DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to objection of the disclosure have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the disclosure has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 2-8, 11, and 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 2-8, 11, and 14-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks page 10-12, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to rejections of amended claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 of Remarks, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) discloses:
As further disclosed below in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101:
The limitations pertaining to the matching of a first and second branch region can be reasonably performed in a human mind by matching their image features based on similarities, constituting the use of their branch level and hierarchical information.
The limitations pertaining to the quantitative analysis of the first and second branch region are recited at a high level of generality, such that they can be reasonably performed in a human mind through the extraction of some information pertaining to each region.
The limitations pertaining to the generation of diagnostic assistant information based on the quantitative information can be reasonably performed in a human mind through a generation of information indicating the presence of occlusion or distortion within the images.
Therefore, the limitations of claim 1 recite a mental process, and are thus directed towards a mental process.
On pages 11-12 of Remarks, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraphs 0008-0012 of the Specification disclose improvements to a visual quantitative analysis of COPD or emphysema in lungs, performed by radiologists. Wherein the invention is disclosed to provide a consistent index for providing a quantitative assessment for a degree of progression of a disease based on an extraction of quantitative information changes in a branch region over time by registering and matching branch regions of an anatomical tubular structure in a previous and subsequent medical image.
However, if it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification.
That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner, the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology.
After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology.
The judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a)
On page 12 of Remarks, Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
“limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” See MPEP 2106.05(h)
Wherein the limitations pertaining to the anatomical tubular structure serve to limit the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea of mentally generating diagnostic information to a particular field of use, and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 13-15, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to rejections of amended claims 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (detailed in the rejections below) necessitated by Applicant's amendment to the claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process of generating diagnostic information) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1 recite(s):
“…obtaining a first branch region of an anatomical tubular structure in a first medical image and quantitative information of the first branch region”; Which can be reasonably be interpreted as a human observer viewing a first medical image and mentally extracting quantitative information from a detected first branch region.
“…identifying a second branch region matching the first branch region of the anatomical tubular structure in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image”; and “…obtaining quantitative information of the second branch region”; Which can be reasonably interpreted as a human observer viewing a second medical image and mentally extracting quantitative information from a second branch region, wherein the second branch region matches the first branch region.
“…wherein the first branch region and the second branch region are matched based on a branch level and hierarchical information of the anatomical tubular structure”; Which can be reasonably interpreted as a human observer mentally matching the first and second branch regions based on feature matching.
“…generating diagnostic assistant information based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region” and “…wherein the diagnostic assistant information includes state information indicating at least one of occlusion, distortion, separation between a wall and a lumen, rupture, or loss of the anatomical tubular structure.”; Which can be reasonably interpreted as a human observer mentally generating diagnostic information, including image distortion or occlusion, based in the mentally obtained quantitative information of the first branch region and quantitative information of the second branch region.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. There are no additional
elements, therefore there is no claim limitation to amount to “significantly more”.
Depending claims 2-12 do not remedy these deficiencies.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of generating follow-up information including quantitative information of the first branch region and quantitative information of the second branch region, which is a mental process. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of generating group correspondence information comprising the assignment of groups to the first and second branch regions based on the follow-up information, which is a mental process. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of visualizing the diagnostic assistant information by visualizing the follow-up, branch region locations, and group correspondence information, which is a mental process. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of obtaining quantitative information based on a calculation of a structure in a branch region, which is a mental process. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of identifying an airway, aorta, or blood vessel, which is a mental process. The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim(s) 13-20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1-7 and 10 are analogous, respectively. Note that these claims recite additional elements: “memory configured to store one or more instructions” and “a processor configured to execute at least one of the instructions,” which are generically recited and well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Detailed analysis of the density change on chest CT of COPD using non-rigid registration of inspiration/expiration CT scans) hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Kiraly et al. (US2012082358A1) hereinafter referenced as Kiraly.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses: A method of generating diagnostic assistant information using medical images (Kim: Abstract), the method comprising: obtaining a first branch region of an anatomical tubular structure in a first medical image and quantitative information of the first branch region (Kim: CT data acquisition: “In all study subjects, volumetric CT images were obtained at both full inspiration and expiration using a 16-channel, multidetector CT system (Somatom Sensation 16; Siemens Medical Solutions; Forchheim, Germany).”;
Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Initially, segmentation of the lung parenchyma
and vessels was needed for registration…The airway was extracted in the threshold range of -1024 HU to -950 HU. The lung parenchyma was extracted by subtracting the airway. The threshold range for the full inspiration CT was from -1024 HU to -400 HU, and, for full expiration CT, it was -1024 HU to -200 HU. Lung vessels could also be extracted in the threshold range of -400 HU to 3095 HU.”; Wherein the segmentation of a lung’s vessels in a CT image comprises the obtaining a first branch region and its quantitative information.);
identifying a second branch region matching the first branch region of the anatomical tubular structure in a second medical image obtained after the first medical image; obtaining quantitative information of the second branch region (Kim: Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “We developed an automatic non-rigid registration system for regional air trapping visualization on full inspiration/expiration chest CT by using in-house software in which an expiration image is deformed to match the inspiration image at every pixel level… Finally, to confirm that the image co-registration is accurate, two radiologists directly compared the deformed expiration CT images with inspiration CT obtained at the same level and used the location of bronchovascular bundles and other internal anatomic landmarks as references.”; Wherein the registration of the segmented inspiration and expiration CT images constitutes the obtaining of quantitative information of a second branch region matching the first branch region.);
and generating diagnostic assistant information based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region (Kim: Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Following registration, image subtraction was performed to measure the change in lung density.”).
