Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai (JP 2004319854 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagai discloses a mounting machine, comprising: a head (118; see Fig. 1) that includes a suction nozzle (206; see Fig. 2), the head being configured to suck a component at a distal end portion of the suction nozzle and mount the component on a board (see Para. 0028-0029); a sensor (208; see Fig. 2) that includes a light source (see Para. 0041) and a light receiver (see Para. 0041), the light source being configured to emit a light ray to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle (see Para. 0046), the light receiver being configured to receive the light ray emitted from the light source (see Para. 0046), the sensor being configured to output light intensity of the light ray received by the light receiver (see Para. 0041); and a controller that computes a first differential value by differentiating the light intensity of the light ray output from the sensor, and determines whether or not a suction state of the component sucked to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle when the suction nozzle passes through the light ray is defective based on the computed first differential value, wherein the controller determines that the suction state of the component is not defective when the first differential value is more than or equal to a first threshold value and is less than a second threshold value more than the first threshold value (see Para. 0066-0073).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a controller that computes a first differential value by differentiating the light intensity of the light ray output from the sensor, and determines whether or not a suction state of the component sucked to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle when the suction nozzle passes through the light ray is defective based on the computed first differential value, wherein the controller determines that the suction state of the component is not defective when the first differential value is more than or equal to a first threshold value and is less than a second threshold value more than the first threshold value on the mounting machine of Kumagai, as setting a certain range of numerical values denoting a suction state and determining that the suction state is normal if within a range is a design matter choice that a person skilled in the art could have selected, in order to determine the suction state of a component. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Kumagai discloses the mounting machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller determines that the component is not sucked to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle and generates and outputs a notification indicating that the suction state of the component is defective when it is determined that the first differential value is less than the first threshold value (see Para. 0078).
Regarding claim 3, Kumagai discloses the mounting machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller generates and outputs a notification indicating that the suction state of the component is defective when it is determined that the first differential value is more than or equal to the second threshold value (see Para. 0078).
Regarding claim 10, Kumagai discloses the mounting machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the head (118; see Fig. 1) includes a plurality of the suction nozzles (206; see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kumagai discloses the mounting machine as claimed in claim 10, wherein the plurality of suction nozzles are aligned in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the light source emits the light ray, and the head moves in the direction in which the plurality of suction nozzles are aligned (see Para. 0043; angle is 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 12, Kumagai discloses a suction state determination method executed by a terminal device including one or more computers connected to communicate with a mounting machine being configured to suck a component at a distal end portion of a suction nozzle and mount the component on a board (see Abstract), the method comprising: acquiring light intensity of a light ray emitted to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle and received by a light receiver (see Para. 0041); computing a differential value by differentiating the acquired light intensity of the light ray; and determining that a suction state of the component sucked to the distal end portion of the suction nozzle when the suction nozzle passes through the light ray is not defective when it is determined that the computed differential value is more than or equal to a first threshold value and is less than a second threshold value more than the first threshold value (see Para. 0066-0073).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651