DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/24/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Amendments filed on 08/24/2026 have been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Currently pending Claim(s):
Amended claim(s):
1-20
1-10 and 13-20
Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to Applicant's Arguments/Remarks made in an Amendment received on 08/24/2026.
In view of amendments filed on 08/24/2026 to the drawings, the objection to the drawings due to the missing label “E” in Fig. 6 is withdrawn. However, the objection made regarding color photographs/color drawings stands as there is no petition being filed with the response or have been addressed to in the Remarks.
In view of applicant's arguments, Remarks filed on 08/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C 101, the arguments have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 9:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed operations are a mental process. A person can observe finding regions in medical images obtained at different times, identify a matching finding region, and determine which group corresponds to the pair of size values. The pending claims do not require a particular processing framework for matching the finding regions. The mere recitation of generating follow-up information including the size information of the matching finding regions and generating follow-up information indicating a group based on the pair does not take the limitations out of a mental process. The fact that the size information is obtained from matching finding regions in medical images acquired at different times does not integrate such processing into a practical application.
On page 9-10 of Remarks, the Applicant argues:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Original claims 5 and 17 recited generating specific quantitative information for each group including one of a number of pixels or voxels, a number of finding regions, or an area or volume of the finding regions. However, the amended independent claims recite generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region. The pending independent claims do not require the same group-specific quantitative information relied upon when determining claims 5 and 17 to be eligible.
Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible, and accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
In view of applicant's arguments, Remarks filed on 08/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-3 and 13-15 being rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting, the arguments have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive. The Examiner finds the claims are obvious over the claims of the reference application. The double patenting rejection of at least claims 1 and 13 stands.
Applicant's Reply (08/24/2026) includes substantive amendments to the claims. This Office action has been updated with new grounds of rejection addressing those amendments. Further Applicant's Arguments/Remarks with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection and the arguments are now rejected by newly cited art 'Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1)' as explained in the body of the rejection below.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, organizing human activity and mathematical concepts and calculations). The independent claims 1 and 13 recite a method and apparatus. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved .The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such except for the generic computer elements at high level of generality (i.e., processor, memory).
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that the independent claims 1 and 13 are directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? YES. Independent claims 1 and 13 are directed to a process and machine
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e. abstract idea).
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Independent claims 1 and 13 comprise a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or generic computers or components configured to perform the method) and, therefore, an abstract idea.
Regarding independent claim(s) 1: the limitations recite:
A method of generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the method comprising (extra solution activity):
obtaining a first finding region in a first medical image and size information of the first finding region (data gathering);
identifying a second finding region matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image (mental process including observation and evaluation);
obtaining size information of the second finding region (data gathering); and
generating diagnosis assistance information based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (extra solution activity), and
wherein the generating the diagnosis assistance information comprises:
generating follow-up information (extra solution activity) including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region that match each other (mental process including observation and evaluation); and
generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region (extra solution activity).
Regarding independent claim(s) 13: the limitations recite:
An apparatus for generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the apparatus comprising:
memory configured to store one or more instructions (generic computer component); and
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions(generic computer component),
wherein the processor is further configured to, in accordance with at least one of the instructions (generic computer component):
obtain a first finding region in a first medical image and size information of the first finding region (data gathering);
identify a second finding region matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image (mental process including observation and evaluation);
obtain size information of the second finding region (data gathering); and
generate diagnosis assistance information based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (extra solution activity),
wherein, when generating the diagnosis assistance information, the processor is configured to:
generate follow-up information (extra solution activity) including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (mental process including observation and evaluation); and
generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region (extra solution activity).
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
A person can observe finding regions in medical images obtained at different times, identify a matching finding region, and determine which group corresponds to the pair of size values. The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed by generic computer component(s), for example, processor, apparatus, memory, etc. does not take the limitations out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Independent claims 1 and 13 do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Independent claim 13 discloses a memory, a processor, generate diagnosis assistance information based on the size information of the first finding region and the second finding region, generate follow-up information including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region; and generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region, which are generic computer components and/or insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea in a system.
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Independent claim(s) 1 and 13 do not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional. The use of generic computer elements are routine, well-understood and conventional process that is performed by computers. There is no technological improvement present. There is only “obtaining”, “identifying”, and “generating”, and as mentioned above, such factors are generic to the invention and considered as mental process under an observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion. Sufficient evidence has not been provided to show the mental process allows the "technology" to do something that it previously was not able to do. Therefore, claims 1 and 13 are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Thus, since independent claims 1 and 13 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that independent claims 1 and 13 are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-12, 14-16, and 18-20: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process.
