DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20140207248 A1) "Wang".
Regarding Claim 1, the first embodiment of Wang discloses a micro-nano medical stent for directional, quantitative and timed release of drug (par. [0042]), comprising a drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer (Claim 2) and a drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM (extracellular matrix) layer (pars. [0027] and [0028]), but does not disclose the skeleton layer and ECM layer staggered stacked. However, another embodiment of Wang teaches at least one layer of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and at least one layer of the drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM layer are staggered stacked to form a multi-layer composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent (pars. [0006] and [0039], Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Wang to include the skeleton layer and ECM layer staggered stacked, as taught by another embodiment of Wang, in order to promote cellular infiltration and structural support for tissues grown on scaffolds or stents (Wang, par. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, the first embodiment of Wang further discloses the micro-nano medical stent for directional, quantitative and timed release of drug according to claim 1, wherein the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer is able to construct a three-dimensional bionic tissue structure according to specific applications or construct a specific structure according to required bionic indicators, including, but not limited to, an array square ordered electrospun fiber structure or an equally spaced sinusoidal ordered electrospun fiber structure (pars. [0005] and [0042], Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 3, the first embodiment of Wang does not disclose a skeleton layer and ECM layer staggered stacked in various patterns. However, another embodiment of Wang teaches the micro-nano medical stent for directional, quantitative and timed release of drug according to claim 1, wherein the multi-layer composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent comprises one layer of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and one layer of the drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM layer, which are staggered stacked to form a multi-layer composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent (pars. [0006] and [0039], Fig. 6);
or one layer of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and two layers of the drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM layer, which are staggered stacked to form a composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent (pars. [0039] and [0042]);
or two layers of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and one layer of the drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM layer, which are staggered stacked to form a composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent (par. [0041]);
or two layers of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and two layers of the drug-loadable core-shell nano-disordered electrospun fiber structure as an ECM layer, which are staggered stacked to form a composite electrospun micro-nano medical stent (par. [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Wang to include the skeleton layer and ECM layer staggered stacked in various patterns, as taught by another embodiment of Wang, in order to promote cellular infiltration and structural support for tissues grown on scaffolds or stents (Wang, par. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 4, the first embodiment of Wang further discloses the micro-nano medical stent for directional, quantitative and timed release of drug according to claim 3, wherein, the stacking form of the drug-loadable micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer includes aligned staggered stacking or non-aligned staggered stacking (par. [0006]), wherein the skeleton layer constructs a three-dimensional bionic tissue structure according to needs by printing the same structure or different structures layer by layer, and connected structures can be established between the layers (pars. [0005] and [0042]).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20140207248 A1) "Wang" in view of He et al (CN 113265770 A) “He”.
Regarding Claim 5, Wang does not disclose steps to prepare a micro-nano medical stent by heating a drug-containing solid, near-field electrospinning, followed by far-field electrospinning of the shell layer and core layer, and repeating said steps. However, He, in the same field of art, teaches a preparation method of a multiscale fiber with a core shell structure through electrospinning (par. [n0001]), comprising steps of: step A: heating and melting a drug-containing polycaprolactone solid, connecting the same to the syringe of a near-field direct writing electrospinning system, and performing ordered near-field direct writing electrospinning to obtain a drug-loaded micron ordered electrospun fiber structure (Abstract, pars. [0015] and [0037]);
step B: connecting a polylactic acid spinning solution containing a shell layer drug and a polyvinyl alcohol spinning solution containing a core layer drug to the shell layer syringe and core layer syringe of a far-field electrospinning system (pars. [0018] and [n0027]), respectively, performing disordered far-field electrospinning at a temperature, humidity and gas environment required for maintaining activity of loaded drug, and collecting on the surface of the drug-loaded ordered micron fiber structure to obtain a drug-loaded micron ordered electrospun fiber structure as a skeleton layer and a drug-loaded core-shell nano disordered electrospun fiber structure, which are stacked (par. [0037]);
step C: alternately repeating step A and B at least 1 time (pars. [n0015] and par. [0037], steps may be repeated to reach the desired number of stacked layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Wang to include steps to prepare a micro-nano medical stent by heating a drug-containing solid, near-field electrospinning, followed by far-field electrospinning of the shell layer and core layer, and repeating said steps, as taught by He, in order to ensure biocompatibility and mechanical strength of materials and proper loading of effective ingredients on the device (He, par. [n0027]).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang further discloses the method of preparing the micro-nano medical stent for directional, quantitative and timed release of drug according to claim 5, wherein, performing ordered near-field direct writing electrospinning to obtain a drug-loaded micron ordered electrospun fiber structure in step A specifically comprises: step A1: drawing an ordered fiber trajectory path through CAD drawing software, and then importing the path into an ordered near-field direct writing electrospinning system (par. [0030]);
step A2: performing ordered near-field direct writing electrospinning to obtain a drug-loaded micron ordered electrospun fiber structure (par. [0030]);
wherein, the ordered fiber trajectory path includes, but is not limited to, an array square fiber trajectory path and an equally spaced sinusoidal fiber trajectory path (pars. [0005] and [0042], Figs. 2-4).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang does not disclose the shell layer drug doped with a hydrophilic material. However, He, in the same field of art, teaches a preparation method of a multiscale fiber with a core shell structure through electrospinning (par. [n0001]), wherein, in step B, the polylactic acid spinning solution containing a shell layer drug is doped with a hydrophilic material such that the control of degradation rate is realized, and the ECM layer with a specific number of layers can have the same or different degradation rates, thus realizing controllable release sequence of loaded drug at different layers (pars. [n0026] and [n0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by Wang to include the shell layer drug doped with a hydrophilic material, as taught by He, in order to ensure the device membrane remains intact and to enhance the release capacity of the drug’s capacity (He, par. [n0026]).
Conclusion
/NATALIE N THOMAS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774