DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 11, and 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0094442) in view of Nguyen (U.S. Patent No. 6,839,055) in view of Shikina (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0220096).
Regarding Claim 1, Shinohara et al. teach a method for controlling a display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86), wherein the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) comprises a backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87), a panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88), and a first controller (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124), the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) is configured to operate in a first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) or a second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92), the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) comprises displaying image information by using the backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87), the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92) comprises displaying the image information by using the backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87) and the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88), and the method comprises:
receiving, by the first controller (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124), a first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) indicates that the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) does not work;
receiving a first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95), wherein the first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95) is used to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124); and
displaying the first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124) in the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) based on the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93).
Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to sending, by a first controller, the first status message to a second controller; receiving, by the first controller, a first image signal from the second controller; and wherein the first image signal is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal, the CAN signal includes vehicle status information.
Nguyen teaches sending, by a first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7), the first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) to a second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7); receiving, by the first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7), a first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) from the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Shikina teaches wherein the first image signal (Figure 16B, Element not labeled, but is the signal for the imaging system. Paragraph 195) is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196), the CAN signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196) includes vehicle status information (Paragraph 196).
Shinohara et al. teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of generating the first image signal. Shikina teaches the substituted step(s) of generating an image signal based on a control area network signal and their functions were known in the art to provide the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network.
The generation of the image signal of Shinohara et al. could have been substituted with generation of the image signal as taught by Shikina and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 2, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to the first image signal is generated by the second controller based on the first status message.
Nguyen teaches the first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) is generated by the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) based on the first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Regarding Claim 3, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first controller (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124), a second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88), wherein the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88) indicates that the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) works;
receiving a second image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 4A. Paragraph 92), wherein the second image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 4A. Paragraph 92) is used to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) second image information (Figure 3A, Element 2A. Paragraph 88); and
switching (Paragraph 136) from the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) to the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92) based on the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88); and
displaying the second image information (Figure 3A, Element 2A. Paragraph 88) in the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92),
Regarding Claim 4, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises one or more types of information indicating a panel fault (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), information indicating a driver chip fault of the display, information indicating a connector fault or a line fault of the display, or information indicating that a battery level is lower than or equal to a preset power level.
Regarding Claim 5, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises a first user instruction (Paragraph 160), and the first user instruction (Paragraph 160) indicates to switch to the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95).
Regarding Claim 7, Shinohara et al. teach an apparatus for controlling a display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86), wherein the apparatus is configured to operate in a first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) or a second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92), the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) comprises displaying image information by using a backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87), the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92) comprises displaying the image information by using the backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87) and a panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88), and the apparatus comprises:
at least one processor (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124) to:
receive a first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) indicates that the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) does not work, and;
receive a first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95), wherein the first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95) is used to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124); and
display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) the first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124) in the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) based on the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93).
Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor; sending, by a first controller, the first status message to a second controller; receiving, by the first controller, a first image signal from the second controller, wherein the first image signal is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal, the CAN signal includes vehicle status information.
Nguyen teaches one or more memories (Figure 1, Element 131. Column 5, Lines 34 – 45) coupled to the at least one processor (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7); sending, by a first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7), the first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) to a second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7); receiving, by the first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7), a first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) from the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Shikina teaches wherein the first image signal (Figure 16B, Element not labeled, but is the signal for the imaging system. Paragraph 195) is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196), the CAN signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196) includes vehicle status information (Paragraph 196).
Shinohara et al. teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of generating the first image signal. Shikina teaches the substituted step(s) of generating an image signal based on a control area network signal and their functions were known in the art to provide the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network.
The generation of the image signal of Shinohara et al. could have been substituted with generation of the image signal as taught by Shikina and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 8, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to the first image signal is generated by the second controller based on the first status message.
Nguyen teaches the first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) is generated by the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) based on the first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Regarding Claim 9, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 7 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124) to:
receive a second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88), wherein the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88) indicates that the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) works;
receive a second image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 4A. Paragraph 92), wherein the second image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 4A. Paragraph 92) is used to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) second image information (Figure 3A, Element 2A. Paragraph 88); and
switch (Paragraph 136) from the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) to the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92) based on the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88); and
display the second image information (Figure 3A, Element 2A. Paragraph 88) in the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92).
