DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 17-18 are amended and claims 2 and 5 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 9-18 are pending and further considered on the merits.
Response to Amendment
In light of applicant’s amendment, the examiner maintains the grounds of rejection set forth in the office action filed October 23, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bello et al., US 2005/0055242 (Bello, of record) in view of Curtis et al,. US 2011/0189048 (Curtis, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Bello discloses a portable dialysis system (abstract, REF 106, fig. 1) comprising:
A dialysis machine (REF 120, ¶ 0156, 0410) comprising:
A housing (fig. 1);
A first wireless communication module disposed within the housing (see “wireless communication path”, ¶ 0158);
Components required to carry out dialysis treatment (¶ 0156, 0410);
A first memory configured to store information related to a status of the dialysis system (¶ 0289, 0403);
A first processor connected to the first memory (¶ 0247, 0289) and capable of outputting display signals based on the stored information related to the status of the dialysis system (¶ 0247); and
An integrated, non-removable display (REF 120c, ¶ 0275);
A portable display device (REF 118, ¶ 0158) for interactive control and monitoring (¶ 0009, 0646-0647), the portable display device comprising:
A second wireless communication module configured to securely communicate wirelessly with the first wireless communication module (¶ 0275, 0431, 0647);
A second processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions (¶ 0233, 0647), the computer-executable instructions configured to enable bidirectional data transfer via the second wireless communication module to download/upload data from/to an external computing device of a healthcare professional (¶ 0231-0232); and
A second memory configured to store patient-specific treatment data (¶ 0188, 0240, 0468) and executable instructions (¶ 0233, 0647).
The types of data to be stored on the second memory (i.e. patient-specific treatment data, etc.) are not considered to provide patentable weight to the system since the types of data are not recited as structural limitations to said system. The examiner interprets these types of data to be an intended use of the system and considers the second memory disclosed in Bello to be capable of storing a variety of electronic data, thereby being configured to fulfill the interpreted function of storing data.
Bello does not explicitly disclose the dialysis device having a display support configured to removably secure the portable display device to the dialysis machine in a use position. However, Curtis discloses portable dialysis systems (abstract, figs. 1A-B) comprising a portable display device (REF 120) and a display support (REF 805, fig. 8) configured to removably secure the portable display device to the dialysis machine (¶ 0045).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bello to include a display support as described in Curtis in order to provide enhanced accessibility to components of the dialysis device to users and/or physicians (Curtis, ¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 3, Curtis further discloses wired data connections between dialysis devices and portable display are common and well known in the art (¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 4, Bello (in view of Curtis) does not disclose a system comprising a link wire for recharging a battery of the portable display. However, Bello discloses the portable display having a battery (¶ 0505) where it can be envisioned that the portable display includes the capability, i.e. charging wire, for recharging said battery for the purposes of preventing inoperability.
Regarding claim 6, Bello (in view of Curtis) discloses a system wherein the memory is configured to record treatment history, personal data, and/or treatment parameters (¶ 0231, 0403, 0647).
Regarding claim 7, Bello (in view of Curtis) discloses a system wherein the portable display is a tablet computer (¶ 0237). While Bello does not disclose the portable device having a touchscreen interface, Curtis discloses that it is common to use touch-screen interfaces in portable dialysis machines (¶ 0043) for the purposes of increasing ease of use by a patient and/or physician.
Regarding claim 9, Bello (in view of Curtis) discloses a device where the portable display is configured to provide access to a library of instructional content for troubleshooting (see “mismatch comparison”, ¶ 0465, “correct value”, ¶ 0530).
Regarding claim 10, Bello (in view of Curtis) discloses a system where the integrated display and the portable display are configured to operate synchronously (¶ 0378), the non-removable display is configured to provide a user access to system alerts and status updates (¶ 0180, 0246), and the portable display is configured to display troubleshooting information (¶ 0465, 0530).
Regarding claim 11, Bello (in view of Curtis) discloses a system wherein the portable display is capable of displaying troubleshooting instructions (¶ 0465, 0530).
Regarding claim 17, Bello (in view of Curtis) is relied upon in the rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 9-11 set forth above.
Claim(s) 12-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bello in view of Curtis as relied upon in the rejections set forth above, and in further view of Fulkerson et al., US 8597505 (Fulkerson, of record).
Regarding claim 12, Bello (in view of Curtis) does not disclose the dialysis machine having a disposable set including a medical bag and scale configured to weigh the bag. However, Fulkerson discloses portable dialysis machines (abstract) comprising a medical bag (C17/L63-C18/L15) and a scale (REF 1718, fig. 17A, C24/L48-67) capable of weighing the medical bag.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bello (in view of Curtis) to include the bag/scale system as described in Fulkerson in order to provide an integrated means for verifying the proper weight of consumable materials needed for dialysis treatment.
Regarding claim 13, Curtis further discloses a system comprising a support (REF 805, figs. 7-8) to removably secure the portable display above the dialysis machine.
Regarding claims 14-15, Fulkerson further discloses a dialysis device comprising a button (C28/L16-28) arranged on the housing and configured to prematurely end treatment (see “manual stop button”, C28/L27-28).
Regarding claim 16, Bello (in view of Curtis and Fulkerson) discloses a system wherein the portable display is configured to display a second button similar to the first button (see “stop infusion”, ¶ 0575).
Regarding claim 18, Bello (in view of Curtis and Fulkerson) is relied upon in the rejections set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the prior art does not disclose a second memory configured to store a variety of data, the examiner directs applicant’s attention to the rejection of claim 1 set forth above in which the examiner interprets such data as a functional feature lacking a structural counterpart. In this case, the examiner interprets the function as “configured to store data”, where the prior art is shown to clearly fulfill said function. The type of data, manner by which it is communicated/stored are not considered to provide patentable weight to the claim.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding computer executable instructions allowing bidirectional data transfer, the examiner directs applicant’s attention to the rejection of claim 1 where Bello clearly discloses the portable display device as having programmed instructions for bidirectional data transfer between said portable display device and an external computing device (Bello, ¶ 0231-0232).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779