DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the claim amendment filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andou et al. (EP3101353A1, previously cited and applied).
Regarding claim 1, Andou discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figures 1-2 and the annotated figure A above);
a heat exchanger (2) accommodated in a space inside the casing (1; see figures 1-4), wherein the space is surrounded by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see annotated figure A above); and
a connection pipe (5-8), connected to the heat exchanger (2), through which a refrigerant flows (see figures 1-3), wherein
the connection pipe (5-8) includes a first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (6 and 8) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figures 1-3; noted that the thermal conductivity for Aluminum is approximately 237W/mK and the thermal conductivity for copper is approximately 400 W/mk), and
one end of the first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) is connected to the heat exchanger (2; see figure 3), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (6 and 8) in the space (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above).
Regarding claim 5, Andou discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figures 1-2 and the annotated figure A above);
a heat exchanger (2) accommodated in a space inside the casing (1; see figures 1-4), wherein the space is surrounded by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see annotated figure A above);
a first connection pipe (5 and 6), through which a refrigerant flows, including a first refrigerant pipe (5) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (6) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figures 1-3), wherein
one end of the first refrigerant pipe (5) is connected to the heat exchanger (2; see figure 3), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (5) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (6) in the space (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above), and
a second connection pipe (7 and 8), through which a refrigerant flows (see figures 1-3), including a third refrigerant pipe (7) made of the first metal (aluminum) and a fourth refrigerant pipe (8) made of the second metal (copper), wherein
one end of the third refrigerant pipe (7) is connected to the heat exchanger (2), and the other end of the third refrigerant pipe (7) is connected to one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (8) in the space (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above).
Regarding claim 10, Andou discloses an air conditioner comprising the indoor unit (1) according to claim 1 (abstract; see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome et al. (JP2018115774A, previously cited and applied) in view of Andou.
Regarding claim 1, Saotome discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figure 1 and the annotated figure B above);
a heat exchanger (3) accommodated in a space inside the casing (1; see figures 1-2), wherein the space is surrounded by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see figures 1-2 and annotated figure B above); and
a connection pipe (10), connected to the heat exchanger (3), through which a refrigerant flows (see figure 2), wherein
the connection pipe (10) includes a first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity” or “strength”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figure 2; noted that the thermal conductivity for Al is approximately 237W/mK and the thermal conductivity for Cu is approximately 400 W/mk; or see paragraph 2 of page 11 for strength description between aluminum and copper), and
one end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figure 2), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figure 2).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the first and second refrigerant pipes connection ends are in the space.
Andou teaches an indoor unit which comprising a casing (1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above), a first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) and a second refrigerant pipe (6 and 8 see figures 1-3). Wherein one end of the first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) is connected to the heat exchanger (2; see figure 3), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (6 and 8) in the space (the space which is surrounded by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel; see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate the claimed arrangement of the first and second refrigerant pipes in the space as taught by Andou in order to protect the refrigerant pipes.
Regarding claim 2, Saotome discloses the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is above the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Saotome discloses the indoor unit further comprising:
a tubular member (40) that covers a part (the lower part) of the connection pipe (10) but does not cover the other part of the connection pipe (10; see figure 2), wherein
in the other part (the upper part) of the connection pipe (10), the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al and 30Al) is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Saotome as modified discloses the second refrigerant pipe (20Cu and 30Cu) includes a bent section (the lower bent section) that is bent to protrude downward and that is in the casing (1; see figure 2 of Andou).
Regarding claim 5, Saotome discloses an indoor unit comprising:
a casing (a housing 1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figure 1 and the annotated figure B above);
a heat exchanger (3) accommodated in a space inside the casing (1; see figures 1-2), wherein the space is surrounded by the bottom frame, the front grille, and the front panel (see figures 1-2 and annotated figure B above);
a first connection pipe (30), through which a refrigerant flows, including a first refrigerant pipe (30Al) made of a first metal (aluminum) and a second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) made of a second metal (copper) higher in potential (the limitation “potential” has been interpreted as “thermal conductivity” or “strength”) than the first metal (aluminum; see figure 2; noted that the thermal conductivity for Al is approximately 237W/mK and the thermal conductivity for Cu is approximately 400 W/mk; or see paragraph 2 of page 11 for strength description between aluminum and copper), wherein
one end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figure 2), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu; see figures 2-4), and
a second connection pipe (20), through which a refrigerant flows, including a third refrigerant pipe (20Al) made of the first metal (aluminum) and a fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) made of the second metal (copper), wherein
one end of the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) is connected to the heat exchanger (3; see figures 2-4), and the other end of the third refrigerant pipe (20Al) is connected to one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu; see figures 2-4).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the first and second refrigerant pipes connection ends are in the space and the third and fourth refrigerant pipes connection ends are in the space.
