The amendment filed 7/21/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are objected to.
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200213044 A1) in view of Frenne et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220256573 A1) and Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210344436 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Peng, Frenne, and Zhou.
In regard to Claim 1, Peng teaches A wireless device (terminal 10, Para. 99, FIG. 6) comprising: one or more processors (processor 1601, Para. 187, FIG. 16); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (memory 1603 is configured to store an execution instruction of the processor 1601, Para. 187, FIG. 16), cause the wireless device to: receive, of a cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a first downlink control information (DCI) (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches receive, of the cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches, wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order (a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4. T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79) comprising a first acknowledgement information (A carrier 0 is a primary carrier (Primary Cell, Pcell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Pcell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the first DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4) and a second acknowledgement information (the other four carriers are secondary carriers (Secondary Cell, Scell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Scell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79)
Although Peng teaches receive, of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI), Peng fails to teach receive, via a first control resource set (coreset), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI), a first downlink control information (DCI), and although Peng teaches receive, of the cell, a second DCI comprising a second DAI field, Peng fails to teach receive, via a second coreset, associated with a second PCI, a second DCI, and although Peng teaches wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order, Peng fails to teach wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, and although Peng teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, Peng fails to teach determine, based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook.
Frenne teaches receive, via a first control resource set (coreset) (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI) (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a first downlink control information (DCI) (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, the first TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches receive, via a second coreset (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a second DCI (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, second TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches, wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97).
Frenne teaches determine, based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (shown in FIG. 7, where a semi-static HARQ codebook for a UE is configured with three cells, i.e., cells 1 to 3, Para. 103, FIG. 7. A set of overlapping TDRA for Semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook for a cell is determined by the number of CORESET groups configured in the cell, Para. 181).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
Although Peng in view of Frenne teaches the first PCI and the second PCI, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index for the first coreset and the second coreset, and although Peng in view of Frenne teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach determine, based on the same coreset pool index, a codebook.
Zhou teaches wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index (The association may be explicitly signaled to the UE by the base station. The association may include an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28) for the first coreset and the second coreset (A CORESET, a search space, or a PCI may respectively represent one or more CORESETs, Para. 28).
Zhou teaches determine, based on the same coreset pool index (an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28), a codebook (The UE 115 may provide feedback, which may be a codebook-based feedback, Para. 58, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne since Zhou provides a technique for associating PCIs with a pool index of a CORESET in relation to codebook-based feedback, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne to provide the benefits of utilizing CORESETs and organizing them through pool indexes for generating appropriate HARQ-ACK feedback codebooks.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Peng teaches the first DCI.
Peng fails to teach the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive, via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and receive, via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information.
Frenne teaches the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive, via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and receive, via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information (As shown in FIG. 14, the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #1 scheduling PDSCH #1 can indicate one TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 3) while the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #2 scheduling PDSCH #2 can indicate another TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 6), Para. 212, FIG. 14. The first TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a first CORESET group index while the second TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a second CORESET group index, Para. 222. Parameters or characteristics associated with PDSCH, PDCCH, or DCI conveyed in the DCI can be used to associate a PDSCH with a TB (and thus the HARQ entry in the codebook), Para. 218. The first or the second TB is determined by the CORESET group index of a CORESET over which the corresponding PDCCH is received, Para. 224. Two CORESET groups. The HARQ-ACK codebook consists of two rows (note, this is for illustration, the real codebook is a long bit vector), each associated with TBs scheduled by PDCCHs received in one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
In regard to Claim 6, Peng teaches the first value of the first DAI field indicates a counter DAI (C-DAI) or a total DAI (T-DAI) (the DAI may also be referred to as a counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI), Para. 83. When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 8, Peng teaches A base station (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6) comprising: one or more processors (The network device is at least one processing element (or a chip), Para. 47); and memory storing instructions (a computer storage medium, configured to store a computer software instruction that is used by the apparatus, Para. 40) that, when executed by the one or more processors (processing element (or a chip) configured to perform the method, Para. 47), cause the base station to: transmit, to a wireless device (terminal 10, Para. 99, FIG. 6), of a cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a first downlink control information (DCI) (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches transmit, to the wireless device (terminal 10, Para. 99, FIG. 6), of the cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches, wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order (a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4. T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches receive, from the wireless device, a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79) comprising a first acknowledgement information (A carrier 0 is a primary carrier (Primary Cell, Pcell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Pcell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the first DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4) and a second acknowledgement information (the other four carriers are secondary carriers (Secondary Cell, Scell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Scell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches, wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79).
Although Peng teaches transmit, to a wireless device, of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI), Peng fails to teach transmit, via a first control resource set (coreset), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI), a first downlink control information (DCI), and although Peng teaches transmit, to the wireless device, of the cell, a second DCI, Peng fails to teach transmit, via a second coreset, associated with a second PCI, a second DCI, and although Peng teaches wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order, Peng fails to teach wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, and although Peng teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined, Peng fails to teach, wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI.
