DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 17 and 18 have been amended.
Claim 21 is new.
This office action is in response to the amendment submitted on 1-APR-2026.
Examiner’s Note (EN)
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC 103
The examiner in the telephonic interview on March 21 2026 had indicated that the new amendment incorporating the snooping limitation would likely overcome the prior art of record. Upon further, consideration new rejection grounds were found as indicated below. Additionally, the examiner had indicated that the inter-microservice limitation would require further consideration. Upon further consideration, Caldato’s service mesh does route traffic between different services serving as inter-microservice traffic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Caldato et al. (US20190102280A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Caldato teaches a method for debugging microservices in a containerized service-based application, the method comprising:
obtaining a request from a debugging system, the request indicating that a communication pipeline to the debugging system is to be established ([0008] "a method of providing runtime debugging for containerized services in container environments may include receiving a request for a service at a container environment … The method may also include determining that the request should be routed to a debug instance of the service … The method may additionally include routing, by the service mesh, the request to the debug instance." [0009-0011] discuss various embodiments centered around routing to debug instance. [0127-0128] “FIG. 25 illustrates a block diagram of a system for instantiating a debug instance of a service 2502, according to some embodiments. The cloud computing platform 202 can receive normal requests from regular clients 2204, 2206. These normal requests can be routed through the load balancer 2208 and the service mesh 2210 to a particular service. That service may have multiple instances 2214, 2216, 2218, and a load balancer 2212 for that service can route requests such that the load at each service instance is balanced. In addition to receiving normal requests from the regular clients 2204, 2206, some embodiments may also receive debug request 2506 from a debug client 2504. The debug client 2504 may be identical to the regular clients 2204, 2206, and thus may comprise a desktop computer, laptop computer, workstation, server, mobile computing device, smart phone, PDA, tablet computer, laptop computer, smart watch, and so forth. However, the debug client 2504 may be specifically identified as a client device that provides debug messages to the cloud computing platform 202. A debug request 2506 may be identical to normal requests sent from the regular clients 2204, 2206. However the debug request 2506 may be specifically provided by the debug client 2504 to go to a debugging instance of the service rather than the normal instances of the service 2214, 2216, 2218”).
initiating performance of a containerized service-based process based on the request ([0008] "instantiating the debug instance of the service" and [0129] “When the service mesh 2210 receives the debug request 2506, it can determine whether or not a debugging instance of the service is currently operating in the container platform 210. If there is no debug instance of the service currently operating on the container platform 210, the service mesh 2210 can send a message to the API registry 404 to generate alternatively, the service mesh 2210 can initiate a message to a scheduler for the cloud computing platform 202 to generate a debugging instance of the service in embodiments that do not use the API registry 404”).
while the containerized service-based process is performed:
monitoring, by a listener configured by the debugging system, inter-microservice traffic between a microservice hosted by the containerized service-based application and other microservices hosted by the containerized service- based application, the inter-microservice traffic comprising messages that support operation of the containerized service-based application ([0008] "The container environment may include a service mesh and a plurality of services encapsulated in a plurality of containers." EN: Wikipedia’s definition of a service mesh is: In software architecture, a service mesh is a dedicated infrastructure layer for facilitating service-to-service communications between services or microservices using a proxy. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Service_mesh ).
identifying, by the listener, that a portion of the inter-microservice traffic directed to the microservice was initiated based on the request from the debugging system ([0011] "Determining that the request should be routed to the debug instance of the service may include identifying a source of the request. Determining that the request should be routed to the debug instance of the service may include recognizing a header in the request that designates the request as a debug request. The request may be forwarded to the debug instance of the service without interrupting the routing of other requests to the service" Also, Fig. 25 and [0127-0128])
redirecting the portion of inter-microservice the traffic from the microservice hosted the containerized service-based application to a replicated instance of the microservice that is hosted by the debugging system to obtain the communication pipeline between the microservice and the debugging system (([0118] "a debug client can send specific debug requests that are routed through a load balancer and directed by a service mesh to a debug instance of the service. This allows requests from other clients to pass through the same load balancer and service mesh while continuing to be routed directly to normal instances of the service" and [0124] "The operation of the service itself may be considered a clone of the other normal instances of the service 2214, 2216, 2218 from FIG. 22" EN: The service mesh routes traffic between services, thereby being inter-microservice).
