DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0399387 A1), and further in view of Li et al. (CN 113540704 A) with US 2024/0154279 A1 used as English language equivalent and mapping.
As claim 1, Huang et al. disclose a battery module (see e.g. “FIG. 1 shows a structural schematic diagram of a part of a battery assembly 10 according to an embodiment of the present application” in Par. [0059]). Huang et al. also disclose that the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells (See e.g. elements 600, 620, 640, 660, and 680 in annotated Fig. 6, and “the battery assembly 60 according to another embodiment of the present application includes: a first cell 600, a second cell 620, a third cell 640, a fourth cell 660 and a fifth cell 680 which are stacked and electrically connected with one another” in Par. [0090]). It can be understood that elements 600, 640, and 680 correspond to first cells, while elements 620 and 660 correspond to the second cells. Then. the first cells and the second cells are alternately arranged along the first direction, which corresponds to the x-direction. Therefore, the claim limitation reciting that the battery module comprises a plurality of first cells and a plurality of second cells arranged alternately along a first direction is met.
Annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al. (CN 110518183 A).
Annotated Fig. 3 from Huang et al. (CN 110518183 A).
Annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al. (CN 110518183 A).
Huang et al. also disclose that each first cell comprises a first electrode assembly (see e.g. “The first battery cell 100 includes a first tab 101 and a second tab 103” in Par. [0060]); a first electrode terminal (see e.g. first tab 101 in annotated Fig. 1), comprising a first part and a second part connected to each other (see e.g. first portion 101a and second portion 101b in annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first part is connected to the first electrode assembly; the first part protrudes out of the first housing from a part of the first cell (see e.g. first portion 101a in annotated Fig. 1); the first part extends along a y-direction, which is perpendicular to the x-direction (see e.g. first portion 101a and second portion 101b in annotated Fig. 1, and “a second portion 101b extending from an end of the first portion 101a of the first tab 101, and being substantially perpendicular to the first portion 1 Ola of the first tab 101” in Par. [0061]); and, along the x-direction. It is noted that Huang et al. disclose a coordinate system with the x-axis (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.) inverted with respect to the first direction (x-direction) in the current application; the y-direction in Huang et al. matches with the second direction in the current application. Therefore, claim limitations that consider the x-direction are inverted with respect to the one defined by Huang et al.
Furthermore, Huang et al. disclose that the second electrode terminal comprises a third part and a fourth part connected to each other (see e.g. first portion 103a and second portion 103b in annotated Fig. 1), wherein the third part is connected to the first electrode assembly; the third part protrudes out of the first housing from an other part of the first cell (see e.g. first portion 103a and second portion 103b in annotated Fig. 1); the third part extends along the y-direction (see e.g. first portion 103a and second portion 103b in annotated Fig. 1, and “a second portion 103b extending from an end of the first portion 103a of the second tab 103, and being substantially perpendicular to the first portion 103a of the second tab 103” in Par. [0062]); and, along the x-direction.
Similarly, Huang et al. disclose that each second cell comprises a second electrode assembly; a third electrode terminal (see e.g. first tab 201 in annotated Fig. 3), comprising a fifth part and a sixth part connected to each other (see e.g. first portion 201a and second portion 201b in annotated Fig. 3), wherein the fifth part is connected to the second electrode assembly; the fifth part protrudes out of the second housing from a part of the second cell (see e.g. first portion 201a in annotated Fig. 3); the fifth part extends along the y-direction; and, the sixth part extends along the x-direction (see e.g. first portion 201a and second portion 201b in annotated Fig. 3, and “The second portion 201b and the first portion 201a are substantially perpendicular to each other” in Par. [0075]).
Furthermore, Huang et al. disclose a fourth electrode terminal comprising a seventh part and an eighth part connected to each other (see e.g. first portion 203a and second portion 203b in annotated Fig. 3), wherein the seventh part is connected to the second electrode assembly; the seventh part protrudes out of the second housing from an other part of the second cell (see e.g. first portion 203a and second portion 203b in annotated Fig. 3); the seventh part extends along the y-direction; and, along the x-direction (see e.g. first portion 203a and second portion 203b in annotated Fig. 3, and “The second portion 203b and the first portion 203a are substantially perpendicular to each other” in Par. [0076]).
However, Huang et al. do not disclose the shell enclosing the battery cells. Therefore, Huang et al. do not recite the first side and second side of the shell and their direction; those sides define the direction where the perpendicular portions of the electrodes point out.
Annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al. (CN 113540704 A).
On the other hand, Li et al. disclose a battery module (see e.g. element 100 in annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al.), comprising a plurality of battery cells (see e.g. element 2, and “an embodiment of this application provides a battery module 100, including a shell 3, a bracket 1, and a plurality of cells 2” in Par. [0133]) arranged alternately along the x-direction, which is understood as the first direction. Moreover, Li et al. recite a first side and a second side in the battery module, which are opposite to each other along the first direction (see e.g. elements 31 and 32 in annotated Fig. 1, and “The shell 3 includes a first shell body 31 and a second shell body 32” in Par. [0133] from Li et al.). It is noted that Li et al. disclose a right-handed coordinate system (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al.), while the current application uses a left-handed coordinate system. Additionally, first side and second side disclosed in the current application are inverted with respect to the first housing and second housing disclosed by Li et al. (see e.g. elements 31 and 32 in annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al.). Therefore, claim limitations that consider the first direction (x-direction) are inverted with respect to the one defined by Li et al.
Annotated Fig. 3 from Li et al. (CN 113540704 A).
Li et al. also disclose that each shell comprises a cell housing, an electrode assembly, and two electrode terminals (See e.g. annotated Fig. 3, and “the cell 2 includes a cell housing 21, an electrode assembly 22, a first terminal 23, and a second terminal 24. The electrode assembly 22 is accommodated in the cell housing 21” in Par. [134] from Li et al.). Furthermore, Li et al. recite that the first part of the electrode protrudes out of the first housing from a part of the first cell being away from the first side (see e.g. “The first terminal 23 and the second terminal 24 are connected to the electrode assembly 22, and protrude out of the cell housing 21” in Par. [134] from Li et al.).
Both Huang et al. and Li et al. are analogous in the field of batteries, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to alternately stack the first battery cells (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.) and the second battery cells (see e.g. annotated Fig. 3 from Huang et al.) of Huang et al. with the housing (see e.g. elements 31 and 32 in annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al., and “The shell 3 includes a first shell body 31 and a second shell body 32” in Par. [0133] from Li et al.) as taught by Li et al. to enclose the stacked battery cells. Rotating the second battery cells along the second direction ensures that the sixth part of the third electrode terminal is connected to a second part of an adjacent first cell and the adjacent first cell being farther away from the first side than the second cell. Moreover, the eighth part of the fourth electrode is connected to a fourth part of an adjacent first cell and the other adjacent first cell being farther away from the second side than the second cell. Additionally, considering the first shell and the second housing (see e.g. elements 31 and 32 in annotated Fig. 6) defined by Li et al., the claim limitations that are defined based on the position of first side and second side are met, as follows: the first part of the electrode terminal protrudes out of the first housing from a part of the first cell being away from the first side, on the negative x-coordinate (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.); the second part of the first electrode terminal extends toward the first side, on the negative x-coordinate (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.), from the first part; the third part of the first electrode terminal protrudes out of the first housing from the other part of the first cell being away from the first side (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.); the fourth part of the second electrode terminal extends toward the second side, on the positive x-coordinate (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.), from the third part; the fifth part of the third electrode terminal protrudes out of the second housing from a part of the second cell being away from the second side (see e.g. annotated Fig. 3 from Huang et al.); the sixth part of the third electrode terminal extends along the first direction toward the second side from the fifth part (see e.g. annotated Fig. 3 from Huang et al.); the seventh part of the fourth electrode protrudes out of the second housing from the other part of the second cell being away from the second side; and the eighth part of the fourth electrode extends toward the second side from the seventh part.
As claim 2, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 1.
Huang et al. disclose that one first cell and one second cell adjacent to the one first cell in the first direction (See e.g. elements 600, 620, 640, 660, and 680 in annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al., and “the battery assembly 60 according to another embodiment of the present application includes: a first cell 600, a second cell 620, a third cell 640, a fourth cell 660 and a fifth cell 680 which are stacked and electrically connected with one another” in Par. [0090]). Huang et al. also show that the fourth part is on top of eighth part (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.). Then, it is obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art that an aligned stacked of a plurality of battery cells requires that the distance along the second direction between the fourth part and the second housing is greater than a distance between the eighth part and the second housing (see e.g. elements 103a and 121a in annotated Fig. 2 from Huang et al.). Additionally, Huang et al. also disclose that, viewed along the second direction, the fourth part covers at least a part of the eighth part (see e.g. area S1 in annotated Fig.2 from Huang et al., and “the area of the connection region Sl takes up from 30% to 95%, preferably, from 60% to 90%, for example, about 65%, about 70%, about 75%, about 80%, about 85%, about 89%, of area of the surface of the second portion 103b of the second tab 103 facing the surface of the second portion 121b of the third tab 121” in Par. [0067]).
