DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
a connection status acquisition module
1, 2
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a database module
1, 3
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a charging status acquisition module
1, 4
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a charging mode selection module
1, 5
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a data feedback module
1, 7
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
an interface sensing unit
2
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a data conversion unit
2
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a data storage unit
2
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a charging sensing unit
4
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a data uploading unit
4
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a charging mode acquiring unit
5
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a threshold setting unit
6
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a threshold comparison unit
6
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a charging control unit
6
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a terminal binding unit
7
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
a feedback unit
7
Software modules or hardware modules [0196]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 recite “units” which are “used for” various functions. Examiner notes that reciting “used for” instead of “for” brings into question whether the claims are properly invoking 112(f) or are instead recite “use” type limitations which can be considered indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(q)). For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting the functions as “for” limitations and suggests amending the claims accordingly.
Claim 7 recites “used for acquiring the bound mobile intelligent terminal, wherein the binding of the mobile intelligent terminal is capable of being changed”. It is unclear what is meant by “the binding of the…terminal is capable of being charged”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. US Patent 10,543,754.
Regarding claims 1 and 8-10, Jang discloses a magnetic attraction type fixed charging device [col. 4, lines 4-6], comprising:
a connection status acquisition module, used for acquiring equipment interface and circuit connection information and uploading same to a database [fig. 5, 12; claim 6];
a database module, used for choosing whether to charge or not based on the interface and circuit connection information in the database [col. 14, lines 44-53];
a charging status acquisition module, used for acquiring equipment status information during charging and uploading same to a cloud [fig. 8, “charging and transmit charging information”];
a charging mode selection module, used for selecting a charging mode based on the equipment status information in the cloud [column 14, lines 54-65]; and
a data feedback module, used for sending the equipment status information and the charging mode to a bound mobile intelligent terminal [fig. 8, “transmit charging information].
Regarding claim 8, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the Jang reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 1.
Regarding claims 9-10, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the Jang reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, the Jang reference teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a computer, perform the claimed method steps [column 9, lines 3-15; column 21, line 55-column 22, line 8].
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses wherein the charging mode selection module comprises: a charging mode acquiring unit, used for acquiring a preset charging mode, wherein the charging mode is adjusted according to the equipment status; a charging mode selection unit, used for selecting the charging mode based on the equipment status information [column 13, line 63-column 14, line 5; column 14, lines 44-65; fast or slow charging determined based on the equipment status]; and
an equipment status updating unit, used for feeding the equipment status information in this charging mode back to the cloud so as to update the equipment status information [column 12, lines 52-64; charging information is sensed and uploaded to the cloud via LTE (fig. 4)].
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses wherein the data feedback module comprises: a terminal binding unit, used for acquiring the bound mobile intelligent terminal, wherein the binding of the mobile intelligent terminal is capable of being changed [column 8, lines 23-30; column 17, lines 50-60]; and
a feedback unit, used for sending the equipment status information and the current charging mode to the bound mobile intelligent terminal [column 2, lines 50-55; column 8, lines 23-30; column 15, lines 10-17; column 15, line 50-column 16, line 10; column 16, lines 61-67; column 17, lines 14-31; column 19, lines 31-36; column 17, lines 50-60; charging status sent to mobile device, including amount and speed of charging (mode)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang US Patent 10,543,754 in view of Jung et al. US PGPUB 2017/0047765.
Regarding claim 2, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection status acquisition module comprises: an interface sensing unit, used for detecting the equipment interface and circuit connection information based on sensors, wherein the sensors comprise a pressure sensor, a voltage sensor, and a current sensor; a data conversion unit, used for converting the interface and circuit connection information into data information; and a data storage unit, used for storing the converted data information in the database.