Frenne teaches transmit, via a first control resource set (coreset) (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI) (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a first downlink control information (DCI) (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, the first TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches transmit, via a second coreset (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a second DCI (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, second TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches, wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97).
Frenne teaches, wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined (shown in FIG. 7, where a semi-static HARQ codebook for a UE is configured with three cells, i.e., cells 1 to 3, Para. 103, FIG. 7. A set of overlapping TDRA for Semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook for a cell is determined by the number of CORESET groups configured in the cell, Para. 181) based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
Although Peng in view of Frenne teaches the first PCI and the second PCI, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index for the first coreset and the second coreset, and although Peng in view of Frenne teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach, wherein the codebook is determined based on the same coreset pool index.
Zhou teaches wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index (The association may be explicitly signaled to the UE by the base station. The association may include an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28) for the first coreset and the second coreset (A CORESET, a search space, or a PCI may respectively represent one or more CORESETs, Para. 28).
Zhou teaches, wherein the codebook is determined (The UE 115 may provide feedback, which may be a codebook-based feedback, Para. 58, FIG. 1) based on the same coreset pool index (an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne since Zhou provides a technique for associating PCIs with a pool index of a CORESET in relation to codebook-based feedback, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne to provide the benefits of utilizing CORESETs and organizing them through pool indexes for generating appropriate HARQ-ACK feedback codebooks.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Peng teaches the first DCI.
Peng fails to teach the instructions further cause the base station to: transmit, to the wireless device via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and transmit, to the wireless device via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information.
Frenne teaches the instructions further cause the base station to: transmit, to the wireless device via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and transmit, to the wireless device via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information (As shown in FIG. 14, the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #1 scheduling PDSCH #1 can indicate one TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 3) while the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #2 scheduling PDSCH #2 can indicate another TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 6), Para. 212, FIG. 14. The first TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a first CORESET group index while the second TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a second CORESET group index, Para. 222. Parameters or characteristics associated with PDSCH, PDCCH, or DCI conveyed in the DCI can be used to associate a PDSCH with a TB (and thus the HARQ entry in the codebook), Para. 218. The first or the second TB is determined by the CORESET group index of a CORESET over which the corresponding PDCCH is received, Para. 224. Two CORESET groups. The HARQ-ACK codebook consists of two rows (note, this is for illustration, the real codebook is a long bit vector), each associated with TBs scheduled by PDCCHs received in one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
In regard to Claim 13, Peng teaches the first value of the first DAI field indicates a counter DAI (C-DAI) or a total DAI (T-DAI) (the DAI may also be referred to as a counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI), Para. 83. When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
In regard to Claim 15, Peng teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (memory 1603 is configured to store an execution instruction of the processor 1601, Para. 187, FIG. 16) of a wireless device (terminal 10, Para. 99, FIG. 6), cause the wireless device to: receive, of a cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a first downlink control information (DCI) (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches receive, of the cell (network device 20, Para. 99, FIG. 6. The network device includes an evolved NodeB (eNB), a home base station, Para. 101, FIG. 6), a second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches, wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order (a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4. T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79) comprising a first acknowledgement information (A carrier 0 is a primary carrier (Primary Cell, Pcell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Pcell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the first DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. There is data transmission on both a carrier 0 and a carrier 3. In this case, if data transmission in the first time unit is added, T-DAI=3, C-DAI=2 on the carrier 0, Para. 86, FIG. 4) and a second acknowledgement information (the other four carriers are secondary carriers (Secondary Cell, Scell). A HARQ-ACK feedback codebook that needs to be sent on the Scell is determined, Para. 79) associated with the second DCI (When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB. In the first time unit of the HARQ multiplexing window, only a carrier 1 has data scheduling, so that total DAI=1 and counter DAI=1, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng teaches transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook (HARQ-ACK multiplexing: A terminal transmits, in one piece of UCI, decoding results of a plurality of TBs transmitted by a network device, Para. 77. Cascaded to form a final HARQ-ACK feedback codebook. The HARQ-ACK feedback codebook is 1000000000 (the first two bits 10 are HARQ-ACK information on the Pcell, and the following eight bits correspond to HARQ-ACK information on the four Scells), Para. 79).
Although Peng teaches receive, of a cell, a first downlink control information (DCI), Peng fails to teach receive, via a first control resource set (coreset), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI), a first downlink control information (DCI), and although Peng teaches receive, of the cell, a second DCI, Peng fails to teach receive, via a second coreset, associated with a second PCI, a second DCI, and although Peng teaches wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order, Peng fails to teach wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, and although Peng teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, Peng fails to teach determine, based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook.