In detail claims 2-4 and 6-12 depend on claim 1, and claims 16-16 and 18-20 depend on claim 13 and add:
wherein the pair is an ordered pair of the size information (claim 2 and claim 14).
wherein the size information of the finding regions are represented by size sections or groups (claim 3 and claim 15).
generating quantitative information for each group (claim 4 and claim 16).
wherein the size information is the length and the volume, and the follow-up information is the change of length and the change in volume (claims 6 and 7, claims 18 and 19).
visualizing the information (claim 8 and claim 20)
generating information about which section the follow-up information corresponds to (claim 9).
generating quantitative information for each section (claim 10).
wherein the intensity of the finding region is lower than a threshold and the finding region is related to the respiratory function of a lung (claims 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 5: the additional limitations do integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation: “wherein the generating quantitative information for each group comprises generating quantitative information for each group including at least one of a number of pixels or voxels in finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, a number of finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, or an area or volume of the finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups.” integrates the mental process into a practical application.
Regarding claim 17: the additional limitations do integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation: “wherein the processor is further configured to, when generating the quantitative information for each group, generate quantitative information for each group, including at least one of a number of pixels or voxels in finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, a number of finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, or an area or volume of the finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups.” integrates the mental process into a practical application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/621,487 (reference application) in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Copending Application is broader than independent claims 1 and 13 of the Instant Application.
Regarding claims 1 and 13 of the instant application, claims 1-3, and 13-15 of copending application has the similarity as show below:
Table 1
18/621,438 (Instant Application)
18/621,487 (Copending Application)
Claim 1:
A method of generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the method comprising:
obtaining a first finding region in a first medical image and size information of the first finding region;
identifying a second finding region matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image; obtaining size information of the second finding region; and
generating diagnosis assistance information based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region,
wherein the generating the diagnosis assistance information comprises:
generating follow-up information including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region that match each other; and
generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region.
Claim 1:
A method of generating diagnostic assistant information using medical images, the method comprising:
obtaining a first branch region of an anatomical tubular structure in a first medical image and quantitative information of the first branch region;
identifying a second branch region matching the first branch region of the anatomical tubular structure in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image;
obtaining quantitative information of the second branch region; and
generating diagnostic assistant information based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region.
Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises generating follow-up information including the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region that match each other.
Claim 3:
The method of claim 2, wherein the generating further comprises generating group correspondence information regarding which group is corresponding to at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region corresponding to the follow-up information from among a plurality of groups classified based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region included in the follow-up information.
Claim 13:
An apparatus for generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the apparatus comprising:
memory configured to store one or more instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions,
wherein the processor is further configured to, in accordance with at least one of the instructions:
obtain a first finding region in a first medical image and size information of the first finding region;
identify a second finding region matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image;
obtain size information of the second finding region; and
generate diagnosis assistance information based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region,
wherein, when generating the diagnosis assistance information, the processor is configured to:
generate follow-up information including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region; and
generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region.
Claim 13:
An apparatus for generating diagnostic assistant information using medical images, the apparatus comprising:
memory configured to store one or more instructions; and
a processor configured to execute at least one of the instructions;
wherein the processor is further configured to, in accordance with at least one of the instructions:
obtain a first branch region of an anatomical tubular structure in a first medical image and quantitative information of the first branch region;
identify a second branch region matching the first branch region of the anatomical tubular structure in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image;
obtain quantitative information of the second branch region; and
generate diagnostic assistant information based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region.
Claim 14:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to, when generating the diagnostic assistant information, generate follow-up information including the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region that match each other.
Claim 15:
The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to, when generating the diagnostic assistant information, generate group correspondence information regarding which group is corresponding to at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region corresponding to the follow-up information from among a plurality of groups classified based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region included in the follow-up information.
The table (Table 1) above shows that independent claims 1 and 13 of the Instant Application are not identical to the claims of 18/621,487 (Copending Application), however, the claims are not patentably distinct but are obvious in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”).
