DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 20th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-3 are currently amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections to the claims and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 30th, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginshosha (JP H03050865 U) in view of Sung (US 7,850,109).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 from Ginshosha
Regarding Claim 1, Ginshosha, Figures 1-5 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches a fishing reel (fishing reel; See Ginshosha, Claim 1, Ln. 1) including:
a spool 2 including a drum 2’ on which a fishing line is wound and a shaft 5 provided on a central portion 5’;
a facing member 40 provided on one side of the drum 2’ of the spool 2 and including a facing portion 41;
a magnetic brake 20’ including holders 20 provided in a circumferential direction of the facing portion 41 of the facing member 40 to be movable forwards and backwards in a direction perpendicular to an axial direction of the shaft 5 (See Ginshosha, Claim 1, Ln. 5-8) and magnets 22 mounted on the holders 20 to respectively have a facing surface 22’ facing the facing portion 41; and
a braking force control means 10’ for pushing the holders 20 by a cam operation to move the holders 20 forwards and backwards (See Ginshosha, Claim 1, Ln. 3-8) and controlling a braking force by adjusting a distance between the facing portion 41 and the magnets 22 (See Ginshosha, Brief Description of the Drawings, Ln. 3-13, Fig. 3-5).
Ginshosha teaches all the elements of the fishing reel except for an elastic member.
However, Sung, Figures 1-7, teaches an elastic member 17 for elastically supporting the holders 23 by pushing the holders 23 towards an original position of the magnets 23a (See Sung, Col. 4, Ln. 22-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginshosha with an elastic member, as taught by Sung, for the purpose of preventing backlash while increasing the casting distance (See Sung, Col. 4, Ln. 48-56).
Regarding Claim 2, Ginshosha in view of Sung are advanced above.
Ginshosha further teaches wherein the braking force control means 10’ includes:
a dial cam 10 configured to rotate in a circumferential direction of the spool 2 at one side of each of the holders 20 and including a cam portion 11 configured to push the holders 20 inwards or outwards to move forwards or backwards (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1 and 4-5); and
a control dial 12 provided on a side cover 3 to rotate the dial cam 10 (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginshosha (JP H03050865 U) in view of Sung (US 7,850,109) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Sekimoto (JP 2011206013 A) and Sakaguchi (US 6,328,240).
Regarding Claim 3, Ginshosha in view of Sung are advanced above.
Ginshosha further teaches a dial cam 10, and a control dial 12 provided on a side cover 3 to rotate the dial cam 10 (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1).
Ginshosha in view of Sung teach all the elements of the fishing reel except for an operating cam and the dial cam being configured to push the operating cam in an axial direction.
However, Sekimoto, Figures 6-9, teaches wherein the braking force control means includes:
an operating cam 110 configured to move forwards and backwards in an axial direction of the spool 18 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0037, Ln. 9-11) at one side of each of the holders 118 and including a cam portion 120, and
a dial cam 130 configured to rotate in a circumferential direction of the spool 18 at one side of the operating cam 110 and push the operating cam 110 in an axial direction to move forwards (See Sekimoto, Para. 0041, Ln. 1-4);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginshosha with an operating cam, as taught by Sekimoto, for the purpose of improving casting distance and preventing backlash (i.e. allowing for adjustment of initial and final magnetic braking force) (See Sekimoto, Para. 0007, Ln. 1-23, Para. 0041, Ln. 9-12).
Ginshosha in view of Sung and Sekimoto teach all the elements of the fishing reel except for the cam portion being configured to push the holders inwards or outwards to move forwards or backwards.
However, Sakaguchi, Figures 1-8, teaches a cam portion (cam surfaces; See Sakaguchi, Col. 4, Ln. 36) configured to push the holders 18 inwards or outwards to move forwards or backwards (See Sakaguchi, Col. 5, Ln. 59 - Col. 6, Ln. 9);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginshosha with a cam portion being configured to push the holders, as taught by Sakaguchi, for the purpose of making the braking force adjustment easier to perform by the user (i.e. adjusting the braking force without requiring disassembly) (See Sakaguchi, Col. 1, Ln. 33-38).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginshosha (JP H03050865 U) in view of Sung (US 7,850,109) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Sekimoto (JP 2011206013 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Ginshosha in view of Sung are advanced above.
Ginshosha further teaches wherein the holders 20 of the magnetic brake 20’ are provided in the circumferential direction of the facing portion 41 and are configured to move forwards and backwards in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 in a direction of an inner surface or an outer surface of the facing portion 41 (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1 and 4-5).
Ginshosha in view of Sung teach all the elements of the fishing reel except for the facing member being a variable body able to be moved along the axial direction of the spool.
However, Sekimoto, Figures 1-3, teaches wherein the facing member 42 is a variable body (moving body; See Sekimoto, Para. 0012, Ln. 4) coupled to one edge of the shaft 14 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0012, Ln. 4-5) to move forwards and backwards in an axial direction of the spool 18 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0013, Ln. 4-5),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginshosha with a variable body movable forwards and backwards in an axial direction of the spool, as taught by Sekimoto, for the purpose of improving casting distance and preventing backlash (i.e. allowing for different braking performance in each region the variable body moves through along the axis of the spool) (See Sekimoto, Para. 0007, Ln. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 5, Ginshosha in view of Sung and Sekimoto are advanced above.
Sekimoto further teaches wherein the variable body (moving body; See Sekimoto, Para. 0012, Ln. 4) is elastically supported toward the spool 18 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0015, Ln. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginshosha with a variable body elastically supported toward the spool, as taught by Sekimoto, for the purpose of improving casting distance and preventing backlash (i.e. allowing for different braking performance in each region the variable brake moves through along the axis of the spool) (See Sekimoto, Para. 0007, Ln. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 6, Ginshosha in view of Sung and Sekimoto are advanced above.
Ginshosha further teaches wherein the braking force control means 10’ includes:
a dial cam 10 configured to rotate in a circumferential direction of the spool 2 at one side of the holders 20 and push the holders 20 in a direction perpendicular to an axial direction of the spool 2 to move forwards (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1 and 4-5); and
a control dial 12 provided on a side cover 3 to rotate the dial cam 10 (See Ginshosha, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Ginshosha in view of Sung and Sekimoto are advanced above.
Ginshosha further teaches a spool cover 30 at one side of the holders 20, wherein a receiving portion 33 in which the holders 20 are received is defined by the spool cover 30 (See Ginshosha, Claim 1, Ln. 9-11), and the spool cover 30 includes guide grooves 23 configured to guide the holders 20 in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 (See Ginshosha, Claim 2, Ln. 4-7).
Although the guide recesses are located on the magnet holders instead of the spool cover, these recesses mate with the guide projections located on the spool cover for the purpose of guiding the magnet holders in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool. Switching the location of the recesses and projections is an obvious matter of design choice and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide recess on the spool cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 4-7, filed December 20th, 2025, have been fully considered.
Regarding the objections to the Claims, Applicant has submitted acceptable amendments. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Ginshosha (JP H03050865 U) in view of Sung (US 7,850,109) are utilized in the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding the rejections of Claims 2-7, the claims are dependents of rejected claim 1 and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669