DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210329964 A1 (hereinafter DEFOREL) as evidenced by “Understanding Particle Size Distribution: D10, D50, and D90” by Zero Instrument.
Regarding claim 1, DEFOREL discloses an aerosol-generating article including a substrate formed from tobacco particulate and plant particulate (abstract). DEFOREL discloses a homogenized plant material formed as a sheet (¶43). DEFOREL discloses that the sheet comprises a tobacco powder (¶8, table 2, ¶170, ¶174). DEFOREL further teaches tobacco powder with a cumulative 90% particle diameter (D90) of 200 µm or more in a volume-based particle size distribution (¶18-¶19). DEFOREL further teaches the sheet having a density of 1.0 g/cm3 or less (¶46). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding the limitation as measured by a dry laser diffraction method, recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, In re Best, 195 USPQ 430. In this case, DEFOREL does not recite the method for determining cumulative particle diameter (D90), however it is known in the art, as evidenced by the article by Zero measurement, to measure particle size distribution through a dry laser diffraction method and that this method is most commonly applied to bulk powders such as industrial sized tobacco particulate.
Regarding claim 3, DEFOREL discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. DEFOREL further discloses that the sheet is a press-formed sheet (¶13, ¶52).
Regarding claim 6, DEFOREL discloses the tobacco sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. DEFOREL further discloses a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler (¶31, ¶42) comprising a tobacco-containing segment (Fig. 1, aerosol generating substrate 1020, ¶125) containing the tobacco sheet (¶127) for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, DEFOREL discloses the tobacco sheet according to claim 6 as discussed above. DEFOREL further discloses a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment (¶133).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFOREL as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of US 20230025403 A1 (hereinafter GRISHCHENKO).
Regarding claim 4, DEFOREL discloses the sheet according to claim 1 as discussed above. DEFOREL further discloses the sheet further comprising: a humectant (¶68); a binder(¶81); and one or both of a flavoring (¶35) and taste agent (¶86). Regarding the recitation a shaping aid the recitation of a plasticizer is considered to read upon the limitation of shaping aid (¶35). Further given the claim recitation of “or”, the DEFOREL reads upon this limitation without the need to recite all of the items in the list.
DEFOREL does not disclose wherein the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units.
GRISHCHENKO teaches an article for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system (abstract). GRISHCHENKO teaches that a wrapper is used with a level of permeability greater than about 2000 Coresta units (¶68). GRISHCHENKO teaches that relatively high permeability increase the amount of heat that is transferred from the aerosol and thus reduces the temperature of the aerosol (¶150). GRISHCHENKO teaches that controlling the permeability can also increase the moisture transferred which has been found to improve the feel of the aerosol in the user’s mouth (¶150).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DEFOREL to provide the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units as taught in GRISHCHENKO. A person of ordinary skill in the art would obviously control the air permeability of the sheet. Doing so would increase the amount of heat transferred and improve the mouth feel of the aerosol delivered to the user (GRISHCHENKO ¶68, ¶150). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Finally, DEFOREL is silent as to the property of CORESTA units, however, recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, In re Best, 195 USPQ 430.
Regarding claim 5, modified DEFOREL discloses the sheet according to claim 4 as discussed above. The limitation the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more is rejected for the same reasons detailed in the rejection of claim 4 with respect to CORESTA units and is not repeated here.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 3-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3-9 of copending Application No. 18623365 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in light of the claims and the specification as a dictionary, the claims encompass the same scope and invention.
Regarding claim 1, ‘365 discloses A tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler, having a density of 1.0 g/cm.sup.3 or less (claim 1). ‘365 further discloses a tobacco powder with a cumulative 90% particle diameter (D90) of 200 µm or more in a volume-based particle size distribution (¶14).
Regarding claim 3, ‘365 discloses a press-formed sheet (claim 3)
Regarding claim 4, ‘365 discloses comprising: a humectant; a binder; and an optional flavoring and taste agent, wherein the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, ‘365 discloses wherein the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, ‘365 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler comprising a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1 (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, ‘365 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaling system comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 6; and a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment (claim 7).
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 and 3-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3-7 of copending Application No. 18623051 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in light of the claims and the specification as a dictionary, the claims encompass the same scope and invention.
Regarding claim 1, ‘051 discloses A tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler (claim 1), having a density of 1.0 g/cm.sup.3 or less (claim 2). ‘051 further discloses a tobacco powder with a cumulative 90% particle diameter (D90) of 200 µm or more in a volume-based particle size distribution (¶14).
Regarding claim 3, ‘051 discloses a press-formed sheet (claim 3)
Regarding claim 4, ‘051 discloses comprising: a humectant; a binder; and an optional flavoring and taste agent, wherein the sheet has an air permeability of more than 0 CORESTA units (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, ‘051 discloses wherein the air permeability is 500 CORESTA Units or more (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, ‘051 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler comprising a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 1 (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, ‘051 discloses A non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaling system comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler according to claim 6; and a heating device for heating the tobacco-containing segment (claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE LYNN MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747