Rao teaches based on a pair (lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041 in Paragraph [0267] equates to the pair comprising the size information) comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region (Paragraph [0259] “determine diameter measurement 3022 for a lesion 3010 detected in the image data 410 of medical scan entry 3005 and/or to determine a diameter measurement 3024 for the lesion 3010 detected in image data 410 of medical scan entry 3006.”; Paragraph [0267] “The lesion measurements can be compared by performing a lesion measurement change function 3050 on the lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041. The lesion measurement change function 3050 can include computing difference of corresponding measurement values, such as a difference in diameter and/or a difference in volume of the lesion.”; Paragraph [272] “The lesion change measurement data can be utilized to determine RECIST evaluation data based on the change in the lesion in a more recent scan when compared to a prior scan. In particular, the lesion change measurement data can be utilized to indicate if the lesion is “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease”.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify 18/621,487 (Copending Application) to include based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region taught by Rao’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more accurate synchronization between scans of the same patient taken at different times as suggested by Rao (see Rao, Paragraph [0298]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rao with 18/621,487 (Copending Application) to obtain the invention specified in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 12,324,695 B2) (hereinafter, “Min”) in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a method of generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the method comprising (Column 14 [lines 30-35] “Various systems, methods, and devices disclosed herein are directed to embodiments for addressing the foregoing issues. In particular, various embodiments described herein relate to systems, methods, and devices for medical image analysis, diagnosis, risk stratification, decision making and/or disease tracking.”):
obtaining a first finding region (medical image of a subject at a first point in time in Column 40 [lines 24-27] equates to the first finding region) in a first medical image and size information (plaque parameters in Column 17 [lines 57-66] equate to size information) of the first finding region (Column 3 [lines 48-50] “a first medical image of a coronary region of a subject and the normalization device, wherein the first medical image is obtained non-invasively”; Column 17 [lines 57-66] “the system can be configured to determine one or more plaque parameters, such as for example volume, surface area, geometry, radiodensity, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque shown within the medical image.”; Column 40 [lines 24-27] “the system at block 372 is configured to access a first set of plaque parameters derived from a medical image of a subject at a first point in time.”);
identifying a second finding region (second medical image in Column 40 [lines 51-55] equates to second finding region) matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image (Column 3 [lines 51-53] “a second medical image of a coronary region of a subject and the normalization device, wherein the second medical image is obtained non-invasively”; Column 40 [lines 51-55] “the system can be configured to access a second medical image(s) of the subject, which can be obtained from the subject at a later point in time than the medical image from which the first set of plaque parameters were derived.”);
obtaining size information of the second finding region (Column 40 [lines 61-64] “the system can be configured to dynamically and/or automatically derive a second set of plaque parameters (Examiner interprets second set of plaque parameter include volume per Column 17 [lines 57-66]) from the second medical image taken from the second point in time.”); and
generating diagnosis assistance information (CAD-RADS score in Column 41 [lines 51-61] equates to diagnosis assistance information) based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (Column 41 [lines 51-61] “in some embodiments, the system can be configured to automatically and/or dynamically generate a CAD-RADS score (i.e. diagnosis assistance information) of the subject based on the quantified or calculated stenosis, as derived from the two medical images. Additional detail regarding generating a CAD-RADS score is described herein in relation to FIG. 3C. In some embodiments, the system can be configured to determine a progression or regression in the CAD-RADS score of the subject. In some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare the plaque parameters individually and/or combining one or more of them as a weighted measure.”),
wherein the generating the diagnosis assistance information comprises: generating follow-up information including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region that match each other (Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow-up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans, such as for example radiodensity, volume, geometry, location, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, radiodensity composition, radiodensity composition as a function of volume, ratio of radiodensity to volume, diffusivity, any combinations or relations thereof, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque and/or one or more regions surrounding plaque.”); and
[generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region].
However, Min fails to teach generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region.
Rao teaches generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups (the categories “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease” in Paragraph [0272] equate to plurality of groups) to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair (lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041 in Paragraph [0267] equates to the pair comprising the size information) comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region (Paragraph [0259] “determine diameter measurement 3022 for a lesion 3010 detected in the image data 410 of medical scan entry 3005 and/or to determine a diameter measurement 3024 for the lesion 3010 detected in image data 410 of medical scan entry 3006.”; Paragraph [0267] “The lesion measurements can be compared by performing a lesion measurement change function 3050 on the lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041. The lesion measurement change function 3050 can include computing difference of corresponding measurement values, such as a difference in diameter and/or a difference in volume of the lesion.”; Paragraph [0272] “The lesion change measurement data can be utilized to determine RECIST evaluation data based on the change in the lesion in a more recent scan when compared to a prior scan. In particular, the lesion change measurement data can be utilized to indicate if the lesion is “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease”.”; Examiner notes that the categories depend on the change between the prior and more recent measurements; See Figure 12A, emphasized below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min’s reference to include generating information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region taught by Rao’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more accurate synchronization between scans of the same patient taken at different times as suggested by Rao (see Rao, Paragraph [0298]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rao with Min to obtain the invention specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min fails to teach wherein the pair is represented as an ordered pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region.