Andou teaches an indoor unit which comprising a casing (1) including a bottom frame, a front grille, and a front panel (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above), a first connection pipe (5 and 6) and a second connection pipe (7 and 8). Wherein the first connection pipe (5 and 6) includes a first refrigerant pipe (5) and a second refrigerant pipe (6; see figures 1-3) and the second connection pipe (7 and 8) includes a third refrigerant pipe (7) and a fourth refrigerant pipe (8; see figures 1-3). Wherein one end of the first refrigerant pipe (5) is connected to the heat exchanger (2; see figure 3), and the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (5 and 7) is connected to one end of the second refrigerant pipe (6) in the space (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above) and one end of the third refrigerant pipe (7) is connected to the heat exchanger (2; see figures 1-3), and the other end of the third refrigerant pipe (7) is connected to one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (8) in the space (see figures 1-4 and the annotated figure A above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate the claimed arrangement of the first and second refrigerant pipes in the space and of the third refrigerant pipe and the fourth refrigerant pipe in the space as taught by Andou in order to protect the refrigerant pipes.
Regarding claim 6, Saotome discloses the first connection pipe (30) is a liquid pipe (abstract), the second connection pipe (20) is a gas pipe (abstract).
Though Saotome fails to explicitly disclose the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing, Saotome discloses a connection portions (C23 and C33; see figures 3-4). Also, there are only three possibilities between the other end of the refrigerant pipe(30Al) and the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu). The first possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing; the second possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is below the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing and the third possibility is the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (20Al) is located at the same height as the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) in the casing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to try to modify the indoor unit to achieve the claimed feature that the other end of the first refrigerant pipe is above the one end of the fourth refrigerant pipe since the modification is chosen from finite number of identified solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP2143 section E).
Regarding claim 7, Saotome discloses the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) does not overlap the fourth refrigerant pipe (20Cu) as the casing (1) is viewed from above (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Saotome discloses an air conditioner (100) comprising the indoor unit (101) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above; see figure 1).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome in view of Andou as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sato et al. (JPH08159511A, previously cited an applied).
Regarding claim 9, Saotome discloses the other end of the first refrigerant pipe (30Al) is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe (30Cu) above the lowest part of the heat exchanger 3) in the casing (1; see figure 2 of Saotome and figures 2-3 of Andou).
However, Saotome fails to disclose the other end of the first refrigerant pipe is connected to the one end of the second refrigerant pipe above a drain pan in the casing.
Sato teaches an indoor unit comprising a drain pan (7) located below a heat exchanger (6). The refrigerant pipes are connected above the drain pan (7) in the casing (see figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the indoor unit of Saotome to incorporate a drain pan and the claimed arrangement between the pipe connection and the drain pan as taught by Sato in order to collect and drain out condensate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on the Remarks filed on 09/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the last paragraph of page 5 and paragraph 3 of page 6 that “the bottom side straight part 5c and the second liquid refrigerant tube 6 are disposed outside a casing 1, paragraph [0027]. Similarly, Andou in paragraph [0030] suggest that a bottom side straight part 7c of the first gas refrigerant tube 7 and a second gas refrigerant tube 8 are also disposed outside the casing 1” has been fully considered. However, the Office respectfully disagrees. In paragraphs [0027] and [0030], Andou clearly describes the bottom straight parts 5c and 7c is moved toward the lateral side straight parts 5a and 7a meaning that the parts 5c and 7c are moved in upward direction toward the lateral side straight parts 5a and 7a (see figures 2 and 4 for illustration). Also, the indoor unit is supposed installed on wall. It is reasonable to move the parts 5c and 7c toward the rear side of the casing since this would make the indoor unit improperly install on the wall by separating the rear side of the indoor unit from the wall with a gap due to the refrigerant tube parts 5c and 7c moved outside the casing from the rear side of the indoor unit. Therefore, the movement of the parts 5c and 7c is moved within the space which defined by the bottom frame, front grille and front panel rather than disposed outside the casing as applicant argued. Thus, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763