DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to the Amendment filed on June 24th, 2026, claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10, 11-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 2018/0361254 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Anderson discloses a method for modulating dynamics of multiuser events, the method comprising:
monitoring, while a multiuser event is ongoing, an actual performance dynamics (APD) score associated with avatars participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0024], Referring to FIG. 2, in certain examples, a method 200 of controlling user success in the online game can involve monitoring a success rate for a user or group of users);
determining that an avatar stops participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0035], In various examples, the dynamic adjustments (e.g., to game difficulty) for the online game can be performed either before or at launch of the game, or at any suitable time while the user is playing the game; adjustments before the launch of a game would also mean that the player/avatar stopped participation after a prior instance of the game);
based at least in part on determining that the avatar stops participating in the multiuser event, determining that a difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and a set performance dynamics (SPD) score is outside of a threshold (see par. [0026], For example, when the user's actual success rate exceeds the target success rate, the game can be made more difficult for the user, to decrease the actual success rate closer to the target success rate); and
based on the difference between the APD score and the SPD score being outside of the threshold, modulating at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event to cause a reduction in the difference between the APD score and the SPD score (see par. [0026], For example, when the user's actual success rate exceeds the target success rate, the game can be made more difficult for the user, to decrease the actual success rate closer to the target success rate; also see par. [0028], In some examples, the difficulty of the online game can be adjusted by changing one or more game play parameters. The game play parameters can include or define, for example…a capability of a user or the user's avatar in a virtual environment).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Anderson discloses wherein the monitoring the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event comprises determining the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event at a time point of the multiuser event, the time point being based on at least one of: the avatar that stops participating in the multiuser event; a change in the multiuser event; or a set time increment (see par. [0025], Next, the success rate for the user in the online game can be monitored (step 210) over time, for example, based on a rate (e.g., in time) of advancement or achievement in the online game. Such advancement or achievement can include, for example, advancing to a certain game level (e.g., level 5 or level 10), achieving a certain score, defeating one or more competitors, and/or acquiring one or more virtual items or objects).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Anderson discloses wherein the determining the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event comprises determining, at the time point, individual actual performance dynamics (IAPD) scores, each IAPD score relating to an avatar participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0025], Next, the success rate for the user in the online game can be monitored (step 210) over time, for example, based on a rate (e.g., in time) of advancement or achievement in the online game. Such advancement or achievement can include, for example, advancing to a certain game level (e.g., level 5 or level 10), achieving a certain score, defeating one or more competitors, and/or acquiring one or more virtual items or objects).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Anderson discloses wherein the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event comprises selecting an avatar that is not currently participating in the multiuser event for inclusion into the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event, wherein the selecting is based on an individual historical performance dynamics (IHPD) score of the avatar that is not currently participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0028], In some examples, the difficulty of the online game can be adjusted by changing one or more game play parameters. The game play parameters can include or define, for example…a frequency and/or intensity of obstacles or challenges (e.g., encounters with other competitors); Anderson’s success rate would define a IHPD score because the player character’s success rate versus a competitor character would conversely define the competitor character’s success rate against the player’s character).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Anderson discloses wherein the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event comprises selecting an avatar from the at least one subset of avatars based on an IAPD score of the avatar; and modulating the participation of the selected avatar in the multiuser event; or modulating the IAPD score of the selected avatar (see par. [0028], Additionally or alternatively, the difficulty can be adjusted by changing a value, a strength, a power, and/or an effectiveness of virtual characters or virtual items. For example, the difficulty can be increased by making a user's avatar slower or weaker and/or by making a user's virtual weapon (e.g., a virtual gun) or defenses (e.g., a virtual wall) less effective).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Anderson discloses wherein the modulating the IAPD score of the selected avatar comprises determining a skill score contributing to the selected avatar's IAPD score; and modulating the skill score of the selected avatar (see par. [0028], Additionally or alternatively, the difficulty can be adjusted by changing a value, a strength, a power, and/or an effectiveness of virtual characters or virtual items. For example, the difficulty can be increased by making a user's avatar slower or weaker and/or by making a user's virtual weapon (e.g., a virtual gun) or defenses (e.g., a virtual wall) less effective).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Anderson discloses wherein the APD score is based on individual actual performance dynamics (IAPD) scores associated with respective subsets of avatars participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0025], Alternatively or additionally, the user can be assigned to a group of users who selected the offer and/or have an identical or similar installation history. In that case, the success rate for the user and other users in the group can be, for example, an average, a median, a minimum, or a maximum success rate for the users); and each IAPD score of an avatar is based at least on a beneficial action and/or a detrimental action performed by the avatar (see par. [0025], Next, the success rate for the user in the online game can be monitored (step 210) over time, for example, based on a rate (e.g., in time) of advancement or achievement in the online game. Such advancement or achievement can include, for example, advancing to a certain game level (e.g., level 5 or level 10), achieving a certain score, defeating one or more competitors, and/or acquiring one or more virtual items or objects).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Anderson discloses wherein the SPD score is based on individual historical performance dynamics (IHPD) scores associated with respective subsets of avatars participating in the multiuser event (see par. [0027], In some instances, the target success rate can be defined or determined (e.g., by a developer or manager of the online game) in an effort to optimize game enjoyment, improve competitiveness, and/or manage expenses. The target success rate can, in certain examples, be associated with the user and any similar users who arrived at the online game by selecting the offer. Other users, who arrived at the online game through a different route (e.g., a different offer), can have a different target success rate and/or can be monitored separately; also see par. [0021], Such information can be or include, for example, a history of user connections to and/or interactions with the online game and/or the system 100, a history of content presented to users, user installations, user purchases, user accomplishments, user tasks, and/or user interactions with other users (e.g., group chats)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2018/0361254 A1) in view of NPL document “Examining Game Pace: How Single-Player Levels Tick” (hereinafter referred to as Game Pace).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Anderson discloses the method as discussed above. However, Anderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the SPD score is based on an SPD curve defined by a set of predefined SPD values as function of time points of the multiuser event.