Rao teaches wherein the pair is represented as an ordered pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (Paragraph [0111] “the medical scan diagnosing system 108 can automatically retrieve a medical scan from the medical scan database that is selected based on a request received from a user for a particular scan and/or based on a queue of scans automatically ordered by the medical scan diagnosing system 108 or another subsystem based on scan priority data 427.”; Paragraph [0268] “the lesion measurement function 3045 is not performed by the lesion tracking system 3002. Instead, abnormality classification data 445 corresponding to one or more measurement categories 444 can include lesion measurement data 3040 and/or 3041, and can be received from the medical scan database 342 and/or another subsystem 101 for use as input to the lesion measurement change function 3050”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min’s reference to include wherein the pair is represented as an ordered pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region taught by Rao’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more accurate synchronization between scans of the same patient taken at different times as suggested by Rao (see Rao, Paragraph [0298]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rao with Min to obtain the invention specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses an apparatus for generating diagnosis assistance information using medical images, the apparatus comprising: memory configured to store one or more instructions (Column 76 [lines 33-36] “one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums, executing the computer-executable instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums”); and
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (Column 76 [lines 32-36] “one or more computer hardware processors in communication with the one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums, executing the computer-executable instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums.”),
wherein the processor is further configured to, in accordance with at least one of the instructions (Column 76 [lines 32-36] “one or more computer hardware processors in communication with the one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums, executing the computer-executable instructions stored on one or more non-transitory computer storage mediums.”):
obtain a first finding region (medical image of a subject at a first point in time in Column 40 [lines 24-27] equates to the first finding region) in a first medical image and size information (plaque parameters in Column 17 [lines 57-66] equate to size information) of the first finding region (Column 3 [lines 48-50] “a first medical image of a coronary region of a subject and the normalization device, wherein the first medical image is obtained non-invasively”; Column 17 [lines 57-66] “the system can be configured to determine one or more plaque parameters, such as for example volume, surface area, geometry, radiodensity, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque shown within the medical image.”; Column 40 [lines 24-27] “the system at block 372 is configured to access a first set of plaque parameters derived from a medical image of a subject at a first point in time.”);
identify a second finding region (second medical image in Column 40 [lines 51-55] equates to second finding region) matching the first finding region in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image (Column 3 [lines 51-53] “a second medical image of a coronary region of a subject and the normalization device, wherein the second medical image is obtained non-invasively”; Column 40 [lines 51-55] “the system can be configured to access a second medical image(s) of the subject, which can be obtained from the subject at a later point in time than the medical image from which the first set of plaque parameters were derived.”);
obtain size information of the second finding region (Column 40 [lines 61-64] “the system can be configured to dynamically and/or automatically derive a second set of plaque parameters (Examiner interprets second set of plaque parameter include volume per Column 17 [lines 57-66]) from the second medical image taken from the second point in time.”); and
generate diagnosis assistance information (CAD-RADS score in Column 41 [lines 51-61] equates to diagnosis assistance information) based on the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (Column 41 [lines 51-61] “in some embodiments, the system can be configured to automatically and/or dynamically generate a CAD-RADS score (i.e. diagnosis assistance information) of the subject based on the quantified or calculated stenosis, as derived from the two medical images. Additional detail regarding generating a CAD-RADS score is described herein in relation to FIG. 3C. In some embodiments, the system can be configured to determine a progression or regression in the CAD-RADS score of the subject. In some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare the plaque parameters individually and/or combining one or more of them as a weighted measure.”),
wherein, when generating the diagnosis assistance information, the processor is configured to: generate follow-up information including the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region (Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow-up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans, such as for example radiodensity, volume, geometry, location, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, radiodensity composition, radiodensity composition as a function of volume, ratio of radiodensity to volume, diffusivity, any combinations or relations thereof, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque and/or one or more regions surrounding plaque.”); and
[generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region].
However, Min fails to teach generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region.
