DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 4, 2024 lists the incorrect publication number “EP403852”. Examiner has gone ahead and amended said IDS to recite the correct publication number of “EP0403852”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
At least one hook structure of each structural support that corresponds to the hook structures of the expansion members of the first and second arms of claim 9.
The at least one bolt passing through the channel of the second arm and also passing through a locking receptacle of the first arm of claim 17.
The structural supports engaging with the hook structures of the insert reinforcement member of claim 19.
The at least one flat structural support member comprising means for connecting with at least one vertical support structure of claim 20.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 7, 14, 16, 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
While not necessarily warranting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness, Examiner suggests claim 4 be amended to read --wherein said first arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander, and wherein said second arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive a second expander-- so as to avoid potential ambiguity within the claim as to whether the channels of the first and second arms receive the same expander or not, and to clearly define that each channel receives its own expander. If Applicant amends the claim in this manner, Applicant is reminded to also amend the limitation of the “expander” in claim 6 to read “second expander”.
The limitation in line 2 of claim 5 should be corrected to read --pass through at least one of the locking receptacles of the first arm-- as it is already defined in claim 1 that the first arm comprises at least two locking receptacles.
While not necessarily warranting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness, Examiner suggests claim 7 be amended to read --wherein at least one of said first arm’s expansion members comprise at least one hook structure and wherein at least one of said second arm’s expansion members comprises at least one second hook structure-- so as to avoid potential ambiguity within the claim as to whether the expansion members of the first and second arms comprise the same at least one hook structure or not, and to clearly define that each expansion member has its own hook structure. If Applicant amends the claim in this manner, Applicant is reminded to also amend the at least one hook structure of the expansion member of the second arm within claim 9 to read “the at least one second hook structure”.
While not necessarily warranting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness, Examiner suggests claim 14 be amended to read --wherein said first arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander, and wherein said second arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive a second expander-- so as to avoid potential ambiguity within the claim as to whether the channels of the first and second arms receive the same expander or not, and to clearly define that each channel receives its own expander. If Applicant amends the claim in this manner, Applicant is reminded to also amend the limitation of the “expander” in claims 16 and 17 to read “second expander”.
The limitation in line 2 of claim 16 should be corrected to read --to pass through the at least one locking receptacle of said second arm-- as it is already defined in claim 12 that the second arm comprises at least one locking receptacle.
In claims 18-19, the limitation “reinforcement member” should be corrected to read --insert reinforcement member-- as such is how the limitation is defined within claim 12.
Claim 19 should contain commas to separate clauses within the claim.
Claim 19 should be corrected to read --further comprising at least two structural supports wherein one of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said first arm wherein the one of said structural supports engages with one of said hook structures of said insert reinforcement member to engage said first arm and wherein another of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said second arm wherein another of said structural supports engages with another one of said hook structures of said insert reinforcement member to engage said second arm-- to clearly define that the one structural support that encloses the first arm engages with one of the hooks of the insert reinforcement member to engage said first arm.
Examiner proposes amending line 9 of claim 20 to read --said at least one flat insert member comprising means for expanding each of said at least one flat insert member’s first and second arms-- or the like, so as to clearly define that the expanding means are a part of the flat insert member.
Examiner proposes within claim 20 to define the decorative element of the vertical insert member as --a second decorative element—within lines 14-15, so as to avoid ambiguity within the claim and to clearly define that the decorative elements of the flat insert member and vertical insert members are different from one another.
Examiner proposes amending lines 21-22 of claim 20 to read --said at least one vertical insert member comprising means for expanding each of said at least one vertical insert member’s first and second arms-- or the like, so as to clearly define that the expanding means are a part of the vertical insert member.