Regarding Claim 10, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 7 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises one or more types of information indicating a panel fault (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), information indicating a driver chip fault of the display, information indicating a connector fault or a line fault of the display, or information indicating that a battery level is lower than or equal to a preset power level.
Regarding Claim 11, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 7 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises a first user instruction (Paragraph 160), and the first user instruction (Paragraph 160) indicates to switch to the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95).
Regarding Claim 13, Shinohara et al. teach an apparatus for controlling a display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86), comprising:
at least one processor (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124) to:
receive a first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) indicates that a panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) does not work; and
send a first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95) and first indication information to the first controller of the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) based on the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93), wherein the first image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 5A. Paragraph 95) is used to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124), the first indication information indicates to the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) to display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) the first image information (Figures 3A and 11B, Element EM. Paragraphs 94 and 124) in a first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95), and the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) comprises performing display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) by using a backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87).
Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor; receive, by a second controller of the apparatus, a first status message from a first controller of the display; instruct the second controller to send a first image signal and first indication information to the first controller of the display based on the first status message; wherein the first image signal is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal, the CAN signal includes vehicle status information
Nguyen teaches one or more memories (Figure 1, Element 131. Column 5, Lines 34 – 45) coupled to the at least one processor (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7); receive, by a second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) of the apparatus, a first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) from a first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) of the display; instruct the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) to send a first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) and first indication information to the first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) of the display based on the first status message
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Shikina teaches wherein the first image signal (Figure 16B, Element not labeled, but is the signal for the imaging system. Paragraph 195) is generated based on a controller area network (CAN) signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196), the CAN signal (Element controller area network. Paragraph 196) includes vehicle status information (Paragraph 196).
Shinohara et al. teaches a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of generating the first image signal. Shikina teaches the substituted step(s) of generating an image signal based on a control area network signal and their functions were known in the art to provide the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network.
The generation of the image signal of Shinohara et al. could have been substituted with generation of the image signal as taught by Shikina and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the first image signal being generated based on a signal from a control area network. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding Claim 14, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 13 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: generate, by the second controller, the first image signal based on the first status message before sending the first image signal to the first controller of the display.
Shinohara et al. is wherein the one or more memories (Figure 1, Element 131. Column 5, Lines 34 – 45) storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) to: generate, by the second controller (Figure 1, Element 109. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7), the first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) based on the first status message (Figure 1, Element 116. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) before sending the first image signal (Figure 1, Element 114. Column 2, Line 64 – Column 3, Line 14) to the first controller (Figure 1, Element 129. Column 3, Line 27 – Column 4, Line 7) of the display.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al. with the external controller of Nguyen. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al. with the teachings of Nguyen is to provide a computer system with the ability to test the integrity of its video data path to a display system, as taught by Nguyen (Column 1, Lines 37 – 44).
Regarding Claim 15, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 13 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (Figure 3A, Element 6. Paragraphs 122 - 124) to:
receive a second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88), wherein the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88) indicates that the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88) works; and
send a second image signal (Figure 3A, Element not labeled, but is the signal to Element 4A. Paragraph 92) and second indication information to the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) based on the second status message (Element normally white mode. Paragraph 88), wherein the second indication information indicates to the display (Figure 3A, Element 1A. Paragraph 86) to switch from the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95) to a second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92), and the second display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the LCD driving mode. Paragraphs 90 - 92) comprises displaying the image information by using the backlight unit (Figure 3A, Element 3. Paragraph 87) and the panel (Figure 3A, Element 2. Paragraph 88).
Regarding Claim 16, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 13 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises one or more types of information indicating a panel fault, information indicating a driver chip fault of the display, information indicating a connector fault or a line fault of the display, or information indicating that a battery level is lower than or equal to a preset power level.
Regarding Claim 17, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 13 (See Above). Shinohara et al. teach wherein the first status message (Element not labeled, but when the device is not capable of normal presentation. Paragraph 93) comprises a first user instruction (Paragraph 160), and the first user instruction (Paragraph 160) indicates to switch to the first display mode (Figures 3A - 4, Element not labeled, but is the EM driving mode. Paragraphs 93 - 95).