Rao teaches generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups the categories “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease” in Paragraph [0272] equate to plurality of groups) to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair (lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041 in Paragraph [0267] equates to the pair comprising the size information) comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region (Paragraph [0259] “determine diameter measurement 3022 for a lesion 3010 detected in the image data 410 of medical scan entry 3005 and/or to determine a diameter measurement 3024 for the lesion 3010 detected in image data 410 of medical scan entry 3006.”; Paragraph [0267] “The lesion measurements can be compared by performing a lesion measurement change function 3050 on the lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041. The lesion measurement change function 3050 can include computing difference of corresponding measurement values, such as a difference in diameter and/or a difference in volume of the lesion.”; Paragraph [272] “The lesion change measurement data can be utilized to determine RECIST evaluation data based on the change in the lesion in a more recent scan when compared to a prior scan. In particular, the lesion change measurement data can be utilized to indicate if the lesion is “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease”.”; Examiner notes that the categories depend on the change between the prior and more recent measurements; See Figure 12A, emphasized below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min’s reference to include generate information indicating one of a plurality of groups to which the follow-up information corresponds based on a pair comprising the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region matching the first finding region taught by Rao’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more accurate synchronization between scans of the same patient taken at different times as suggested by Rao (see Rao, Paragraph [0298]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rao with Min to obtain the invention specified in claim 13.
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 12,324,695 B2) (hereinafter, “Min”) in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Chu et al. ("Primary solid lung cancerous nodules with different sizes: computed tomography features and their variations." BMC cancer 19.1 (2019): 1060) (hereinafter, “Chu”).
Regarding claim 3, which claim 2 is incorporated, Min fails to teach wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair are respectively represented by size sections or groups classified based on values of the size information.
Rao teaches wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair (Paragraph [0259] “determine diameter measurement 3022 for a lesion 3010 detected in the image data 410 of medical scan entry 3005 and/or to determine a diameter measurement 3024 for the lesion 3010 detected in image data 410 of medical scan entry 3006.”; Paragraph [0267] “The lesion measurements can be compared by performing a lesion measurement change function 3050 on the lesion measurement data 3040 and 3041. The lesion measurement change function 3050 can include computing difference of corresponding measurement values, such as a difference in diameter and/or a difference in volume of the lesion.”; Paragraph [272] “The lesion change measurement data can be utilized to determine RECIST evaluation data based on the change in the lesion in a more recent scan when compared to a prior scan. In particular, the lesion change measurement data can be utilized to indicate if the lesion is “Complete Response”, “Partial Response”, “Stable Disease”, or “Progressive Disease”.”; See Figure 12A, emphasized below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min's reference to include wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair taught by Rao’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more accurate synchronization between scans of the same patient taken at different times as suggested by Rao (see Rao, Paragraph [0298]).
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach [wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair] are respectively represented by size sections or groups classified based on values of the size information
Chu teaches [wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair] are respectively represented by size sections or groups classified based on values of the size information (Page 2, [right column paragraph 2] “nodules were divided into four groups based on tumor size: Group A: diameter ≤ 1.0 cm; Group B: 1.0 cm < diameter ≤ 1.5 cm; Group C: 1.5 cm < diameter ≤ 2.0 cm; and Group D: 2.0 cm < diameter ≤ 3.0 cm.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include [wherein the size information of the first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the pair] are respectively represented by size sections or groups classified based on values of the size information taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been that CT features vary with nodule size and understanding these changes is useful in follow-ups for identifying malignant nodules as suggested by Chu (see Chu, Abstract).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min discloses wherein the generating further comprises generating quantitative information for [each group] related to a distribution of the first finding region (first set derived from a medical image in Column 41 [lines 4-17] equates to first finding region) or the second finding region (second set derived from a medical image in Column 41 [lines 4-17] equates to second finding region) to which the follow-up information [corresponds for each of the plurality of groups] (Column 22 from line 66 continued to Column 23 line 7 “the system can be configured weight one or more vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) logarithmically, algebraically, and/or utilizing another mathematical transform. In some embodiments, the system is configured to classify one or more regions of plaque at block 210 using the generated weighted measure and/or using only some of the vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters.”; Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans”).
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach information corresponds for each of the plurality of groups.
