DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/621528 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remarks date 03/29/24
Oath/Declaration
2. The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
3. The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 12 disclose “…., in case that …..”
The use of this phrase makes the associated limitation not necessarily needed to occur. The use of when may be a way to replace this phrase.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over NPL-3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #121 R2-2300602 Athens, Greece, 27th February - 3rd March, 2023 referred to as 3GPP in view of KR102533623B1 referred to as KR
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP explains a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal;(see 3GPP section 1 Introduction explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling…The UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service. .2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) transmitting, to the terminal, including report information associated with a report of the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle; (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) and receiving, from the terminal, a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive.(see 3GPP Introduction explains When the UE moves to RRC_CONNECETED state, the UE sends the QoE measurement availability indication to the gNB, For buffering of QoE reports generated in RRC IDL/INACTIVE state…see 3GPP section 2.2 Introduction explains When the UE is in RRC_Connected state and initiates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements and sends the reports to the network as soon as they are received from the application layer in the same way as in Rel-17 QoE mechanism. 2. When the UE goes into RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and only then imitates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements for a stored QoE configuration and sends the reports when the UE goes back to RRC Connected state. )
While it can be understood this is merely a design or variation difference of 3GPP, 3GPP does not explicitly disclose a second RRC message
However KR explains Receiving a second NR RRC message, the second NR RRC message including SuspendConfig, Store the one or more application layer measurement settings in a UE inactive access stratum context; (See page 19 line 6-7)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further support high data rate communication as well as low transmission delay (See background Art)
Regarding claim 2, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches comprising: receiving, from the terminal, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, wherein, in case that the indicator is received, the base station transmits, to the terminal, the second RRC message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 3, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, , as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches comprising: receiving, from the terminal, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement based on the second RRC message; and transmitting, to the terminal, a message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, section 2.1 a gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling, and the UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 4, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or RRC inactive, and wherein the second RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or RRC inactive to RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 QoE measurements for MBS broadcast are configured to the UE via RRC Reconfiguration message; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal; ; (see 3GPP section 1 Introduction explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling…The UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service. .2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) performing the application layer measurement in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle based on the first RRC message; (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) receiving, from the base station, including report information associated with a report of the application layer measurement; (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) and transmitting, to the base station, a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. .(see 3GPP Introduction explains When the UE moves to RRC_CONNECETED state, the UE sends the QoE measurement availability indication to the gNB, For buffering of QoE reports generated in RRC IDL/INACTIVE state…see 3GPP section 2.2 Introduction explains When the UE is in RRC_Connected state and initiates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements and sends the reports to the network as soon as they are received from the application layer in the same way as in Rel-17 QoE mechanism. 2. When the UE goes into RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and only then imitates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements for a stored QoE configuration and sends the reports when the UE goes back to RRC Connected state. )
While it can be understood this is merely a design or variation difference of 3GPP, 3GPP does not explicitly disclose a second RRC message
However KR explains Receiving a second NR RRC message, the second NR RRC message including SuspendConfig, Store the one or more application layer measurement settings in a UE inactive access stratum context; (See page 19 line 6-7)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further support high data rate communication as well as low transmission delay (See background Art)
