Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-5 are pending in the current application and under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 29, 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the plurality of second elastic members are arranged at predetermined intervals”. The predetermined interval is not apparent, and the specification does not rectify the ambiguousness of the term. The specification points to 14b of figure 2 as a predetermined distance. 14b could refer to the distance between peaks of the second elastic member, the length of the second elastic member, the distance between independent second elastic members, or the distance between the first elastic members that the second elastic member occupies. For purposes of examination the term “predetermined interval” is construed to refer to the distance between independent second elastic members.
Claims 3-4 are rejected for including the subject matter of claim 2 without rectifying the issues noted above.
Claim 4 recites the limitation of equation 1: ΔL = 2N × (Rθ - 1/2). This equation determines the spacing between adjacent second elastic members (ΔL) as a function of the number of waves (N) multiplied by a length of the uncompressed wave defined by Rθ - 1/2. Applicant states in paragraph 29 of the specification that when the spacing between adjacent second elastic members is set using this equation, adjacent second elastic members will not touch when under compression due to the battery being fully charged.
ΔL and R have identical units of length. θ is an angle that could be expressed by radians or degrees. While the units of length can be any unit of length, the use of degrees or radians for the angle must be defined. If N and R are consistently defined throughout the second elastic members, and θ is an angle with equivalent measurements in degrees and radians, then ΔL has two embodiments simultaneously depending on which unit of measurement for the angle is used.
Furthermore, The distance between adjacent members cannot be negative so Rθ > 0.5. Certain embodiments that exist when using degrees could not exist when converted to radians and vice versa. For purposes of examination, the claimed limitation is said to be met when there is space between adjacent second elastic members, in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction, when the members are compressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404 A1), herein referred to as “Bobel”.
Regarding claim 1, Bobel discloses a battery cell pack with a plurality of battery cells arranged in a horizontal stack [0032]. The cells are arranged in a housing with opposing end plates [0032]. Deformable separators (cushioning member) are interposed between subsets of battery cells [0034]. The subsets of battery cells could be any quantity of battery cells [0035]. The deformable separators comprise a first sheet with an opposing second sheet [0036]. The first and second opposing sheet envelop a compressible spring [0036]. The first and second sheet act as first elastic members and the compressible spring acts as a second elastic member. There can be multiple compressible springs in the deformable separators [0040]. The first and second sheets are in contact with the outer surface of adjacent subsets of battery cells in the stacking direction [0036]. The compressible spring can be a wave spring, a coil spring, a leaf spring, a bead spring, a linear spring, or another form of compressible spring device having predetermined properties of elasticity and plasticity [0040]. Furthermore, figure 4A and 4B illustrate a single-wave wave spring and bi-wave wave spring respectively. These wave springs are identical to the corrugated leaf springs as illustrated by applicant. The compressible spring is arranged to provide a compressive force to the first and second sheet in the stacking direction [0036]. The single-wave wave spring and bi-wave wave spring have a plurality of lobes which create cavities extending along a direction [0053, Fig. 4A and 4B]. The cavities are defined by recesses and protrusions of the lobes. The lobes of adjacent bi-wave wave spring face each other in an alternating pattern to allow contact [Fig. 4A and 4B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Bobel discloses the battery module as described above in the rejection of claim 1. For the sake of brevity, the rejection of these claims is included here, but not repeated. Bobel does not disclose wherein the plurality of second elastic members are arranged at predetermined intervals. Bobel further teaches there could be multiple compressible spring used in the deformable separators between subsets of battery cells [0040]. Furthermore, the force the compressible spring exerts should be uniform on adjacent battery cells [0036]. Therefore, while not explicitly disclosed, Bobel teaches that the spacing between multiple compressible springs should be in such a way to provide a uniform compressive force, which would require some uniform series arrangement of the multiple compressible springs. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(c) for discussion on rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 4, Bobel discloses the battery module as described above in the rejection of claim 2. For the sake of brevity, the rejection of these claims is included here, but not repeated. Bobel does not disclose wherein in a state in which the battery cells are uncharged, a neutral plane of the corrugated leaf spring in a 1⁄2 cycle is substantially identical to an arc formed with a radius R and a center angle θ, and the distance between the adjacent ones of the plurality of second elastic members is equal to ΔL expressed by the following equation [1]: ΔL = 2N × (Rθ - 1/2) [1] where N is the number of waves that the corrugated leaf spring has in the state in which the battery cells are uncharged, and l is a width of each one of the waves that the corrugated leaf spring has in the state in which the battery cells are uncharged.
Simply, equation 1 expresses the distance between adjacent second elastic members (ΔL) as a function of the number of waves (2N) by some length of the wave defined by Rθ - ½. The purpose of this equation is it spaces adjacent second elastic members far enough so when they are compressed by the battery being fully charged, they do not touch. As discussed in the 112(b) rejection for claim 4, the claimed limitation is said to be met when there is space between adjacent second elastic members, in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction, when the members are compressed.
Bobel further teaches the force the compressible spring exerts should be uniform on adjacent battery cells [0036]. Therefore, while not explicitly disclosed, Bobel teaches that the spacing between multiple compressible springs should be in such a way to provide a uniform compressive force, which would require some uniform series arrangement of the multiple compressible springs. This uniform series arrangement results in embodiments whereinhen the springs are compressed there is a uniform gap in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction spaced across the compressed structure. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(c) for discussion on rearrangement of parts.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Kogami et al (US 2022/0255182 A1), herein referred to as “Kogami”.