The limitation in line 24 of claim 20 should be corrected to read --by said at least one vertical support structure-- as at least one vertical support structure is already defined in lines 12-13 of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein at least one bolt is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said first arm to be inserted into said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel” in lines 1-3. Claim 1 already defines that the first arm comprises at least two locking receptacles, so it is unclear from claim 6 as to whether an additional locking receptacle is being defined or not. Further, it is unclear if Applicant is intending to recite that the at least one bolt passes through at least one locking receptacle of the second arm, not the first arm, to be inserted into said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel, as applicant’s specification states that a bolt may traverse the at least one second arm locking receptacle and enter the expander within the second arm (see line 22 page 17 – line 5 page 18). As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the at least one bolt is to pass through a locking receptacle of said second arm and will interpret the above limitation as reading as: “wherein at least one bolt is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said second arm to be inserted into said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel”.
Claim 11 recites “wherein said at least two structural supports comprise a wood grain indicia applied to the exterior of said at least one structural supports”. It is already defined within the claims that there are at least two structural supports within the joint system. Therefore, it is unclear if Applicant is intending to recite that both structural supports comprise a wood grain indicia applied to their exterior, or if Applicant is intending to recite that at least one of the two structural supports has a wood grain indicia applied to its exterior. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the wood grain indicia is applied to the exterior of at least one of the two structural supports and will interpret claim 11 as reading as: “wherein said at least two structural supports comprise a wood grain indicia applied to the exterior of at least one of said at least two structural supports”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pantev (US 5,605,410).
Regarding claim 1, Pantev discloses a joint system (Fig. 1-3, the first and second arms having the embodiment of Fig. 10) comprising:
an insert member (14);
said insert member further comprising a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated Fig. 1 below; the first and second arms having the embodiment of Fig. 10);
said first arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see channel in Annotated Fig. 1; expansion members 24, 39, 40 surround the channel in the first arm, see Fig. 3);
said first arm comprising at least two locking receptacles (see Annotated Fig. 2 below); and
said second arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see Annotated Fig. 1; second arm has expansion members 22, 39, 40 surrounding the channel of the second arm, see Annotated Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 10).
Annotated Figure 1 Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Pantev discloses wherein said insert member is selected from the group consisting of a flat insert member and a vertical insert member (insert member 14 acts as a flat insert member, as it has flat surfaces and the arms receive flat rectangular structural supports 16).
Regarding claim 4, Pantev discloses wherein said first arm’s channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander, and wherein said second arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander (see the channels of the first and second arms in Annotated Fig. 1; each channel receives expander members 122, 124 within the channels as seen in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Pantev discloses wherein at least one bolt (20 Fig. 3, 120 Fig. 10) is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said first arm to be inserted into said expander within said first arm’s at least one channel (see locking receptacles of the first arm in Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 10), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said first arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said first arm’s at least one channel, wherein said first arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see Col. 5 line 54 – Col. 6 line 17).
Regarding claim 6, Pantev discloses wherein at least one bolt (20 Fig. 3, 120 Fig. 10) is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said second arm to be inserted into said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel (see locking receptacles of the second arm in Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 10), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said second arm’s at least one channel, wherein said second arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see Col. 5 line 54 – Col. 6 line 17).
Regarding claim 12, Pantev discloses a joint system (Fig. 1-3, the first and second arms having the embodiment of Fig. 10) comprising:
an insert member (14);
an insert reinforcement member configured and dimensioned to removably affix to and structurally reinforce said insert member (insert reinforcement members 122, 124 are removably located within channels of the first and second arms of the insert, see Fig. 10);
said insert member comprising a decorative element (104);
said insert member further comprising a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated Fig. 1);
said first arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see channel in Annotated Fig. 1; expansion members 24, 39, 40 surround the channel in the first arm, see Fig. 3);
said first arm comprising at least one locking receptacle (see Annotated Fig. 2);
said second arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see Annotated Fig. 1; second arm has expansion members 22, 39, 40 surrounding the channel of the second arm, see Annotated Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 10); and
said second arm comprising at least one locking receptacle (see Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Pantev discloses wherein said insert member is selected from the group consisting of a flat insert member and a vertical insert member (insert member 14 acts as a flat insert member, as it has flat surfaces and the arms receive flat rectangular structural supports 16).