Frenne teaches receive, via a first control resource set (coreset) (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a first physical cell index (PCI) (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a first downlink control information (DCI) (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, the first TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a first downlink assignment index (DAI) field with a first value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches receive, via a second coreset (one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18), associated with a second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a second DCI (the gNB transmits Downlink Control Information (DCI) over the PDCCH, Para. 7. As shown in FIG. 13A, second TB are determined based on a CORESET group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received (step 1304), Para. 177, FIG. 13A. A Control Resource Set (CORESET) group identifier of a CORESET over which a corresponding DCI scheduling the TB is received, Para. 187. The first and the second TB are scheduled with two DCIs, one for each TB, Para. 192) comprising a second DAI field with a second value (The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format 1-1: Downlink assignment index (DAI), Para. 47, 66).
Frenne teaches, wherein the first value and the second value are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97).
Frenne teaches determine, based on the ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI (detected DCI formats are first indexed in an ascending order across serving cells indexes, Para. 97), a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (shown in FIG. 7, where a semi-static HARQ codebook for a UE is configured with three cells, i.e., cells 1 to 3, Para. 103, FIG. 7. A set of overlapping TDRA for Semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook for a cell is determined by the number of CORESET groups configured in the cell, Para. 181).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
Although Peng in view of Frenne teaches the first PCI and the second PCI, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index for the first coreset and the second coreset, and although Peng in view of Frenne teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, Peng in view of Frenne fails to teach determine, based on the same coreset pool index, a codebook.
Zhou teaches the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index (The association may be explicitly signaled to the UE by the base station. The association may include an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28) for the first coreset and the second coreset (A CORESET, a search space, or a PCI may respectively represent one or more CORESETs, Para. 28).
Zhou teaches determine, based on the same coreset pool index (an association between the one or more PCIs and a pool index of the CORESET, Para. 28), a codebook (The UE 115 may provide feedback, which may be a codebook-based feedback, Para. 58, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne since Zhou provides a technique for associating PCIs with a pool index of a CORESET in relation to codebook-based feedback, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne to provide the benefits of utilizing CORESETs and organizing them through pool indexes for generating appropriate HARQ-ACK feedback codebooks.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Peng teaches the first DCI.
Peng fails to teach the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive, via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and receive, via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information.
Frenne teaches the instructions further cause the wireless device to: receive, via a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion of the first coreset, the first DCI, wherein the first DCI triggers transmission of the first acknowledgement information; and receive, via a second PDCCH monitoring occasion of the second coreset, the second DCI, wherein the second DCI triggers transmission of the second acknowledgement information (As shown in FIG. 14, the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #1 scheduling PDSCH #1 can indicate one TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 3) while the DCI corresponding to PDCCH #2 scheduling PDSCH #2 can indicate another TCI State (e.g., with TCI State ID 6), Para. 212, FIG. 14. The first TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a first CORESET group index while the second TB is associated with a PDSCH scheduled by a PDCCH received in a CORESET with a second CORESET group index, Para. 222. Parameters or characteristics associated with PDSCH, PDCCH, or DCI conveyed in the DCI can be used to associate a PDSCH with a TB (and thus the HARQ entry in the codebook), Para. 218. The first or the second TB is determined by the CORESET group index of a CORESET over which the corresponding PDCCH is received, Para. 224. Two CORESET groups. The HARQ-ACK codebook consists of two rows (note, this is for illustration, the real codebook is a long bit vector), each associated with TBs scheduled by PDCCHs received in one of the two CORESET groups, Para. 226, FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Frenne with the teachings of Peng since Frenne provides a technique for utilizing CORESET groups and serving cells indexes with respect to DCI including DAI, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng to permit CORESETs to include DCI for carrying DAI and for managing PCells and SCells in relation to assigning serving cells indexes.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Frenne, Zhou, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220322381 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhang.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou teaches the wireless device.
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI.
Zhang teaches the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI (mapping a first CORESET pool index to a first serving cell ID. The first CORESET pool index may correspond to a first CORESET pool and the first serving cell ID may correspond to a first serving cell of a plurality of serving cells of an inter-cell, multi-TRP environment such as network environment 100, Para. 82, FIG. 5. Mapping a second CORESET pool index to a second serving cell ID. The second CORESET pool index may correspond to a second CORESET pool and the second serving cell ID may correspond to a second serving cell of the plurality of serving cells, Para. 83, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Zhang provides a technique for mapping CORESETs to serving cell IDs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit CORESET groups to be mapped to serving cells indexes.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou teaches the base station.
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the instructions further cause the base station to transmit one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI.