performing a debugging process using the communication pipeline and the replicated instance of the microservice to identify and correct an undesired operation of the microservice ([0124-0126] "In addition to the container 2302, the pod 2300 may include a specific debug build of the service itself. For example, one or more of the services 320, 322, 324, 326 may be built or compiled using a debug configuration such that the source code of the services 320, 322, 324, 326 includes interfaces for a debugger process 2310 to operate with the debug build of the service. One or more of the services 320, 322, 324, 326 would thus be able to provide variable values and pause execution based on interactions with the debugger 2310. The operation of the service itself may be considered a clone of the other normal instances of the service 2214, 2216, 2218 from FIG. 22. Thus, the debug build of the service illustrated in the pod 2300 of FIG. 23 can be used to reliably debug the normal instances of the service 2214, 2216, 2218 from FIG. 22. … Additionally, the debug daemon 2304, debug login 2308, debugger 2310, and/or additional debug utilities 2306 may also be included in the container 314 in any combination and without limitation. It will be understood that none of these debug utilities is required for a specific embodiment, and therefore some embodiments may omit any of the debug utilities described above. … The debug instance of the service may receive regular and/or specialized request traffic in a manner similar to that of the normal service instances 2214, 2216, 2218. This allows real transactions to be debugged in a production environment in real-time without interrupting the regular operation of the normal service instances 2214, 2216, 2218").
providing computer implemented services using the microservice ([0117] " using real-time, live data that may be optimal for re-creating errors and determining whether fixes/patches for these errors work properly without interfering with the expected operation of the service").
Regarding claim 2, Caldato teaches the method of claim 1. Caldato further teaches wherein the containerized service-based application is hosted by a deployment, and the debugging system is used by an entity tasked with managing operation of the containerized service-based application by providing debugging services for the microservice (Please refer to Fig. 25 below for a representation containerized services as well as the debug instance being managed by the service mesh as described by the following disclosures. [0056] “In a another example, the service 114 can be deployed to a container platform 210. The container platform differs from the virtual machines 208 in a number of important ways. First, the container platform 210 packages individual services into containers as described in greater detail below in FIG. 3. Each container shares a host operating system kernel, and they also share binaries, libraries, and other read-only components. This allows containers to be exceptionally light—often only a few megabytes in size. Additionally, a lightweight container is very efficient, taking just seconds to start versus the minutes required to boot up a virtual machine. Containers also reduce management overhead by sharing the operating system and other libraries that can be maintained together for the entire set of containers in the container platform 210” and [0118] “The embodiments described herein make changes to the cloud computing platform 202 such that a debug build of the service can be deployed with a debugger in the production/deployment environment 104 to receive real-time, live data from actual request traffic. In some embodiments, a debug client can send specific debug requests that are routed through a load balancer and directed by a service mesh to a debug instance of the service. This allows requests from other clients to pass through the same load balancer and service mesh while continuing to be routed directly to normal instances of the service. In some embodiments, the service mesh can receive requests from any client and clone the requests to be sent to the debug instance of the service. These embodiments allow a debug instance of the service to operate in the cloud computing platform 202 of the production/deployment environment 104 alongside the normal instances of the service. These embodiments also solve the technical problems described above by routing real-time, live requests to the debug instance of the service without interrupting the normal operations of other service instances”).
