DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu (JP 2020092692) in view of Usuda (U.S. Pub. 2005/0140718)
Regarding claim 1, Muramatsu discloses a liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
an ejection unit having an ejection part and an ejection energy generation element that ejects a liquid from the ejection part (Paragraphs 0015, 0177) by using a principle of ink jet ejection into an internal space in a storage part (plate includes wells) capable of storing the ejected liquid (Paragraphs 0159-0160)
A container (plate) including a plurality of storage parts (wells) (Paragraph 0159-0160)
Wherein when ejecting the liquid, the ejection unit covers (membrane film 1013) an opening portion (well opening) of the storage part (plate) (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1; the membrane film 1013 will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings)
Muramatsu does not expressly disclose the movement of a stage
Usuda discloses it is known in the art to control the movements of the stage and ejection unit relative to each other to move the ejection unit to a position at which the ejection unit ejects the liquid to the stage (Figure 1; Paragraphs 00056-0057)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Usuda into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of properly positioning the ejection unit
Regarding claim 2, Usuda discloses a head movement unit capable of raising and lowering the ejection unit (Figure 1; Paragraph 0064)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Usuda into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of properly positioning the ejection unit
Regarding claim 3, wherein when ejecting the liquid, the ejection unit covers the opening portion (the membrane film 1013 will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings) of the storage part (well) to thereby screen the internal space in the storage part from an external space (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, wherein the ejection unit includes a screen (the membrane film 1013 will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings) that covers the opening portion (well opening) of the storage part when the ejection unit ejects the liquid to each of the storage parts (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1)
Regarding claim 5, wherein the screen has a plate shape (1013; Figure 1)
Regarding claim 6, wherein an ejection surface of the ejection unit from which to eject the liquid and a surface of the screen which faces the container are positioned to be substantially coplanar with each other (the membrane film 1013 will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings; Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1)
Regarding claim 7, Muramatsu discloses the claimed invention except for a distance between the ejection surface and the container when the liquid is ejected from the ejection unit to the storage parts is 0.1 mm to 1.0 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a distance between the ejection surface and the container when the liquid is ejected from the ejection unit to the storage parts is 0.1 mm to 1.0 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of using a distance between the ejection surface and the container when the liquid is ejected from the ejection unit to the storage parts is 0.1 mm to 1.0 mm into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of stably discharging droplets to an object with a simple structure (Paragraphs 0004-0006)
Regarding claim 8, wherein the ejection unit is filled with the liquid to be ejected and is configured and is configured to be replaceable (Paragraph 0100)
Regarding claim 9, wherein the liquid is a cell suspension containing a compound and a cell into which the compound is to be introduced (Paragraph 0027)
Regarding claim 10, a liquid ejection method using a liquid ejection apparatus including:
an ejection unit having an ejection part and an ejection energy generation element that ejects a liquid from the ejection part (Paragraphs 0015, 0177) by using a principle of ink jet ejection into an internal space in a storage part (plate includes wells) capable of storing the ejected liquid (Paragraphs 0159-0160)
A container (plate) including a plurality of storage parts (wells) (Paragraph 0159-0160)
The method comprising: covering an opening portion (well openings) of the storage part when ejecting the liquid (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1; the membrane film will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings)
Muramatsu does not expressly disclose the movement of a stage
Usuda discloses it is known in the art to control the movements of the stage and ejection unit relative to each other to move the ejection unit to a position at which the ejection unit ejects the liquid to the stage (Figure 1; Paragraphs 00056-0057)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Usuda into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of properly positioning the ejection unit
Regarding claim 11, a dispensing apparatus comprising: an ejection unit having an ejection part and an ejection energy generation element that ejects a liquid from the ejection part (Paragraphs 0015, 0177) by using a principle of ink jet ejection into an internal space in a storage part (plate includes wells) capable of storing the ejected liquid (Paragraphs 0159-0160)
A container (plate) including a plurality of storage parts (wells) (Paragraph 0159-0160)
Wherein the liquid is dispensed into each of the storage parts by ejecting the liquid into the internal space in the storage part (wells) from the ejection unit (Paragraphs 0159-0160)
Wherein when the ejection unit ejects the liquid to each of the storage parts, the ejection unit covers the opening portion of the storage part (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1; the membrane film will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings)
Muramatsu does not expressly disclose the movement of a stage
Usuda discloses it is known in the art to control the movements of the stage and ejection unit relative to each other to move the ejection unit to a position at which the ejection unit ejects the liquid to the stage (Figure 1; Paragraphs 00056-0057)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Usuda into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of properly positioning the ejection unit
Regarding claim 12, a compound introduction apparatus comprising: an ejection part and an ejection energy generation element that ejects a liquid from the ejection part (Paragraphs 0015, 0177) by using a principle of ink jet ejection into an internal space in a storage part (plate includes wells) capable of storing the ejected liquid (Paragraphs 0159-0160)
A container (plate) including a plurality of storage parts (wells) (Paragraph 0159-0160)
Wherein the cell suspension is ejected from the ejection unit to thereby introduce a compound into a cell (Paragraph 0027)
Wherein the cell suspension is dispensed into each of the storage parts (wells) by ejecting the liquid into the internal space in the storage part from the ejection unit (Paragraphs 0027, 0159-0160)
Wherein when the ejection unit ejects the cell suspension to each of the storage parts, the ejection unit covers the opening portion of the storage (Paragraphs 0159-0160, 0164-0165, 0190-0193; Figure 1; the membrane film will cover the well opening of the plate when the liquid discharge device ejects droplets over the plate and well openings)
Muramatsu does not expressly disclose the movement of a stage
Usuda discloses it is known in the art to control the movements of the stage and ejection unit relative to each other to move the ejection unit to a position at which the ejection unit ejects the liquid to the stage (Figure 1; Paragraphs 00056-0057)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Usuda into the device of Muramatsu, for the purpose of properly positioning the ejection unit
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 November 19, 2025