DETAILED ACTIONS
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 – 12, 15 – 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (WO2022/133174 A2) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0000283A1).
Regarding Independent claim 11, Brown teaches a mop accessory (60 D and W, Paragraph 187) for a robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1), the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) comprising: a fluid reservoir ((18, Paragraph [0085]); a vapor generator in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (18, Paragraph [0061]); an outlet port (54 Paragraph [0061] and [0077]) in fluid communication with the vapor generator (Paragraph [0061]), wherein the outlet port is configured to dispense vapor from the vapor generator to a floor surface (“delivering the cleaning fluid to the surface” Paragraph 63); and an energy source (batteries, 81, Fig. 3) coupled to the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) and in electrical communication with the vapor generator (Paragraphs [0063] and [0085]), wherein the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) is removably
attachable to a main body (12, Fig 1) of the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) at a connection interface (78, Paragraph [0089] of the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 12, Brown teaches the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) wherein the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) is one of a plurality of removable accessories (Paragraph [0084]) each being removably attachable at the connection interface (78, Fig 5), and wherein the robotic surface cleaner (12, Fig 1) is configured to detect a type of removable accessory attached at the connection interface (78, Paragraph [0102]). The examiner notes that the robot detects the status of the collection bin of the dry module and the tank empty sensor or the wet module, thus it is configured to detect which module is connected to provide correct sensor information.
Regarding claim 15, Brown teaches discloses the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) further comprising: a pump (132, Paragraph [0117]) configured to provide at least some of the fluid from the fluid reservoir (18, Paragraph [0085]) to the vapor generator (Paragraphs [0061], [0063] and [0117]), wherein the vapor generator is configured to preheat the at least some of the fluid when the robotic surface cleaner is docked to a docking station (Paragraph [0078]), and the vapor generator is at least partially powered by the docking station (14, Paragraphs [0135] and [0155]).
Regarding claim 16, Brown teaches the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) wherein power to preheat the fluid is provided entirely by the docking station (14, Paragraph [0135]). The examiner notes that the fan and heater can be supplied on docking station).
Regarding claim 18, Brown teaches the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) wherein the robotic surface cleaner is at least partially controllable by a remote device operable by a user to assign cleaning zones to be associated with the mop accessory (60W, Paragraph [0090]), and wherein the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) is configured to activate and deactivate the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) based on the assigned cleaning zones (“The controller 30 can receive input from the navigation/mapping system 28 or from a remote device such as a smartphone (not shown) for directing the robot 12 over the surface to be cleaned.” Paragraphs [0087], [0090] and [0092].
Regarding claim 19, Brown teaches the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) wherein the vapor generator is a steam generator (“dispensed on the surface as liquid, steam, mist, vapor, or mixture thereof” (Paragraphs [0061], [0063] and [0117]), and wherein the outlet port is configured to dispense steam from the steam generator to the floor surface (Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 20, Brown teaches a docking station (14, Paragraph [0059]) associated with the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) is configured to dry the mop pad while the robotic surface cleaner is docked at the docking station (14, Paragraphs [0051] – [0053]), and wherein drying the mop pad is performed using airflow generated at least in part by the docking station (“Optionally, the fan 170 energizes and generates a drying airflow…The airflow may further have the benefit of evaporating any retained moisture in the pads”, Paragraph [0153])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO2022/133174 A2) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0000283A1) in view of Minwoo (WO 2022182201 A1) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0138644 A1).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Brown teaches a robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) comprising: a main body (12, Fig 1) comprising: a vacuum inlet port (38, Fig. 4) in fluid communication with a suction source (Paragraphs [0088] and [0089]); a first energy source (batteries, 81, Fig. 3) coupled to the main body (12, Paragraph [0095]) and in electrical communication with the suction source (Paragraph [0095]); and a connection interface (78, Paragraph [0089]); and a mop accessory (60W, Paragraph [0084]) removably attachable to the main body (12, Fig 4) at the connection interface (78, Figs. 4 and 5); the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) comprising: a fluid reservoir (18, Paragraph [0085]); a vapor generator in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (Paragraph [0061]); an outlet port in fluid communication with the vapor generator and configured to dispense vapor from the vapor generator to a floor surface (54, Paragraphs [0063] and [0077]); the energy source (batteries, 81, Fig. 3) coupled to the mop accessory (60W) and in electrical communication with the vapor generator (Paragraphs [0063] and [0085]).
