DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed 9/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15, and 17-19 remain pending in the application; claims 5, 14, 16, and 20 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each objection, each 112(a) rejection, and each 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/26/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pp. 8-9 of Remarks that neither Chung et al. nor Lubart disclose the irradiance range recited in newly amended claim 1. This is not persuasive as it would have been obvious to modify the device of Chung et al. based on the teachings of Lubart to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. Regarding the argument that Lubart does not provide any motivation to narrow the irradiance range of 1 to 1000 mW/cm2 to 0.1 to 0.8 mW/cm2, Lubart explicitly discloses that at a wavelength of 300-400 nm (which overlaps the claimed range of 390-420 nm) an irradiance of about 2 mW/cm2 is preferred (Col. 1, line 48). Lubart also discloses that the most preferable intensity is to be determined experimentally (Col. 1, line 53). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05 II). Lubart discloses the general conditions for the preferable light irradiance/intensity at a wavelength of 300-400 nm, as set forth above, and the skilled artisan would recognize that adjusting the light irradiance/intensity would adjust the fertilizing capacity of sperm cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover an optimum range for light irradiance/intensity.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is recommended that "a mounting unit configured support the sperm container" in lines 3-4 read "a mounting unit configured . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“holding unit” in claims 1, 10, and 17;
“mounting unit” in claims 1 and 10;
“light controller unit” in claims 1, 6-9, 13, and 15;
“thermal controller unit” in claims 2, 11, 13, and 18;
“temperature controlling member” in claim 12.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim limitation “temperature controlling member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description in the specification fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts to the function, as will be discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section below. Therefore, the claim limitation lacks adequate description support under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Regarding claim 12, the claim limitation “temperature controlling member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The temperature controlling member is only described in the written description as a temperature controlling member to control the temperature of the heating body and/or the heat transfer medium (para. 0048). The written description does not appear to disclose any actual structure for this temperature controlling member to perform the function of controlling temperature. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10, 12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a holding unit configured to hold a sperm container (chamber 101) or a mounting unit configured to support the container (plate 110); a light source (light source 120) configured to irradiate the container held or supported by the holding unit or the mounting unit (para. 0055 “light source 120 installed in the chamber 101 to irradiate light toward the plate 110”); and a light controller unit configured to control the light source (light quantity controller 130).
Chung et al. does not explicitly disclose the light having wavelengths in a range of 390-420 nm. However, Lubart discloses light having wavelengths ranging from about 300 to about 1000 nm has a positive effect on sperm fertilizing capability (Col. 1, lines 29-32). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range of a light having wavelengths in a range of 390-420 nm from the broader prior art range of a light having wavelengths ranging from about 300 to about 1000 nm with a reasonable expectation that it would have a positive effect on sperm fertilizing capability. This method for modifying Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lubart. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chung et al. and Lubart to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Chung et al. does not explicitly disclose a light source that emits light at an irradiance of 0.1 to 0.8 mW/cm2. However, Lubart discloses light irradiating in the range of 300 to 400 nm at an intensity of about 2 mW/cm2 (Col. 1, line 48). It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP § 2144.05 I). The claimed range of 0.1 to 0.8 mW/cm2 is obvious in view of Lubart because Lubart discloses a light irradiance/intensity of about 2 mW/cm2 which is close to the claimed range and within the claimed wavelength of light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed range from the close prior art light irradiance/intensity because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a light irradiance/intensity close to 2 mW/cm2 (i.e. 0.8 mW/cm2) would improve the fertilizing capacity of sperm cells (Col. 1, line 41) in the absence of any clear evidence to the contrary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chung et al. and Lubart to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. It is also noted that “about” permits some tolerance.
Though Chung et al.’s device is directed to a photobioreactor, the problem faced by the inventor of the instant application is irradiating spermatozoa cells with light, and Chung et al.’s configuration of a photobioreactor comprising a chamber for holding cells and light sources is reasonably pertinent to solving this problem.
Regarding claim 2, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus further comprising a thermal controller unit configured to control a temperature of the sperm container at a predefined temperature (abstract “temperature controller controlling a temperature of the plate”).
Regarding claim 4, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the light source is a light-emitting diode or a laser diode (para. 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the light controller unit is configured to control the light source to emit continuous light, intermittent light, or a combination thereof (para. 0019 “The light quantity controller may be a dimmer connected to the light source to control a supply amount of current to control brightness of the light source”).
Regarding claim 10, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus further comprising a housing having in its inside, at least the holding unit or the mounting unit and the light source (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus further comprising a heating body (para. 0021 “temperature control pipe”) and/or a heat transfer medium (para. 0021 “hot water or heated air”), and a temperature controlling member to control the temperature of the heating body and/or the heat transfer medium (abstract “temperature controller controlling a temperature of the plate”; paras. 0021, 0023).
Regarding claim 17, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the holding unit has one or more grooves, each having a rectangular, triangle, or arc cross section (Fig. 1 space where the plate 110 is mounted; para. 0056 “the chamber 101 is typically provided with a receiving space”).
