Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. , filed 30 March 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 8; 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. The newly cited art to Duvnjak. (US 11,437,911 B2; hereinafter “Duvnjak”), found in the updated search based on the amendments, is used in the below rejections to show obviousness of the newly-recited feature of “having a controller” and .
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 12-13, filed 30 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., equivalent drive resistance) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara et al. (US 11056965 B2, hereinafter “Matsubara”), and further in view of Duvnjak. (US 11,437,911 B2; hereinafter “Duvnjak”).
In re claim 1, Matsubara discloses a power converter (Fig. 3), comprising: a power conversion circuit (100); a drive circuit (50, shown in Fig. 4) configured to: amplify a control signal (Ig) from the controller; and drive a switching tube (Q) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit is connected to the power conversion circuit; and a controller, configured to: in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold, control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold, control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode (Col 6 Lines 21-27: switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should be switched when the detected value Edd is equal to or greater than a predetermined determination value Ed(ref), and the switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should not be switched when the detected value Edd is smaller than the determination value Ed(ref)), wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected).
Matsubara does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Duvnjak discloses a power converter (Fig. 1A, 2, 4A, 5; 6), comprising: a power conversion circuit having a controller (132); a drive circuit configured to: amplify a control signal from the controller and drive a switching tube (110) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit (134) is connected to the power conversion circuit; and the controller configured to: obtain a voltage (FB) of the power conversation circuit and in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold (shown in Fig. 4A and furtherly in Col 15 Lines 64-66: the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the second drive strength (e.g. strong drive)), control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold (Col 16 Lines 27-30: variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the third drive strength (e.g. very weak drive) and the control voltage V.sub.G 144 begins to rise the threshold V1 460), control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode; wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 16 Lines 53-56: multi-stage gate driver 134 may be varied by varying the drive resistance of the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134. In one example, the drive resistance may be varied by connecting or disconnecting multiple parallel coupled drive resistances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 8, Matsubara discloses a method for adjusting a drive resistance, comprising: in response to a voltage of a power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold, controlling a drive circuit to work in a first amplification mode; or in response to a voltage of a power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold, controlling a drive circuit to work in a second amplification mode ( shown in Fig. 4 and explained in Col 6 Lines 21-27: switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should be switched when the detected value Edd is equal to or greater than a predetermined determination value Ed(ref), and the switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should not be switched when the detected value Edd is smaller than the determination value Ed(ref)), wherein the power conversion circuit and the drive circuit are connected in series (shown in Fig. 3), and an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected).
Matsubara does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Duvnjak discloses a power converter (Fig. 1A, 2, 4A, 5; 6), comprising: a power conversion circuit having a controller (132); a drive circuit configured to: amplify a control signal from the controller and drive a switching tube (110) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit (134) is connected to the power conversion circuit; and the controller configured to: obtain a voltage (FB) of the power conversation circuit and in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold (shown in Fig. 4A and furtherly in Col 15 Lines 64-66: the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the second drive strength (e.g. strong drive)), control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold (Col 16 Lines 27-30: variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the third drive strength (e.g. very weak drive) and the control voltage V.sub.G 144 begins to rise the threshold V1 460), control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode; wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 16 Lines 53-56: multi-stage gate driver 134 may be varied by varying the drive resistance of the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134. In one example, the drive resistance may be varied by connecting or disconnecting multiple parallel coupled drive resistances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 11, Matsubara discloses a power converter (100), comprising: a power conversion circuit; a drive circuit (50, shown in Fig. 4) configured to: amplify a control signal (Ig) from the controller and drive a switching tube (Q) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit is connected to the power conversion circuit; and a controller configured to: in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold, control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected), wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected).
