DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 13, 15-16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cariou US 2023/0276357 (hereinafter Cariou).
Regarding Claim 1, Cariou teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device of a wireless local area network (WLAN), information relating to drift of a start time of a target wake time (TWT) schedule from a second device of the WLAN; and
([Cariou, Fig. 1, ¶39-¶41, ¶74, and ¶150] Cariou teaches wherein the communication device 102 and communication device 140 are both WLAN devices (comprising any of a non-AP STA or STA) communicating with each other via a WiFi channel of a wireless medium 103. [Cariou, ¶109-¶110, ¶223, ¶227-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293] Cariou teaches wherein the communication devices may experience drifts with respect to its TWT SP (comprising a start time of the TWT SP) and as a result may need to re-adjust and/or shift in time a TWT SP, which is a modification/update to the TWT SP schedule. Furthermore, Cariou teaches that information related to such modifications are received by a second STA according to ¶223, ¶234-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293 of Cariou as a setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields used to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs)
modifying, by the first device, a start time for a subsequent TWT service period, according to the information relating to the drift of the start time from the second device.
([Cariou,¶109-¶114, ¶220-¶223 & ¶236] The device 102 may modify and/or shift the TWT start time of a next TWT SP according to the TWT information comprising timing parameters relating to the drift from the other device 140).
Regarding Claim 10, Cariou teaches a first device, comprising:
a transceiver for operating in a wireless local area network (WLAN); and
([Cariou, Fig. 1, ¶39-¶41, ¶74 & ¶150] Cariou teaches wherein the claimed first device is any of the communication device 102 and communication device 140 which are both WLAN devices (comprising any of a non-AP STA or STA) communicating with each other via a WiFi channel of a wireless medium 103 using their internal radio 114/144 which comprises a transmitter 118/148 and receiver 116/146, interpreted as the claimed transceiver.)
one or more processors configured to:
receive, via the transceiver, information relating to drift of a start time of a target wake time (TWT) schedule from a second device; and
([Cariou, Fig. 1, ¶109-¶110] Cariou depicts one or more processors 181/191. ([Cariou, Fig. 1, ¶39-¶41, ¶74, and ¶150] Cariou teaches wherein the communication device 102 and communication device 140 are both WLAN devices (comprising any of a non-AP STA or STA) communicating with each other via a WiFi channel of a wireless medium 103 using the transmitter and receiver of the onboard radio as shown in Fig. 1. [Cariou, ¶109-¶110, ¶223, ¶227-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293] Additionally, Cariou teaches wherein drifts between the communication devices may experience drifts with respect to its TWT SP (comprising a start time of the TWT SP) and as a result may need to re-adjust and/or shift in time a TWT SP, which is a modification/update to the TWT SP schedule. Furthermore, Cariou teaches that information related to such modifications are received by a second STA according to ¶223, ¶234-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293 of Cariou as a setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields used to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs.)
modify a start time for a subsequent TWT service period, according to the information relating to the drift of the start time from the second device.
([Cariou, ¶109-¶114, ¶220-¶223 & ¶236] The device 102 may modify and/or shift the TWT start time of a next TWT SP according to the TWT information comprising timing parameters relating to the drift in the update from the other device 140).
Regarding Claim 19, Cariou teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting, by a first device of a wireless local area network (WLAN), information relating to drift of a start time of a target wake time (TWT) schedule to a second device of the WLAN; and
([Cariou, Fig. 1, ¶39-¶41, ¶74, and ¶150] Cariou teaches wherein the communication device 102 and communication device 140 are both WLAN devices (comprising any of a non-AP STA or STA) communicating with each other via a WiFi channel of a wireless medium 103. [Cariou, ¶109-¶110, ¶223, ¶227-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293] Cariou teaches wherein the communication devices may experience drifts with respect to its TWT SP (comprising a start time of the TWT SP) and as a result may need to re-adjust and/or shift in time a TWT SP, which is a modification/update to the TWT SP schedule. Furthermore, Cariou teaches that information related to such modifications are received by a second STA according to ¶223, ¶234-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293 of Cariou as a setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields used to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs)
modifying, by the first device, a start time for a subsequent TWT service period, according to the information relating to the drift of the start time.
([Cariou, ¶109-¶114, ¶220-¶223 & ¶236] The device 102 may modify and/or shift the TWT start time of a next TWT SP according to the TWT information comprising timing parameters relating to the drift).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 13 and Claim 20, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1, the device of claim 10 and the method of claim 19 respectively, wherein the information relating to the drift is received in a message comprising a TWT element indicating a start time and a wake interval of the TWT schedule.
([Cariou, ¶92 and ¶223] The received message of the TWT information comprises an TWT element which comprises a SP start time and SP interval scheduled and TWT information also comprises update information to modify and/or shift a TWT start time which corresponds to the drift.)
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 15, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 10, wherein the first device comprises at least one of an access point (AP) or a station device (STA), and wherein the second device comprises a different one of the AP or the STA. [Cariou, ¶34, ¶75, ¶98 The device 102 and device 140 include a STA and an AP.]
