DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: it depends from cancelled Claim 17. For the purposes of examination, Claim 18 will be treated as depending from Claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11,12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng in US Patent 9091293.
Regarding Claim 1, Tseng teaches a ladder rail lock comprising: a base (1/31) comprising: a main body having (31) a length and a width forming a footprint (the bottom of 132), and a height (see Fig. 4); a cylinder (1) having a height and diameter; a cylinder plug (10) orifice having a channel with a channel diameter; a plug stop (111); a handle crevice (332); a handle notch (331); and a rampart (333) between the handle crevice and the handle notch; a handle (32) having a locked (Fig. 1) and an unlocked (Fig. 6) position comprising; a pair of wings (A and B, see below) with a wing end (toward 335) wherein both wings extend beyond the main body foot print in both the locked and unlocked positions (the outer surfaces of A and B extend outward of the outer surface of footprint 132); a cylinder channel (320); and a base contact surface (335); a plug (2) comprising; a shaft (21); a head (211); and a shoulder (the top of 211); and a biasing member (23) coaxial with the plug shaft.
Regarding Claim 2, Tseng teaches that the handle base contact surface is abutting the base handle crevice when the rail lock is in the locked position.
Regarding Claim 3, Tseng teaches that the handle base contact surface is abutting the base handle notch when the rail lock is in the unlocked position.
Regarding Claim 4, Tseng teaches that the handle can rotate coaxially with the base cylinder and wherein when the handle rotates coaxially with the base cylinder the handle base contact surface contacts the rampart (see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Tseng teaches that the main body length and width are substantially equal.
Regarding Claim 6, Tseng teaches that the base cylinder is at least partially within the handle cylinder channel.
Regarding Claim 11, Tseng teaches that the biasing member is a spring and the spring rests between the plug shoulder and the base plug stop.
Regarding Claim 12, Tseng teaches that the handle base contact surface is non-planar (it is curved).
Regarding Claim 20, Tseng teaches a ladder rail lock comprising: a base (1/31) comprising: a main body comprising a footprint (the bottom of 132); a cylinder (1); a cylinder plug orifice (10) having a channel (within 10); a plug stop (111); a handle crevice (332); a handle notch (331); a rampart (333) between the handle crevice and the handle notch; and a lip (334); a handle (32) having a locked (Fig. 1) and an unlocked (Fig. 6) position comprising; a pair of wings (A and B, see above) comprising a wing end (toward 335) wherein each wing end extends beyond the main body footprint in both the locked and unlocked positions (the outer surface of 32 extends outward of the outer surface of 132); a cylinder channel (320); and a non-linear base contact surface (the base surface is curved); a plug (2) comprising; a shaft (21); a head (211); and a shoulder (the upper surface of 211); and a spring (23) coaxial to the plug shaft located between the plug shaft shoulder and the base plug stop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to Claim 4 above in view of Kieffer et al. in US Publication 2008/0000723. Tseng teaches that the base main body has sides (the side surface below the handle notch) on the base main body with handle notches but is silent on the use of a base main body with a lip. Kieffer teaches a ladder rail lock including a base main body (20A/20B) wherein the base main body comprises a lip (220) on the sides of the base main body and wherein the base main body comprises a bolt head slot (221) and bolt shaft orifice (222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Tseng by using a base as taught by Kieffer in order to allow the user to mount he device on a round ladder rail.
Claims 13-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kieffer et al. in US Publication 2008/0000723 in view of Tseng in US Patent 9091293.
Kieffer teaches an extension ladder comprising: an outer rail (12) having an outer surface and corner (the outer surfaces of 12 - see Fig. 3); an inner rail (11) slidable in relation to the outer rail; a ladder rail lock (30) mounted to the outer surface, the outer rail lock including a base (22A) with lip (222) that wraps at least partially around the corner of the outer rail and a base contact surface (220).
Kieffer is silent on the details of the ladder rail lock. Tseng teaches a ladder rail lock comprising: a base (1/31) comprising: a main body (31) comprising a footprint (the bottom of 132); a cylinder (1); a cylinder plug orifice (10) having a channel (within 10); a plug stop (111); a handle crevice (332); a handle notch (331); a rampart (333) between the handle crevice and the handle notch; a handle (32) having a locked (Fig. 1) and an unlocked (Fig. 6) position comprising; a pair of wings (A and B, see above), each wing with a wing end (the outer surface of the wings); a cylinder channel (320); and a base contact surface 335); a plug (2) comprising; a shaft (21); a head (211); and a shoulder (at the upper end of 211); and a biasing member (23). Tseng further teaches that the handle base contact surface is abutting the base handle crevice when the rail lock is in the locked position (See Fig. 1), that the handle base contact surface is abutting the base handle notch when the rail lock is in the unlocked position (see Fig. 6), that the biasing member is a spring, and the spring is coaxial to the plug shaft and rests between the plug shoulder and the base plug stop (See Fig. 4), that the wing comprises a wing end (the outer surface of 32) and the wing end extends beyond the footprint of the base main body in both the locked and unlocked positions (the outer surface of 32 extends outward of the outer surface of 132), that the handle base contact surface is non-planar (it is curved), and that the main body comprises a length and a width and the length and width are substantially equal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kieffer by using a ladder lock as taught by Tseng in order to provide a more easily locked and unlocked device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges that the base cannot have a length and a width because it is circular. While a circle is not defined by a length and a width, a circle defines a length and a width. The length is the distance from a left boundary along the diameter to the opposite right boundary so that the length is the same as the diameter. The width is the distance from an upper boundary to a lower boundary along the diameter so that the width is also the diameter. As clearly can be seen in Fig. 4, the wings both extend outward of the footprint of the base as defined by the area covered by 132 which is the only portion of the base that is in contact with the surface onto which it is installed. As such , the device is considered sufficient to meet the limitation in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636