DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0214642).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) an automotive sensor (see pars. [0023] and [0033]), comprising:
a body 4/50 (i.e. housing/casing: [0024]-[0025]), forming a workspace (i.e. the inner space of housing 4 and casing 50: see Figs. 3-7); and
a connecting member 431 [0027], inserted into the body 4/50 (as shown in Figs. 5-7) and comprising a first end 431a [0027], the first end 431a comprises a holding portion (i.e. where the wire connects to the piezo member 54: [0027]; Figs. 5-7),
wherein the workspace comprises a first workspace (i.e. the space inside housing 4: see Figs. 5-7) and a second workspace (i.e. the space inside casing 50 where the first end 431a protrudes: see Figs. 5-7), cross-sectional dimensions of the first workspace (upper space) are larger than those of the second workspace (i.e. the lower space in casing 50, which has a cross-section smaller than the upper space: see Figs. 5-7), and
the first end 431a is arranged in the second workspace (i.e. the space inside casing 50: as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) the connecting member 431 further comprises an insertion portion (upper part of 431 where it is attached to the board 8: see Figs. 5-7) and an extension portion (lower part of 431), the insertion portion is inserted into the body 4 (as shown in Figs. 5-7), and the extension portion is attached on a surface of the body 4 (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) the surface comprises a horizontal plane and a vertical plane (i.e. is three-dimensional: see Figs. 5-7), and the extension portion (lower part of 431) comprises a first extension section and a second extension section (as shown in Figs. 5-7), the first extension section is attached on the horizontal plane (i.e. at 431a where the pin extends horizontally: see Figs. 5-7), and the second extension section is bent relative to the first extension section (as shown in Figs. 5-7) and attached on the vertical plane (i.e. the portion of the lower part of 431 that bends upward: see Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) the first/primary end 431a is arranged at the extension portion (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) a surface of the holding portion 431a has adhesiveness (i.e. where the wire is attached/connected to the pin: [0027]; Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) a control element 8 (i.e. circuit board: [0027]), the connecting member 431 further comprises a second end (top end in Figs. 5-7), and the second end is electrically connected to the control element 8 (as shown in Figs. 5-7; [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) the second end is inserted or soldered to the control element 8 [0028].
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses (Figs. 3-7) the body 4 is integrally formed with the connecting member 431 [0024].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0214642) in view of Blokland (U.S. Pub. 2015/0192430).
Regarding claim 5, Lin is applied as above, but does not disclose the holding portion forms a groove or a hole.
Blokland discloses (Figs. 6-7) the holding portion 4460 (end of the pin attached to the wire: [0041]) forms a groove/hole 4462 [0041] (as shown in Figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lin’s device so that the holding portion forms a groove or a hole, as taught by Blokland.
Such a modification would ensure the wire is held securely, and would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06-08-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the end 431 extends outside the housing 4; however, the rejection has been updated to reflect that the claimed body can include both the housing 4 and the casing 50 (see pars. [0024]-[0025]). Therefore, under this interpretation, Lin discloses the workspace comprises a first workspace (i.e. the space inside housing 4: see Figs. 5-7) and a second workspace (i.e. the space inside casing 50 where the first end 431a protrudes: see Figs. 5-7), cross-sectional dimensions of the first workspace (upper space) are larger than those of the second workspace (i.e. the lower space in casing 50, which has a cross-section smaller than the upper space: see Figs. 5-7), and the first end 431a is arranged in the second workspace (i.e. the space inside casing 50: as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Additionally, since the rejection of claim 1 is based on an anticipation rejection under 102(a)(1), applicant’s arguments regarding unexpected results are moot since such an argument only applies to a rejection made under 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852