Regarding claim 14, Pantev discloses wherein said first arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander, and wherein said second arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander (insert reinforcement members 122, 124 within the channel of each arm act as expanders within each channel as seen in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Pantev discloses wherein at least one bolt (20 Fig. 3, 120 Fig. 10) is configured and dimensioned to pass through said first arm’s at least one locking receptacle to be inserted into said expander within said first arm’s at least one channel (see locking receptacles of the first arm in Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 10), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said first arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said first arm’s at least one channel, wherein said first arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see Col. 5 line 54 – Col. 6 line 17).
Regarding claim 16, Pantev discloses wherein at least one bolt (20 Fig. 3, 120 Fig. 10 is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said second arm to be inserted into said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel (see locking receptacles of the second arm in Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 10), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said second arm’s at least one channel, wherein said second arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see Col. 5 line 54 – Col. 6 line 17).
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merlin Gerin SA (FR-2642799; hereinafter Merlin).
Regarding claim 12, Merlin discloses a joint system comprising:
an insert member (12);
an insert reinforcement member (26) configured and dimensioned to removably affix to and structurally reinforce said insert member (insert reinforcement members 26 are removably affixed within channels of each arm of the insert member, see Fig. 2-3);
said insert member comprising a decorative element (16);
said insert member further comprising a first arm and a second arm (see first and second arms 20 in Annotated Fig. 3 below);
said first arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see channel of first arm in Annotated Fig. 3, see expansion members 22, 24 around the channel in Fig. 2);
said first arm comprising at least one locking receptacle (see Annotated Fig. 4 below);
said second arm comprising at least one channel having expansion members formed around said channel (see channel of second arm in Annotated Fig. 3, see expansion members 22, 24 around the channel in Fig. 2); and
said second arm comprising at least one locking receptacle (see Annotated Fig. 4).
Annotated Figure 3 Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 13, Merlin discloses wherein said insert member is selected form the group consisting of a flat insert member and a vertical insert member (insert member 12 acts as a flat insert member, as it has flat surfaces and the arms receive flat rectangular structural supports 10).
Regarding claim 14, Merlin discloses wherein said first arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander, and wherein said second arm’s at least one channel is configured and dimensioned to receive an expander (the channels of the first and second arms seen in Annotated Fig. 3 receive the insert reinforcement members 26 within each channel, the insert reinforcement members act as an expander within each channel).
Regarding claim 15, Merlin discloses wherein at least one bolt (40) is configured and dimensioned to pass through said first arm’s at least one locking receptacle to be inserted into said expander (26) within said first arm’s at least one channel (see Annotated Fig. 4, see Fig. 3), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said first arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said first arm’s at least one channel, wherein said first arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see [0063] of the provided translated description).
Regarding claim 16, Merlin discloses wherein at least one bolt (40) is configured and dimensioned to pass through at least one locking receptacle of said second arm to be inserted into said expander (26) within said second arm’s at least one channel (see Annotated Fig. 4, see Fig. 3), and, when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said second arm’s at least one channel, wherein said second arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see [0063] of the provided translated description).
Regarding claim 17, Merlin discloses wherein at least one bolt (40) is configured and dimensioned to pass through said channel of said second arm to be inserted into said expander (26) within said second arm’s at least one channel (see Fig. 3), and when the at least one bolt is rotated, said expander within said second arm’s at least one channel applies a force to said second arm’s at least one channel, wherein said second arm’s at least one channel’s expansion members expand (see [0063] of the provided translated description) and wherein the at least one bolt passes partially through at least one locking receptacle of said first arm (see Annotated Fig. 4 and Fig. 3, the bolt 40 that is inserted into the expander 26 of the second arm must pass through a portion of the first locking receptacle prior to being inserted into the expander of the second arm, as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Merlin discloses wherein said reinforcement member (26) comprises at least two hook structures (each reinforcement member 26 has a hook structure 48, thus there are at least two hook structures within the joint system).