Brown does not explicitly teach a second energy source.
Minwoo teaches a cleaner (1) with a first energy source (battery, 190) coupled to the main body (1) and in electrical communication with the suction source (Paragraph [0079]); and a second energy source (auxiliary battery, 500) coupled to the mop accessory (300) and in electrical communication with the vapor generator (steam generator, 336; Paragraphs [0243] and [0246]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Brown to further include a second energy source, as taught by Minwoo, to provide a cleaner that can perform continues cleaning operations without power loss.
Regarding claim 2, Brown, as modified, teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) is one of a plurality of removable accessories (“each module can be installed and removed”, Paragraph 84) each being removably attachable at the connection interface (78, Fig 5), and wherein the robotic surface cleaner (12, Fig 1) is configured to detect a type of removable accessory attached at the connection interface (78, Paragraph 102). The examiner notes that the robot detects the status of the collection bin of the dry module and the tank empty sensor or the wet module, thus is configures to detect which module is connected to provide correct sensor information.
Regarding claim 6, Brown, as modified, teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) further comprising: a pump (132, Paragraph 117) configured to provide at least some of the fluid from the fluid reservoir (18, Paragraph 85) to the vapor generator (“dispensed on the surface as liquid, steam, mist, vapor, or mixture thereof” Paragraphs 61, 63 and 117), wherein the vapor generator is configured to preheat the at least some of the fluid when the robotic surface cleaner is docked to a docking station (Paragraph 78), and the vapor generator is at least partially powered by the docking station (14, Paragraphs 135 and 155).
Regarding claim 7, Brown, as modified, teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) wherein power to preheat the fluid is provided entirely by the docking station (14, Paragraph 135). The examiner notes that the fan and heater can be supplied on docking station.
Regarding claim 8, Brown, as modified, teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) wherein the robotic surface cleaner is at least partially controllable by a remote device operable by a user to assign cleaning zones to be associated with the mop accessory (60W, Paragraph 90), and wherein the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) is configured to activate and deactivate the mop accessory (60W) based on the assigned cleaning zones (“The controller 30 can receive input from the navigation/
mapping system 28 or from a remote device such as a smartphone (not shown) for directing the robot 12 over the surface to be cleaned.” Paragraphs 87, 90 and 92).
Regarding claim 9, Brown, as modified, discloses the robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein the vapor generator is a steam generator (“dispensed on the surface as liquid, steam, mist, vapor, or mixture thereof” Paragraphs 61, 63 and 117), and wherein the outlet port is configured to dispense steam from the steam generator to the floor surface (Paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 10, Brown, as modified, teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) wherein the mop accessory (60W) comprises a mop pad (16, Paragraph 86), wherein a docking station (14, Paragraph 80) associated with the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) is configured to dry the mop pad while the robotic surface cleaner is docked at the docking station (14, Paragraphs 151 – 153), and wherein drying the mop pad is performed using airflow generated at least in part by the docking station (Paragraph 153).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO2022/133174 A2) citing equivalent (US Patent No.: 2024/0000283A1) in view of Minwoo (WO 2022182201 A1) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0138644 A1) and Augenbraun et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0306822 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Brown teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig 1) wherein the robotic surface cleaner (12, Fig 1) comprises a logic device and a detector in electronic communication with the logic device (Paragraph 190).
Brown does not teach wherein the mop accessory comprises an identifier, and wherein the logic device is configured to determine an identity of the mop accessory when the identifier is within a predetermined range of the detector.
