DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grant et al. “Grant” WO2024/208978.
Regarding claim 1, Grant teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a report configuration from a network node having a plurality of antenna ports, wherein the report configuration comprises information regarding at least one adaptation pattern associated with a measurement resource configuration, and wherein the adaptation pattern indicates at least one of a target number of the antenna ports and a power offset value configured by the network node (CSI sub configurations are measured and reported which include spatial and power domain adaptation parameters. The spatial domain can include codebook restrictions and the power domain parameters can include power offset information. Lastly the information includes antenna port muting patterns; Page 9 2nd paragraph. This is done in response to the UE receiving CSI reporting sub configuration information; Page 9, first paragraph).; and
transmitting, by the processor, a measurement report based on the report configuration (The UE reports the measured information to the base station; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern indicates at least one of a subset selection of antenna ports and a specified codebook configuration (The information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure. The information also includes an indication of a codebook subset restriction; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Grant teaches the specified codebook configuration includes an indication of a subset restriction for one or two transmission, multi or single panel (The information an indication of a codebook subset restriction; Page 9 2nd paragraph. The codebook includes an antenna panel (first paragraph page 3. Figures 1 and 3 also show the plurality of antennas and antenna patterns. The Examiner notes as set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the “specified codebook configuration” are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 4, Grant teaches the power offset value is used to determine a candidate power offset value (there are two different power offsets. PowercontrolOffset and powerControloffsetSS which are viewed as candidate power offsets; Page 4 consecutive paragraphs starting with “the information element”.
Regarding claim 5, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern comprises a list of sub-configurations corresponding to an antenna port subset (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure; Page 9 2nd paragraph) and the method comprises:
Measuring, by the processor, a CSI-RS based on the report configuration wherein the antenna port subset indicates one or more enabled or disabled antenna ports (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports which are measured; Page 9 2nd paragraph. Further, based on Type 1 or Type 2, (See Figures 1-3) antennas are disabled/enabled; Page 3 see “type 1, Type 2”); and
Generating, by the processor, the measurement report according to a result of the measuring of the CSI-RS and the specified codebook configuration (CSI-RS is measured/generated based on the received information which includes the codebook configuration information; Page 9 2nd paragraph. *Note** As set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the specified codebook configuration are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 7, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern indicates a resource identify (the adaptation parameters are with respect to at least one CSI for various settings. This information indicates measurements with respect to resources configured within CSI-RS; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern comprises a list of sub-configurations and each sub-configuration corresponds to a list of measurement resources (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure. Further, the adaptation parameters are with respect to at least one CSI for various settings. This information indicates measurements with respect to resources configured within CSI-RS which are measured; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Grant teaches a method, comprising:
Configuring, by a processor of an apparatus, at least one adaptation pattern associated with a measurement resource configuration, wherein the adaptation pattern indicates at least one of a target number of a plurality of antenna ports and a power offset value (CSI sub configurations are measured and reported which include spatial and power domain adaptation parameters. The spatial domain can include codebook restrictions and the power domain parameters can include power offset information. Lastly the information includes antenna port patterns; Page 9 2nd paragraph. This is done in response to the UE receiving CSI reporting sub configuration information; Page 9, first paragraph. Thus one can see the network node configures this information before sending it to the UE)
transmitting, by a processor of an apparatus, a report configuration comprising information regarding the adaptation pattern to a communication apparatus for CSI evaluation (CSI sub configurations are measured and reported which include spatial and power domain adaptation parameters. The spatial domain can include codebook restrictions and the power domain parameters can include power offset information. Lastly the information includes antenna port patterns; Page 9 2nd paragraph. This is done in response to the UE receiving CSI reporting sub configuration information; Page 9, first paragraph)
Regarding claim 10, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern indicates at least one of a subset selection of antenna ports and a specified codebook configuration (The information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure. The information also includes an indication of a codebook subset restriction; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Grant teaches the specified codebook configuration includes an indication of a subset restriction for one or two transmission, multi or single panel (The information an indication of a codebook subset restriction; Page 9 2nd paragraph. The codebook includes an antenna panel (first paragraph page 3. Figures 1 and 3 also show the plurality of antennas and antenna patterns. The Examiner notes as set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the “specified codebook configuration” are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 12, Grant teaches the power offset value is used to determine a candidate power offset value (there are two different power offsets. PowercontrolOffset and powerControloffsetSS which are viewed as candidate power offsets; Page 4 consecutive paragraphs starting with “the information element”.