Matsubara does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Duvnjak discloses a power converter (Fig. 1A, 2, 4A, 5; 6), comprising: a power conversion circuit having a controller (132); a drive circuit configured to: amplify a control signal from the controller and drive a switching tube (110) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit (134) is connected to the power conversion circuit; and the controller configured to: obtain a voltage (FB) of the power conversation circuit and in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold (shown in Fig. 4A and furtherly in Col 15 Lines 64-66: the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the second drive strength (e.g. strong drive)), control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold (Col 16 Lines 27-30: variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the third drive strength (e.g. very weak drive) and the control voltage V.sub.G 144 begins to rise the threshold V1 460), control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode; wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 16 Lines 53-56: multi-stage gate driver 134 may be varied by varying the drive resistance of the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134. In one example, the drive resistance may be varied by connecting or disconnecting multiple parallel coupled drive resistances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
Claims 2-6,9,12-16;18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara et al. (US 11056965 B2, hereinafter “Matsubara”) in view of Nosaka et al. (US 1165421 B1, hereinafter “Nosaka”) and in further view of Duvnjak. (US 11,437,911 B2; hereinafter “Duvnjak”).
In re claim 2, Matsubara discloses a power converter, wherein the drive circuit comprises: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor value; the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor value and a switch, and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series; and the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to the first threshold, control the first switch to be opened; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than the first threshold, control the first switch to be closed (see the above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose drive circuit comprises: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit are connected in parallel; the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor; the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor and a first switch, and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Figure 1 of Nosaka (annotated for Claims 2-6,9,12-16)
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) comprising: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprises a first resistor (13); the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor (16) and a switch (121), and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures); and the controller is configured to: control the first switch (1) to be opened; or the controller (12) is configured to control the first switch to be closed. (Shown in Fig. 3 and further explained in Col 8 Lines 49-52: gate voltage can be regulated with the profile as shown in FIG. 3. The gate voltage is attenuated in two steps when the switching element 1 is in the gate-off state as in the periods (B) and (C)).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Duvnjak discloses a power converter (Fig. 1A, 2, 4A, 5; 6), comprising: a power conversion circuit having a controller (132); a drive circuit configured to: amplify a control signal from the controller and drive a switching tube (110) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit (134) is connected to the power conversion circuit; and the controller configured to: obtain a voltage (FB) of the power conversation circuit and in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold (shown in Fig. 4A and furtherly in Col 15 Lines 64-66: the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the second drive strength (e.g. strong drive)), control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold (Col 16 Lines 27-30: variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the third drive strength (e.g. very weak drive) and the control voltage V.sub.G 144 begins to rise the threshold V1 460), control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode; wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 16 Lines 53-56: multi-stage gate driver 134 may be varied by varying the drive resistance of the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134. In one example, the drive resistance may be varied by connecting or disconnecting multiple parallel coupled drive resistances).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have the first and auxiliary drive systems in parallel, as taught by Nosaka, to have better control and efficiency of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 3, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus, the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus, and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be connected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit.
Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) wherein: the first auxiliary drive (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus (15), the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller (shown in Figs. 4A, 5A, 6A, 7A); and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus (11 in Fig.1), and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be connected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit (Col 6 Lines 1-2: The switching element 1 has a gate terminal connected to a first end of a capacitor 11 serving as a speed-up capacitor.).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a main drive circuit comprising an acceleration apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 4, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be connected later than the first main drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) wherein: a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprising a drive blocking apparatus (15) and a time delay apparatus (14); the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller (see above rejection); and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be connected later than the first main drive circuit (shown in Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 5, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a drive blocking apparatus, the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus, and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be disconnected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit.
Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) further comprises a drive blocking apparatus (15), the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus (11), and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be disconnected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit (shown in Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a main drive circuit comprising an acceleration apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 6, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprising a drive blocking apparatus (15) and a time delay apparatus (14) ; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit (See Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 9, Matsubara discloses a method of a power converter that responds to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to the first threshold, opening a first switch; or in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than the first threshold, closing a first switch (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected).
Matsubara does not disclose a method of a power converter having a drive circuit comprises a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit that are connected in parallel; and the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor, and the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises the first switch and a second resistor that are connected in series. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas Nosaka discloses a method of drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprises a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit that are connected in parallel; and the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor (13), and the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises the first switch (121) and a second resistor (16) that are connected in series.