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0094442) in view of Nguyen (U.S. Patent No. 6,839,055) in view of Shikina (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0220096) in view of Roy (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0379492).
Regarding Claim 6, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first image information comprises one or more types of vehicle speed information, gear information, or steering light information.
Roy teaches wherein the first image information (Figures 1 and 2, Elements 1 and 2. Paragraphs 12 - 14) comprises one or more types of vehicle speed information (Figures 1 and 2, Element 2. Paragraphs 12 - 14), gear information, or steering light information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al., the external controller of Nguyen and the network of Shikina with the traffic speed display of Roy. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al., Nguyen, and Shikina with the teachings of Roy is to provide an adaptable, transportable, all-in-one apparatus that is capable of being used for safety boards, traffic speed displays, and/or specific routes of travel, as taught by Roy (Paragraph 10).
Regarding Claim 12, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the apparatus according to claim 7 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the first image information comprises one or more types of vehicle speed information, gear information, or steering light information.
Roy teaches wherein the first image information (Figures 1 and 2, Elements 1 and 2. Paragraphs 12 - 14) comprises one or more types of vehicle speed information (Figures 1 and 2, Element 2. Paragraphs 12 - 14), gear information, or steering light information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al., the external controller of Nguyen and the network of Shikina with the traffic speed display of Roy. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al., Nguyen, and Shikina with the teachings of Roy is to provide an adaptable, transportable, all-in-one apparatus that is capable of being used for safety boards, traffic speed displays, and/or specific routes of travel, as taught by Roy (Paragraph 10).
Regarding Claim 18, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the backlight unit comprises a matric light-emitting diode (LED) backlight unit.
Roy teach wherein the backlight unit comprises a matric light-emitting diode (LED) backlight unit (Paragraph 25).
Shinohara et al. teach a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of the backlight being a matric LED backlight. Roy teaches the substituted step(s) of LED backlight and their functions were known in the art to provide the backlight unit comprises a matric light-emitting diode (LED) backlight unit.
The display of Shinohara et al. could have been substituted with LED backlight as taught by Roy and the results would have been predictable and resulted in the backlight unit comprises a matric light-emitting diode (LED) backlight unit. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0094442) in view of Nguyen (U.S. Patent No. 6,839,055) in view of Shikina (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0220096) in view of Nishiyori et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0001723).
Regarding Claim 21, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 1 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the display includes an in-vehicle display displaying driving information to a driver.
Nishiyori et al. teach wherein the display includes an in-vehicle display (Figure 8, Elements 131 – 136. Paragraphs 35 and 61) displaying driving information to a driver (Figure 6, Element 2. Paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al., the external controller of Nguyen, and the network signal of Shikina with the display system of Nishiyori et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al., Nguyen, and Shikina with the teachings of Nishiyori et al. is to provide an attention target at a position visible to the driver, as taught by Nishiyori et al. (Paragraphs 5 and 6).
Regarding Claim 22, Shinohara et al. in view of Nguyen in view of Shikina teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above). Shinohara et al. is silent with regards to wherein the in-vehicle display (Figure 8, Elements 131 – 136. Paragraphs 35 and 61) includes a vehicle instrument display (Figure 8, Element 132. Paragraphs 35 and 61), a vehicle streaming media rearview mirror (Figure 8, Element 136. Paragraphs 35 and 61), and an in-vehicle infotainment display (Figure 8, Element 131. Paragraphs 35 and 61).
Nishiyori et al. teach wherein the in-vehicle display includes a vehicle instrument display, a vehicle streaming media rearview mirror, and an in-vehicle infotainment display.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Shinohara et al., the external controller of Nguyen, and the network signal of Shikina with the display system of Nishiyori et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Shinohara et al., Nguyen, and Shikina with the teachings of Nishiyori et al. is to provide an attention target at a position visible to the driver, as taught by Nishiyori et al. (Paragraphs 5 and 6).
Response to Arguments
All arguments are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented above that were necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,774,105) and Du et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0116937) teaches an error handling process for a display device, similar to the instant invention.
Safavi et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0210952) teaches a display controller in communication with and external controller, similar to the instant invention.
Dubey et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0075290) teach an error message being driven from a controller area network, similar to the instant application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625