Regarding claim 13, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern comprises a list of sub-13configurations corresponding to an antenna port subset (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure; Page 9 2nd paragraph) and the method comprises:
Determining, by the processor, and enabled or disabled antenna port subset (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports which are measured; Page 9 2nd paragraph. Further, based on Type 1 or Type 2, (See Figures 1-3) antennas are disabled/enabled; Page 3 see “type 1, Type 2”); and
transmitting, by the processor, one or more CSI-RS associated with the antenna port subset, wherein one or more disabled antenna ports are not involved in transmitting of the associated CSI-RS (CSI-RS is measured/generated based on the received information which includes the codebook configuration information; Page 9 2nd paragraph. *Note** As set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the specified codebook configuration are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation. Muted/disabled antennas do not transmit).
Regarding claim 15, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern indicates a resource identify (the adaptation parameters are with respect to at least one CSI for various settings. This information indicates measurements with respect to resources configured within CSI-RS; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, Grant teaches the adaptation pattern comprises a list of sub-configurations and each sub-configuration corresponds to a list of measurement resources (the information includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports to measure. Further, the adaptation parameters are with respect to at least one CSI for various settings. This information indicates measurements with respect to resources configured within CSI-RS which are measured; Page 9 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Grant teaches a method, comprising:
configuring, by a processor of an apparatus, a cell-wise indication of an adaptation, wherein the cell-wise indication includes information regarding at least one of a number of antenna ports enabled for CSI-evaluation a change in power offset and a reset of a predetermined procedure and transmitting, by the processing, the cell-wise indication to one or more communication apparatuses in a communication network (a network node sends CSI reporting configuration information (i.e. cell-wise indication) to a UE which includes antenna port muting patterns indicating subsets of ports which are to be measured. Further there is a spatial domain and power domain adaptation; Page 9 2nd paragraph. Further, based on Type 1 or Type 2, (See Figures 1-3) antennas are disabled/enabled; Page 3 see “type 1, Type 2”).
Regarding claim 18, Grant teaches the predetermined procedure includes at least a CSI evaluation procedures and a beam management procedure, and the adaptation includes at least one spatial domain and power domain adaptation (CSI sub configurations are measured and reported which include spatial and power domain adaptation parameters. The spatial domain can include codebook restrictions and the power domain parameters can include power offset information. This is done in response to the UE receiving CSI reporting sub configuration information; Page 9, first paragraph). As set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the “predetermined procedure” are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 19, Grant teaches the cell-wise indication is transmitted via a group-specific DCI or paging DCI (group common DCI is used to ask multiple UEs to measure CSI-RS; Page 25 embodiment 5).
Regarding claim 20, Grant teaches the power offset value comprises a power offset for PDSCH related to CSI-RS (Page 9 2nd paragraph teaches the power domain adaptation parameter includes PDSCH to CSI-RS power offset. As set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) herein, limitations in dependent claims that further limit an unselected option for the “power offset” are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Awadin et al. “Awadin” US 2024/0015546.
Regarding claim 6, Grant does not expressly disclose sub-configuration including bitmaps indicating antenna ports; however, Awadin teaches that bitmaps are applicable to patterns with respect to the CSI reports. Bitmaps are tied to the NZP-CSI-RS. The RRC indicates antenna configurations the base station can switch between and the bitmap is similar to the RRC parameter; Paragraphs 133 and 146. Thus one can see the bitmaps are associated with the antenna configurations).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Grant to include bitmaps with respect to the antennas as taught by Awadin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can properly indicate antenna information to the UE with respect to CSI-RS reporting as taught by Awadin; Paragraphs 133 and 146.
Regarding claim 14, Grant does not expressly disclose sub-configuration including bitmaps indicating antenna ports; however, Awadin teaches that bitmaps are applicable to patterns with respect to the CSI reports. Bitmaps are tied to the NZP-CSI-RS. The RRC indicates antenna configurations the base station can switch between and the bitmap is similar to the RRC parameter; Paragraphs 133 and 146. Thus one can see the bitmaps are associated with the antenna configurations).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Grant to include bitmaps with respect to the antennas as taught by Awadin.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the base station can properly indicate antenna information to the UE with respect to CSI-RS reporting as taught by Awadin; Paragraphs 133 and 146.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411