Kim does not disclose expressly: wherein the first branch region and the second branch region are matched based on a branch level and hierarchical information of the anatomical tubular structure, and wherein the diagnostic assistant information includes state information indicating at least one of occlusion, distortion, separation between a wall and a lumen, rupture, or loss of the anatomical tubular structure.
Kiraly discloses: wherein a first branch region and a second branch region are matched based on a branch level and hierarchical information of an anatomical tubular structure (Kiraly: 0028-0030: “an image of an original CT volume, I, of a patient's airway tree is obtained (Step 102). The image may be obtained in various ways, such as, directly subsequent to a CT scan of the patient; from the image data archive or database 18; or from the remote computer network 24 . The imaging system 10 processes the image of the original CT volume I, and obtains an airway segmentation image, IS, from the image of the original CT volume I (Step 104 )…
From the airway segmentation image IS (i.e., the segmented bronchial tree), the method 100 creates an airway tree model, T (Step 106) with a hierarchy that represents the bronchial generations. This permits physicians and other health professionals to select specific airways for review and evaluation…
The resulting tree model T is a hierarchical description of the airway tree as a connected series of branches. The hierarchical description identifies, for each branch, the parent branch from which each branch is descended and the child branches that are descended from each branch.”;
0034: “the imaging system 10 provides an image of a prior or follow up CT volume, I2, of the patient's airway (Step 110 a). The imaging system 100 processes the image data (in a manner the same or similar to that described above) to create a second tree model or skeleton, T2, that represents the structure of the bronchial tree structure of the patient at the earlier or later time-point (Step 110 b)…The imaging system 100 stores the image data, including the tree models, of the two bronchial volumes and uses tree and path matching methods to identify the respective counterpart airways and branches (Step 110 c ). For example, beginning at the 0th generation of the first tree model T1 , the trachea in the first tree model T1 is matched to the trachea in the second tree model T2. For each subsequent generation i, every branch in the ith generation in the first tree model T1 is matched to the corresponding branch in the second tree model T2 according to which branch at that generation has the closest measurement characteristics, including length and branch angle. As a result, for every branch in the first tree model T1 , there is either a matching branch in the second tree model T2 or a null branch, n corresponding to a case where the matching branch cannot be found (e.g., missing branch, insufficiently matching branch). The counterpart airways or branches of interest in a second CT volume may be determined from the matching.”).
and wherein diagnostic assistant information includes state information indicating at least one of occlusion, distortion, separation between a wall and a lumen, rupture, or loss of the anatomical tubular structure (0030-0031: “The resulting tree model T is a hierarchical description of the airway tree as a connected series of branches. The hierarchical description identifies, for each branch, the parent branch from which each branch is descended and the child branches that are descended from each branch…This information can be used to determine or compute a perpendicular cross-section of a respective site (typically the center point) from which airway quantification of a branch will be performed.