Regarding claim 7, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 6, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, wherein the second RRC message allows the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 8, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 6, as described above. The modified 3GPP further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement based on the second RRC message; and receiving, from the base station, a message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, section 2.1 a gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling, and the UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 9, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 6, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or RRC inactive, and wherein the second RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or RRC inactive to RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 QoE measurements for MBS broadcast are configured to the UE via RRC Reconfiguration message; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: transmit, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal, (see 3GPP section 1 Introduction explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling…The UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service. .2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) transmit, to the terminal, including report information associated with a report of the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle, (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) and receive, from the terminal, a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle, and wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. .(see 3GPP Introduction explains When the UE moves to RRC_CONNECETED state, the UE sends the QoE measurement availability indication to the gNB, For buffering of QoE reports generated in RRC IDL/INACTIVE state…see 3GPP section 2.2 Introduction explains When the UE is in RRC_Connected state and initiates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements and sends the reports to the network as soon as they are received from the application layer in the same way as in Rel-17 QoE mechanism. 2. When the UE goes into RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and only then imitates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements for a stored QoE configuration and sends the reports when the UE goes back to RRC Connected state. )
While it can be understood this is merely a design or variation difference of 3GPP, 3GPP does not explicitly disclose a second RRC message
However KR explains Receiving a second NR RRC message, the second NR RRC message including SuspendConfig, Store the one or more application layer measurement settings in a UE inactive access stratum context; (See page 19 line 6-7)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further support high data rate communication as well as low transmission delay (See background Art)
Regarding claim 12, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the terminal, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, and in case that the indicator is received, transmit, to the terminal, the second RRC message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 13, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the terminal, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement based on the second RRC message; and transmit, to the terminal, a message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, section 2.1 a gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling, and the UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 14, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or RRC inactive, and wherein the second RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or RRC inactive to RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 QoE measurements for MBS broadcast are configured to the UE via RRC Reconfiguration message; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: receive, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal, (see 3GPP section 1 Introduction explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling…The UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service. .2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) perform the application layer measurement in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle based on the first RRC message, (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) receive, from the base station, including report information associated with a report of the application layer measurement, (see 3GPP section 1 explains…The gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling….2.1 explains gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling. ….FFS if configuration can be done in IDLE/INACTIVE states….) and transmit, to the base station, a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. (see 3GPP Introduction explains When the UE moves to RRC_CONNECETED state, the UE sends the QoE measurement availability indication to the gNB, For buffering of QoE reports generated in RRC IDL/INACTIVE state…see 3GPP section 2.2 Introduction explains When the UE is in RRC_Connected state and initiates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements and sends the reports to the network as soon as they are received from the application layer in the same way as in Rel-17 QoE mechanism. 2. When the UE goes into RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and only then imitates an MBS broadcast service, the UE starts QoE measurements for a stored QoE configuration and sends the reports when the UE goes back to RRC Connected state. )
While it can be understood this is merely a design or variation difference of 3GPP, 3GPP does not explicitly disclose a second RRC message
However KR explains Receiving a second NR RRC message, the second NR RRC message including SuspendConfig, Store the one or more application layer measurement settings in a UE inactive access stratum context; (See page 19 line 6-7)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further support high data rate communication as well as low transmission delay (See background Art)
Regarding claim 17, the modified 3GPP taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the controller is configured to transmit, to the base station, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, and wherein the second RRC message allows the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 18, the modified 3GPP taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: transmit, to the base station, an indicator associated with the application layer measurement based on the second RRC message; and receive, from the base station, a message allowing the measurement report. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, section 2.1 a gNB can send the QoE configuration for MBS broadcast service to UE by RRC message in RRC_CONNECTED via dedicated signaling, and the UE stores the configuration for QoE and performs the application layer measurement for MBS broadcast service See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
Regarding claim 19, the modified 3GPP taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or RRC inactive, and wherein the second RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or RRC inactive to RRC connected. . (see 3GPP 2.1 QoE measurements for MBS broadcast are configured to the UE via RRC Reconfiguration message; See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement)