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 16, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 10, wherein the information relating to the drift of the start time comprises at least one of: a drift sign, a drift value, or an adjustment value. [Cariou, ¶223 and ¶228 (the claimed adjustment value is disclosed by Cariou as value corresponding to a time shift or modification of a TWT SP).]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Shafin et al. US 2024/0163791
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 11, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the first device of claim 10 respectively, wherein the first device receives the information of the TWT schedule from the second device ([Cariou, ¶137] Cariou discloses wherein device 102 receives information in a frame comprising TWT parameters of the next TWT SP (interpeted as the claimed "information of the TWT schedule") from the device 140, (interpreted as the claimed "second device")), but it does not teach wherein the information receives in an announcement.
However, Shafin teaches wherein the broadcast frame announcing a TWT schedule is received by a first station from the second device [Shafin, ¶25 and ¶112 ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou, indicating the ability to receive information of the TWT schedule from a second device, with the teachings of Shafin, indicating that the received information is an information announcement in the form of a broadcast. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to ensure that information is made available via a broadcast announcement to all stations within range having an exercisable interest joining the aligned schedule [Shafin, ¶25].
Regarding Claim 3 and claim 12, the combination of Cariou, in view of Shafin teaches the method of claim 2 and the first device of claim 11 respectively, wherein the announcement comprises at least one of a broadcast frame, the broadcast frame comprising a beacon response frame or a probe response frame, or an individually addressed frame to the first device, the individually addressed frame comprising an individual probe response frame or a re-association response frame. ([Shafin, ¶116] The announcing of a TWT schedule using a broadcast frame such as a probe response frame.)
The rationale of obviousness and motivation to combine the prior art applied to the rejections of claim 2 and claim 11 is also applied to the rejection of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou as applied to claim 1 and claim 10 respectively above, and further in view of Roden III US 9,645,553 (hereinafter Roden)
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 14, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the first device of claim 10 respectively, wherein the information relating to the drift is received in a message [Cariou, ¶109-¶110, ¶223, ¶227-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293] Cariou teaches wherein the communication devices may experience drifts with respect to its TWT SP (comprising a start time of the TWT SP) and as a result may need to re-adjust and/or shift in time a TWT SP, which is a modification/update to the TWT SP schedule. Furthermore, Cariou teaches that information related to such modifications are received in an information frame (interpreted as the claimed message) by a second STA according to ¶223, ¶234-¶236, ¶274-¶276 and ¶293 of Cariou as a setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields used to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs),
but it does not teach that the message is comprising a quality of service element.
However, Roden teaches wherein the information relating to the drift is received in a message comprising a quality of service element.
([Roden, Fol 6, Lines 40-43] quality of service data including drift timing information may be provided through a network interface.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou, indicating the ability to communicate information relating to the drift of the TWT SP in a message/frame, with the teachings of Roden, indicating that quality of service data including drift timing information may be provided through a network interface. The benefiting result would have been the increased reliability, accuracy and more fault-tolerant reference time [Roden, Col. 1, Lines 50-52].
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou as applied to claim 1 and claim 10 respectively above, and further in view of Cariou et al. US 2023/0239819 (hereinafter Cariou2).
Regarding Claim 9 and Claim 18, Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the first device of claim 10, wherein the information relating to the start time is carried in a TWT setup message, which further comprises one or more TWT elements.
(Cariou teaches wherein the communication devices 102 and 140 communicate with each other and may experience drifts with respect to its TWT SP start time as indicated in the rejection of claims 1 and 10 above and additional note ¶92 of Cariou for the Channel Usage Request frame which is a frame used to establish, secure or otherwise setup a TWT SP by request such that the setup TWT SP has the start time and other timing parameters indicated in the TWT elements of the request frame),
but it does not teach wherein the information relating to the drift of the start time is carried in a TWT setup frame, which further comprises one or more TWT elements.
However, Cariou2 teaches wherein the information relating to the drift of the start time is carried in a TWT setup frame, which further comprises one or more TWT elements.
([Cariou2, ¶41-¶43] The beacon frames advertising timing parameter corrections to TWT SP schedules are interpreted as being used for TWT setup as the beacon frames are carried between the devices for setting up TWT SPs with modifications/corrections and these beacon frames are able to setup this modified/corrected TWT SP using the timing parameters comprised within the beacon for updated and correcting TWT SP schedules, these TWT SP timing parameters are information related to the drift of a start time as the timing parameters are to compensate for the drift.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou, indicating the ability to setup a TWT SP schedule using timing information with the teachings of Cariou2, indicating that beacon frames comprise information that is used to setup TWT SP schedule corrections that are used to compensate for drift of a start time and other timing parameters. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to promote a standard defining the accuracy required for drifts of TWT SP schedules and improving time synchronization and coordination in wireless networks [Cariou2, ¶2 and ¶41].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner has conducted a search of the available Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of “the method of claim 7, wherein the information further comprises a frame rate” and “the first device of claim 16, wherein the information further comprises a frame rate”, in combination with their respective base claims and their respective intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467