DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/621528 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment dated 05/22/26
2. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 14-16, 19-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, 14, 16 and 19 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13 , 17 and 18 are being cancelled.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/22/26 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 14-16, 19-20 upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5.Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 discloses…. a third RRC message including report information, wherein the report information indicates whether transmission of a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle is allowed…..
It is unclear where the support for this limitation is in the description, especially a third RRC message which includes the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2024/0414799A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal;(see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) receiving. from the terminal a second RRC message including an indicator associated with the application layer measurement; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..)
transmitting, to the terminal, a third RRC message including report information, wherein the report information indicates whether transmission of a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle is allowed; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..paragraph [0172] explains …..In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present.)
and receiving, from the terminal, the measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive.(see paragraph [0051],[0104], [0105], [0174] explains….The measurement configuration application layer addition list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer; The measurement configuration application layer release list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer identifier.)
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) performing the application layer measurement in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle based on the first RRC message; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..)
transmitting, to the base station, a second RRC message including an indicator associated with the application layer measurement; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) receiving, from the base station, a third RRC message including report information, wherein the report information indicates whether transmission of a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle is allowed; (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..paragraph [0172] explains …..In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present.) and transmitting, to the base station, the measurement report associated with the application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. .(see Kim paragraph [0051],[0104], [0105], [0174] explains….The measurement configuration application layer addition list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer; The measurement configuration application layer release list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer identifier.)
7-8. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: transmit, to a terminal, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) receive, from the terminal, a second RRC message including an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) transmit, to the terminal, a third RRC message including report information, wherein the report information indicates whether transmission of a measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle is allowed, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..paragraph [0172] explains …..In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present.) and receive, from the terminal, the measurement report associated with the application layer measurement performed in the RRC inactive or the RRC idle, and wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. .(see paragraph [0051],[0104], [0105], [0174] explains….The measurement configuration application layer addition list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer; The measurement configuration application layer release list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer identifier.)
12-13. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: receive, from a base station, a first radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information associated with an application layer measurement of the terminal, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) perform the application layer measurement in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle based on the first RRC message, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) transmit, to the base station, a second RRC message including an indicator associated with the application layer measurement, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..) receive, from the base station, a third RRC message including report information, wherein the report information indicates whether transmission of a measurement reportassociated with the application layer measurement performed in an RRC inactive or an RRC idle is allowed, (see Kim paragraph [0056] explains… The application layer measurement configuration and measurement reporting are supported in RRC_CONNECTED state only. Application layer measurement configuration received by the gNB from OAM or CN is encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to a UE in RRCReconfiguration message 1E-11 and 1E-13. It is further forwarded to UE's higher layer which is application layer for streaming services or for MTSI services.…..paragraph [0172] explains …..In the first other configuration, one segmentation-permission (rrc-Allowed) field, one measurement configuration application layer addition list field, and one measurement configuration application layer release list field are selectively present.) and transmit, to the base station, the measurement report associated with the application layer measurement, wherein the configuration information is applied to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive. .(see paragraph [0051],[0104], [0105], [0174] explains….The measurement configuration application layer addition list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer; The measurement configuration application layer release list includes one or more measurement configuration application layer identifier.)
17-18. (Cancelled)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 15, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2024/0414799A1) in view of NPL-3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #121 R2-2300602,
Regarding claim 4, Kim taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive, and wherein the second-third RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted to the terminal after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or the RRC inactive to an RRC connected see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration….also see 2.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 5, Kim taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches further comprising:
receiving information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration….also see 2.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Cheng with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving QOE measurement in RRC (See Introduction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 9, Kim taught the method of claim 6, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive, and wherein the RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message the RRC inactive to an RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 10, Kim taught the method of claim 6, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the base station receives information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 14, Kim taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message transmitted to the terminal before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive, and wherein the third RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted to the terminal after the terminal transitions from the RRC idle or the RRC inactive to an RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 15, Kim taught the base station of claim 11, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the controller is configured to receive information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 19, Kim taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches wherein the first RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC resume message received before the terminal transitions to the RRC idle or the RRC inactive, and wherein the third RRC message is an RRC reconfiguration message the RRC inactive to an RRC connected. (see 3GPP 2.1 , conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration….also see 2.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 20, Kim taught the terminal of claim 16, as described above. Kim alone does not explicitly disclose these limitation however further combined with 3GPP teaches The terminal of wherein the base station receives information associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) service type from a core network (CN) entity, and wherein the information indicates that configuration information for quality of experience (QoE) applies to a broadcast or a multicast. (see 3GPP 2.1, conclusion explains… QoE measurement for MBS broadcast are configured to UE via the RCC reconfiguration,…. also see 2.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Kim with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478