Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Method steps of Claims 9-11 (flowchart recommended)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Figure 1 is described in ¶[16] of the published specification as a typical [i.e. apparently prior art] AC on-board charger should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated.
See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18448473 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant application Reference Application
1. A vehicle comprising:
a traction battery;
a power system having an electric machine including windings, transfer circuitry including a plurality of field effect transistors and a transformer, and an inverter system controller connected between the electric machine and the transfer circuitry; and
a switch connected between the traction battery and the transfer circuitry, the power system and the switch configured such that, during a drive mode, the switch is open and power from the traction battery bypasses the field effect transistors and the transformer, and flows through the inverter system controller to the electric machine, and during a charge mode, the switch is closed and power from a charge source flows sequentially through the windings, the inverter system controller, the transformer, and the switch to the traction battery.
14. A vehicle comprising:
a power system including a battery, an inverter, a rectifier, a transformer, an electric machine connected between the inverter and the rectifier, and a controller programmed to
during charge, operate the inverter to alter a power factor of power from a grid via the inverter, the rectifier, and windings of the electric machine, and
after the charge, close at least one contactor such that power between the battery and the inverter bypass the transformer.
9. A method comprising:
responsive to a drive mode, opening a switch connected between a traction battery and transfer circuitry including a plurality of field effect transistors and a transformer such that power from the traction battery bypasses the field effect transistors and the transformer, and flows through an inverter system controller to windings of an electric machine; and
responsive to a charge mode, closing the switch such that power from a charge source flows sequentially through the windings, the inverter system controller, the transformer, and the switch to the traction battery.
15. The vehicle of claim 14, wherein the controller is further programmed to, when preparing to charge, open the at least one contactor such that a power from the grid will pass through the transformer.
12. An automotive power control system comprising:
a controller programmed to, responsive to a charge mode, close a switch connected between a traction battery and transfer circuitry and open a pair of switches of the transfer circuitry such that power from a charge source flows through windings of an electric machine, an inverter system controller, a transformer of the transfer circuitry, and the switch to the traction battery.
While the pair of switches are not explicitly described for Claim 12, it would be simple addition for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a redundant switch for the ability to provide isolation even if one is not working.
Claims 4, 5, and 15 of the instant application are met by the reference application’s claims above due to the rectification limitations described.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (USPGPN 20190061553).
Independent Claim 1, Yang discloses a vehicle (vehicle seen in whole in Figs. [1, 2], Figs. [3-10, esp. 3-8] shows the vehicle charging/power system in more detail, see ¶’s [17-21, 42, 43, 50, 67, 72, 83-88, 92] for information relating 100 to the vehicle as a whole) comprising:
a traction battery (high voltage battery 110 is shown to provide power to the motor, i.e. it is a traction battery);
a power system (100 in Figs. [3-8]) having an electric machine (140) including windings (141-143), transfer circuitry including a plurality of field effect transistors ([121, 122, 131-136, 211-214, esp. 121, 122, 211-214], see esp. Figs. [5, 7, 8]) and a transformer (230, Figs. [4-8]), and an inverter system (130) controller connected between the electric machine and the transfer circuitry (Figs. [3-8]); and
a switch connected between the traction battery and the transfer circuitry ([192, 193] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2), the power system and the switch configured such that, during a drive mode, the switch is open and power from the traction battery bypasses the field effect transistors and the transformer, and flows through the inverter system controller to the electric machine (¶’s [67-69, 75, 76, esp. 68, 75, 76, particularly 68]), and
during a charge mode, the switch is closed and power from a charge source (ES) flows sequentially through the windings, the inverter system controller, the transformer, and the switch to the traction battery (¶[68]).
Independent Claim 9, Yang discloses a method (Fig. 11, ¶’s [75, 76], based on structures of Figs. [1-10, esp. 3-8]) comprising:
responsive to a drive mode, opening a switch ([192, 193] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2) connected between a traction battery (high voltage battery 110 is shown to provide power to the motor, i.e. it is a traction battery) and transfer circuitry including a plurality of field effect transistors ([121, 122, 131-136, 211-214, esp. 121, 122, 211-214], see esp. Figs. [5, 7, 8]) and a transformer (230, Figs. [4-8]) such that power from the traction battery bypasses the field effect transistors and the transformer, and flows through an inverter system controller (130) to windings (141-143) of an electric machine (140, ¶’s [67-69, 75, 76, esp. 68, 75, 76, particularly 68]); and
responsive to a charge mode, closing the switch such that power from a charge source (ES) flows sequentially through the windings, the inverter system controller, the transformer, and the switch to the traction battery (¶[68]).
