DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “(INCI Sultaines)” in line 3 of claim 16. This limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear if the limitation that appears within the parentheses is required. Claim 17 is included in this rejection for being dependent upon claim 16. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/190131.
Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/190131, discloses a cleaning composition comprising 20-70% by weight of a surfactant system, wherein the surfactant system contains 1-70% by weight of an anionic surfactant, such as branched C12-18 alkyl sulphates (see page 5, line 9-page 11, line 6), linear C10-13 alkyl benzene sulfonates, and C12 alkyl sulphate (see page 11, lines 7-23), and 0.1-15% by weight of a nonionic surfactant, such as ethoxylated alcohols and alkylpolyglycosides (see page 12, line 7-page 13, line 7), wherein the ratio of anionic surfactant to nonionic surfactant is 2:1 to 15:1 (see page 13, lines 8-14). It is further taught by Frankenbach et al that the composition further contains zwitterionic surfactants, such as alkyl betaines (see page 13, line 30-page 14, line 6), and that the composition contains 6.51-6.57% by weight of lactic acid (see Examples 1B and 1C), wherein the neat pH of the composition is 4.2-5 (see Example 1A-1C), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note the Examples in Tables 1-3, and especially note Examples 2.1-2.3, which contain 5.8% by weight of a lactic acid, 2.8% by weight of C11.8 linear alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, 13.6% by weight of HSAS (i.e., a mid-chain branched alcohol sulfate), 2.2% by weight of an ethoxylated alcohol, and adjunct ingredients, resulting in a ratio of sulfated anionic surfactant to sulfonated anionic surfactant of 4.86:1, and a nonionic surfactant content of 6.3% by weight of the surfactant system (i.e., 2.2/34.9). Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/190131.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/018309.
Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/018309, discloses a cleaning composition comprising a surfactant system comprising one or more anionic surfactants, a cleaning enzyme, and an organic acidulant having a calculated stability constant for Ca2+ of less than about 1.5 at a pH of about 4, wherein the cleaning composition has a neat pH of from about 2 to about 6 (see abstract and page 1, lines 23-30). It is further taught by Frankenbach et al that the cleaning composition contains 2-20% by weight of the organic acidulant, such as lactic acid (see page 4, line 16-page 6, line 3), that the cleaning composition contains 0.1-60% by weight of a surfactant system, wherein 20-97% by weight of the surfactant system is an anionic surfactant, such as C10-16 alkyl benzene sulfonates and C10-15 alkyl sulfates (see page 6, line 10-page 8, line 16), 0.01-10% by weight of a nonionic surfactant, such as alcohol ethoxylates and alkyl polysaccharides (see page 15, line 5-page 16, line 18), and amphoteric/zwitterionic surfactants, such as alkyl betaines (see page 17, line 19-page 18, line 10), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Example 1B, which contains 6.51% by weight of a lactic acid, 2.96% by weight of C11.8 linear alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, 15.42% by weight of HSAS, 2.37% by weight of an ethoxylated alcohol, and adjunct ingredients, resulting in a ratio of sulfated anionic surfactant to sulfonated anionic surfactant of 5.21:1, and a nonionic surfactant content of 6.15% by weight of the surfactant system (i.e., 2.37/38.54). Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by Frankenbach et al, WO 2014/018309.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Huang et al, US 2022/0195350.
Huang et al, US 2022/0195350, discloses an anti-microbial detergent composition comprising 0.01-3% by weight of a diphenyl ether, 4.5-40% by weight of an organic acid, and from 4-60% by weight of a surfactant system, wherein the surfactant system comprises an anionic surfactant, such as C6-20 alkyl linear alkylbenzene sulfonates and C6-20 alkyl sulfates, and the composition has a neat pH of from 1.5-5.0 (see abstract and paragraphs 8-14 and 27). It is further taught by Huang et al that preferred organic acids include lactic acid (see paragraph 25), that the composition further contains nonionic surfactants, such as ethoxylated alcohols and alkyl polysaccharides, wherein the weight ratio of anionic surfactant to nonionic surfactant is 1.3 to 5 (see paragraphs 28-29 and 34), that the composition contains 2-35% by weight of anionic surfactants (see paragraph 29), 2-35% by weight of nonionic surfactants (see paragraph 30), and betaines (see paragraph 75), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note the Examples in Tables 1-7, and especially note Examples 4A and 4D-4F. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are anticipated by Huang et al, US 2022/0195350.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,171. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/621,171 claims a similar liquid hand dishwashing composition comprising 5-50% by weight of a surfactant system, wherein the surfactant system contains 60% by weight of anionic surfactants, at least 50% by weight of the anionic surfactant is a C8-18 alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant having an average degree of alkoxylation of less than about 0.1, 15% by weight of a cosurfactant, such as alkyl betaines, lactic acid, a sulfonated anionic surfactant, and adjunct ingredients, wherein the pH of the composition is less than 5 (see claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,171), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,171.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/621,222 claims a similar liquid hand dishwashing composition comprising 15-50% by weight of a surfactant system, wherein the surfactant system contains at least 40% by weight of anionic surfactants, at least 50% by weight of the anionic surfactant is a C8-18 alkyl sulfated anionic surfactant having an average degree of alkoxylation of less than about 1.0, 0.1-10% by weight of an alkyl polyglucoside surfactant, lactic acid, a sulfonated anionic surfactant, alkyl betaines, and adjunct ingredients, wherein the pH of the composition is less than 5 (see claims 1-13 and 15-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,222), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-13 and 15-19 of copending Application No. 18/621,222.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
June 1, 2026