DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Continuation filed on 02/10/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 02/10/2026 with respect to claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, which were necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 13, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2021/0184989; Hereinafter "Wu ) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0146077 A1; Hereinafter “Li”)
As per claims 1, 15, and 20, Wu teaches a method for processing a user-related data service, comprising (Wu teaches a data-centric service-based NR network architecture in which a DPF serves as a shared database, supports data sharing and data management, and exchanges data with UEs and network functions. See Wu para [0062-0066], Figs. 3-4”):
obtaining, by a first data plane function, user authorization information of the user-related data service (Wu’s DPF receives a request or subscription information from a UE or NF and checks credentials to determine whether the UE/NF is permitted to access the requested information. Credentials may be stored at the DPF, supplied with the request, or obtained from another network entity. The credentials and privilege determination constitute user authorization information for the requested user-related data service. Wu para [0070-0073]); and
performing, by the first data plane function, a first operation according to the user authorization information, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: performing authentication and/or security configuration for a user; or establishing a user-level data service anchor (Wu teaches that the DPF checks credentials, determines access permission, provides the requested information when privileges are sufficient, and rejects the request when privileges are insufficient. See Wu para [0073-0075]. Because claim 1 recites alternatives, Wu’s credential validation and privilege-based access control satisfy at least the authentication/security-configuration alternative).
However, in the related art, Li teaches wherein the user authorization information comprises at least one of user data hierarchical information, configuration information of data collection, configuration information of data storage, or configuration information of data access (Li teaches subscription/user information associated with use of in-network DSF storage, including whether storage is allowed, identifiers of authorized consumers, maximum storage, overwrite/append behavior, encryption requirements, access-control limits, DSF identity, data type, and priority. See Li para [0239-0254]. Li also teaches that the UE may provide storage size, retention period, MIME type, consumer identity, and expiration requirements in or in association with the Registration Request. Li para [0236-0237]. These disclosures teach configuration information of data storage and data access and associated authorization information);
Wherein before performing, authentication/security configuration, and/or before establishing the user-level data service anchor for the user, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first data plane function, a registration request message of a user data service anchor (Wu teaches the order of receiving the request first and then checking the requester’s credentials. See Wu para [0073]. Li teaches that a UE requests DSF service during registration; the Registration Request identifies a desire to store data in a DSF and supplies details of the requested storage service. Li para [0235-0237]. Li further teaches a request for a PDU session to a DSF, including an embodiment in which the UPF includes an integrated DSF, and an allocate_storage_request sent to the selected DSF. Li para [0257-0260]. Li claim 19 expressly sends the first DSF-allocation request message to a UPF, and claim 20 sends it directly to the DSF. Thus, in the modified Wu system, the first data-plane/user-plane function receives a message requesting establishment or registration of a DSF-based user-data-service anchor before performing Wu’s credential/security determination and before establishment of the DSF session),
wherein the registration request message comprises user-level anchor establishment request information or configuration information of a user-level anchor requesting to be registered (Li’s message indicates that the UE requests connection to a DSF and includes storage amount, retention duration, media type, consumer information, subscriber identity, PDU-session identity, and other storage requirements. Li para [0236-0237], [0257-0260]. Li also teaches selecting the DSF based on UE requirements, DSF capability/capacity, and location. Li para [0259]. These data are establishment-request information and configuration information for the DSF anchor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu’s DPF, as taught by Li, to receive and process a DSF registration/session/storage-allocation request and associated storage/access configuration before credential validation and DSF-session establishment, because Li’s procedure enables the network to select and configure a storage function appropriate to the UE’s requirements, enforce user-specific storage and access controls, and reduce repeated over-the-air transactions by storing data in the mobile core network (Li, para[0015]).
Furthermore, Wu also teaches the hardware components of claims 8 and 15 such as a network element having a first data plane function, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network element having a first data plane function to perform (Wu: fig. 4, para [0054], [0064-0068], para[0070-0073], “the implementations of FIGS. 3-10 may be configured to perform one or more processes, techniques, or methods as described herein, or portions thereof. One such process may be performed by a DPF. The process may include receiving a request or subscription information from a UE or a network function (NF).”, para[0051], “the whole or part of one or more computer systems (e.g., a standalone, client or server computer system) or one or more hardware processors may be configured by firmware or software (e.g., instructions, an application portion, or an application) as a module that operates to perform specified operation”).