Zhang teaches the instructions further cause the base station to transmit one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI (mapping a first CORESET pool index to a first serving cell ID. The first CORESET pool index may correspond to a first CORESET pool and the first serving cell ID may correspond to a first serving cell of a plurality of serving cells of an inter-cell, multi-TRP environment such as network environment 100, Para. 82, FIG. 5. Mapping a second CORESET pool index to a second serving cell ID. The second CORESET pool index may correspond to a second CORESET pool and the second serving cell ID may correspond to a second serving cell of the plurality of serving cells, Para. 83, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Zhang provides a technique for mapping CORESETs to serving cell IDs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit CORESET groups to be mapped to serving cells indexes.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou teaches the wireless device.
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI.
Zhang teaches the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more configuration parameters indicating the same coreset pool index for: the first coreset, of the cell, associated with the first PCI; and the second coreset, of the cell, associated with the second PCI (mapping a first CORESET pool index to a first serving cell ID. The first CORESET pool index may correspond to a first CORESET pool and the first serving cell ID may correspond to a first serving cell of a plurality of serving cells of an inter-cell, multi-TRP environment such as network environment 100, Para. 82, FIG. 5. Mapping a second CORESET pool index to a second serving cell ID. The second CORESET pool index may correspond to a second CORESET pool and the second serving cell ID may correspond to a second serving cell of the plurality of serving cells, Para. 83, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Zhang provides a technique for mapping CORESETs to serving cell IDs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit CORESET groups to be mapped to serving cells indexes.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Frenne, Zhou, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200366446 A1), hereafter referred to as Matsumura.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou teaches the wireless device.
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell.
Matsumura teaches the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell (in FIG. 14B, the user terminal controls transmission power of the PUCCH based on the second field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the first DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in DCI (first DCI) transmitted in a given cell (e.g., the cell #0 of the lowest index) and a given counter DAI value (e.g., lowest counter DAI value=1). In this case, the user terminal may derive implicit indication information based on the first field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the second DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in at least one of the cells (CCs) #1 to #3 and the counter DAI values “2” to “4”, Para. 152, FIGS. 9, 14B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Matsumura provides a technique for terminals to utilize cells of the lowest index and lowest counter DAI values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit organized utilization of serving cells through lowest values of cell indexes and DAI.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou teaches the base station.
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell.
Matsumura teaches the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell (in FIG. 14B, the user terminal controls transmission power of the PUCCH based on the second field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the first DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in DCI (first DCI) transmitted in a given cell (e.g., the cell #0 of the lowest index) and a given counter DAI value (e.g., lowest counter DAI value=1). In this case, the user terminal may derive implicit indication information based on the first field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the second DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in at least one of the cells (CCs) #1 to #3 and the counter DAI values “2” to “4”, Para. 152, FIGS. 9, 14B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Matsumura provides a technique for terminals to utilize cells of the lowest index and lowest counter DAI values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit organized utilization of serving cells through lowest values of cell indexes and DAI.
In regard to Claim 20, Peng teaches the first value of the first DAI field indicates a counter DAI (C-DAI) or a total DAI (T-DAI) (the DAI may also be referred to as a counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI), Para. 83. When more than one carrier is configured, two DAIs (one is a C-DAI, and the other is a total downlink assignment index (Total Downlink Assignment Index, T-DAI)) exist in each piece of DCI. HARQ-ACK information of a TB at a location corresponding to a DAI value in DCI for scheduling the TB, Para. 86, FIG. 4).
Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou fail to teach the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell.
Matsumura teaches the first value of the first DAI field is lower than the second value of the second DAI field based on: the first PCI being a PCI of a serving cell, wherein the cell is the serving cell; and the second PCI being a PCI of a non-serving cell (in FIG. 14B, the user terminal controls transmission power of the PUCCH based on the second field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the first DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in DCI (first DCI) transmitted in a given cell (e.g., the cell #0 of the lowest index) and a given counter DAI value (e.g., lowest counter DAI value=1). In this case, the user terminal may derive implicit indication information based on the first field value (that is, for example, a TPC command field value and for which the second DCI in FIG. 9 may be referred to) in at least one of the cells (CCs) #1 to #3 and the counter DAI values “2” to “4”, Para. 152, FIGS. 9, 14B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura with the teachings of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou since Matsumura provides a technique for terminals to utilize cells of the lowest index and lowest counter DAI values, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Peng in view of Frenne and Zhou to permit organized utilization of serving cells through lowest values of cell indexes and DAI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that First, Peng and Frenne, alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest the limitation of: "wherein the first value of the first DAI field and the second value of the second DAI field are in an ascending order of the first PCI and the second PCI, and wherein the first PCI and the second PCI are associated with a same coreset pool index for the first coreset and the second coreset," as recited in amended claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendments of Claims 1, 8 and 15, which are not taught by Peng and Frenne, are taught by Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210344436 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-18-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477