Regarding claim 3, Caldato teaches the method of claim 2. Caldato further teaches wherein the debugging system and the deployment are distinguishable hardware devices, and the debugging system and the deployment are operably connected to each other (Each of the constituents are run in separate pods and nodes, see Fig. 25, and [0060] “A number of different pods can be deployed to a container node 302. Generally, pods run within nodes. A node represents a worker machine (either virtual or physical) in the container platform. Each node is managed by a “master” that automatically handles scheduling pods within each of the nodes. Each node can run a process that is responsible for communication between the master and the node and for managing the pods in containers on the machine represented by the node”).
Regarding claim 4, Caldato teaches the method of claim 1. Caldato further teaches wherein the communication pipeline is a logical entity adapted to:
identify data that is relevant to the request and directed to the microservice, and redirect the identified data from the microservice to the debugging system ([0118] "a debug client can send specific debug requests that are routed through a load balancer and directed by a service mesh to a debug instance of the service. This allows requests from other clients to pass through the same load balancer and service mesh while continuing to be routed directly to normal instances of the service." [0132-0133] “the API registry 404 may provide the endpoint to the service mesh 2210. The service mesh 2210 can then use the endpoint to route the debug message 2506 to the debug instance of the service 2502. This endpoint does not need to be published because only the service mesh 2210 needs to send any messages to the debug instance. However, some embodiments may make this endpoint available to other services that access the debug information during runtime. FIG. 26 illustrates a block diagram of the container platform 210 routing debug requests to the debug instance of the service 2502, according to some embodiments. When the debug request 2506 is received by the service mesh 2210, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506. The debug request 2506 may be distinguished from normal requests from the regular clients 2204, 2206 in a number of different ways. For example, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 by virtue of a sender, namely the debug client 2504. When the service mesh 2210 recognizes an address of the debug client 2504, the service mesh 2210 can designate the request as a debug request 2506. This allows the service mesh 2210 to identify debug requests by virtue of their source”).
Regarding claim 5, Caldato teaches the method of claim 1. Caldato further teaches wherein initiating performance of the containerized service-based process comprises:
sending a communication to at least one microservice of the microservices of the containerized service-based application ([0127] "FIG. 25 illustrates a block diagram of a system for instantiating a debug instance of a service 2502, according to some embodiments" and [0129] "When the service mesh 2210 receives the debug request 2506, it can determine whether or not a debugging instance of the service is currently operating in the container platform 210. If there is no debug instance of the service currently operating on the container platform 210, the service mesh 2210 can send a message to the API registry 404 to generate alternatively, the service mesh 2210 can initiate a message to a scheduler for the cloud computing platform 202 to generate a debugging instance of the service in embodiments that do not use the API registry 404").
Regarding claim 6, Caldato teaches the method of claim 5. Caldato further teaches wherein the communication comprises:
communication information for the debugging system ([00134] “the debug request 2506 may include a payload within the request that includes a predetermined value that is only used by debug requests”)
a unique identifier for the request from the debugging system ([0133-0134] "When the debug request 2506 is received by the service mesh 2210, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506. The debug request 2506 may be distinguished from normal requests from the regular clients 2204, 2206 in a number of different ways. For example, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 by virtue of a sender, namely the debug client 2504. When the service mesh 2210 recognizes an address of the debug client 2504, the service mesh 2210 can designate the request as a debug request 2506. This allows the service mesh 2210 to identify debug requests by virtue of their source. In some embodiments, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 using any information embedded within the debug request 2506. For example, the debug request 2506 may have unique header information or one or more flag settings within the debug request 2506 that identify it as a debug request").
Regarding claim 7, Caldato teaches the method of claim 6. Caldato further teaches wherein identifying that the portion of the inter-microservice traffic was initiated based on the request from the debugging system comprises:
obtaining information regarding content of the inter-microservice traffic, the information being usable to identify whether the unique identifier is present in the content of the inter-microservice traffic ([0133] “When the debug request 2506 is received by the service mesh 2210, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506. The debug request 2506 may be distinguished from normal requests from the regular clients 2204, 2206 in a number of different ways. For example, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 by virtue of a sender, namely the debug client 2504. When the service mesh 2210 recognizes an address of the debug client 2504, the service mesh 2210 can designate the request as a debug request 2506. This allows the service mesh 2210 to identify debug requests by virtue of their source” EN: the traffic reviewed by the service mesh is originating from one service to another service, thereby being inter-microservice).