Annotated Fig. 2 from Huang et al. (CN 110518183 A).
As claim 3, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 2.
Huang et al. disclose that the overlapping area between the fourth and eighth portions is 30-95% (see e.g. area S1 in annotated Fig.2 from Huang et al., and “the area of the connection region Sl takes up from 30% to 95%, preferably, from 60% to 90%, for example, about 65%, about 70%, about 75%, about 80%, about 85%, about 89%, of area of the surface of the second portion 103b of the second tab 103 facing the surface of the second portion 121b of the third tab 121” in Par. [0067]). It is obvious that having an overlapping area of 30-95% guaranties that viewed along the second direction, the eighth part comprises a first region covered by the fourth part and an exposed second region of 5%-70%. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed range (exposed second portion of 5-70% by Huang et al.) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, the claim limitation that states that the eighth part comprises a first region covered by the fourth part and an exposed second region is met.
As claim 4, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 3.
Huang et al. recites that the electrode terminal has a first portion parallel to the second direction (see e.g. y-direction in annotated Fig. 1 from Huang et al.). It is understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art that the electrode terminal is not limited to a specific location along the third direction on the battery cell (see e.g. first portion 123a in annotated Fig. 1). Additionally, since the overlapping area between the fourth and eighth portions is less than 95% (see the discussion in claim 3), it is obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art that eighth and fourth parts might be misaligned along the third direction, as disclosed by Huang et al. Therefore, the claim limitation that states that the second region comprises a first sub-region, where the first sub-region and the first region are arranged along a third direction is met.
On the other hand, Li et al. disclose that the third direction, the first direction, and the second direction are perpendicular to each other (see e.g. annotated Fig. 1 from Li et al.). It is noted that Li et al. disclose a right-handed coordinate system while the current application uses a left-handed coordinate system.
As claim 5, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 4.
Huang et al. do not disclose that the second region further comprises a second sub-region; and, along the first direction, the second sub-region is closer to the second side than the first region (see discussion in claim 4).
As claim 6, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 5.
Huang et al. disclose that, along the second direction, a distance between the sixth part and the second housing is greater than a distance between the second part and the second housing. Additionally, viewed along the second direction, the sixth part covers at least a part of the second part (see discussion in claim 3).
As claim 7, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 6.
Huang et al. disclose that the second part comprises a third region, an exposed third sub-region and an exposed fourth sub-region; the third region is covered by the sixth part; the third sub-region and the third region are arranged along the third direction; along the first direction, the fourth sub-region is closer to the second side than the third region; and an area of the fourth sub-region is greater than an area of the second sub-region (see discussion in claim 4).
As claim 8, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 5.
Huang et al. disclose that, viewed along the second direction, the sixth part covers at least a part of the second part; the second part comprises a third region covered by the sixth part and an exposed fourth sub-region (see discussion in claim 5). Additionally, modified Huang et al. disclose that, along the first direction, the fourth sub-region is closer to the second side than the third region; and an area of the fourth sub-region is greater than an area of the second sub-region (see discussion in claim 5).
As claim 9, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 1.
Huang et al. disclose that the overlapping area between the fourth and eighth portions is 30-95% (see e.g. area S1 in annotated Fig.2 from Huang et al., and “the area of the connection region Sl takes up from 30% to 95%, preferably, from 60% to 90%, for example, about 65%, about 70%, about 75%, about 80%, about 85%, about 89%, of area of the surface of the second portion 103b of the second tab 103 facing the surface of the second portion 121b of the third tab 121” in Par. [0067]). It is obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art that having an overlapping area of 30-95% guaranties that among any one first cell and one second cell adjacent to the first cell in the first direction, a part of the fourth part is apart from the eighth part.
As claim 10, Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 1.
Huang et al. disclose that among any one second cell and one first cell adjacent to the second cell in the first direction, along the second direction, a distance between the sixth part and the second housing is greater than a distance between the second part and the second housing; and, viewed along the second direction, the sixth part covers at least a part of the second part (see discussion in claim 2).
As claim 11, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 10.