Chu teaches information corresponds for each of the plurality of groups (Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column] “Clinical data and CT features of nodules were statistically analyzed for each group…Chi-square test was used to compare the differences in patients’ clinical and pathological data, distribution and location of nodules, and various CT features among the groups. Tukey–Kramer test was used for multiple comparisons among the groups. A p-value less than 0.05 was considered statistically significant.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective
filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include information corresponds for each of the plurality of groups taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to compare the data of the patients as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more that predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, which claim 4 is incorporated, Min discloses wherein the generating quantitative information for [each group] comprises generating quantitative [information for each group] (Column 22 from line 66 continued to Column 23 line 7 “the system can be configured weight one or more vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) logarithmically, algebraically, and/or utilizing another mathematical transform. In some embodiments, the system is configured to classify one or more regions of plaque at block 210 using the generated weighted measure and/or using only some of the vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters.”; Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans”) including at least one of a number of pixels or voxels in finding regions corresponding to [each of the plurality of groups] (Note that the claim requires only one of a number of pixels or voxels in finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, a number of finding regions corresponding to each section, or an area or volume of the finding regions corresponding to each section), a number of finding regions corresponding to [each of the plurality of groups] (Note that the claim requires only one of a number of pixels or voxels in finding regions corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, a number of finding regions corresponding to each section, or an area or volume of the finding regions corresponding to each section), or an area or volume of the finding regions corresponding to [each of the plurality of groups](Column 22 [lines 51-56] “the system can be configured to classify one or regions of plaque identified from the medical image as stable v. unstable or good v. bad based on the one or more vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters determined and/or derived from raw medical images.”; Column 34 [lines 18-24] “, the system can be configured to determine one or more vascular morphology and/or quantified plaque parameters at block 208. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to determine a geometry and/or volume of a region of plaque and/or a vessel”).
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach quantitative information for each group.
Chu teaches quantitative information for each group (Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column] “Clinical data and CT features of nodules were statistically analyzed for each group…Chi-square test was used to compare the differences in patients’ clinical and pathological data, distribution and location of nodules, and various CT features among the groups. Tukey–Kramer test was used for multiple comparisons among the groups. A p-value less than 0.05 was considered statistically significant.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective
filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include quantitative information for each group taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to compare the data of the patients as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min discloses wherein the size information of the first finding region (first medical image in Column 40 [lines 51-55] equates to first finding region) is a volume of the first finding region (plaque parameters, such as volume in Column 17 [lines 57-66] equates to volume of the first finding region), and the size information of the second finding region (second medical image in Column 40 [lines 61-64] equates to second finding region) is a volume of the second finding region(plaque parameters, such as volume in Column 17 [lines 57-66] equates to volume of the second finding region) (Column 17 [lines 57-66] “the system can be configured to determine one or more plaque parameters, such as for example volume, surface area, geometry, radiodensity, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque shown within the medical image.”; Column 40 [lines 24-27] “the system at block 372 is configured to access a first set of plaque parameters derived from a medical image of a subject at a first point in time.”; Column 40 [lines 61-64] “the system can be configured to dynamically and/or automatically derive a second set of plaque parameters (Examiner interprets second set of plaque parameter include volume per Column 17 [lines 57-66]) from the second medical image taken from the second point in time.”), and
wherein the follow-up information is a change between the volume of the first finding region and the volume of the second finding region (Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans, such as for example radiodensity, volume, geometry, location, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, radiodensity composition, radiodensity composition as a function of volume, ratio of radiodensity to volume, diffusivity, any combinations or relations thereof, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque and/or one or more regions surrounding plaque.”).
Regarding claim 8, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min discloses visualizing the information [indicating the one of the plurality of groups] to which the follow- up information corresponds to as the diagnosis assistance information (Column 61 [lines 1-6] “Plaque type can be visualized based on Hounsfield Unit density for enhanced readability for the user. Embodiments of the system also provide quantification of variables related to stenosis and plaque composition at both the vessel and lesion levels for the segmented coronary artery.”).
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach indicating the one of the plurality of groups.
Chu teaches indicating the one of the plurality of groups (Page 4 See Table 3 Caption “The data are expressed as n (%). Heterogeneous density indicates the density of nodules in addition to calcification, vacuole, air bronchogram, and cavity. A/BCD indicates there is significant difference between group A and B but no significant difference among groups of B, C and D. AB/CD indicates there is significant difference between group B and C but no significant difference between group A and B or group C and D. A/D indicates there is significant difference only between group A and D”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective
filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include indicating the one of the plurality of groups taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to compare the data of the patients as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min discloses wherein the first finding region (one of the two scans in Column 44 [lines 57-59] equate to the first finding region) is a region in the first medical image whose intensity is lower than a first threshold (Column 19 [lines 1337-40] “the systems, methods, and devices described herein are configured to automatically and/or dynamically identify and/or classify good v. bad plaque or stable v. unstable plaque based on medical image analysis and/or processing…in some embodiments, the system can be configured to identify certain plaque as “bad” plaque if the brightness of the plaque is darker than a pre-determined level.”; Column 44 [lines 57-59] “the system is configured to determine a change in plaque composition in terms of radiodensity or stable v. unstable plaque between the two scans.”), and
wherein the second finding region (one of the two scans in Column 44 [lines 57-59] equate to the second finding region) is a region in the second medical image whose intensity is lower than the first threshold (Column 19 [lines 37-40] “in some embodiments, the system can be configured to identify certain plaque as “bad” plaque if the brightness of the plaque is darker than a pre-determined level.”; Column 44 [lines 57-59] “the system is configured to determine a change in plaque composition in terms of radiodensity or stable v. unstable plaque between the two scans.”).