7. Claims 5, 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over NPL-3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #121 R2-2300602 Athens, Greece, 27th February - 3rd March, 2023 in view of KR102533623B1 in further view of CN118872307A referred to as CN
Regarding claim 5, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified 3GPP alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN further teaches comprising: receiving information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (CN explains… the CN may send a NG Application Protocol (AP) message 1 to the NG-RAN node within the record QoE configuration message. The NGAP message 1 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; type of service; measuring a collector entity (MCE) IP address; or QoE configuration container. The QoE reference ID can be configured by OAM. In some steps, the QoE reference ID may be used/utilized/applied to mark the record QoE. The service type can be MBS, broadcast or multicast. In this embodiment example, the service type may be MBS. In some alternative examples, the service type may also be broadcast or multicast. In some embodiments, when the QoE is recorded to generate QoE measurement data, the data may be forwarded to the MCE IP address. The QoE configuration container may include/include a complete recorded QoE configuration. Other QoE configuration parameters contained/included in step 3 of the process/call flow may be discussed in other embodiments. In some embodiments, the QoE configuration in step 3 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; a sub-service type (e.g., broadcast or multicast); page 11 paragraph [0002])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve quality of experience in a network (see page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 10, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 6, as described above. The modified 3GPP alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN further teaches wherein the base station receives information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement) (CN explains… the CN may send a NG Application Protocol (AP) message 1 to the NG-RAN node within the record QoE configuration message. The NGAP message 1 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; type of service; measuring a collector entity (MCE) IP address; or QoE configuration container. The QoE reference ID can be configured by OAM. In some steps, the QoE reference ID may be used/utilized/applied to mark the record QoE. The service type can be MBS, broadcast or multicast. In this embodiment example, the service type may be MBS. In some alternative examples, the service type may also be broadcast or multicast. In some embodiments, when the QoE is recorded to generate QoE measurement data, the data may be forwarded to the MCE IP address. The QoE configuration container may include/include a complete recorded QoE configuration. Other QoE configuration parameters contained/included in step 3 of the process/call flow may be discussed in other embodiments. In some embodiments, the QoE configuration in step 3 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; a sub-service type (e.g., broadcast or multicast); page 11 paragraph [0002])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve quality of experience in a network (see page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 15, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. The modified 3GPP alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN further teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement) (CN explains… the CN may send a NG Application Protocol (AP) message 1 to the NG-RAN node within the record QoE configuration message. The NGAP message 1 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; type of service; measuring a collector entity (MCE) IP address; or QoE configuration container. The QoE reference ID can be configured by OAM. In some steps, the QoE reference ID may be used/utilized/applied to mark the record QoE. The service type can be MBS, broadcast or multicast. In this embodiment example, the service type may be MBS. In some alternative examples, the service type may also be broadcast or multicast. In some embodiments, when the QoE is recorded to generate QoE measurement data, the data may be forwarded to the MCE IP address. The QoE configuration container may include/include a complete recorded QoE configuration. Other QoE configuration parameters contained/included in step 3 of the process/call flow may be discussed in other embodiments. In some embodiments, the QoE configuration in step 3 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; a sub-service type (e.g., broadcast or multicast); page 11 paragraph [0002])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve quality of experience in a network (see page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 20, the modified 3GPP taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with CN further teaches wherein the base station receives information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP section 1 explains a UE sends the QoE measurements availability indication, See KR page 19 line 6-7 explains a second NR RRC message and measurement) (CN explains… the CN may send a NG Application Protocol (AP) message 1 to the NG-RAN node within the record QoE configuration message. The NGAP message 1 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; type of service; measuring a collector entity (MCE) IP address; or QoE configuration container. The QoE reference ID can be configured by OAM. In some steps, the QoE reference ID may be used/utilized/applied to mark the record QoE. The service type can be MBS, broadcast or multicast. In this embodiment example, the service type may be MBS. In some alternative examples, the service type may also be broadcast or multicast. In some embodiments, when the QoE is recorded to generate QoE measurement data, the data may be forwarded to the MCE IP address. The QoE configuration container may include/include a complete recorded QoE configuration. Other QoE configuration parameters contained/included in step 3 of the process/call flow may be discussed in other embodiments. In some embodiments, the QoE configuration in step 3 may include at least one of the following information: QoE reference; a sub-service type (e.g., broadcast or multicast); page 11 paragraph [0002])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve quality of experience in a network (see page 2 paragraph [0002])
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478