Game Pace teaches game level pacing and a difficulty curve wherein the SPD score is based on an SPD curve defined by a set of predefined SPD values as function of time points of the multiuser event (see figure on pg. 7 and pg. 7, 3rd par., A general battle against a group of enemies in a game tends to follow a bell-curve pattern; also see pg. 7, 4th par., For example, a Left 4 Dead horde encounter follows this pattern -- the initial build up of enemies increased fairly rapidly up to a maximum number and a frantic tempo, before the player manages to destroy enough to turn the tide of the battle. At this point the lesser numbers make it easier to kill the remaining zombies and the tempo drops off; hence the difficulty rises and falls according to a predefined difficulty curve). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Anderson with the difficulty curve of Game Pace in order to create a well paced level to provide moments of action interjected with calm (see Game Pace pg 8, 3rd par.)
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2018/0361254 A1) in view of Aghdaie et al. (US 2017/0259177 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Anderson discloses the method as discussed above. However, Anderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining that the difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and the SPD score is outside of the threshold comprises at least one of: (i) predicting a time point when at least one avatar of a subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event will stop participating in the multiuser event; and the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event occurs before the predicted time point; or (ii) predicting a duration before an end of the multiuser event; and the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event occurs within the predicted duration.
Aghdaie teaches a system and method which can perform automatic granular difficulty adjustment in a video game using prediction models and wherein the determining that the difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and the SPD score is outside of the threshold comprises at least one of: (i) predicting a time point when at least one avatar of a subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event will stop participating in the multiuser event; and the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event occurs before the predicted time point; or (ii) predicting a duration before an end of the multiuser event; and the modulating the at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event occurs within the predicted duration (see par. [0068], The output data 174 can be a retention rate or churn rate associated with a prediction that a user ceases to play the video game 112. For example, in some embodiments, the retention rate may be between 0 and 100 indicating the predicted percentage of users associated with similar or the same data as included as input data 172 who would cease to play the video game 112 within a threshold time period). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Anderson with the prediction models of Aghdaie in order to utilize a mapping data repository to determine how to dynamically adjust the difficulty of the game, such as, for example, changing the values of one or more knobs to make portions of the game less difficult (see Aghdaie, par. [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Anderson does not teach or suggest “determining that an avatar stops participating in the multiuser event” and “based at least in part on determining that the avatar stops participating in the multiuser event, determining that a difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and a set performance dynamics (SPD) score is outside of a threshold”, the examiner disagrees. Anderson teaches monitoring a success rate and adjusting game play parameters in response to a difference between the actual success rate and the target success rate (see Remarks, pg. 7). Anderson also teaches that the adjustment “can be performed either before or at launch of the game” (see par. [0035]) which would mean that the player is not currently playing the game (i.e. participation is stopped) and would also require prior game play to determine the player’s success rate/score in order to make said adjustment to the game play parameters. Thus, Anderson teaches “determining that an avatar stops participating in the multiuser event” and “based at least in part on determining that the avatar stops participating in the multiuser event, determining that a difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and a set performance dynamics (SPD) score is outside of a threshold”.
Applicant also argues that Anderson does not teach or suggest “comparing a difference to a discrete threshold to trigger an action”. The examiner notes that the claimed threshold is not specifically defined and thus, the threshold could be any amount of difference between the APD score (actual success rate) and the SPD score (target success rate). Anderson teaches “based at least in part on determining that the avatar stops participating in the multiuser event, determining that a difference between the APD score associated with the avatars participating in the multiuser event and a set performance dynamics (SPD) score is outside of a threshold” (see par. [0026], For example, when the user's actual success rate exceeds the target success rate, the game can be made more difficult for the user, to decrease the actual success rate closer to the target success rate) and “based on the difference between the APD score and the SPD score being outside of the threshold, modulating at least one subset of avatars participating in the multiuser event to cause a reduction in the difference between the APD score and the SPD score” (see par. [0026], For example, when the user's actual success rate exceeds the target success rate, the game can be made more difficult for the user, to decrease the actual success rate closer to the target success rate; also see par. [0028], In some examples, the difficulty of the online game can be adjusted by changing one or more game play parameters. The game play parameters can include or define, for example…a capability of a user or the user's avatar in a virtual environment). Thus, Anderson teaches comparing a difference to a discrete threshold and then triggering an action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 9/4/2026