Regarding claim 12, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min and Rao both fail to teach wherein the first finding region is a finding region related to a respiratory function of a lung in the first medical image, and wherein the second finding region is a finding region related to the respiratory function of the lung in the second medical image.
Chu teaches wherein the first finding region is a finding region related to a respiratory function of a lung in the first medical image (Figure 1 Description: “a–c CT images of lung adenocarcinoma. a CT image shows an irregular solid nodule (6 × 4 mm) with blurred margin located in the apical segment of the right upper lobe.”), and
wherein the second finding region is a finding region related to the respiratory function of the lung in the second medical image (Figure 1 Description “b One year later, the size of this nodule increased (8 × 6 mm) and its shape and margin became more regular (triangle) and clearer than before”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include wherein the first finding region is a finding region related to a respiratory function of a lung in the first medical image, and wherein the second finding region is a finding region related to the respiratory function of the lung in the second medical image taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been because lung cancer is the most common type of tumor and early identification of malignant nodules is important for prognosis as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Background, page 1, end of left column continued on to beginning of right column).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more that predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 14 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 14, and all the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 15 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 15 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 15, and all the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 16 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 16 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 16, and all the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 17 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 17 is rejected the same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to the claim 17, and all the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 19 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 19 is rejected the same as claim 7 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 7 are equally applicable to the claim 19, and all the other limitations similar to claim 7 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 20 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 20 is rejected the same as claim 8 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 8 are equally applicable to the claim 20, and all the other limitations similar to claim 8 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 12,324,695 B2) (hereinafter, “Min”) in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Smith (US 10,413,266 B2).
Regarding claim 6, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min and Rao both fail to teach wherein the size information of the first finding region is a length of a long axis of the first finding region, and the size information of the second finding region is a length of a long axis of the second finding region, and wherein the follow-up information is a change between the length of the long axis of the first finding region and the length of the long axis of the second finding region.
Smith teaches wherein the size information of the first finding region (lesion at first time point in Column 11 [lines 49-56] equates to first finding region) is a length of a long axis of the first finding region, and the size information of the second finding region (lesion at second time point in Column 11 [lines 49-56] equates to second finding region) is a length of a long axis of the second finding region (Column 10 [lines 61-64] “The one or more lesion metrics may include one or more lesion metrics selected from the group consisting of: a longest dimension length; a short axis dimension length; a longest dimension length of vascularized tumor”, Column 11 [lines 49-56] “a temporal comparison between the at least one of the one or more target lesions (and any other target lesion) allows for changes in metrics to be computed which detail changes in one or more lesion metrics over time…if the change in data indicates that the area of a lesion is less at the second time point when compared to the first time point”), and
wherein the follow-up information is a change between the length of the long axis of the first finding region and the length of the long axis of the second finding region (Column 15 [lines 1-8] “a first graphical display illustrating one or more changes in vascularized tumor between the first point in time and the second point in time; a second graphical display illustrating one or more changes in necrotic tumor between the first point in time and the second point in time; a numeric value representing at least one of a percent change, an average change, or an absolute change in the one or more lesion metrics”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective
filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include wherein the size information of the first finding region is a length of a long axis of the first finding region, and the size information of the second finding region is a length of a long axis of the second finding region, and wherein the follow-up information is a change between the length of the long axis of the first finding region and the length of the long axis of the second finding region taught by Smith’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to derive objective tumor response as suggested by Smith (see Smith, Column 2 [lines 40-42]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Smith with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 18 (drawn to an apparatus), claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 6 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 6 are equally applicable to the claim 18, and all the other limitations similar to claim 6 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 12,324,695 B2) (hereinafter, “Min”) in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0158936 A1) (hereinafter, “Rao”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu et al. ("Primary solid lung cancerous nodules with different sizes: computed tomography features and their variations." BMC cancer 19.1 (2019): 1060) (hereinafter, “Chu”) and Lee (KR 101,943,011 B1).
Regarding claim 9, which claim 1 is incorporated, Min discloses first finding region (first set derived from a medical image in Column 41 [lines 4-17] equates to first finding region) and the second finding region (second set derived from a medical image in Column 41 [lines 4-17] equates to second finding region) included in the follow-up information (Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans, such as for example radiodensity, volume, geometry, location, ratio or function of volume to surface area, heterogeneity index, radiodensity composition, radiodensity composition as a function of volume, ratio of radiodensity to volume, diffusivity, any combinations or relations thereof, and/or the like of one or more regions of plaque and/or one or more regions surrounding plaque.”)
