DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the newly discovered disclosure of Madrid et al., which teaches the advantages of providing the first, second, and third terminals within a planar projection of the mold member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa et al. (US 2022/0242108 A1) in view of Madrid et al. (US 2004/0063240 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7:
Nozawa et al. disclose a liquid ejection apparatus (1) comprising a print head (head unit 2) comprising:
an ejection head (print head 20) that ejects a liquid according to driving of a piezoelectric element (60: paragraph 42);
a drive signal output circuit (driving circuit 50) that outputs a drive signal (COMA/COMB) for driving the piezoelectric element (paragraph 37 & Fig. 2); and
a base drive signal output circuit (control unit 10) that outputs a base drive signal (reference drive signals dA/dB) that is a base of the drive signal (paragraph 25),
wherein the drive signal output circuit includes:
an integrated circuit (500) that receives the base drive signal (Fig. 10) and outputs a first control signal (gate signal Hgd: paragraph 81 & Fig. 10),
a first switching element (transistor M1) operated by the first control signal (paragraph 81 & Fig. 10), and
a wiring board (wiring substrate 55) on which the integrated circuit and the first switching element are provided (Fig. 13), and
wherein the first switching element includes:
a first transistor chip (“semiconductor chip ... forming a transistor element”: paragraph 124),
a first terminal (terminal gt), a second terminal (at least one of terminals st1-st3), and a third terminal (at least one of terminals dt1-dt5), all of which are electrically coupled to the first transistor chip (paragraphs 125-127), and
a first mold member (housing Pck) covering the first transistor chip (paragraph 124 & Figs. 11-12),
wherein a conduction state between the second terminal and the third terminal is controlled according to the first control signal input to the first terminal (paragraph 117 & Fig. 10), and
wherein the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal are provided only at positions overlapping with the first mold member along a direction normal to the wiring board (Figs. 11-12).
Nozawa et al. do not expressly disclose that, as viewed in the direction normal to the wiring board, an entirety of the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal is within a planar projection of the first mold member.
However, Madrid et al. disclose a switching element (semiconductor package 100) that includes a transistor chip (101), a first terminal (gate lead 112), a second terminal (source leads 111), a third terminal (drain leads 107), and a mold member (molding material 102), wherein the terminals are positioned such that, as viewed in a direction normal to a wiring board, an entirety of the first terminal, the second terminal, and the third terminal is within a planar projection of the mold member (paragraph 25 & Fig. 2), so as to provide a more compact package (paragraph 25).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nozawa et al.’s switching element to provide the first, second, and third terminals in the manner taught by Madrid et al., so as to provide a more compact package.
Regarding claims 4 and 10:
Nozawa et al.’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 1/7, and Nozawa et al. also disclose that the drive signal output circuit supplies the drive signal to 500 or more piezoelectric elements (paragraph 44).
Regarding claims 5 and 11:
Nozawa et al.’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 1/7, and Nozawa et al. also disclose that the integrated circuit outputs a second control signal (Lgd: paragraph 81 & Fig. 10),
wherein the drive signal output circuit includes a second switching element (transistor M2) provided on the wiring board and operated by the second control signal (paragraph 81 & Fig. 10),
wherein the second switching element includes:
a second transistor chip (“semiconductor chip ... forming a transistor element”: paragraph 124),
a fourth terminal (terminal gt), a fifth terminal (at least one of terminals dt1-dt5), and a sixth terminal (at least one of terminals st1-st3), all of which are electrically coupled to the second transistor chip (paragraphs 125-127), and
a second mold member (housing Pck) covering the second transistor chip (paragraph 124 & Figs. 11-12),
wherein a conduction state between the fifth terminal and the sixth terminal is controlled according to the second control signal input to the fourth terminal (paragraph 117 & Fig. 10), and
wherein the fourth terminal, the fifth terminal, and the sixth terminal are provided only at positions overlapping with the second mold member along the direction normal to the wiring board (Figs. 11-12).
Regarding claims 6 and 12:
Nozawa et al.’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 5/11, and Nozawa et al. also disclose that the drive signal output circuit includes a demodulation circuit (smoothing circuit 560),
wherein the integrated circuit outputs the first control signal and the second control signal according to a modulation signal (Ms) obtained by modulating the base drive signal (paragraph 86 & Fig. 10),
wherein the second terminal and the fifth terminal are electrically coupled to each other (Figs. 10, 13), and
wherein the demodulation circuit demodulates a signal at a coupling point where the second terminal and the fifth terminal are electrically coupled to output the demodulated signals as the drive signal (Fig. 10).
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa et al. as modified by Madrid et al., as applied to claims 1/7 above, and further in view of Kajiyama (JP H0714669).
Regarding claims 2 and 8:
Nozawa et al.’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 1/7, but does not expressly disclose that the first mold member includes a direction indicating mark indicating a direction of the first switching element.
However, Kajiyama disclose an electrical component (2) in which a direction indicating mark (reference mark 4) is provided so as to indicate a direction of the first switching element (paragraphs 7-11 & Figs. 1-3), so as to easily check the mounting direction by visual inspection (paragraph 11).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nozawa et al.’s apparatus/head to include a direction indicating mark, such as taught by Kajiyama, on the first mold member.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa et al. as modified by Madrid et al., as applied to claims 1/7 above, and further in view of Asano et al. (JP 2017107961).
For citations from Asano et al., please see the machine generated English translation provided.
Regarding claims 3 and 9:
Nozawa et al.’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claims 1/7, and Nozawa et al. also disclose that the first mold member is made of resin (paragraph 124).
Nozawa et al. do not expressly disclose that the resin is an epoxy resin containing glycidyl group-containing polybutadiene.
However, Asano et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a high quality and highly reliable electronic component sealed and molded of epoxy resin (epoxy resin composition 3/4), wherein the epoxy resin contains glycidyl group-containing polybutadiene (as the epoxy resin (A): page 5).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the epoxy resin taught by Asano et al. as Nozawa et al.’s first mold member, so as to obtain a high quality and highly reliable first switching element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853