DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the application filed on March 29, 2024. Claims 1-15 are cancelled. Claims 16-29 are pending. Claims 16-29 represent ALLOCATION OF SERVER RESOURCES IN REMOTE-ACCESS COMPUTING ENVIRONMENTS.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, Applicant claims “he allocated serve.” Examiner construes it as a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter is not properly described in the application as filed. The teaching is the claim is different from anything in the disclosure including paragraph 19 and figure 3 Applicant pointed Examiner to as stated in the interview summary.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification including paragraph 19 and figure 3, Applicant referred to Examiner is not enabling the claimed limitations “determining and allocating a server of a plurality of servers with a process upon a system; establishing a remote desktop environment comprising a plurality of applications within the allocated server; and providing the remote desktop environment comprising the plurality of applications to a client device.”
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Evidence that claim 16 fails to correspond in scope with that which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA applications the Applicant regards as the invention can be found in the reply email sent on December 4, 2025 as a result to our back and forth. In that paper, the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA applications the Applicant has stated “The original language of independent claim 16 aligns with paragraph [0019] of the specification, specifically lines 3-5;” and in claim: “16. A method comprising:
determining and allocating a server of a plurality of servers with a process {Steps 320 - 360 of Method 300} upon a system; (steps 320, 340)
establishing a remote desktop environment comprising a plurality of applications within the allocated server; and {step 370 of Method 300}
providing the remote desktop environment comprising the plurality of applications to a client device. {step 370 of Method 300},” and this statement indicates that the invention is different from what is defined in the claim(s) because after review of both paragraph 19 and the mapping of claim 16, Applicant fails to disclose in the specification the teaching of the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
18/621,370
11,949,737
10,992,744
11,665,229
16. A method comprising: determining and allocating a server of a plurality of servers with a process upon a system; establishing a remote desktop environment comprising a plurality of applications within the allocated server; and providing the remote desktop environment comprising the plurality of applications to a client device.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a gateway server of a network, a request from a client device, wherein the network comprises a plurality of servers each capable of providing a remote desktop environment to the client device, and wherein the remote desktop environment provided by each server of the plurality of servers hosts a plurality of applications; determining in dependence upon a capacity and a utilization level of each server of the plurality of servers a first server of the plurality of servers; and directing the request from the client device to the first server of the plurality of servers to establish the client session and to execute the requested application as part of the client session; wherein determining the capacity of each server of the plurality of servers comprises: determining a maximum number of allotments to be supported for each system resource of a set of system resources of the respective server; and determining the current utilization of each server of the plurality of servers comprises: determining a number of allotments allocated to each client session of the server of the plurality of servers for each system resource of the set of system resources; and summing the number of allotments allocated to all current client sessions; and either: each allotment for each system resource of a set of system resources for each server of the plurality of servers represents a constant portion of the system resource for that server of the plurality of servers; or: each allotment for each system resource of a set of system resources for each server of the plurality of servers represents a universal unit of the system resource employed for the plurality of servers.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a gateway server of a network, a request from a client device to execute an application, wherein the network comprises a plurality of servers each capable of providing a remote desktop environment to the client device, and wherein the remote desktop environment provided by each of the plurality of servers hosts a plurality of applications; selecting a subset of the plurality of servers that each provide a remote desktop environment that hosts the requested application; determining a priority level for a client session to be established between the client device and the requested application; determining a capacity of each server of the subset of servers, the capacity characterizing system resources of the respective server independent of a number of client sessions; determining a current utilization level of each server of the subset of servers in dependence upon a number and priority levels of client sessions currently supported by the respective server, the current utilization level characterizing systems resources employed by active client sessions; determining, based on the priority level for a client session to be established, and the capacity and the current utilization level of each of the subset of servers, that the client device is to be directed to a first server of the subset of servers, the first server having an expected utilization level that satisfies a threshold condition, wherein the expected utilization level of the first server reflects a subsequent addition of the client session between the client device and the requested application to the first server; and directing the request from the client device to the first server to establish the client session and to execute the requested application as part of the client session.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a gateway server of a network, a request from a client device, wherein the network comprises a plurality of servers each capable of providing a remote desktop environment to the client device, and wherein the remote desktop environment provided by each server of the plurality of servers hosts a plurality of applications; determining a priority level for a client session to be established between the client device and the requested application; determining in dependence upon a capacity and a utilization level of each server of a subset of the plurality of servers a first server of the plurality of servers; directing the request from the client device to the first server of the plurality of servers to establish the client session and to execute the requested application as part of the client session; wherein selecting the subset of the plurality of servers comprises selecting those servers of the plurality of servers that each provide a remote desktop environment that hosts a requested application associated with the request from the client device; the capacity of each server of the subset of the plurality of servers is determined by characterizing system resources of the respective server independent of a number of client sessions; and the utilization level of each server of the subset of the plurality of servers in determined in dependence upon a number and priority levels of client sessions currently supported by the respective server, the utilization level characterizing systems resources employed by active client sessions; wherein the request relates to an idle client session or disconnected client session which was executing the requested application; and the first server of the plurality of servers has an expected utilization level that satisfies a threshold condition, wherein the expected utilization level of the first server of the plurality of servers reflects a subsequent addition of the idle client session or disconnected client session to the first server of the plurality of servers.
6. Claims 16-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22, 1-8 and 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.(s) 10,992,744; 11,665,229 and 11,949,737, to Kutuzov. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a comparison between the set of claims shows that the instant claims 1-11 are anticipated by claims 1-22, 1-8 and 1-11 of patent(s) ‘744, ‘229 and ‘737, respectively.
Based on the 112 rejection above, Examiner is using the following prior art below to reject claim 16 as best he understood it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talwar et al. U.S. 20060218285.
Talwar teaches the invention as claimed including Remote Desktop Performance Model For Assigning Resources (see abstract)
As to claim 16, Talwar teaches a method comprising:
determining and allocating a server of a plurality of servers with a process upon a system (paragraph 51, Talwar discloses server 140A allocation resources such as a portion of the compute node 120A (i.e. a server) from a plurality of nodes 120A…120N);
establishing a remote desktop environment comprising a plurality of applications within the allocated server (paragraph 31, Talwar discloses after a remote desktop session is established, a user may subsequently interact with the launched applications through one or more per-application sessions. A per-application interactive session for an application executing on a remote compute node, such as the compute node 120A, may include an association between a user and an executing application wherein the user interacts directly with the application) ; and
providing the remote desktop environment comprising the plurality of applications to a client device (paragraph 52, Talwar discloses the session is started, the user interactively starts applications 160 through the established remote desktop session connection. This is shown as middle level requests in FIG. 2, such as a request for starting an application within the remote desktop session 165 and desktop session data sent to the node 105. These middle level requests go through the session admission control module 125, shown in FIG. 1, at the compute node 120A).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 17-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EL HADJI M SALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457