Regarding claim 3, Bobel discloses the battery module as described above in the rejection of claim 2. For the sake of brevity, the rejection of these claims is included here, but not repeated. Bobel does not teach wherein adjacent ones of the plurality of second elastic members are spaced apart from each other by a distance of 0.8 mm or greater and 2.0 mm or less.
In the same field of partitions for battery cells capable of absorbing thickness changes due to charging, Kogami discloses a stopper interposed between elastic layers [0064]. The elastic layers absorb expansion of the battery cells and press the case surface of the battery and therefore act as corrugated leaf springs [0055]. Figure 4 illustrates two curved elastic layers with a stopper interposed between. The stopper has height of 1.5 mm, which places the elastic layers 1.5 mm apart [0072]. Kogami discloses it is advantageous to have a stopper separating the elastic layers by 1.5 mm as it prevents the deterioration of the elastic layers due to an increase of internal pressure of the battery cell [0072]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the stopper with a height of 1.5 mm disclosed by Kogami between the compressible springs of Bobel for the purposes of preventing the deterioration of the compressible springs due to an increase of internal pressure of the battery cell.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bobel et al. (US 2023/0299404 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nakayama et al. (US 2022/0320665), herein referred to as “Nakayama”.
Regarding claim 5, Bobel discloses the battery module as described above in the rejection of claim 2. For the sake of brevity, the rejection of these claims is included here, but not repeated.
Bobel does not disclose wherein the battery cells are solid battery cells.
In the same field of accommodating deformation of a power storage module during charging and discharging, Nakayama discloses a restriction unit comprising two flat plates (first elastic members) which interpose a corrugated plate (second elastic members) for use in a solid-state battery [0081, 0082]. The deformable separators of Bobel have an identical structure to the restriction units of Nakayama. Furthermore, the corrugated plate of Nakayama is identical to the single-wave wave spring of Bobel as evidenced by figure 5 of Nakayama. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the deformable separators of Bobel could be used in a solid-state battery as Nakayama discloses an identical structure for use with a solid-state battery.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/616,206. The difference between the claim sets lies in the fact that the entire scope of the present claims falls within the scope of the copending claims. Thus, the present claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the copending claims.
Specifically, the claim sets are identical with the exception that the species of the present claims additionally require “a plurality of second elastic members” rather than “a second elastic member” as found in the copending application. It is noted that the term “comprising” in the copending claims is open ended and as a result the copending claims allow for additional elastic members.
However, it would have been obvious to select the claimed species or sub-genus given the genus of the copending claims. More specifically, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use two or more (a plurality) of second elastic members, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. It is well settled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.)
Regarding claim 2, application No. 18/616,206 claims “wherein a part of the recesses and the protrusions facing and in contact with each other are bonded to each other” in claim 2. The instant application claims arrangement of the secondary elastic members, which have recesses and protrusions, at predetermined intervals in claim 2. As discussed above in the 112(b) rejection for claim 2, the term predetermined interval has multiple embodiments, one such embodiment is where recesses and protrusions of the secondary elastic members are in contact with each other as illustrated in figure 2. Therefore, claim 2 of application No. 18/616,206 is anticipatory of claim 2 of the instant application as claim 2 of application No. 18/616,206 recites an embodiment of claim 2 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 2, there is no evidence indicating the distance between the elastic members are critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, application No. 18/616,206 claims “the battery module according to claim 1, wherein the battery cells are solid battery cells” in claim 4. This is identical to claim 5 of the instant application. As discussed above, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipatory of claim 1 of application No. 18/616,206. Therefore, claim 5 of the instant application anticipates claim 4 of application No. 18/616,206.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 19/064,738. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The difference between the claim sets lies in the fact that the entire scope of the reference claims falls within the scope of the present claims. Thus the reference claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the present claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, the claim sets are identical with the exception that the reference claims additionally require a soft resin having a hardness of E40 or less or E60 or more and of specific materials in claims 1 and 2 which is encompassed by the use of the term “comprising” in the present claims. It has been held in this scenario that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species” and is a basis for establishing nonstatutory double patenting. See MPEP 804(II)(B)(2) and 2131.02, In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and the narrower set of claims anticipate the broader set of claims.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 2, there is no evidence indicating the distance between the elastic members are critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, the solid battery cells correspond to the subject matter of claim 4 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Riedmann et al. (US 2019/0044115 A1) disclose battery module having a plurality of battery cells, in particular lithium ion battery cells, comprising a plurality of separating walls, wherein a battery cell is arranged between two separating walls and a first compensating element is arranged between a first battery cell and a separating wall adjacent to the first battery cell and a second compensating element is arranged between a second battery cell and a separating wall adjacent to the second battery cell, characterized in that the first compensating element and the second compensating element have a different value of a deformation constant.
Omori et al. (US 2021/0005920 A1) discloses a manufacturing apparatus includes a protruding portion molding member disposition mechanism, a tension damper, as well as an acceleration device, a metal roller and a rubber roller, and a cutting mechanism which serves as a laminating mechanism. A separator web and an electrode web are joined having the protruding portion molding member interposed therebetween while the separator web is bent at the portion where the protruding portion molding member has been disposed, to laminate the separator web and the electrode web.
Conclusion
/J.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1782 /AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782