Regarding claim 19, Merlin discloses further comprising at least two structural supports (10) wherein one of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said first arm (see Fig. 3) wherein one of said structural supports engages with one of said hook structures of said reinforcement member to engage said first arm (hook 48 of the reinforcement member of the first arm engages with 46 of the structural support member as seen in Fig. 3 and described in [0063] of the provided translated description) and wherein another of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said second arm (see Fig. 3) wherein another of said structural supports engages with another one of said hook structures of said reinforcement member to engage said second arm (hook 48 of the reinforcement member of the second arm engages with 46 of the structural support member as seen in Fig. 3 and described in [0063] of the provided translated description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantev in view of the publication “High Friction Treatment” by Dymco (https://www.dymcosteelbelt.com/new-products-2/surface/high-friction/).
Regarding claim 3, Pantev discloses wherein said first arm and said second arm each comprise at least one raised friction tab (64, 65, 66, see Fig. 3, see Col. 4 lines 53-65). However, Pantev does not explicitly disclose wherein each arm are coated with a substance to increase said first arm’s and said second arm’s frictional coefficient.
Dymco teaches of a high friction coating that is applicable to solid metal parts made of aluminum, as a means to provide rust and corrosion resistance, and subsequently provides a high friction coefficient (see pg.1 of Dymco).
Being that the insert of Pantev is made of aluminum, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pantev with the teachings of Dymco, to apply the high friction coating to the insert and arms of Pantev, as such would provide rust and corrosion resistance to the insert of Pantev, as well as increase the frictional coefficient of the insert and the first and second arms of the insert.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantev in view of Hetzer (DE-4403389).
Regarding claim 7, Pantev does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said first arm’s expansion members comprise at least one hook structure and wherein at least one of said second arm’s expansion members comprise at least one hook structure.
Hetzer teaches of a similar joint system comprising an insert (1) having first (4) and second (5) arms that are configured to be received by and connected to structural support members (2, 3), wherein each arm has an expansion member (15) and each expansion member comprises a hook like structure (8), each hook like structure being received in corresponding hook hole structures (9) of the structural support members when the arms are received by the structural support members, which thereby secures the structural support members from being pulled apart from the insert (see [0025] of the translated description).
Being that the joint system of Pantev comprises structural supports (16) that are configured to receive and be connected to the first and second arms of the insert (see Fig. 1 of Pantev), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pantev with the teachings of Hetzer, such that at least one of the expansion members of each of the first and second arms comprise a hook structure, wherein each of the structural supports of Pantev comprise a corresponding hook hole structure, and wherein each hook like structure of the expansion members are received in the corresponding hook hole structure of the structural supports when the arms are received by the structural supports, as such would thereby further secure the structural supports from being pulled apart from the insert.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pantev and Hetzer further teach of further comprising at least two structural supports (16 of Pantev) wherein one of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said first arm and wherein another of said structural supports is configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and enclose said second arm (see Fig. 1 of Pantev, see Col. 3 lines 47-50 of Pantev).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pantev and Hetzer further teach wherein said at least two structural supports (16 of Pantev) each comprise at least one hook structure that correspond to said at least one hook structure of said expansion members of said first arm and at least one hook structure of said expansion member of said second arm (hook hole structures of each structural support taught in claim 7 are the hook structures of the structural supports, which correspond and engage with the hook structures of expansion members of the first and second arms).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pantev and Hetzer further teach wherein said at least two structural supports are configured and dimensioned to engage and enclose arms of at least two other joint systems (the structural supports 16 of Pantev are capable of engaging and enclosing arms of at least two other joint systems).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pantev in view of Hetzer as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Bruder (US 6,223,917).
Regarding claim 11, Pantev nor Hetzer explicitly disclose wherein said at least two structural supports comprise a wood grain indicia applied to the exterior of at least one of said at least two structural supports.
