DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose ("Mobile Communication Terminal Equipment", JP4369400B2, pub. date 2009-11-18).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose teaches a wireless device provided with a controller, a volume knob that changes a first volume value according to a rotation angle of the volume knob ([0045], “In step S540, control unit 120 sets the volume of the audio signal output to earphone jack 140 (~first volume) according to the instruction input via input unit 110 for setting the volume. For example, control unit 120 changes the control data so as to increase the volume output in response to pressing of an upward arrow on determination button 110a (~[0022[, can be a rotary unit (knob))”; [0022], “Note that these functions can also be realized by an operation unit other than the determination button 110a that outputs a signal when pressed. For example, it can be realized by an operation unit having a rotary unit (~knob) such as a dial type, instead of a button”), and
a volume change key that changes a second volume value by pressing the volume change key ([0046], “In step S550, control unit 120 changes the data defining the output sound to speakers 150a and 150b according to the input for setting the volume of speakers 150a and 150b (~second volume) via input unit 110”; [0021], “a numeric button (~volume change key) 110b”, wherein the speakers volume is changed by pressing the numeric button; [0087], “In this case, the user of the mobile phone can independently set the output of the sound from the earphone jack 140 and the output of the sound from the speakers 150a and 150b”);
wherein, the controller controls on/off of a hands-free call function provided with the wireless device ([0043], “At step S510, control unit 120 determines whether or not the output destination of the call is earphone jack 140. This determination is made based on data representing the output destination input via input unit 110”, wherein the control unit controls on/off of a hands-free call function based on user input (~via rotary unit 110a or numeric button 110b)),
the first volume value can be changed by operating the volume knob, when the hands-free call function is on ([0045], “In step S540, control unit 120 sets (~changed by setting) the volume of the audio signal output to earphone jack 140 (~first volume set/change when the hands-free call function is on - earphone mode is hands-free call function on) according to the instruction input via input unit 110 for setting the volume. For example, control unit 120 changes the control data so as to increase the volume output in response to pressing of an upward arrow on determination button 110a (~[0022[, can be a rotary unit (volume knob))”; [0022], “Note that these functions can also be realized by an operation unit other than the determination button 110a that outputs a signal when pressed. For example, it can be realized by an operation unit having a rotary unit (~volume knob) such as a dial type, instead of a button”), and
the second volume value can be changed using the volume change key, when the hands-free call function is off ([0046], “In step S550, control unit 120 changes the data defining the output sound to speakers 150a and 150b according to the input for setting (~setting to change) the volume of speakers 150a and 150b via input unit 110 (~second volume set/change when the hands-free call function is off – speaker mode is hands-free call function off)”; [0021], “a numeric button (~volume change key) 110b”, wherein the speakers volume is changed by pressing the numeric button (~volume change key)).
Regarding claim 2, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 1, wherein the wireless device has a transceiver function ([0059], “control unit 120 determines the earphone as the output destination of the call (~turns on the hands-free call function - outputting on earphones is transceiver function), and selects the speaker as the output destination of the audio of the content”) and a telephone function ([0060], “control unit 120 determines the output destination of the call to the speakers 150a and 150b (~turns off the hands-free call function – outputting on telephone speakers is telephone function). The output destination of the audio of the content is determined to be the earphone output via the earphone jack 140”), and
the controller turns on the hands-free call function when starting a call using the transceiver function ([0059], “control unit 120 determines the earphone as the output destination of the call (~turns on the hands-free call function – outputting on earphones is transceiver function and hands-free call function on), and selects the speaker as the output destination of the audio of the content”), and
turns off the hands-free call function when starting a call using the telephone function ([0060], “control unit 120 determines the output destination of the call to the speakers 150a and 150b (~turns off the hands-free call function – outputting on telephone speakers is telephone function and hands-free call function off). The output destination of the audio of the content is determined to be the earphone output via the earphone jack 140”).