Huang et al. disclose that viewed along the second direction, the second part comprises a third region covered by the sixth part and an exposed fourth region (see discussion in claim 3).
As claim 12, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 11.
Huang et al. disclose that the fourth region comprises a third sub-region, the third sub-region and the third region are arranged along a third direction (see discussion in claim 4). Additionally, Li et al. disclose that the third direction, the first direction, and the second direction are perpendicular to each other (see discussion in claim 4).
As claim 13, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 11.
Due to the symmetry of the electrode terminals in the alternatively arranged battery cells with respect to the x-y plane, and considering the discussion in claim 4, the claim imitation that states that the fourth region further comprises a fourth sub-region, and the fourth sub-region is closer to the second side than the third region is met.
As claim 14, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 1.
Huang et al. disclose that the second part of one first cell is connected to the sixth part of one adjacent second cell to form a first connecting portion, and the fourth part of one first cell is connected to the eighth part of one adjacent second cell to form a second connecting portion (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.).
As claim 15, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 14.
Huang et al. recite that the battery module further comprises a circuit board (see e.g. “The voltage detection component 1201 is a flexible printed circuit board. The voltage detection component 1201 may be a flexible printed circuit board of a square shape or any proper shape” in Par. [0135]) and a plurality of connecting terminals connected to the circuit board (see e.g. element 1201 in annotated Fig. 16 from Huang et al.); viewed along the second direction, the circuit board is located between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (see e.g. “The voltage detection component 1201 is a flexible printed circuit board. The voltage detection component 1201 may be a flexible printed circuit board of a square shape or any proper shape” in Par. [0135]); each first connecting portion is connected to one of the connecting terminals; and each second connecting portion is connected to one of the connecting terminals (see e.g. element 1201 in annotated Fig. 16 from Huang et al.).
Annotated Fig. 16 from Huang et al. (CN 110518183 A).
As claim 16, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 14.
Huang et al. disclose parallel first connecting portions (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.), which implies that the axes of symmetry of two first connecting portions coincide. Therefore, the claim limitation that states a symmetry axis of one first connecting portion extending along the first direction coincides with a symmetry axis of another first connecting portion extending along the first direction is met.
As claim 17, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 14.
Huang et al. disclose parallel first connecting portions (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.), which implies that, viewed along the first direction, both connecting portions overlap. Then, the claim limitation that recites that one first connecting portion at least partially overlaps another first connecting portion is met.
As claim 18, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 14.
Huang et al. disclose parallel second connecting portions (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.), which implies that the axes of symmetry of two second connecting portions coincide. Therefore, the claim limitation that states a symmetry axis of one second connecting portion extending along the first direction coincides with a symmetry axis of another second connecting portion extending along the first direction is met.
As claim 20, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 14,
Huang et al. disclose an electrical device, wherein, the electrical device comprises the battery module according to claim 1 (see e.g. “The present application also provides an electrochemical device, including the battery assembly described in any embodiment of the present application” in Par. [0169]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0399387 A1) in view of Li et al. (CN 113540704 A), as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0269435 A1).
As claim 19, modified Huang et al. disclose a battery module according to claim 1.
Modified Huang et al. do not disclose that at least one structural component is disposed between one first cell and one second cell adjacent to the one first cell in the first direction, and any one first cell is in contact with one second cell adjacent to the one first cell in a direction opposite to the first direction.
Annotated Fig. 2 from Lee et al. (US 2018/0269435 A1).
On the other hand, Lee et al. disclose a battery pack with stacked battery cells (see e.g. elements 10 and 90 in annotated Fig. 2 from Lee et al.), such that the insulating sheet (see e.g. element 92 in annotated Fig. 2, and “in the case of additionally mounting a member 92 such as an insulating sheet or pad for preventing a contact between the electrode leads 40' and 41” from Lee et al.).
Huang et al., Li et al., and Lee et al. are analogous in the field of batteries, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery module of modified Huang et al. (see e.g. annotated Fig. 6 from Huang et al.) to include a an insulating sheet between one first cell and one second cell (see e.g. element 92 in annotated Fig. 2 from Lee et al.) as taught by Lee et al. for preventing a contact between the electrode leads, as suggested by Lee et al. (see e.g. “in the case of additionally mounting a member 92 such as an insulating sheet or pad for preventing a contact between the electrode leads 40' and 41” from Lee et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sasaki et al. (JP 2022143883 A) disclose a battery module with stacked laminated cells. The cell include L-shaped positive and negative terminals, which connect contiguous cells.
/I.T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721