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach wherein the generating the diagnostic assistance information further comprises generating information indicating one of a plurality of sections to which the [follow-up information] corresponds, the plurality of sections being classified by applying a plurality of thresholds to a change between the size information of the [first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the follow-up information].
Chu teaches wherein the generating the diagnostic assistance information further comprises generating information indicating one of a plurality of sections (diameter ranges equate to plurality of sections) to which the [follow-up information] corresponds, the plurality of sections being classified (Page 2, [right column paragraph 2] “Enlarged mediastinal and hilar lymph nodes were generally defined as those with diameter > 1 cm in short axis on chest CT scans…nodules were divided into four groups based on tumor size: Group A: diameter ≤ 1.0 cm; Group B: 1.0 cm < diameter ≤ 1.5 cm; Group C: 1.5 cm < diameter ≤ 2.0 cm; and Group D: 2.0 cm < diameter ≤ 3.0 cm.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include teaches wherein the generating the diagnostic assistance information further comprises generating information indicating one of a plurality of sections to which the [follow-up information] corresponds, the plurality of sections being classified taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been that CT features vary with nodule size and understanding these changes is useful in follow-ups for identifying malignant nodules as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column]).
However, Min, Rao, and Chu fail to teach classified by applying a plurality of thresholds to a change between the size information of the [first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the follow-up information].
Lee teaches classified by applying a plurality of thresholds to a change between the size information of the [first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the follow-up information] (Paragraph [0062] As such, as the threshold value changes, the filtering will be performed again based on the threshold value, e.g., a lesion item having a score that does not reach a threshold value may be excluded from the lesion list.; Paragraph [0063] The threshold value may be continuously or discontinuously (i.e., discrete) increased or decreased in accordance with the predetermined operation, and in the case of discontinuous increase or decrease, the interval of the increase or decrease may be a predetermined value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Min in view of Rao, and further in view of Chu to include by applying a plurality of thresholds to a change between the size information of the [first finding region and the size information of the second finding region included in the follow-up information] taught by Lee’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to exclude lesions that do not reach a threshold value as suggested by Lee (see Lee, Paragraph [0062]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Min, Rao, and Chu to obtain the invention specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, which claim 9 is incorporated, Min discloses wherein the generating the diagnosis assistance information further comprises generating quantitative information for [each section] related to a distribution of the first finding region (first set derived from a medical image equates to first finding region) or the second finding region (second set derived from a medical image equates to second finding region) to which the follow-up information [corresponds for each of the plurality of sections] (Column 22 from line 66 continued to Column 23 line 7 “the system can be configured weight one or more vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters logarithmically, algebraically, and/or utilizing another mathematical transform. In some embodiments, the system is configured to classify one or more regions of plaque at block 210 using the generated weighted measure and/or using only some of the vascular morphology parameters and/or quantified plaque parameters.”; Column 41 [lines 4-17] “the system can be configured to analyze changes in one or more plaque parameters (i.e. follow up information) between the first set derived from a medical image taken at a first point in time to the second set derived from a medical image taken at a later point in time. For example, in some embodiments, the system can be configured to compare a quantified plaque parameter between the two scans”).
However, Min and Rao both fail to teach information corresponds for each of the plurality of sections.
Chu teaches information corresponds for each of the plurality of sections (Diameter ranges equate to sections) (Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column] “Clinical data and CT features of nodules were statistically analyzed for each group…Chi-square test was used to compare the differences in patients’ clinical and pathological data, distribution and location of nodules, and various CT features among the groups. Tukey–Kramer test was used for multiple comparisons among the groups. A p-value less than 0.05 was considered statistically significant.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective
filing date to modify Min in view of Rao to include information corresponds for each of the plurality of sections taught by Chu’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to compare the data of the patients as suggested by Chu’s (see Chu, Statistical Analysis [page 2 right column]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Min and Rao to obtain the invention specified in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al. (US 2022/0398752 A1) discloses a method for generating a two-dimensional soft image obtained by two-dimensionally projecting soft tissue segmented from the three-dimensional medical image.
Sprencz et al. (US 2015/0063667 A1) discloses a system for automatic calculation of a bone lesion metric based on the classification, and calculation of a lesion burden as a ratio of the bone lesion metric and the patient skeletal metric.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UROOJ FATIMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676