Airway quantification is a process for evaluating airway dimensions, which has been heavily described in medical literature…Generally, lumen and wall contours are evaluated, providing measurements, such as, average lumen diameter, minimum and maximum lumen diameters, lumen area, average wall thickness, minimum and maximum wall thicknesses and wall area. A contour, which describes the outline or shape of an airway branch cross-section or an airway branch lumen, usually is defined as a set of 360 points around the axial centerline of a respective airway branch. Each point corresponds to a distance from the edge of the outer walls or the lumen, respectively, to the branch centerline at one specific angle. The points are then computed for 360 degrees around the centerline of the branch.”;
0035: “The method 100 automatically performs airway quantification on both the selected airways of interest and the counterpart airways (Step 112 ). In this way, the outlines or contours for both the lumen and the walls can be displayed side-by-side for comparison. However, such a basic visualization at this point only gives an approximate idea of the anatomical changes of the selected airways that occurred between the different time-points, for example, during the period of treatment for disease of the airways. The method 100 provides an intelligent merge of the two time-point contours for each structure (e.g., pre-treatment and post-treatment) in order to effectively monitor where changes happen along the airway branches and assess the extent of those changes.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the method for confirming the image co-registration between the deformed expiration and inspiration CT images based on bronchovascular bundles and other internal anatomic landmarks as disclosed by Kim with algorithms for extracting and matching airway tree models/skeletons taught by Kiraly. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “From the airway segmentation image IS (i.e., the segmented bronchial tree), the method 100 creates an airway tree model, T (Step 106 ) with a hierarchy that represents the bronchial generations. This permits physicians and other health professionals to select specific airways for review and evaluation…the tree model T permits the airways, or airway branches, of interest to be viewed and identified more easily by a system 10 user (Step 108 ). Airways of interest will usually include all airways, but may optionally be restricted to those airways within a certain size range (e.g., 2 to 10 mm diameter), those airways within a certain generation range (e.g., generations 0 through 5 ), or those airways in a particular lobe (e.g., the right upper lobe).” (Kiraly: 0029 & 0033). Further, one skilled in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the substitution would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kim with Kiraly to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises generating follow-up information including the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region that matches the first branch region (Kim: Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Following registration, image subtraction was performed to measure the change in lung density. The difference in the CT density between the two CT images at each corresponding voxel was measured and regarded as the “SV”. Subtracted quantification results are visualized in the predefined colour map (Fig. 1).”; Wherein the subtraction of the registered CT images constitutes the generation of follow-up information including the quantitative information of the matching branches).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the generating further comprises generating group correspondence information regarding which group is corresponding to at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region corresponding to the follow-up information from among a plurality of groups classified based on the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region included in the follow-up information (Kim: Figure 2; Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Subtracted quantification results are visualized in the predefined colour map (Fig. 1). ATI was defined as the volume fraction of the lung with voxels having a subtraction value below 50. The extracted lung volume was divided into three areas based on the HU values obtained on inspiration CT., i.e., E (-950 to -1024 HU), H (-900 to -949 HU), and N (-400 to -899 HU). We obtained three CT parameters for analysis, i.e., EI from inspiration CT, SV, and ATI from the subtraction colour map (Fig. 2).”; Wherein the labeling of the difference image’s voxels based on a CT density difference threshold constitutes the generation of group correspondence information.).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the generating group correspondence information comprises generating the group correspondence information by classifying each of the plurality of groups as at least one of a group in which the quantitative information of the second branch region has increased compared to the quantitative information of the first branch region, a group in which the quantitative information of the second branch region is the same as the quantitative information of the first branch region, or a group in which the quantitative information of the second branch region has decreased compared to the quantitative information of the first branch region (Kim: Introduction: “Air trapping identifies the area of low attenuation, which does not show a density increase on expiration [11]. It has been known to be an indicator of small airway obstruction [12–14].”;
Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “ATI was defined as the volume fraction of the lung with voxels having a subtraction value below 50.”; Wherein the determination of ATI based on the difference threshold constitutes determining whether the density of the corresponding lung regions, including vessels, in the first and second medical images are the same.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 2, further comprising visualizing the diagnostic assistant information by visualizing the follow-up information together with a location of at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region corresponding to the follow-up information (Kim: Figure 1; Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Following registration, image subtraction was performed to measure the change in lung density. The difference in the CT density between the two CT images at each corresponding voxel was measured and regarded as the “SV”. Subtracted quantification results are visualized in the predefined colour map (Fig. 1).”; Wherein the color map visualizes the difference/subtracted density values of the registered CT images, wherein the voxel locations in the color map are aligned with their corresponding voxels in the Inspiration CT image.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 3, further comprising visualizing the diagnostic assistant information by visualizing group correspondence information regarding which group is corresponding to at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region corresponding to the follow-up information (Kim: Figure 2: “Images of a 73-year-old man with moderate COPD of GOLD stage 2. The entire lung area was divided into three regions according to the CT density on inspiration CT. After subtracting the registered expiration CT, we obtained a colour-coded subtraction image indicative of the ATI in each area. In this patient, the EI was 46 %, the mSV was 30 HU, and the ATI was 77 % in the whole lung”;
Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “ATI was defined as the volume fraction of the lung with voxels having a subtraction value below 50…We obtained three CT parameters for analysis, i.e., EI from inspiration CT, SV, and ATI from the subtraction colour map (Fig. 2).”; Wherein the subtraction color map visualizes the difference/subtracted density values of the registered CT images indicative of ATI, wherein the voxel locations in the color map are aligned with their corresponding voxels in the Inspiration CT image.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the visualizing the diagnostic assistant information comprises visualizing at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region using a visualization element designated for each group (Kim: Figure 2: “Images of a 73-year-old man with moderate COPD of GOLD stage 2. The entire lung area was divided into three regions according to the CT density on inspiration CT. After subtracting the registered expiration CT, we obtained a colour-coded subtraction image indicative of the ATI in each area. In this patient, the EI was 46 %, the mSV was 30 HU, and the ATI was 77 % in the whole lung”; Wherein as shown in figure 2, regions indicative of ATI are colored yellow, while those indicating no ATI are colored purple.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the generating the group correspondence information comprises generating the group correspondence information by using a plurality of groups for each of which a change between the quantitative information of the first branch region and the quantitative information of the second branch region included in the follow-up information is classified by applying a predetermined threshold (Kim: Figure 2; Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “ATI was defined as the volume fraction of the lung with voxels having a subtraction value below 50. The extracted lung volume was divided into three areas based on the HU values obtained on inspiration CT., i.e., E (-950 to -1024 HU), H (-900 to -949 HU), and N (-400 to -899 HU). We obtained three CT parameters for analysis, i.e., EI from inspiration CT, SV, and ATI from the subtraction colour map (Fig. 2).”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the anatomical tubular structure is at least one of an airway, an aorta, or a blood vessel (Kim: Automatic non-rigid registration and analysis: “Initially, segmentation of the lung parenchyma and vessels was needed for registration…The airway was extracted in the threshold range of -1024 HU to -950 HU. The lung parenchyma was extracted by subtracting the airway. The threshold range for the full inspiration CT was from -1024 HU to -400 HU, and, for full expiration CT, it was -1024 HU to -200 HU. Lung vessels could also be extracted in the threshold range of -400 HU to 3095 HU.”).
As per claim(s) 13, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. In addition, Section Statistical analysis of Kim discloses the performing of the statistical analysis using SPSS, thus disclosing the limitation “memory configured to store one or more instructions; and a processor configured to execute at least one of the instructions.”
As per claim(s) 14, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 2 are analogous.
As per claim(s) 15, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 3 are analogous.
As per claim(s) 16, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 4 are analogous.
As per claim(s) 18, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 6 are analogous.
As per claim(s) 19, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 7 are analogous.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kiraly, and further in view of Kin et al. (JP-2019093288-A) hereinafter referenced as Kin.
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 4.
Kim in view of Kiraly does not disclose expressly: wherein the generating group correspondence information comprises generating the group correspondence information by further classifying each of the plurality of groups as at least one of a group to which a new third branch region that does not match the first branch region corresponds among branch regions found in the second medical image, or a group to which a fourth branch region that does not match the branch regions in the second medical image corresponds out of the first branch region.
Kin discloses: an image processing system for performing an alignment of a captured 3DCG medical image of a patient with a 3DCG normal anatomy image created based on a normal anatomical structure of an organism (Kin: Abstract). Wherein the alignment process is performed as following: first an overall alignment is performed on the entire medical image and normal anatomy image, then a specific region of the medical image is aligned with the corresponding region in the normal anatomy image, lastly a lesion area present in the medical image is aligned with its corresponding region on the normal anatomy image (Kin: Page 3, Paragraphs 5-7). Wherein, for the alignment of the lesion area, the normal anatomical image is deformed in order to determine, and align, the lesion in the medical image with its corresponding location on the normal image (Kin: Page 6, Paragraph 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the algorithms for detecting lesions and aligning the lesion areas within the medical image and normal anatomy image taught by Kin for further detecting lesions in the expiration images disclosed by Kim in view of Kiraly and further aligning the lesions with their corresponding positions in the inspiration image. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “the medical image 3DCG34 including the lesion 35 and the normal dissection 3DCG30 created according to the normal anatomical structure. The shape and the positional relationship of each tissue are different. Therefore, it is necessary to cause the medical image 3DCG 34 including the lesion 35 and the normal dissection 3DCG 30 to be nonlinearly fused.” (Kin: Page 3: Paragraph 3; Wherein the visible in the medical image causes the positional relationship between tissues to change). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kim in view of Kiraly with Kin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
As per claim(s) 17, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 5 are analogous.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kiraly, and further in view of Hwang et al. (Quantitative Vertebral Bone Density Seen on Chest CT in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease Patients: Association with Mortality in the Korean Obstructive Lung Disease Cohort) hereinafter referenced as Hwang.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 1.