Regarding claim 18, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus further comprising a thermal controller unit configured to control a temperature of the container at a predefined temperature (abstract “temperature controller controlling a temperature of the plate”).
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US 2019/0168017 A1, hereinafter referred to as Morita ‘017) (already of record).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the light source emits light having a wavelength spectrum with a peak wavelength at 405 ± 15 nm (see claim 1 above), but does not disclose light with a half-width of 0.1-20 nm. However, Morita ‘017 discloses a light emission spectrum where full width at half maximum is equal to or less than 20 nm (abstract) which is safe parameter that will not damage cells (paras. 0011-0013). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘017 configuration of light with a half-width of equal to or less than 20 nm in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would be a safe parameter that will not damage cells. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘017 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, modified Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a temperature controller and a light source configured to emit light having a wavelength spectrum with a peak wavelength at 405 ± 15 nm (see claim 1 above), but does not disclose light with a half-width of 0.1-20 nm. However, Morita ‘017 discloses a light emission spectrum where full width at half maximum is equal to or less than 20 nm (abstract) which is safe parameter that will not damage cells (paras. 0011-0013). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘017 configuration of light with a half-width of equal to or less than 20 nm in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would be a safe parameter that will not damage cells. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘017 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, modified Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the light source is configured to emit light having a wavelength spectrum with a peak wavelength at 405 ± 15 nm (see claim 1 above), but does not disclose light with a half-width of 0.1-20 nm. However, Morita ‘017 discloses a light emission spectrum where full width at half maximum is equal to or less than 20 nm (abstract) which is safe parameter that will not damage cells (paras. 0011-0013). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘017 configuration of light with a half-width of equal to or less than 20 nm in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would be a safe parameter that will not damage cells. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘017 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US 2018/0193659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Morita ‘659) (already of record).
Regarding claim 7, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a light controller unit (light quantity controller 130), but does not disclose wherein the light controller unit is configured to control the light source to emit pulsed light whose pulse width is 100 ms or less and whose duty ratio is 50% or less. However, Morita ‘659 discloses a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less (para. 0094) which provides a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation (para. 0093). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘659 configuration of a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would provide a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘659. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a temperature controller (abstract) and a light quantity controller (130), but does not disclose wherein the light controller unit is configured to control the light source to emit pulsed light whose pulse width is 100 ms or less and whose duty ratio is 50% or less. However, Morita ‘659 discloses a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less (para. 0094) which provides a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation (para. 0093). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘659 configuration of a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would provide a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘659. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robins et al. (US 2007/0129776 A1) (already of record).
Regarding claim 8, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a light controller unit (light quantity controller 130), but does not disclose wherein the light controller unit comprises a pulse width modulation circuit. However, Robins et al. discloses a pulse width modulation circuit which determines the frequency of pulses of light and light intensity (para. 0221). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Robins et al. configuration of a pulse width modulation circuit in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would determine the frequency of pulses of light and light intensity. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Robins et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Robins et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thai et al. (US 2018/0029908 A1) (already of record).
Regarding claim 9, Chung et al. discloses an apparatus comprising a light source (120) and a light quantity controller (130), but does not disclose wherein the light controller unit comprises a timer. However, Thai et al. discloses a timer which periodically turns a light source off and on, which optimizes algae growth (para. 0092). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Thai et al. configuration of a light source timer in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would optimize operation of the device. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Thai et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Thai et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Though Thai et al.’s device is directed to a water filtering system for growing algae, the problem faced by the inventor of the instant application is controlling the amount of light irradiating spermatozoa, and Thai et al.’s configuration of a light source timer is reasonably pertinent to solving this problem.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0362561 A1) (already of record) in view of Lubart (US 6,379,939) (already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US 2019/0168017 A1, hereinafter referred to as Morita ‘017) (already of record) and Morita et al. (US 2018/0193659 A1, hereinafter referred to as Morita ‘659) (already of record).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chung et al. discloses an apparatus wherein the light source configured to emit light having a wavelength spectrum with a peak wavelength at 405 ± 15 nm (see claim 1 above), but does not disclose light with a half-width of 0.1-20 nm. However, Morita ‘017 discloses a light emission spectrum where full width at half maximum is equal to or less than 20 nm (abstract) which is safe parameter that will not damage cells (paras. 0011-0013). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘017 configuration of light with a half-width of equal to or less than 20 nm in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would be a safe parameter that will not damage cells. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘017 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Chung et al. also discloses a light quantity controller (130), but does not disclose wherein the light controller unit is configured to control the lighting unit to emit pulsed light whose pulse width is 100 ms or less and whose duty ratio is 50% or less. However, Morita ‘659 discloses a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less (para. 0094) which provides a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation (para. 0093). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Morita ‘659 configuration of a pulse width modulation control with a pulse width of 4 µs and a duty ratio of 50% or less in modified Chung et al.’s device with a reasonable expectation that it would provide a therapeutic effect that is the same as that during continuous irradiation. This method for improving modified Chung et al.’s device was within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Morita ‘659. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of modified Chung et al. and Morita ‘659 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY LOPEZLIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799