Independent Claim 12, Yang discloses an automotive power control system (100, Figs. [1-10, esp. 3-8], controller 190, method step of Fig. 11) comprising:
a controller (190) programmed to, responsive to a charge mode, close a switch (193) connected between a traction battery (high voltage battery 110 is shown to provide power to the motor, i.e. it is a traction battery) and transfer circuitry and open a pair of switches ([192 + switches which close and open when performing operations of 120, 130, & 210, where it is noted that applicant did not claim that this pair is permanently closed during the charge mode] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2) of the transfer circuitry such that power from a charge source (ES) flows through windings (141-143) of an electric machine (140), an inverter system controller (130), a transformer (230) of the transfer circuitry, and the switch to the traction battery (¶’s [67-69, 75, 76, esp. 68, 75, 76, particularly 68]).
Dependent Claim 2, Yang discloses the transfer circuitry includes a pair of switches configured to be closed during the drive mode and open during the charge mode ([192 + switches which close and open when performing operations of 120, 130, & 210, where it is noted that applicant did not claim that this pair is permanently closed during the charge mode] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2).
Dependent Claim 3, Yang discloses one of the pair of switches share a node with a positive terminal of the traction battery and a terminal of the switch (192).
Dependent Claim 4, Yang discloses a rectifier (170, Figs. [3-8]) connected with the windings such that, during the charge mode, power from the charge source flows first through the rectifier then the windings.
Dependent Claim 5, Yang discloses the rectifier includes a plurality of diodes and wherein the windings share a node with cathodes of some of the diodes (see esp. Figs. [5, 7]).
Dependent Claim 6, Yang discloses the transfer circuitry includes a capacitor (180, 240) configured to be connected in parallel with the traction battery when the switch is closed (Figs. [4, 6] show 120 is in parallel when 192 is closed, while Figs. [5, 7] show 120 includes 180).
Dependent Claim 7, Yang discloses a controller (190, method of at least Fig. 11) programmed to selectively open and close the switch responsive to predefined conditions (charge mode vs drive mode at least one predefined conditions).
Dependent Claim 8, Yang discloses some of the field effect transistors are connected on one side of the transformer and other of the field effect transistors are connected on another side of the transformer (see at least Figs. [5, 7]).
Dependent Claim 10, Yang discloses responsive to the drive mode, closing a pair of switches of the transfer circuitry ([192 + switches which close and open when performing operations of {120, 130, & 210, esp. 121 & 122}, where it is noted that applicant did not claim that this pair is permanently closed during the charge mode] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2).
Dependent Claim 11, Yang discloses responsive to the charge mode, opening the pair of switches ([192 + switches which close and open when performing operations of {120, 130, & 210, esp. 121 & 122}, where it is noted that applicant did not claim that this pair is permanently closed during the charge mode] in similar configuration to applicant’s Fig. 2).
Dependent Claim 13, Yang discloses the controller is further programmed to, responsive to a drive mode, open the switch and close the pair of switches such that power from the traction battery flows through the inverter system controller and to the electric machine while bypassing the switch and the transformer (¶’s [67-69, 75, 76, esp. 68, 75, 76, particularly 68]).
Dependent Claim 14, Yang discloses one of the pair of switches shares a node with a positive terminal of the traction battery and a terminal of the switch (192).
Dependent Claim 15, Yang discloses a rectifier connected with the windings such that, during the charge mode, power from the charge source flows first through the rectifier then the windings (170, Figs. [3-8]).
Dependent Claim 16, Yang discloses the transfer circuitry includes a capacitor (180, 240) configured to be connected in parallel with the traction battery when the switch is closed (Figs. [4, 6] show 120 is in parallel when 192 is closed, while Figs. [5, 7] show 120 includes 180).
Dependent Claim 17, Yang discloses the transfer circuitry includes a plurality of field effect transistors and wherein some of the field effect transistors are connected on one side of the transformer and other of the field effect transistors are connected on another side of the transformer (see at least Figs. [5, 7]).
Conclusion
The following references are believed to have the closest structure to the structure claimed via the figures:
US-20230202320-A1 OR US-20240157823-A1 OR US-20240424928-A1 OR US-20230011289-A1 OR US-20240416768-A1 OR US-20140232301-A1 OR US-20190061553-A1 OR US-20190184833-A1 OR US-20190296568-A1 OR US-20190296665-A1 OR US-20190296676-A1 OR US-20190296663-A1 OR US-20190296664-A1 OR US-20150069936-A1 OR US-20180254732-A1 OR US-20190184837-A1 OR US-20210408889-A1 OR US-20230421042-A1
US-12083912-B2 OR US-10562404-B1 OR US-11724612-B2 OR US-9252625-B2 OR US-10744898-B2 OR US-10513185-B2 OR US-10951041-B2 OR US-11056987-B2 OR US-11211889-B2 OR US-11114959-B2 OR US-11239771-B2 OR US-9616760-B2 OR US-10771001-B2 OR US-11801763-B2 OR US-11817769-B2 OR US-12261516-B2
The next closest references include:
US-20090067205-A1 OR US-20090121659-A1 OR US-20210197680-A1 OR US-20220194239-A1 OR US-20250083544-A1 OR US-20240348081-A1
US-7891451-B2 OR US-7859201-B2 OR US-10230254-B1 OR US-11407321-B2 OR US-12214684-B2 OR US-12233729-B1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859