Kim in view of Kiraly does not disclose expressly: wherein the quantitative information of at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region comprises at least one of a volume, diameter, or sectional area of the branch region.
Hwang discloses: the obtaining of quantitative information of a branch region of an airway, wherein the quantitative information comprises a sectional area of the branch region (Hwang: Assessment of Vertebral Fractures and Other CT Density Variables: “Vertebral compression fracture and other CT density variables were evaluated using commercial software (Aview; Coreline Soft, Seoul, Korea)...CT-based metrics of airway disease, i.e., wall thickness, wall area (WA), lumen area (LA), and wall area percentage (WA%), were measured at the right, apical, subsegmental bronchus using a full-width-half-maximum method. WA% was defined as WA / (WA + LA) x 100 (28).”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the algorithms for determining the CT-based metrics of airway disease taught by Hwang into the method of evaluating a patient’s ATI disclosed by Kim in view of Kiraly. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been wherein the addition of further metrics allows for a greater in-depth analysis of a subject’s status and diagnosis (Hwang: Assessment of Vertebral Fractures and Other CT Density Variables). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kim in view of Kiraly with Hwang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kiraly, and further in view of Kuo et al. (Airway tapering: an objective image biomarker for bronchiectasis) hereinafter referenced as Kuo.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Kiraly discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the quantitative information of at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region comprises: at least one of a thickness of a wall of a tubular structure in the branch region, a sectional area of the wall of the tubular structure in the branch region, a diameter of a lumen of the tubular structure in the branch region, a sectional area of the lumen of the tubular structure in the branch region, or a normalized wall thickness of the tubular structure in the branch region (Kim: Introduction: “Air trapping identifies the area of low attenuation, which does not show a density increase on expiration [11]. It has been known to be an indicator of small airway obstruction [12–14].”;
Figure 1: “Subtraction, colour-coded map obtained by co-registered inspiration and expiration CT. (a) (b) Expiration CT was registered to the inspiration CT. While doing this, the voxel was resized to match the different lung volumes of the two scans. After registration, we could obtain the density change of the specific voxel between inspiration and registered expiration CT images.”; Wherein the density and attenuation of either the inspiration or expiration CT indicate a thickness of a wall of a tubular structure in the branch region).
Kim in view of Kiraly does not disclose expressly: wherein the quantitative information of at least one of the first branch region or the second branch region comprises: a tapering ratio of the anatomical tubular structure in the branch region.
Kuo discloses: wherein quantitative information of a branch region comprises: a tapering ratio of an anatomical tubular structure in the branch region (Kuo: Section: Introduction: “In this study, we used newly developed state-of-the-art automated image analysis software to (1) estimate control values for intra-branch and inter-branch tapering in peadiatric patients with a normal chest CT; and (2) assess differences in airway tapering between control patients and patients with bronchiectasis, comparing the diagnostic value of airway tapering and AA ratios in children with early to moderate lung disease. ”;
Section: Intra-branch tapering: “A line(y=mx+n, where m is the slope of the line and n the y-intercept) was fitted to the diameters measured along the airway branch, using the bi-square weights method (Fig. 2). Intra-branch tapering was obtained as intraBT = −m/n * 100, demonstrating the percentage reduction in airway diameter per millimetre along the centreline. Intra-branch tapering (intraBT) of 2 means that the airway diameter is reduced by 2% per millimetre.”;
Section: Inter-branch tapering: “Inter-branch tapering was obtained as interBT = (dp-d)/dp * 100, where d is the average diameter of the analysed airway branch and dp is the average diameter of the parent airway (the airway branch one generation previously). Inter-branch tapering (interBT) of 20 would indicate that the airway branch is 20% smaller than that before bifurcation.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the algorithms for measuring the Airway–artery ratio and airway tapering for all extracted airways as taught by Kuo into the method of evaluating a patient’s ATI disclosed by Kim in view of Kiraly. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “Tapering measurements were significantly different between diseased and controls across all airway sizes…Tapering showed to be a promising biomarker for bronchiectasis as subjects with bronchiectasis show significantly less airway tapering across all airway sizes compared with controls. Detecting less tapering in larger airways could potentially lead to earlier diagnosis of bronchiectasis. Additionally, compared with the conventional airway–artery ratio, this novel biomarker has the advantage that it does not require pairing with pulmonary arteries.” (Kuo: Abstract). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kim in view of Kiraly with Kuo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
As per claim(s) 20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 10 are analogous.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672