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have the first and auxiliary drive systems in parallel, as taught by Nosaka, to have better control and efficiency of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 12, Matsubara discloses a power converter, wherein the drive circuit comprises: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor value; the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor value and a switch, and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series; and the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to the first threshold, control the first switch to be opened; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than the first threshold, control the first switch to be closed (see the above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose drive circuit comprises: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit are connected in parallel; the first main drive circuit comprises a first resistor; the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor and a first switch, and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) comprising: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprises a first resistor (13); the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor (16) and a switch (121), and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures); and the controller is configured to: control the first switch (1) to be opened; or the controller (12) is configured to control the first switch to be closed. (Shown in Fig. 3 and further explained in Col 8 Lines 49-52: gate voltage can be regulated with the profile as shown in FIG. 3. The gate voltage is attenuated in two steps when the switching element 1 is in the gate-off state as in the periods (B) and (C)).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have the first and auxiliary drive systems in parallel, as taught by Nosaka, to have better control and efficiency of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 13, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus, the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus, and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be connected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) wherein: the first auxiliary drive (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus (15), the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller (shown in Figs. 4A, 5A, 6A, 7A); and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus (11 in Fig.1), and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be connected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit (Col 6 Lines 1-2: The switching element 1 has a gate terminal connected to a first end of a capacitor 11 serving as a speed-up capacitor.).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a main drive circuit comprising an acceleration apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 14, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be connected later than the first main drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) wherein: a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprising a drive blocking apparatus (15) and a time delay apparatus (14); the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller (see above rejection); and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be connected later than the first main drive circuit (shown in Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be connected later than the first main drive circuit to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 15, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a first auxiliary drive circuit comprising a drive blocking apparatus, the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus, and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be disconnected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit.
Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) further comprises a drive blocking apparatus (15), the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the first main drive circuit further comprises an acceleration apparatus (11), and the acceleration apparatus is configured to enable the first main drive circuit to be disconnected earlier than the first auxiliary drive circuit (shown in Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a main drive circuit comprising an acceleration apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 16, Matsubara discloses a method of a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a method of a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprising a drive blocking apparatus (15) and a time delay apparatus (14) ; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit (See Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a method of a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 18, Matsubara discloses a power converter (see above rejection).
Matsubara does not disclose the power converter having a first auxiliary drive circuit further comprises a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Nosaka discloses a first auxiliary drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprising a drive blocking apparatus (15) and a time delay apparatus (14) ; the drive blocking apparatus is turned off in a first direction and turned on in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller; and the time delay apparatus is configured to enable the first auxiliary drive circuit to be disconnected later than the first main drive circuit (See Fig. 3).
Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have an auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara and Nosaka by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
Claims 7,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara et al. (US 11056965 B2, hereinafter “Matsubara”) in view of Nosaka et al. (US 1165421 B1, hereinafter “Nosaka”), in view of Consoer et al. (US 10425075 B1, hereinafter “Consoer”), and in further view of Duvnjak. (US 11,437,911 B2; hereinafter “Duvnjak”)..
In re claim 7, Matsubara discloses a power converter with a controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to the first threshold, control the second switch to be opened; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than the first threshold, control the second switch to be closed.
Matsubara does not disclose a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor; the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor and a second switch, and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Nosaka discloses a drive circuit (Fig 1) comprising: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprises a first resistor (13); the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor (16) and a switch (121), and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures)
Nosaka does not disclose a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor; the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor and a second switch, and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel. Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Figure 6 of Consoer (annotated for Claims 7,10)
Whereas, Conosoer discloses a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit (see annoted Figure 6 above), wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor (246); the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor (248) and a second switch (252), and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel.
Conosoer does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara system by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have a first main and auxiliary drive system comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, and a second main and auxiliary drive system, as taught by Consoer, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara, Nosaka, and Conosoer by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
In re claim 10, Matsubara discloses a method of a power converter with a controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to the first threshold, control the second switch to be opened; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than the first threshold, control the second switch to be closed.