Regarding claim 3, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 2, wherein the wireless device further provided with an on/off switch key of the hands-free call function that can be operated by a user, and the controller switches the hands-free call function on/off when the on/off switch key is operated during a call ([0022], “The determination button 110a receives an input of a so-called on-hook (~hang up) or off-hook (~calling) instruction when the mobile phone 100 is executing a call process. Note that these functions can also be realized by an operation unit other than the determination button 110a that outputs a signal when pressed. For example, it can be realized by an operation unit having a rotary unit such as a dial type, instead of a button”, wherein during a call with hands free call function on state, a user inputs an on-hook (~hang up) instruction via the determination button 110a (~can be a rotary unit), the controller switches the hands free call function off since the call is hung up).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 3, wherein the controller turns on the hands-free call function when the call ends ([0056], “the output mode of the audio can be switched according to the usage status of the mobile phone 100, and therefore, it is possible to flexibly cope with the use in a place where the output of the audio is restricted (for example, a public facility or a commercial facility)”; [0060], “the control unit 120 determines the output destination of the call to the speakers 150a and 150b. The output destination of the audio of the content is determined to be the earphone output via the earphone jack 140”, wherein, when a call starts, the output of call voice is to speakers and output of audio of the content is to the earphone; and when the call ends, output of audio of the content is reverted back to the speakers and the output of call voice to the earphone (~hands-free call function); [0070], “According to such a configuration, when an incoming call is detected when a television program is displayed on the mobile phone 1000, an output mode of an audio (output destination or volume) according to data set in the memory 106 in advance. Is switched”, wherein initially the television audio output is to speakers and voice call output to an earphone (~hands-free call function); when the incoming call is initiated, the television audio output is switched to earphone and the voice call output is switched to speakers; and when the call ends, the television audio output is switched back to the speakers and the voice call audio output back to an earphone (~hands-free call function); [0022], “The determination button 110a receives an input of a so-called on-hook (~call ends) or off-hook instruction when the mobile phone 100 is executing a call process”).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose teaches a method for change a volume of the wireless device with a hands-free calling function that can be turned on/off ([0043], “At step S510, control unit 120 determines whether or not the output destination of the call is earphone jack 140. This determination is made based on data representing the output destination input via input unit 110”, wherein the control unit controls on/off of a hands-free call function based on user input (~via rotary unit 110a or numeric button 110b));
wherein, when the hands-free call function is on, change the volume by adjusting the rotation angle of the volume knob ([0045], “In step S540, control unit 120 sets (~changed by setting) the volume of the audio signal output to earphone jack 140 (~first volume set/change when the hands-free call function is on - earphone mode is hands-free call function on) according to the instruction input via input unit 110 for setting the volume. For example, control unit 120 changes the control data so as to increase the volume output in response to pressing of an upward arrow on determination button 110a (~[0022[, can be a rotary unit (volume knob))”; [0022], “Note that these functions can also be realized by an operation unit other than the determination button 110a that outputs a signal when pressed. For example, it can be realized by an operation unit having a rotary unit (~volume knob) such as a dial type, instead of a button”), and
when the hands-free call function is off, change the volume by pressing the volume change key ([0046], “In step S550, control unit 120 changes the data defining the output sound to speakers 150a and 150b according to the input for setting (~setting to change) the volume of speakers 150a and 150b via input unit 110 (~second volume set/change when the hands-free call function is off – speaker mode is hands-free call function off)”; [0021], “a numeric button (~volume change key) 110b”, wherein the speakers volume is changed by pressing the numeric button (~volume change key); [0086], “The memory 106 includes an area 1410 and an area 1420. When “1” is stored in the area 1420 during the setting, the volume adjustment mode is “interlock”. That is, the adjustment of the volume of the sound output from earphone jack 140 and the sound output from speakers 150a and 150b are performed in conjunction with each other. For example, when one of the sound volumes is increased, the other output sound volumes are decreased. Alternatively, the volume may be adjusted so as to change in the same direction”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Kotlyarov ("Rotatable Push-to-Talk (PTT) Button for Talkgroup Selection and PTT Communication Initiation", WO 2017048151 A1, pub. date 2017-03-23), and further in view of Crisp (US 6282436 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 1.
