide rotational translation (as described in [0092]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bach discloses the attachment of Claim 1, and further discloses that the base region is approximately parallel to the top region (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Bach discloses the attachment of Claim 1, and further discloses that the one or more elastically deformable biases are configured so that the top region moves relative to the base region so that the top region remains relatively parallel to the base region (as the deformable biases move through a variety of movements, they would be configured at some point to deform such that the top and bottom regions remain relatively parallel).
Regarding Claim 14, Bach discloses the attachment of claim 1, and the embodiment of claim 9 discloses that the one or more elastically deformable biases are configured so that the top region moves relative to the base region so that the top region rotates relative to the base region (as seen in Figures 9A-9D).
Regarding Claim 18, Bach discloses the attachment of claim 1, and further discloses that the top region has a rectangular external profile (as seen in the embodiment of Figures 9A-9D).
Regarding Claim 19, Bach discloses the attachment of claim 1, and further discloses that the orthodontic appliance comprises a shell aligner (Figure 1, 160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach.
Regarding Claims 9, Bach discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not specifically disclose that the one or more elastically deformable biases comprises a superelastic nickel titanium alloy. Bach does however disclose the use of materials with an elastic modulus both less than and greater than nickel titanium ([0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the bias of Bach out of nickel titanium when the desired elastic modulus is that of nickel titanium, as the selection of a known material for its suitability for a particular intended use has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Regarding Claim 21, Bach discloses an attachment for an orthodontic appliance (abstract), the attachment comprising a base region (Figure 1, 140) configured to be rigidly mounted to a tooth surface (as described in [0050]), a top region (120) including an interface surface (uppermost surface of 120) configured to removably engage with an orthodontic appliance configured to be worn on a patient's teeth (Figure 1, 160 and as described in [0043]), and one or more elastically deformable biases (130) coupling the base region to the top region so that the top region may move relative to the base region, from a neutral configuration in a plane that is approximately parallel with a base region when force is applied to the top region, wherein the elastically deformable bias is configured to apply a restoring force to return the top region to the neutral configuration (as described in [0042-0045]). Bach discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose that the one or more elastically deformable biases comprises a superelastic nickel titanium alloy.
Bach does however disclose the use of materials with an elastic modulus both less than and greater than nickel titanium ([0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the bias of Bach out of nickel titanium when the desired elastic modulus is that of nickel titanium, as the selection of a known material for its suitability for a particular intended use has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772