Augenbraun, however teaches a robot surface cleaner (100, Augenbraun Fig 1A) wherein the mop accessory comprises an identifier (“detector component”, Paragraph 0014), and wherein the logic device is configured to determine an identity of the mop accessory when the identifier is within a predetermined range of the detector (Paragraph 14, when attached).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner of Brown to further include the mop accessory comprises an identifier, and wherein the logic device is configured to determine an identity of the mop accessory when the identifier is within a predetermined range of the detector, as taught by Augenbraun, to provide a cleaner where the individual mop accessories can be replaced, thus saving on time and resources.
Regarding claim 17, Brown discloses the mop accessory (60W, Fig 5) of claim 11, as discussed above.
Brown does not teach wherein the mop accessory comprises a unique identifier recognizable by the robotic surface cleaner when the mop accessory is received at the connection interface such that the robotic surface cleaner recognizes the mop accessory when the mop accessory is attached to the main body at the connection interface.
Augenbraun, however teaches the mop accessory (functional cartridge) comprises a unique identifier (“a detector component”, Paragraph 14) recognizable by the robotic surface cleaner (100, Augenbraun Fig 1A) when the mop accessory (functional cartridge) is received at the connection interface such that the robotic surface cleaner (100) recognizes the mop accessory when the mop accessory is attached to the main body at the connection interface (Paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mop accessory of Brown to further include a unique identifier recognizable by the robotic surface cleaner when the mop accessory is received at the connection interface such that the robotic surface cleaner recognizes the mop accessory when the mop accessory is attached to the main body at the connection interface, as taught by Augenbraun, to provide a cleaner where the individual mop accessories can be replaced, thus saving on time and resources.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO2022/133174 A2) citing equivalent (US Publication No.: 2024/0000283A1) in view of Minwoo (WO 2022182201 A1) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0138644 A1) and Serbetci (US Publication No.: 2023/0418304 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Brown teacehs the robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) of claim 1 and mop accessory of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brown further teaches the robotic cleaner having a bumper (36, Fig. 4) and dispensing of vapor (Paragraphs 61 and 63) but fails to explicitly disclose the mop accessory further comprises a bumper, and further wherein displacement of the bumper terminates dispensing of vapor from the outlet port.
Serbetci, however, teaches the robotic cleaner having a bumper (bumper, 6; Fig. 1), and further wherein displacement of the bumper (6) terminates dispensing from the outlet port (Paragraphs 76, 77 and 85).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mop accessory of Brown to further include a bumper, and further wherein displacement of the bumper terminates dispensing of vapor from the outlet port, as taught by Serbetci, to provide a cleaner where the systems are shut down, thus preventing damage to the electrical components.
Serbetci however, fails to explicitly teach the mop accessory further comprises a bumper.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mop accessory of Serbetci to further include the mop accessory further comprises a bumper since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part C)
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO2022/133174 A2) citing equivalent (US Publication 2024/0000283A1) in view of Minwoo (WO 2022182201 A1) citing equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication 2024/0138644 A1) and Zhang et al. (US Publication No. 2021/0228050 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Brown teaches the robotic surface cleaner (Fig. 1) of claim 1 and mop accessory of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brown does not explicitly teach the first and second energy sources are selectively operable in a share mode and an individual mode, wherein in the share mode power from at least one of the first and second energy sources is provided to the main body and the mop accessory, and wherein in the individual mode power from the first and second energy sources is provided exclusively to the main body and the mop accessory, respectively.
Zhang, however, teaches the first and second energy sources (first and second motors; Paragraph 59) are selectively operable in a share mode and an individual mode (Paragraph 59), wherein in the share mode power from at least one of the first and second energy sources is provided to the main body and the mop accessory (Paragraph 59), and wherein in the individual mode power from the first and second energy sources is provided exclusively to the main body and the mop accessory, respectively (Paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mop accessory of Brown to further include the first and second energy sources are selectively operable in a share mode and an individual mode, wherein in the share mode power from at least one of the first and second energy sources is provided to the main body and the mop accessory, and wherein in the individual mode power from the first and second energy sources is provided exclusively to the main body and the mop accessory, respectively, as taught by Zhang, to provide a cleaner where the systems can conserve power and/or change the power, to provide a better cleaning experience depending on the dirt level.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated July 21, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Minwoo.
Conclusion
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723