Hirose does not explicitly teach wherein the volume knob is provided on the top surface of a main body of the wireless device.
However, Kotlyarov teaches wherein a volume knob is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device (Fig. 3, 38, volume knob 38 is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device 30; [0042], “one or more auxiliary controls 38 may include a volume control”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kotlyarov with the teaching of Hirose in order to provide better accessibility, precise control, and tactile user experience.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the volume change key is provided on the side of the main body of the wireless device.
However, Crisp teaches a volume change key provided on a side of a main body of a wireless device (col. 4 lines 38-40, “the multipurpose key 16 for volume adjustment adjusts the ringing volume of the phone and when the slide is open the key adjusts the speaker volume of the phone”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Crip with the teaching of Hirose as modified by Kotlyarov in order to provide convenience, quick access, and control of audio without needing to look at the screen or needing to navigate menu.
Regarding claim 7, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 2.
Hirose does not explicitly teach wherein the volume knob is provided on the top surface of a main body of the wireless device.
However, Kotlyarov teaches wherein a volume knob is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device (Fig. 3, 38, volume knob 38 is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device 30; [0042], “one or more auxiliary controls 38 may include a volume control”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kotlyarov with the teaching of Hirose in order to in order to provide better accessibility, precise control, and tactile user experience.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the volume change key is provided on the side of the main body of the wireless device.
However, Crisp teaches a volume change key provided on a side of a main body of a wireless device (col. 4 lines 38-40, “the multipurpose key 16 for volume adjustment adjusts the ringing volume of the phone and when the slide is open the key adjusts the speaker volume of the phone”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Crip with the teaching of Hirose as modified by Kotlyarov in order to provide convenience, quick access, and control of audio without needing to look at the screen or needing to navigate menu.
Regarding claim 8, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 3.
Hirose does not explicitly teach wherein the volume knob is provided on the top surface of a main body of the wireless device.
However, Kotlyarov teaches wherein a volume knob is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device (Fig. 3, 38, volume knob 38 is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device 30; [0042], “one or more auxiliary controls 38 may include a volume control”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kotlyarov with the teaching of Hirose in order to provide better accessibility, precise control, and tactile user experience.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the volume change key is provided on the side of the main body of the wireless device.
However, Crisp teaches a volume change key provided on a side of a main body of a wireless device (col. 4 lines 38-40, “the multipurpose key 16 for volume adjustment adjusts the ringing volume of the phone and when the slide is open the key adjusts the speaker volume of the phone”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Crip with the teaching of Hirose as modified by Kotlyarov in order to provide convenience, quick access, and control of audio without needing to look at the screen or needing to navigate menu.
Regarding claim 9, Hirose teaches the wireless device in accordance with claim 4.
Hirose does not explicitly teach wherein the volume knob is provided on the top surface of a main body of the wireless device.
However, Kotlyarov teaches wherein a volume knob is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device (Fig. 3, 38, volume knob 38 is provided on a top surface of a main body of a wireless device 30; [0042], “one or more auxiliary controls 38 may include a volume control”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kotlyarov with the teaching of Hirose in order to provide better accessibility, precise control, and tactile user experience.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the volume change key is provided on the side of the main body of the wireless device.
However, Crisp teaches a volume change key provided on a side of a main body of a wireless device (col. 4 lines 38-40, “the multipurpose key 16 for volume adjustment adjusts the ringing volume of the phone and when the slide is open the key adjusts the speaker volume of the phone”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Crip with the teaching of Hirose as modified by Kotlyarov in order to provide convenience, quick access, and control of audio without needing to look at the screen or needing to navigate menu.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643