making a determination regarding whether the content comprises any instances of the unique identifier ([0133-0134] "The debug request 2506 may be distinguished from normal requests from the regular clients 2204, 2206 in a number of different ways. For example, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 by virtue of a sender, namely the debug client 2504. When the service mesh 2210 recognizes an address of the debug client 2504, the service mesh 2210 can designate the request as a debug request 2506. This allows the service mesh 2210 to identify debug requests by virtue of their source. In some embodiments, the service mesh 2210 can identify the debug request 2506 using any information embedded within the debug request 2506. For example, the debug request 2506 may have unique header information or one or more flag settings within the debug request 2506 that identify it as a debug request. In another example, the debug request 2506 may include a payload within the request that includes a predetermined value that is only used by debug requests").
Regarding claim 9, Caldato teaches the method of claim 1. Caldato further teaches wherein redirecting the portion of the inter-microservice traffic comprises:
forwarding the portion of the traffic to an interceptor service ([0133-0134] "When the debug request 2506 is received by the service mesh 2210").
forwarding, by the interceptor service, the portion of inter-microservice traffic to the replicated instance of the microservice hosted by debugging system ([0118] “The embodiments described herein make changes to the cloud computing platform 202 such that a debug build of the service can be deployed with a debugger in the production/deployment environment 104 to receive real-time, live data from actual request traffic. In some embodiments, a debug client can send specific debug requests that are routed through a load balancer and directed by a service mesh to a debug instance of the service. This allows requests from other clients to pass through the same load balancer and service mesh while continuing to be routed directly to normal instances of the service. In some embodiments, the service mesh can receive requests from any client and clone the requests to be sent to the debug instance of the service. These embodiments allow a debug instance of the service to operate in the cloud computing platform 202 of the production/deployment environment 104 alongside the normal instances of the service. These embodiments also solve the technical problems described above by routing real-time, live requests to the debug instance of the service without interrupting the normal operations of other service instances” and [0135] "the service mesh 2210 can then route the debug request 2506 to the debug instance of the service 2502. When future debug requests are received from the debug client 2504 or other clients designated as debug clients, the service mesh 2210 can also route these requests to the debug instance of the service 2502").
Regarding claim 11, Caldato teaches the method of claim 1. Caldato further teaches wherein the undesired operation of the microservice is observed in past operation of the microservice, and the undesired operation is a basis for performing the debugging process ([0117] "Prior to this disclosure, a debug build of the service with the debugger 110 would be run in the IDE using dummy data or preconfigured inputs to try and simulate the real-world flow of request traffic that the service receives in the production/deployment environment 104. However, this prevents the service from using real-time, live data that may be optimal for re-creating errors and determining whether fixes/patches for these errors work properly without interfering with the expected operation of the service").
Regarding claim 12, Caldato teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations for debugging microservices in a containerized service-based application, the operation comprising ([0009] “In some embodiments, a non-transitory, computer-readable medium may include instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform operations including receiving a request for a service at a container environment”).
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 13-16 are medium claims reciting limitations similar to claims 2-5 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, Caldato teaches a data processing system, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations for debugging microservices in a containerized service-based application, the operations comprising: ([0010] “a system may include one or more processors and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including receiving a request for a service at a container environment”).