As per claims 2, 16, Wu in view of Li teaches the independent claim 1. Wu teaches wherein the first data plane function comprises at least one of the following: a first function of a core network data plane; or a second function of a radio access network data plane (Wu: fig. 4, para[0062-0063], “The data-centric network architecture provides data plane functions (DPFs) that serve as a shared database for control functions, user functions and management functions for data plane resources in a network. The DPFs interact with control plane functions, user plane functions, management plane functions, compute plane functions, network exposure functions, and application functions of the NR network via a service interface”).
As per claim 7, Wu in view of Li teaches the dependent claim 1. Li teaches wherein the configuration information of the user-level anchor requesting to be registered comprises at least one of the following: user data hierarchical information; a data range in which a network is allowed to perform the data service; configuration information of data collection; configuration information of data storage; or configuration information of data access (Li teaches that the configuration of the user-level DSF anchor may include the UE/application identity and data type, physical location and DSF identity, storage requirements and duration, authorized data consumers and access-control limits, encryption, overwrite/append behavior, and other storage/access parameters. Li para [0236-0237], [0239-0254]. These disclosures teach at least configuration information of data storage and configuration information of data access, and further suggest data-range and user-data classification information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu’s DPF, as taught by Li, to receive and process a DSF registration/session/storage-allocation request and associated storage/access configuration before credential validation and DSF-session establishment, because Li’s procedure enables the network to select and configure a storage function appropriate to the UE’s requirements, enforce user-specific storage and access controls, and reduce repeated over-the-air transactions by storing data in the mobile core network (Li, para[0015]).
As per claim 13, Wu in view of Li teaches the dependent claim 1. Li teaches wherein after the performing, by the first data plane function, authentication and/or security configuration for a user, the method further comprises: in a case that verification on the authentication and/or the security configuration succeeds, sending a registration acceptance message of a user data service anchor to a terminal, and establishing the user-level data service anchor for the user (Wu teaches checking credentials and proceeding when privileges are sufficient. Wu para [0073-0074]. Li teaches that the network sends a Registration Accept indicating support and permitted methods for sending data to a DSF, and later establishes a PDU session to the DSF through the control plane, through a UPF with an integrated DSF, or directly to the DSF. Li para [0238], [0257-0260]. It would have been obvious in the modified system to send Li’s DSF-related Registration Accept and establish the DSF session after Wu’s successful authentication/security determination, because successful authorization is a predictable prerequisite to granting the requested user-specific storage service.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu’s DPF, as taught by Li, to receive and process a DSF registration/session/storage-allocation request and associated storage/access configuration before credential validation and DSF-session establishment, because Li’s procedure enables the network to select and configure a storage function appropriate to the UE’s requirements, enforce user-specific storage and access controls, and reduce repeated over-the-air transactions by storing data in the mobile core network (Li, para[0015]).
Claims 3-5, 8-10, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2021/0184989; Hereinafter "Wu") in view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0146077 A1; Hereinafter “Li”) and Chong et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2022/0225094; Hereinafter "Chong").
As per claims 3, 17, Wu in view of Li teaches the independent claim 1.
Wu in view of Li does not teach wherein the user authorization information of the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: an authorization type of the data service; authorization information of the data service effective duration of authorization of the data service; user data hierarchical information; a data range in which a network is allowed to perform the data service; configuration information of data collection; configuration information of data storage; or configuration information of data access.
However, in the related art, Chong teaches wherein the user authorization information of the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: an authorization type of the data service; authorization information of the data service effective duration of authorization of the data service; a data range in which a network is allowed to perform the data service (Chong teaches authorization information containing a limitation condition that may include time information, location information, service type, DNN information, service identifier, data type, and network-slice information, and teaches indication information identifying whether related user data is allowed to be obtained or used. Chong para [0020], [0128-0130]. These disclosures teach at least an authorization type of the data service, an effective duration/time condition of authorization, and a data range/location within which the service is authorized. Claim 17 is the corresponding network-element limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update the modified Wu with Chong authorization information, it will provide technical support for implementation of the solution for protecting the user-level data. (Chong: para [10]).