However, Jung discloses a magnetic charging system [pars. 99 & 162-163] wherein the connection status acquisition module comprises:
an interface sensing unit, used for detecting the equipment interface and circuit connection information based on sensors, wherein the sensors comprise a pressure sensor, a voltage sensor, and a current sensor [figs. 6-7; steps 610-630 & 730; par. 91-95, 128 & 170; proper or improper mounting is detected using sensors including a voltage/current sensor and pressure sensor (detecting if the protrusion is pressed into the recess or a push button is pressed, thus a pressure sensor)];
a data conversion unit, used for converting the interface and circuit connection information into data information; and a data storage unit, used for storing the converted data information in the database [fig. 6; par. 91-95, 128 & 170; the information is sensed by the sensors and converted into an electrical signal which is then sent to a controller where it is at least temporarily stored].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang to further include wherein the connection status acquisition module comprises: an interface sensing unit, used for detecting the equipment interface and circuit connection information based on sensors, wherein the sensors comprise a pressure sensor, a voltage sensor, and a current sensor; a data conversion unit, used for converting the interface and circuit connection information into data information; and a data storage unit, used for storing the converted data information in the database for the purpose of determining whether the device to be charged is mounted correctly, as taught by Jung (par. 119).
Regarding claim 3, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the database module is used for acquiring the equipment interface and circuit connection information in the database; when both an interface and a circuit are connected, choosing to charge; and when at least one of the interface and the circuit is disconnected, choosing not to charge.
However, Jung discloses a magnetic charging system [pars. 99 & 162-163] wherein the database module is used for acquiring the equipment interface and circuit connection information in the database; when both an interface and a circuit are connected, choosing to charge; and when at least one of the interface and the circuit is disconnected, choosing not to charge [figs. 6-7; pars. 157-160, 164 & 171-180; the charging of the device is performed or not performed based on the detected and stored information regarding the mounting].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang to further include wherein the database module is used for acquiring the equipment interface and circuit connection information in the database; when both an interface and a circuit are connected, choosing to charge; and when at least one of the interface and the circuit is disconnected, choosing not to charge for the purpose of determining whether the device to be charged is mounted correctly, as taught by Jung (par. 119).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses wherein the charging status acquisition module comprises: a charging sensing unit, used for acquiring the equipment status information during charging based on sensors [column 12, lines 52-64; charging information is sensed and reported]; and
a data uploading unit, used for converting the equipment status information acquired by the sensors into wireless transmission signals, and uploading same to the cloud [column 12, lines 52-64; charging information is sensed and uploaded to the cloud via LTE (fig. 4)].
Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensors comprise a voltage sensor, a current sensor, and a temperature acquisition sensor.
However, Jung discloses a magnetic charging system [pars. 99 & 162-163] wherein the sensors comprise a voltage sensor, a current sensor, and a temperature acquisition sensor [figs. 6-7; steps 610-630 & 730; par. 91-95, 128 & 170; proper or improper mounting is detected using sensors including a voltage/current sensor and pressure sensor (detecting if the protrusion is pressed into the recess or a push button is pressed, thus a pressure sensor)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang to further include wherein the sensors comprise a voltage sensor, a current sensor, and a temperature acquisition sensor for the purpose of determining whether the device to be charged is mounted correctly, as taught by Jung (par. 119).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang US Patent 10,543,754.
Regarding claim 6, Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging mode selection module comprises: a threshold setting unit, used for acquiring preset equipment status thresholds, wherein the preset equipment status thresholds comprise a voltage upper limit, a current upper limit, and a temperature upper limit; a threshold comparison unit, used for comparing the equipment status information with the preset equipment status thresholds; and a charging control unit, used for stopping charging when the equipment status information exceeds the preset thresholds.
Jang does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging mode selection module comprises: a threshold setting unit, used for acquiring preset equipment status thresholds, wherein the preset equipment status thresholds comprise a voltage upper limit, a current upper limit, and a temperature upper limit; a threshold comparison unit, used for comparing the equipment status information with the preset equipment status thresholds; and a charging control unit, used for stopping charging when the equipment status information exceeds the preset thresholds.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the charging arts to limit voltage, current and temperature based on certain thresholds to prevent damage to the battery or fires due to overcurrent, overvoltage or overheating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang to further include wherein the charging mode selection module comprises: a threshold setting unit, used for acquiring preset equipment status thresholds, wherein the preset equipment status thresholds comprise a voltage upper limit, a current upper limit, and a temperature upper limit; a threshold comparison unit, used for comparing the equipment status information with the preset equipment status thresholds; and a charging control unit, used for stopping charging when the equipment status information exceeds the preset threshold for the purpose of preventing damage to the battery, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859