Matsubara does not disclose a method of a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor; the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor and a second switch, and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel. Matsubara, furtherly, does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Nosaka discloses a method of a drive circuit (Fig 1) comprising: a first main drive circuit and a first auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the first main drive circuit and the first auxiliary drive circuit; the first main drive circuit (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures) comprises a first resistor (13); the first auxiliary drive circuit comprises a second resistor (16) and a switch (121), and the second resistor and the first switch are connected in series (Fig 1, see above, to show annotated the same structures)
Nosaka does not disclose a method of a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit, wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor; the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor and a second switch, and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel. Nosaka does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Whereas, Conosoer discloses a drive circuit comprises: a second main drive circuit and a second auxiliary drive circuit (see annoted Figure 6 above), wherein the second main drive circuit and the second auxiliary drive circuit are connected in series; the second main drive circuit comprises a third resistor (246); the second auxiliary drive circuit comprises a fourth resistor (248) and a second switch (252), and the fourth resistor and the second switch are connected in parallel. Conosoer does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Conosoer does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill of the art to before the effective filing fate to have modify Matsubara’s method by wherein a power conversion system, as taught by Matsubara, to have a first main and auxiliary drive method comprising a drive blocking apparatus and a time delay apparatus, as taught by Nosaka, and a second main and auxiliary drive method, as taught by Consoer, to have better switching control of Matsubara’s system. Furtherly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power converter of Matsubara, Nosaka, and Conosoer by including a controller as shown by Duvnjak. The selection of the controller would be a routine matter to the person of ordinary skill to increase control and would be expected to bring advantages of responsiveness, precision, and better error correction as taught by Duvnjak, cited above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to dependent claim 17, the prior art of record, Matsubara, as indicated above, discloses a method for adjusting a drive resistance, comprising: in response to a voltage of a power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold, controlling a drive circuit to work in a first amplification mode; or in response to a voltage of a power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold, controlling a drive circuit to work in a second amplification mode ( shown in Fig. 4 and explained in Col 6 Lines 21-27: switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should be switched when the detected value Edd is equal to or greater than a predetermined determination value Ed(ref), and the switching determination circuit 80 determines that the gate driving condition should not be switched when the detected value Edd is smaller than the determination value Ed(ref)), wherein the power conversion circuit and the drive circuit are connected in series (shown in Fig. 3), and an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 7 Lines 17-22: The resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a1 is selected is smaller than the resistance value of the gate resistor connected to the gate of the switching element Q when the driving condition a2 is selected).
Matsubara does not disclose a controller configured to: obtain a voltage of the power conversation circuit that further comprises a drive blocking apparatus, wherein in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit turn on the drive blocking apparatus on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller.
Whereas, Duvnjak, as indicated above, discloses a power converter (Fig. 1A, 2, 4A, 5; 6), comprising: a power conversion circuit having a controller (132); a drive circuit configured to: amplify a control signal from the controller and drive a switching tube (110) in the power conversion circuit to be turned on or off, to implement power conversion of the power conversion circuit; wherein, the drive circuit (134) is connected to the power conversion circuit; and the controller configured to: obtain a voltage (FB) of the power conversation circuit and in response to a voltage of the power conversion circuit being greater than or equal to a first threshold (shown in Fig. 4A and furtherly in Col 15 Lines 64-66: the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the second drive strength (e.g. strong drive)), control the drive circuit to be in a first amplification mode; or the controller is configured to: in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit being less than a first threshold (Col 16 Lines 27-30: variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134 drives the power switch S1 110 with the third drive strength (e.g. very weak drive) and the control voltage V.sub.G 144 begins to rise the threshold V1 460), control the drive circuit to be in a second amplification mode; wherein an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the first amplification mode is greater than an equivalent drive resistance of the drive circuit corresponding to the second amplification mode (Col 16 Lines 53-56: multi-stage gate driver 134 may be varied by varying the drive resistance of the variable strength multi-stage gate driver 134. In one example, the drive resistance may be varied by connecting or disconnecting multiple parallel coupled drive resistances).
Duvjnak does not disclose a drive blocking apparatus, wherein in response to the voltage of the power conversion circuit turn on the drive blocking apparatus on in a first direction and turned off in a second direction, the first direction is from the controller to the power conversion circuit, and the second direction is from the power conversion circuit to the controller
The other prior art on record does not provide the suggestion to modify Matsubara or Duvjnak to arrive at the claimed invention above with the further limitation of claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLAS ALDEN CHAPA MILLS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838