As per claims 4, 18, Wu in view of Li teaches the independent claim 1.
Wu in view of Li does not teach wherein the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: data collection comprising a user identifier; data storage comprising the user identifier; data access comprising the user identifier; or a data request comprising the user identifier.
However, in the related art, Chong teaches wherein the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: data collection comprising a user identifier; data storage comprising the user identifier; data access comprising the user identifier; or a data request comprising the user identifier (Chong teaches that user-related data is associated with user identifiers such as IMSI, SUPI, and IMEI and describes obtaining, using, and protecting the related user data. Chong para [0121-0123]. Thus, Chong teaches data collection, data storage, data access, or a data request comprising a user identifier. Claim 18 is the corresponding network-element limitation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update Wu with Chong authorization information, it will provide technical support for implementation of the solution for protecting the user-level data. (Chong: para [10]).
As per claims 5, 19, Wu in view of Li teaches the independent claim 1.
Wu in view of Li does not teach wherein the obtaining, by a first data plane function, user authorization information of the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: obtaining, by the first data plane function, user-related data service subscription information, wherein the data service subscription information comprises the user authorization information; obtaining, by the first data plane function, the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is sent by user equipment (UE) or an application function; or obtaining, by the first data plane function, the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is stored by a radio access network storage function, wherein the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is stored by the radio access network storage function is reported by the terminal or the application function.
However, in the related art, Chong teaches wherein the obtaining, by a first data plane function, user authorization information of the user-related data service comprises at least one of the following: obtaining, by the first data plane function, user-related data service subscription information, wherein the data service subscription information comprises the user authorization information (Chong: para[52], para[160-164], “The data providing network element obtains the updated authorization information of the user through subscription”);
obtaining, by the first data plane function, the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is sent by user equipment (UE) or an application function; or obtaining, by the first data plane function, the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is stored by a radio access network storage function, wherein the user authorization information that is of the user-related data service and that is stored by the radio access network storage function is reported by the terminal or the application function (Chong teaches obtaining updated user authorization information through subscription and storing user authorization information in UDM subscription information; a data-obtaining network element may invoke a UDM service to retrieve the subscription information. Chong para [0052], [0160-0164], [0174]. Chong further teaches authorization information supplied by the UE/application context. These disclosures teach at least the alternative of obtaining user-related data-service subscription information comprising user authorization information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update Wu with Chong authorization information, it will provide technical support for implementation of the solution for protecting the user-level data. (Chong: para [10]).
As per claim 8, Wu in view of Li and Chong teaches the dependent claim 3. Chong teaches wherein the configuration information of data collection comprises at least one of the following: information about a data plane function that is allowed to perform data collection; data information that can be collected by different data plane functions; information about a time in which data collection is allowed; or information about a frequency at which data collection is allowed (Chong teaches limitation conditions specifying a preset time period and location range in which related user data is permitted to be obtained or used. Chong para [0020], [0128-0130]. At a minimum, these conditions teach information about a time in which data collection is allowed. Because claim 8 recites alternatives, disclosure of this alternative is sufficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update Wu with Chong authorization information, it will provide technical support for implementation of the solution for protecting the user-level data. (Chong: para [10]).
As per claim 9, Wu in view of Li and Chong teaches the dependent claim 3. Chong teaches wherein the configuration information of data storage comprises at least one of the following: information about a data plane function that is allowed to perform data storage; data information that can be stored by different data plane functions; a time length of storage; storage space information; or security requirement information of data storage (Li teaches the identity/location of the DSF, maximum or total storage size, the period for retaining individual messages and total storage duration, encryption requirements, access-control limits, and overwrite/append behavior. Li para [0236-0237], [0239-0254]. These disclosures teach storage-space information, a time length of storage, and security-requirement information of data storage.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update Wu with Chong authorization information, it will provide technical support for implementation of the solution for protecting the user-level data. (Chong: para [10]).
