DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is responsive to the claim amendment filed on 04/26/2026. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome et al. (JP2018115774A, previously cited and applied) in view of Andou.
Regarding claim 1, Saotome discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille attached to the bottom frame, and a front panel attached to the front grille (see the annotated figure A above);
a heat exchanger (3) disposed inside the casing (1) and in front of the bottom frame (see figures 1-2 and annotated figure A above); and
a connection pipe (10), connected to the heat exchanger (3), through which a refrigerant flows (see figure 2), wherein
the connection pipe (10) includes a first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity” or “strength”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figure 2; noted that the thermal conductivity for Al is approximately 237W/mK and the thermal conductivity for Cu is approximately 400 W/mk; or see paragraph 2 of page 11 for strength description between aluminum and copper), and
one end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figure 2), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figure 2).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the casing has: a first space defined by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel; and a second space formed behind the bottom frame, the one end of the second refrigerant pipe is connected to the other end of the first refrigerant pipe in the first space, and the second refrigerant pipe is disposed in the second space.
Andou teaches an indoor unit which comprising a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille attached to the bottom frame, and a front panel attached to the front grille (see figures 1-2 and the annotated figure A above);
the casing (1) has:
a first space defined by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see annotated figure A above); and
a second space formed behind the bottom frame (see the annotated figure A above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate the claimed spaces arrangement as taught by Andou in order to provide spaces to accommodate the refrigerant pipes. Upon the modification, the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu, Saotome) is disposed in the second space (see figure 2 of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above), and the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu, Saotome) is connected (the connection points C23 and C33; see figures 3-4 of Saotome) to the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al, Saotome) in the first space (see figures 2-4 and the annotated figure A of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above).
Regarding claim 2, Saotome discloses the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is above the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Saotome discloses the indoor unit further comprising:
a tubular member (40) that covers a part (the lower part) of the connection pipe (10) but does not cover the other part of the connection pipe (10; see figure 2), wherein
in the other part (the upper part) of the connection pipe (10), the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Saotome as modified discloses the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu) includes a bent section (the lower bent section) that is bent to protrude downward and that is in the casing (1; see figure 2 of Andou).
Regarding claim 5, Saotome discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille attached to the bottom frame, and a front panel attached to the front grille (see figure 1 and the annotated figure A above);
a heat exchanger (3) disposed inside the casing (1) in front of the bottom frame (see figures 1-2 and annotated figure A above);
a first connection pipe (30), through which a refrigerant flows, including a first refrigerant pipe (30Al) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity” or “strength”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figure 2; noted that the thermal conductivity for Al is approximately 237W/mK and the thermal conductivity for Cu is approximately 400 W/mk; or see paragraph 2 of page 11 for strength description between aluminum and copper), wherein one end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figure 2), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu; see figures 2-4), and
a second connection pipe (20), through which a refrigerant flows, including a third refrigerant pipe (20Al) made of the first metal (aluminum) and a fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) made of the second metal (copper), wherein one end of the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figures 2-4), and the other end of the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) is connected to one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu; see figures 2-4).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the casing has: a first space defined by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel; and a second space formed behind the bottom frame, the first refrigerant pipe and the third refrigerant pipe are disposed in the first space, the second refrigerant pipe and the fourth refrigerant pipe are disposed in the second space, the one end of the second refrigerant pipe is connected to the other end of the first refrigerant pipe in the first space, and the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe is connected to the other end of the third refrigerant pipe in the first space.
Andou teaches an indoor unit which comprising a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille attached to the bottom frame, and a front panel attached to the front grille (see figures 1-2 and the annotated figure A above); the casing (1) has: a first space defined by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see annotated figure B above); and a second space formed behind the bottom frame (see annotated figure B above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate the claimed spaces arrangement as taught by Andou in order to provide spaces to accommodate the refrigerant pipes. Upon the modification, the modified indoor unit of Saotome provides the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) and the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) are disposed in the first space (see figures 2-3 of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above), the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) and the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) are disposed in the second space (see figures 2-3 of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above), the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) is connected (the connection point C33, see figure 4 of Saotome) to the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) in the first space (see figures 2-4 of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above), and the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) is connected (the connection point C23, see figure 3 of Saotome) to the other end of the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) in the first space (see figures 2-3 of Saotome and the annotated figure B of Andou above).
Regarding claim 6, Saotome discloses the first connection pipe (30) is a liquid pipe (abstract), the second connection pipe (20) is a gas pipe (abstract).
Though Saotome fails to explicitly disclose the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing, Saotome discloses a connection portions (C23 and C33; see figures 3-4). Also, there are only three possibilities between the other end of the refrigerant pipe(30Al) and the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu). The first possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing; the second possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is below the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing and the third possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is located at the same height as the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to try to modify the indoor unit to achieve the claimed feature that the other end of the first refrigerant pipe is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe since the modification is chosen from finite number of identified solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP2143 section E).
Regarding claim 7, Saotome discloses the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) does not overlap the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) as the casing (1) is viewed from above (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Saotome discloses an air conditioner (100) comprising the indoor unit (101) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above; see figure 1).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome in view of Andou as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sato et al. (JPH08159511A, previously cited an applied).
Regarding claim 9, Saotome discloses the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) above the lowest part of the heat exchanger 3) in the casing (1; see figure 2 of Saotome and figures 2-3 of Andou).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the other end of the first refrigerant pipe is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe above a drain pan in the casing.
Sato teaches an indoor unit comprising a drain pan (7) located below a heat exchanger (6). The refrigerant pipes are connected above the drain pan (7) in the casing (see figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate a drain pan and the claimed arrangement between the pipe connection and the drain pan as taught by Sato in order to collect and drain out condensate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on the Remarks filed on 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in paragraphs 2-3 of page 8 with respect to the 103 rejections that “As explained above, amended independent claims 1 and 5 are patentable over Andou. The other cited references fail to provide what Andou lacks. Furthermore, there is no reasonable rationale to support a prima facie case of obviousness based on the combination of these references” has been fully considered. However, the Office respectfully disagrees. In the current action, the primary reference Saotome already discloses the claimed first and second refrigerant pipes and the connection of the pipe as required in claim 1 and the claimed first, second, third and fourth refrigerant pipes and the claimed connection of the pipes as required in claim 5. The Office did not rely on the refrigerant pipes and pipe connections of Andou to modify the indoor unit of Saotome. The Office only relies on the first and second spaces which defined by the bottom frame, a front grill and the front panel of Andou to modify the housing of the Saotome for the rejection of claims 1 and 5. Upon the modification of Saotome in view of Andou, the modified housing (1) of Saotome would include the first and second spaces (see annotated figure B above) of Andou. The vertical portion of the pipes and pipe connections of Saotome (see figures 2-4) would be accommodated in the first space (the vertical space) of Andou. The horizontal portion of the pipes and the pipe connections of Saotome (see figures 2-4) would be accommodated in the second space (the horizontal space) of Andou. Therefore, the combination of Saotome and Andou renders obviousness of claims 1 and 5 thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763