Bruder (Fig. 1-2) teaches of a similar joint system comprising an insert (2) having arms (7) that slidably engage with structural support (1), wherein each structural support member comprises dovetail grooves (8) on their exterior surfaces that receive wooden strips (10, 10’, 10”), thereby providing a particular aesthetic and attractive appearance to the structural supports (see Col. 2 line 52 – Col. 3 line 17).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pantev with the teachings of Bruder, to have the structural supports each comprise dovetail grooves on their exterior surfaces that receive wooden strips, as such will provide a particular aesthetic and attractive appearance to the structural supports. In doing such, the structural supports will thereby comprise a wood grain indicia applied to the exterior of the structural supports.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oakley (US 6,926,459) in view of Hetzer.
Regarding claim 20, Oakley discloses a joint system comprising:
at least one flat insert member (see exemplary embodiment 14 in Fig. 3, see the flat insert member of the joint system in Annotated Fig. 5 below) comprising a decorative element (16 Fig. 3);
said decorative element of said at least one flat insert member traversing the entire circumference of a seam of said at least one flat insert member (see in Fig. 3 that the decorative element 16 traverses entire circumferences of seams from which arms 18 of the insert member extend from);
said at least one flat insert member comprising a first arm and a second arm (18, see Annotated Fig. 5), each extending from said seam (see in Fig. 3 that each arm 18 extends from a seam);
means for expanding each of said at least one flat insert members first and second arms (screws 30 are the means for expanding as they expand each arm when threaded into holes 28 of each arm, see Col. 4 lines 20-33);
each of said at least one flat insert members first and second arms configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and be enclosed by at least one flat structural support (structural supports 12; see flat structural supports in Annotated Fig. 6 below; see the structural supports slidably engaging and enclosing arms 18 in Fig. 11-12);
said at least one flat structural support comprising means for connecting with at least one vertical structural support (the flat structural supports are connected to vertical structural supports as seen in Annotated Fig. 6, via the flat insert member serving as a means for connecting them together);
at least one vertical insert member (see exemplary embodiment 14 in Fig. 3, see the vertical insert member of the joint system in Annotated Fig. 5 below) comprising a decorative element (16 Fig. 3);
said decorative element of said at least one vertical insert member traversing the entire circumference of a seam of said at least one vertical insert member (see in Fig. 3 that the decorative element 16 traverses entire circumferences of seams from which arms 18 of the insert member extend from);
said at least one vertical insert member comprising a first arm and a second arm (18, see Annotated Fig. 5), each extending from said seam (see in Fig. 3 that each arm 18 extends from a seam);
means for expanding each of said at least one vertical insert member’s first and second arms (screws 30 are the means for expanding as they expand each arm when threaded into holes 28 of each arm, see Col. 4 lines 20-33); and
each of said at least one vertical insert member’s first and second arms configured and dimensioned to slidably engage and be enclosed by at least one vertical structural support (structural supports 12; see vertical structural supports in Annotated Fig. 6 below; see the structural supports slidably engaging and enclosing arms 18 in Fig. 11-12).
Annotated Figure 5
Annotated Figure 6
Oakley does not explicitly disclose wherein said at least one flat insert member’s first and second arms each comprising hook structures at each end of said arms; nor wherein said at least one vertical insert member’s first and second arms each comprising hook structures at each end of said arms.
Hetzer teaches of a similar joint system comprising an insert (1) having first (4) and second (5) arms that are configured to be received by and connected to structural support members (2, 3), wherein an end each arm has a hook like structure (8) at an end thereof, each hook like structure being received in corresponding hook hole structures (9) of the structural support members, which thereby secures the structural support members from being pulled apart form the insert (see [0025] of the translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oakley with the teachings of Hetzer, to have each of the first and second arms of the flat insert member and each of the first and second arm of the vertical insert member comprise hook structures at ends of each of the arms, wherein each of the flat structural supports and vertical structural supports each comprise a corresponding hook hole structure, and wherein each hook structure of the arms of the flat and vertical insert members are received in the corresponding hook hole structures of the flat and vertical structural supports when the arms are received by the structural supports, as such would thereby further secure the flat and vertical structural supports from being pulled apart from the flat and vertical insert members.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678