As per claim 10, Wu in view of Li and Chong teaches the dependent claim 3. Li teaches wherein the configuration information of data access comprises at least one of the following: a configuration of data information allowed to be accessed or obtained by each network function; a data access configuration based on authorization and/or authentication; whether time sequence data is provided; whether real-time data is provided; data security configuration information; allowed data use; information about a time in which data access is allowed; information about a frequency at which data collection is allowed; or a data access or service record configuration (Li teaches identifiers of consumers permitted to consume stored data, whether stored data requires encryption, whether consumers may issue subscriptions, access-control limits, a qualifier for the type of data stored, DSF identity, and configuration information supplied during registration. Li para [0243-0254]. These disclosures teach at least a data-access configuration based on authorization/authentication, data-security configuration information, allowed data use, and a data-access or service-record configuration).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2021/0184989; Hereinafter "Wu") in view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0146077 A1; Hereinafter “Li”), Chong et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2022/0225094; Hereinafter "Chong") and Yamamura et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. US 2014/0344846; Hereinafter "Yamamura").
As per claim 11, Wu in view of Li and Chong teaches the dependent claim 3.
Wu in view of Li and Chong does not explicitly teach wherein in a case that the authorization type of the data service is: querying the user whether the user-related data service is allowed when the user-related data service arrives; the method further comprises: sending, by the first data plane function, request information to a terminal, wherein the request information is used to query the terminal whether the data service is allowed; ”); and receiving, by the first data plane function, request response information sent by the terminal, wherein the request response information comprises: the data service is allowed, or the data service is not allowed
However in the related art, Yamamura teaches wherein in a case that the authorization type of the data service is: querying the user whether the user-related data service is allowed when the user-related data service arrives, the method further comprises: sending, by the first data plane function, request information to a terminal, wherein the request information is used to query the terminal whether the data service is allowed (Yamamura teaches a default policy under which a terminal displays a popup asking the user whether to permit access to target data and obtains the user’s selection. Yamamura para [0504-0510]. Yamamura further teaches returning a determination indicating that access is allowed or denied based on the user’s selection. Yamamura para [0511-0512]. In the modified system, Wu’s DPF would send the permission request to the terminal and receive the allow/deny response when the data-service authorization type requires a user query.); and
receiving, by the first data plane function, request response information sent by the terminal, wherein the request response information comprises: the data service is allowed, or the data service is not allowed (Yamamura: para[511-512], “When the policy determination unit 463 acquires the selection of the user who permits the access to the data in the code "popup-select," the policy determination unit 463 executes a code "allow_read" for replying that access is permitted according to a "then" branch in a conditional statement "if . . . then . . . else . . . . " Thereby, the policy determination unit 463 outputs a determination result representing that the access is permitted to the access control unit 462. On the other hand, when the policy determination unit 463 acquires the selection of the user who denies the access to the data in the code "popup-select," the policy determination unit 463 executes a code "deny_read" for replying that access is denied according to an "else" branch in a conditional statement "if . . . then . . . else . . . . " Thereby, the policy determination unit 463 outputs a determination result representing that the access is denied to the access control unit 462”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update the modified Wu with the policy of user verification process of Yamamura, it will prevent improper acquisition of data (Yamamura: para [540]).
As per claim 12, Wu in view of Li, Chong and Yamamura teaches the dependent claim 11. Yamamura teaches wherein the request information comprises at least one of the following: description information of the data service; content of the requested data service; use of the data service; a validity period of the data service; or a service quality requirement for the requested data service (Yamamura teaches information identifying the target data and its use/access context in connection with the user permission determination. Yamamura para[0452- 0456], [0504-0512]. Chong also teaches service type, service identifier, data type, time condition, and authorization scope. Chong para [0020], [0128-0130]. Collectively, the references teach at least description/content of the requested data service, use of the data service, or a validity/time condition. Because claim 12 recites alternatives, disclosure of at least one alternative is sufficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have update the modified Wu with the policy of user verification process of Yamamura, it will prevent improper acquisition of data (Yamamura: para [540]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2020/066890 A1 - Network Data Analytics Function, NWDAF, includes: means for receiving analytics information regarding cell re-selection by User Equipment, UE, among cells; and means for notifying another network node of matching the analytics information with an exception so that the other network node takes actions for solving the exception.
WO 2021/017689 A1 - User Plane Data Acquisition method and Apparatus, and Storage Medium.
/L.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALEXANDER LAGOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2437