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 18-20 are system claims reciting limitations similar to claims 2-4 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caldato et al. (US20190102280A1) in view of Pieczul et al. (US20220191248A1)
Regarding claim 10, Caldato teaches the method of claim 9. Caldato however does not teach wherein the replicated instance of the microservice is subject to reduced security standards when compared to the microservice in the containerized service-based application, and the reduced security standards facilitates extraction of information regarding the service that is relevant for debugging purposes
Pieczul teaches wherein the replicated instance of the microservice is subject to reduced security standards when compared to the microservice hosted by the deployment, and the reduced security standards facilitates extraction of information regarding the service that is relevant for debugging purposes (Pieczul teaches two policies one more permissive than the other for testing before deployment. [0040] “the test subsystem 108 performs additional processing to check if the network path violates a pre-defined network security policy 117 (also referred to herein as a coarse-grained network security policy) defined for the test environment/application. The set of pre-defined network security polices 117 may be defined, for example, by the user of the enterprise and these policies reflect general network traffic expectations of the flow of network traffic between the components of the application in the test environment. Examples of coarse-grained polices defined for an application are described in FIG. 4. If it is determined that the coarse-grained network security policy is not violated by any network path identified for the component, the test system 108 generates a component-specific network security policy for the component.” Also, see [0074-0075] and [0058-0059] “A coarse-grained policy, based on “zone labels” as depicted in table 402 in FIG. 4 may allow the containerized application to operate/execute correctly with either version of the component and with both versions of the components running together. However, such a coarse-grained policy may not be considered sufficiently secure as it allows communication that is not part of regular system operation. At the same time, the user (e.g., a system administrator) would prefer that any policy would be contained in the boundaries defined by the coarse-grained policy. A fine-grained policy, for example, based on “app labels” as depicted in table 404, will result in a containerized application that initially allows traffic from the user-service component 208 to the database component 212 only. This policy will prevent the updated version of the user-service component 208 to communicate with the message-queue component 214 after the updated version is deployed”).
Caldato and Pieczul are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in microservice testing and deployment. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine Caldato and Pieczul to incorporate Pieczul’s configurable multi-level security policy to perform the debugging access required by Caldato’s debugging tools. “The techniques additionally include capabilities for enabling different network policies to be generated for the different versions of the component, where each component has potentially different network requirements.” (Pieczul [0033]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caldato et al. (US20190102280A1) in view of Pieczul et al. (US20220191248A1) and further in view of Kubernetes Docs (Github: Kubernetes/website/content/docs/tasks/debug)
Regarding Claim 21, Caldato in view of Pieczul teaches the method of claim 10. Kubernetes Docs further teaches the reduced security standards allow for a snooping process to be executed on the replicated instance of the microservice while the snooping process is restricted from operating on the microservice in the containerized service-based application (Pg. 12, “kubectl debug automatically generates a container name if you don't choose one using the --container flag.
The -i flag causes kubectl debug to attach to the new container by default. You can prevent this by specifying --attach=false. If your session becomes disconnected you can reattach using kubectl attach.
The --share-processes allows the containers in this Pod to see processes from the other containers in the Pod. For more information about how this works, see Share Process Namespace between Containers in a Pod. {{< /note >}}
Don't forget to clean up the debugging Pod when you're finished with it:
kubectl delete pod myapp myapp-debug” EN: Only the debugging pod has process sharing enabled. Accessing process information into the pod is a snooping process)
Caldato, Pieczul, and Kubernetes Docs are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in microservice testing and deployment. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine Caldato, Pieczul and Kubernetes docs to incorporate Kubernetes’ facilities to enable better debugging capabilities including process snooping with expected results. “Ephemeral containers are useful for interactive troubleshooting when kubectl exec is insufficient because a container has crashed or a container image doesn't include debugging utilities.” (Kubernetes Docs, Pg. 10) and “The --share-processes allows the containers in this Pod to see processes from the other containers in the Pod.” (Kubernetes Docs, Pg. 12)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hossain et al. (US-20120131555-A1): discloses remote debugging proxying and session routing with various access levels.
Tongchen et al. (WO-202310372-A1): discloses routing a portion of traffic to support local side debugging of a microservice that’s part of a Kubernetes cloud based cluster of services.
Irtiza (Kubernetes Pod Security Policy): discloses setting restrictive vs permissible security policies to facilitate varying access levels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/QAMRUN NAHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199